We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
551 S Kihei Rd, Kihei, Maui, HI 96753-9046
Update from hotel: This property has indicated that they are taking safety precautions against COVID-19.Read more
Lowest prices for your stay
Hotel direct offer!Stay 2 or more nights and get 20% off
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Booking.com$332
Hotels.com$332
Travelocity$332
travelup.com$358
Ascend$332
Lol.travel$425
View all 21 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (168)
Room & Suite (78)
Dining (5)
What is Travelers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travelers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travelers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

About

#2 of 5 hotels in Kihei
Location
4.5
Cleanliness
4.5
Service
4.6
Value
4.5
Travelers' Choice
Our beachfront hotel offers the perfect location for your dream Maui vacation, destination wedding, or honeymoon. We are near the Piilani Highway 31, and our family-friendly hotel is just fifteen minutes away from the Kahului Airport (OGG.) Our ideal address is nestled along the southwest shore of Maui. The pristine sands of the five-mile beach of Mai Poina ‘Oe la’u are just outside your door. Our hotel is a leisurely stroll from Kalepolepo and Waipuilani Beaches. Our central location keeps guests near other popular areas of the island like Wailea and Makena, as well as Lahaina and Hana, making us an ideal choice for your exotic getaway. Guests of the Kohea Kai Maui experience the best that Maui has to offer
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Beach
Bicycle rental
Kids stay free
BBQ facilities
Parking
Wifi
Hot tub
Pool / beach towels
Outdoor pool
Shallow end in pool
Fence around pool
Vending machine
Horseback riding
Mini golf
Canoeing offsite
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Picnic area
Sun deck
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun terrace
First aid kit
Umbrella
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Private check-in / check-out
Clothes dryer
Self-serve laundry
Washing machine
Show more
Room features
Blackout curtains
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Interconnected rooms available
Coffee / tea maker
Cable / satellite TV
Walk-in shower
Private balcony
Telephone
Wardrobe / closet
Bottled water
Iron
Private bathrooms
Kitchenette
Microwave
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Mountain view
Ocean view
Pool view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Languages Spoken
English
Hotel links
Special Offer:Stay 2 or more nights and get 20% off
201Reviews16Q+A32Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 128
  • 37
  • 21
  • 2
  • 13
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
7377ml wrote a review Nov 19
Helena15 contributions44 helpful votes
Nice beach, just across the road. Clean room and friendly staff. If your staying a long time not much room to unpack you clothes, bed would recommend was real comfortable. Enjoyed our stay. Would stay again.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Jack H wrote a review Mar 2022
Roanoke, Virginia8 contributions7 helpful votes
Hotel's Favorite
The resort is a gem with a friendly staff. During our stay, Carol, Tevita, and Luseane were very courteous and helpful. For example, they gave us pointers on major sites to see in Maui. They provided us ample, quality snacks in the lobby. It's a relaxing resort with a nice hot tub and small pool. Our room was nice and clean. Thank you for a superb stay.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Kohea Kai Resort Maui, General Manager at Kohea Kai Maui
Responded Mar 28, 2022
Thank you so very much for your awesome review and high scoring! We really appreciate your time and feed back. It is always a great feeling to read reviews acknowledging the hard work that my staff and myself put into this hotel. Thank you very much for your stay and on behalf of Tevita, Carol and the rest of the Kohea Kai Ohana we appreciate your stay and hope that you stay with us again.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Jason G wrote a review Nov 9
2 contributions
Right across the street from the beach. Rooms recently and beautifully remodeled. Upon arrival met a bunch of staff who were extremely nice and helpful. Devita the maintenance man was very nice and provided me all sorts of history regarding Hawaii. We definitely recommend this place.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Kohea Kai Resort Maui, General Manager at Kohea Kai Maui
Responded 2 weeks ago
Thank you for sharing your experiences with us. We really appreciate your stay as well as for your 5 start review. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and Tevita showed Aloha. We hope that you will visit us again real soon. Take care and stay safe. Luseane Moa General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
On the road again wrote a review Oct 2022
New Smyrna Beach, Florida240 contributions39 helpful votes
+1
Stayed here one night in between our other planned lodging. It was adequate for one night. Clean room. Soft sheets. Comfortable bed. One of the nicest views in the complex. Not a place I’d seek next time. Looks like they are investing in the property which is a really good thing. Maybe try and get a better room than we had?
