We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Four Seasons Hotel Lanai At Koele, A Sensei Retreat

1 Keomoku Hwy, Lanai City, Lanai, HI 96763
Visit hotel website
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (1)
Room & Suite (8)


#3 of 3 hotels in Lanai City
Four Seasons Hotel Lanai at Koele, A Sensei Retreat is an ultra all-inclusive wellness enclave on the secluded Hawaiian island of Lanai. Unmatched hospitality, reputable experts and natural beauty combine to offer a completely customized experience to discover well-being. Surrounded by pine-covered mountains and fresh tropical breezes, guests enjoy the luxury of limitless options to create a personalized itinerary for each journey. Always included is round-trip airfare from Honolulu on Lanai Air, private wellness consultations, spa treatments, fitness and yoga classes, dining by Nobu (including wines, beers and spirits), and island activities in pursuit of movement, nourishment and rest.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Golf course
Free airport transportation
Paid internet
Yoga classes
Yoga room
Fitness / spa locker rooms
Personal trainer
Adult pool
Outdoor pool
Breakfast available
Horseback riding
Meeting rooms
Facial treatments
Full body massage
Hand massage
Head massage
Neck massage
Open-air bath
Steam room
Waxing services
Executive lounge access
Non-smoking hotel
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Good to know
    5 stars
    Family, Luxury
Hotel links
Visit hotel website
Hotel packages
7Reviews3Q+A1Room tip
Traveler rating
  • 6
  • 0
  • 0
  • 0
  • 1
Time of year
Traveler type
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
We just finished a week at the Koele Lodge--concluding as the virus shutdown began limiting activities. The grounds and plantings are exquisite, the rooms spacious and beautiful. This experience is offered as a wellness retreat, and that aspect is managed by Sensei, a company from California. Their guides and instructors were all top-notch professionals. We are plant-based. The chef devised a completely vegan menu from scratch, including desserts. We really felt like everyone went out of their way to be helpful and kind. The only problem I have is that I don't think my wife will ever want to stay anywhere else. It's definitely expensive, but worth every penny.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Four Seasons
So this is a totally unfair review ... but I hope it might be helpful anyway. The reason is is that we stayed at the main resort and not this property, which I believe was still in the process of a soft opening. BUT we did experience the restaurant and that is worth a comment or two. If TripAdvisor opens a restaurant review section for this property then this should be transferred there but as my understanding is the Nobu at the Koele location is not open to the general public and is part of an all inclusive experience, it may not make sense to do that. Since we were staying at the main resort the concierge who drove us in from the airport told us we could book dinner and I was assured it would be a great culinary experience. We were booked for a 630pm dinner and told to take the hotel shuttle up with a departure at 6pm, and that we should return back to the resort on the 830pm shuttle. On arrival, we were met at the door and escorted straight away to the restaurant and when my wife noted she was a bit on the cold side, with resort wear that wasn't up to the task in the cooler location, a blanket was found for her. Mahalo. The lobby is huge, gorgeous and had amazing fireplaces. Really spectacular. And it was totally empty which gave it a strange vibe - The Shining?? Nah, that would be too harsh. Just felt a bit ... well, sterile and cold in a way. It sure would have been nice if we could have sat in front of one of those fireplaces and had a drink before dinner.. I felt like they almost wanted to rush us out of the main space and get us started. Were we an embarrassment as we were staying at the other property and didn't really belong there??? Perhaps they felt pressure to get us out for the assigned departure time??? The truly great dining experiences I have had the pleasure to enjoy around the world all shared a partnership between the staff, cooks and myself that is celebrating food and a shared experience. Not stuffy, not aloof, but joyful and sometimes even a bit playful. Perhaps that is not what the target clientele are looking for. The dinner was five courses with three options for each course except dessert, which only had a single choice. The wine selection was relatively small but we were able to find a satisfactory choice. No sommelier which was a real negative yet perhaps in keeping with the health and wellness milieu? At about $800 for the two of us, including limited alcohol and tips, this was not an inexpensive venue. Yet, I didn't mind the cost as the food was exceptional. I guess for us the reason we wouldn't return is that the place was cold. Not just in temperature but it lacked a certain warmth and joy that we found at the main resort restaurants. It would have been a really nice touch had the chef come out and said hello, it was only us and one other table. Or if we could have been seated outside near a fire feature instead of a vast space that probably would be ok for corporate retreats but at the time was just not all that hospitable. And that's the thing too ... throughout our Four Seasons stay there were so many small details that were attended to, so much hospitality and warmth, such a great experience. Yet this place didn't instill a sense for us plain folk that there was a genuine interest in us and our experience. And again, not to be crass about this, but for a cost half of this we had as good a dinner experience below, with better wine pairings, outside, in a setting that felt warm and comfortable, which to me is what eating a wonderful dinner should be about. One other thing ... please consider offering more than one dessert option. Maybe just offer a fine old port with a chocolate on the side, or something equally simple, as an option. The main entrees were fabulous though and again, I sure wish whoever had made this fabulous meal could have come and let us tell them so. It would have meant a lot.