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Room Tip: Avoid room 321 as it’s not upgraded
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Kohea Kai Resort Maui, General Manager at Kohea Kai Maui
Responded Oct 24, 2022
Thank you for sharing your experiences with us. We really appreciate your feedback as well as your stay with us. Thank you and we hope that you will visit us again, give us a chance to show you great service. Luseane Moa General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Brendan N wrote a review Oct 2022
1 contribution
I was supposed to stay at Kohea Kai Maui for my honeymoon, but unfortunately had to cancel my entire honeymoon trip to HI due to testing positive for Covid a few days prior to leaving. I called this hotel to cancel (2 days before reservation date) and was assured I would be approved for a refund. I was then asked via email to provide proof of my Covid positive test and proof of my honeymoon flight cancelations, which I provided. It has been over a month since that email I have received no response from Kohea Kai Maui. I have sent over 4+ polite follow-up emails and 4+ voicemails to the GM (Luseane Moa) and have received no reply. This is a shady and unprofessional action by this hotel. They assured me on the phone I would get a refund and I even provided the proof they requested, and their course of action was to completely ignore me. No explanation, no compromise, nothing. Do not stay at this hotel if you want to avoid issues with the unresponsive, lying, and unprofessional management.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
Service
Room Tip: Do not use this hotel
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Danielle P wrote a review Sep 2022
1 contribution
Highly recommended. Staff was great, Recommended shopping locations and activities Accommodations were wonderful. My husband and I spent a week there but we will be back every year to spend 2 to 3 weeks. Very conveniently located. We give them five stars.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Kohea Kai Resort Maui, General Manager at Kohea Kai Maui
Responded Sep 7, 2022
Thank you so very much for your kind review. We really appreciate your stay with us as well as your time to share your review. We are happy to hear that you really enjoyed your stay with us and we do hope to see you again real soon. Please take care and stay safe. Luseane Moa General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Luis A wrote a review Aug 2022
1 contribution
This is a genuine place. Great room terrific area across the street. Real people genuine people who get to know their guest and make suggestions to do local things no tourist things. This will forever by my place I will never forget the handshake 🤪
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Traveled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Kohea Kai Resort Maui, General Manager at Kohea Kai Maui
Responded Aug 16, 2022
Mahalo Nui Loa (Thank you very much) for such an awesome review! It is these type of positive reviews that makes our job well worth it! We really appreciate your kind words, I will be sure to share this with Tevita and we hope that you will visit us again soon. Take care and stay safe! Luseane Moa General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Amin G wrote a review May 2022
1 contribution
This is terrible and messy hotel there is no housekeeping there is no phone in the room , Now that I'm back, I have itchy areas on my body ,I paid $1350 for 3 nights now I’m really sad and mad , they have sign for sanitizer room but they are super lier . Please be careful and hotels is better than this one , they are super busy all the time and they don’t care about any issues and rooms .
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Kohea Kai Resort Maui, General Manager at Kohea Kai Maui
Responded Jun 9, 2022
Thank you so much for sharing your experiences with us. We greatly apologize for failing to meet your expectations and for the experience you had. We have not had issues with our rooms, our beds no complaints of skin irritability. As posted on our Front Desk for guests to read upon arrival and also go over with our guests at check in, we inform that due to labor shortage we service upon request and must be notified the day prior so that we can properly make sure that we have the help and staff we need to service our guests. But if nothing is scheduled, no housekeeping will just enter your room especially with covid still lurking around. So we apologize if you did not understand this at the time of check in, but it was indicated in your reservation that these information was given. Yes we have been busy, but never too busy to assist our guests. So we are sorry for any miscommunication and we hope that in the future you will allow us to show you excellent service. Take care and stay safe Luseane Moa General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
TiaMariaMorrison wrote a review Apr 2022
Kitchener, Canada7 contributions3 helpful votes
+1
My husband and I stayed here during the last two weeks of March. We were very disappointed with this hotel. The pictures the hotel posts have nothing to do with reality, The hotel (NOT A RESORT BY ANY STRETCH OF THE IMAGINATION) is extremely run down. We rented a junior suite (room # 323). I can't understand at all why it was called a suite. It was simply a large room with a small fridge and a sink included. PROS: The location is fairly good, although with all of the construction around the hotel it can take up to a half hour to travel to the the part of town that has most of the restaurants and shops (obviously this is not the hotel's fault, its just something to be aware of). The staff are very welcoming and responsive to requests for more towels, etc. The pool area is pretty and nicely maintained (note: the pool is very small; its a dipping pool not a full-sized pool). There is a hot tub and a picnic area. CONS: As I've said, the biggest problem I had is the price you pay for such a run down hotel. I was shocked when we first drove up. The parking lot is very tight. The carpeting on the stairs is filthy and ripped. The door to our unit looked like rotten wood. The inside of the room is a little better. The room is large and clean but that's about it. Our 'junior suite' looked nothing like the pictures, We had a 'garden view' room with a view of some shrubs and trees that surround the parking lot. The balcony was horrible, old cast iron furniture and tiles missing from the walls. Not a place where you would enjoy sitting. The curtains were old and dirty looking. The bathroom was nice, although the window has no covering and is made of glass blocks that provide a sense that you are on display to people passing by. The chair in the room is old and dirty. The hotel describes a roof top balcony from which you can sit and watch the sunsets. It's true that the sunsets are pretty but you wouldn't want to sit on this patio. The furniture is extremely old and cheap, needing to be replaced. There is a bathroom but it is filled with storage materials. Overall, by suggestion is to keep looking. There must be something better available for the price than this 'resort.'