Read more
Response from DavidPEmig, Hotel Manager at Four Seasons Hotel Lanai At Koele, A Sensei Retreat
Responded 3 weeks ago
Aloha drpsb Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review. There is nothing unfair about your comments and, I speak for the entire team when I say that we are grateful for them. It is feedback like this that enables us to grow and improve. I sincerely hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to our idyllic retreat in the future and I am confident that you will notice a positive difference. Thank you again! David
Read more
I had the incredible pleasure of staying at the Four Seasons Koele over the new year holiday. I booked the trip on a bit of a whim after feeling incredibly burnt out at work. As you will see, the experience has a high price point, but I can absolutely tell you it was worth every penny. After 8 days at the wellness retreat, I have felt the best that I have in 15 years and have taken a lot of “tools” back with me for everyday life. I was at the resort when it was still in its soft opening phase, so not sure what it will be at scale, but below are the highlights: Pros: - Wellness programming was tailored to my individual goals and was scheduled accordingly - I felt like the staff took a genuine interest in my goals. These were true professionals that I felt were top notch in their individual specialties (shout out to Marcus, Nicco, JT, Laurel and Anne to making it amazing) - The mindfulness pieces of the programming were my favorite and really got me out of my normal analytical self - The fitness, yoga and nutrition programming really helped point out deficiencies in my daily life and made the concept of “change” feel achievable - I enjoyed two off property activities, which was a mountain ridge hike and a beach day, both of which showcased the island’s beauty - The facilities were absolutely top notch (which is what you would expect after a major renovation). My favorite part was the onsen garden, which were natural-looking hot tubs built up the hillside and made private with vegetation and water features. The pool was lagoon-style and also amazing - The grounds were expertly landscaped with a lush feel and varied feel everywhere you looked - The spa facilities (and therapists) were unrivaled. Individual buildings, with individual sauna, steam room, Japanese bathtubs and exterior hot tubs - The restaurant is managed by Nobu and is focused on healthy, nutritious meals, but it was such a treat to do a 5 course Nobu meal each night - Transportation to and from the island was seamless as well Cons: - While the rooms were beautiful and well-laid out, they are of much better sound proofing. I am not sure whether that was a function of having a door for adjoining rooms, but I could hear full conversations, music and the morning phone alarm of my neighbors. I would absolutely come here again for a wellness tune up.
Read more
Response from DavidPEmig, Hotel Manager at Four Seasons Hotel Lanai At Koele, A Sensei Retreat
Responded 3 weeks ago
Aloha Wildestyle Thank you so much for writing about your visit. The Sensei and Four Seasons teams are dedicated to facilitating the journey to well being amidst a tranquil and beautiful setting and it's reassuring, and exciting, to know that you are feeling as good as you have in 15 years. I appreciate the feedback about the soundproofing. Your comments are well received and we will take measures to correct this. Thank you again for sharing your experiences. On behalf of the entire team here at Ko'ele, we look forward to welcoming you back soon. Mahalo David
Read more
A truly remarkable property and a great experience! It’s something of a cross between a luxury resort, a wellness retreat, and a culinary destination. Once you book, everything is taken care of from your internal flights, to your meals, to your daily activities. Your Sensei Guide will reach out to you before arrival and help you schedule your ideal stay while there to do as much or as little as you’d like. They offer things like personal training, yoga, meditation, mountain biking, massages, hiking, and much more (too much stuff to list here). If you want to go to the beach (we did one day), they’ll take you to the other Four Seasons beach and set you up with chairs, umbrellas, etc. We also did an awesome sunset sail one evening. As far as the hotel goes, the grounds are absolutely stunning. Most of the facilities surround the on-property lake which itself is surrounded by an amazing garden, along with some decks for yoga and just relaxing. The artwork surrounding the lake and throughout the property is also amazing (they really should offer a pre-dinner art walk of sorts to talk about the various pieces….hint..hint..). The pool is very big and welcoming. Lush foliage and waterfalls surround the pool as well as 3 big jacuzzi spas. Speaking of spas, they have an awesome Onsen Garden with lots of private hot tubs among the plants and waterfalls. Great way to relax and get a soak in between the day’s activities. Probably my favorite facility here was the Hale’s. It’s basically your own private spa. They have around 10 of these, and they are like your own little house you go to for spa treatments. You literally have your own ofuru tub, steam shower, sauna, and two private outdoor onsens (one cold, one warm). It’s an incredible place to spend time in before or after your treatment, and you have it all to yourself when there. And the food, well it’s absolutely superb. The Nobu restaurant there has an amazing menu for breakfast and lunch and every night you are served a multi course dinner where your biggest decision is choosing between things like A5 Wagyu or Lobster. Seriously, the food is delicious. One thing I especially liked was that even though it’s a very wellness focused resort, you can still get drinks in the restaurant and the lobby. It’s not like you’re encouraged to drink water and juice all night…haha I hope the above gives you an idea of what this place is about. I’m really looking forward to returning very soon and would recommend this place to anyone looking for a holiday!