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Maybe check out the rooms by the dipping pool. They don't look quite as run down from the...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Kohea Kai Resort Maui, General Manager at Kohea Kai Maui
Responded Apr 19, 2022
Thank you so much for sharing your experiences with us. We apologize for failing to meet your expectations, your feedback will definitely help us to continue on improving our services. Thank you for your stay with us and hopefully as things progress you will reconsider and give us another chance to accommodate you on your next visit to Maui. We appreciate your time and Thank you for staying with us.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
N1120A wrote a review Apr 2022
San Diego, California83 contributions100 helpful votes
If this place was say $99 a night, I'd probably rate it higher. The reality is that they're currently getting $300+ a night and the hotel just isn't worth that - not even close. The good: Staff are polite and the rooms are spacious and clean (maybe too clean, given the extreme smell of bleach after getting housekeeping). Fridge is an excellent size. Wi-Fi works generally decently. The Bad: Overpriced, poorly located, deceptive title as a "resort," a very tight parking lot, a resort fee that is not disclosed at booking, the bathroom has neither a toilet paper roll holder nor a proper towel rack. We got one tiny bottle of shower gel and no hand soap, making us need to break out our reserve to wash our hands and use shampoo for showering. Honestly, the Days Inn is better at the budget end and probably cheaper. Definitely not coming back to this place.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Kohea Kai Resort Maui, General Manager at Kohea Kai Maui
Responded Apr 4, 2022
Thank you so much for sharing your experiences with us. We really appreciate your feedback. We apologize for failing to meet your expectations. Labor shortage has been a challenge for us, however if things are forgotten it can be easily be delivered. So Thank you for sharing and take care stay safe!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$389 - $470 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
United StatesHawaiiMauiKihei
NUMBER OF ROOMS
26
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

KOHEA KAI MAUI - Updated 2022 Prices & Resort Reviews (Hawaii)

Frequently Asked Questions about Kohea Kai Maui
Which popular attractions are close to Kohea Kai Maui?
Nearby attractions include Island Art Party (1.4 miles), Maui Professional Photography (3.8 miles), and Saint Theresa Roman Catholic Church (1.5 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Kohea Kai Maui?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and free parking.
Which room amenities are available at Kohea Kai Maui?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Kohea Kai Maui?
Guests can enjoy barbeque facilities and free instant coffee during their stay.
Is parking available at Kohea Kai Maui?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Kohea Kai Maui?
Conveniently located restaurants include South Maui Fish Company, Ululani's Hawaiian Shave Ice, and Kinaole Grill Food Truck.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Kohea Kai Maui?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Kohea Kai Maui?
Yes, self serve laundry and a clothes dryer are offered to guests.
Are there any historical sites close to Kohea Kai Maui?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Ka'ahumanu Congregational Church (8.6 miles), Haleki‘i-Pihana State Monument (9.9 miles), and Chee Kung Tong Society Building (8.8 miles).
Does Kohea Kai Maui have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the ocean view available here.
Is Kohea Kai Maui accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access, reduced mobility rooms, and facilities for disabled guests. For specific inquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.