Read more
Response from SaidHaykal, Hotel Manager at Four Seasons Hotel Lanai At Koele, A Sensei Retreat
Responded Jan 7, 2020
Aloha Six30, To hear your recent experience at Four Seasons Hotel Lana'i at Ko'ele, A Sensei Retreat as "an exceptional stay!" brings a lot of joy to us! As you mentioned, our grounds and property are breathtaking, but our team from our wellness experts to our culinary team make this property and experience truly unique. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future! Mahalo, Said
Read more
Arriving at the hotel I was somewhat concerned that it wouldn’t meet my high standards. I can confidently say that this hotel exceeded all expectations. The rooms are beautiful with great air conditioning and a comfortable bed. More importantly the pool and beach were fantastic. The staff was excellent and really made our visit a great experience. We will be back!
Read more
Response from SaidHaykal, Hotel Manager at Four Seasons Hotel Lanai At Koele, A Sensei Retreat
Responded Nov 15, 2019
Aloha stevecNewYork, We're truly delighted to hear that your recent visit "exceeded all expectations," and that our team was excellent in making this a great experience for you! We look forward to welcoming you back to Lana'i! Mahalo, Said
Read more
$2,802 - $4,574 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
four seasons resort lana`i, the lodge at koele hotel lanai city, 4 seasons resort lana`i, the lodge at koele, four seasons koele, four seasons lanai city, lanai city four seasons
Four Seasons Resort Lana'i, The Lodge at Koele
United StatesHawaiiLanaiLanai City
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Four Seasons Hotel Lanai At Koele, A Sensei Retreat
Which popular attractions are close to Four Seasons Hotel Lanai At Koele, A Sensei Retreat?
Nearby attractions include Lanai Cat Sanctuary (4.3 miles), Mike Carroll Gallery (0.7 miles), and Lanai Culture & Heritage Center (0.7 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Four Seasons Hotel Lanai At Koele, A Sensei Retreat?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
What food & drink options are available at Four Seasons Hotel Lanai At Koele, A Sensei Retreat?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Four Seasons Hotel Lanai At Koele, A Sensei Retreat?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Four Seasons Hotel Lanai At Koele, A Sensei Retreat?
Conveniently located restaurants include Lanai City Bar & Grille, Blue Ginger Cafe, and Pele's Other Garden Deli.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Four Seasons Hotel Lanai At Koele, A Sensei Retreat?
Yes, guests have access to a pool, a fitness center, and a sauna during their stay.
Does Four Seasons Hotel Lanai At Koele, A Sensei Retreat have an airport shuttle?
Yes, Four Seasons Hotel Lanai At Koele, A Sensei Retreat offers an airport shuttle for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Is Four Seasons Hotel Lanai At Koele, A Sensei Retreat located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.6 miles away from the center of Lanai.
Are any cleaning services offered at Four Seasons Hotel Lanai At Koele, A Sensei Retreat?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are there any historical sites close to Four Seasons Hotel Lanai At Koele, A Sensei Retreat?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Kaunolu (1.7 miles).
Is Four Seasons Hotel Lanai At Koele, A Sensei Retreat accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access. For specific inquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.