We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Makai Club

Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Hotel website
Hotel packages
4180 Lei O Papa Road, Princeville, Kauai, HI 96722 (Formerly Wyndham Makai Club)
Special Price
10% Off Entire Stay!
Book on TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with getaroom to make your booking as easy as possible.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Makai Club
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel"},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

216 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 213: English reviews
Boise, Idaho
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This is a very laid back, family orientated resort. The pool is small but nice. They offer bicycles, beach chairs, coolers, and golf clubs free. They have mai ties on Friday, ice cream Sundays on Tuesday, root beer floats on Wednesday and popsicles on Thursday. All in all it is a very fun place.

Helpful?
Thank jerryfackrell
Buffalo
Level Contributor
132 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We loved the one bedroom condo at this resort. The grounds were beautiful and the pool area was very nice and even had a gas burning fire pit. The condo was roomy , beautifully kept up, nicely decorated, comfortable and very clean. But the best part of our experience was the friendly, helpful, always smiling staff. They went out of... More 

Helpful?
Thank vacationgirl50
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Ours was a great condo - large with full facilities including laundry, huge comfortable bed, its own balcony with tables overlooking the mountains. Decor and furnishings were in good condition and modern. Air conditioning and fans in living areas and bedroom (although the remote for the aircon didn't work in the living area). The big downside is the lack of... More 

Helpful?
Thank TripletA
GPR S, Manager at Makai Club, responded to this review

Aloha Tony. Thank you for allowing us to host you during your recent stay. Queen's Bath is such a beautiful sight to see. We're glad you had a great time at our resort. We look forward to being of service to you and your family on your next visit. More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We went just to relax on the beaches in the area. we found Queen's Bath to be a fun hike and a great experience. But be very very careful of the ocean. Always respect the ocean. Also Tunnels Beach is a must see area. just the drive alone to the area is relaxing.

Helpful?
1 Thank Tony F
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed in a two bedroom/two bathroom place. The place was well looked after and the staff were friendly and helpful. I recommend getting a car rental so you can easily get around. We didn't do this in advance but were able to rent a car from the Princeville Airport. Our only complaint was that the windows are the old... More 

Helpful?
Thank Brs29
GPR S, Manager at Makai Club, responded to this review

Aloha Brs29. The team appreciates your comments. We always aim to give friendly and helpful service. We look forward to welcoming you back for years to come. Thank you for taking the time to share your experiences with us here at Makai Club Resort. More 

Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

Our party of 4 (two mothers and two kids) stayed here for a week. We were in cottage 504. We absolutely enjoyed our stay here. The cottage was clean, had a kitchen with everything you need, a washer and dryer, and comfortable beds. You can borrow beach chairs and bikes (2 hour limit on bikes) from the front desk. The... More 

Helpful?
Thank SusannafromLA
GPR S, Manager at Makai Club, responded to this review

Aloha SusannafromLA. It’s wonderful to hear you enjoyed many of the fine amenities at the resort. It's always our goal to have each guest thoroughly enjoy their stay. There's so much to do and see! We hope you visit us again and are able to get some photos! From everyone here at Makai Club Resort, we can't wait to see... More 

Santaquin
Level Contributor
28 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2016

We added a couple of nights to our Kauai timeshare stay in order to take advantage of less expensive airfare. It was less money to add a couple nights at Makai Club than to fly on the dates our timeshare was available, and we got to stay on Kauai a little longer! Anyway, we found the accommodations to be very... More 

Helpful?
Thank Thomas S
GPR S, Manager at Makai Club, responded to this review

Aloha Thomas. Wow, thank for your trusting your family's vacation to our resort. We’re pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and that everyone was friendly during your vacation. We look forward to welcoming you back for years to come. More 

Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2016 via mobile

We spent only one night in the makai club, yet the spacious appartments are made for longer stays. The kitchen was very well equipped with everything you needed and even a few complimentary things like coffee or microwave popcorn. However, we would not chose to stay there again for the really bad smell in the appartment which we dare to... More 

Helpful?
Thank K_M_CH_13
GPR S, Manager at Makai Club, responded to this review

Aloha K_M_CH_13. We love all feedback because it gives us the opportunity to improve. Kaua'i can be quite humid and moist, especially if the trade winds aren't blowing. However, we will share your review with the team to see how we can improve. Thank you for staying at Makai Club Resort! More 

New York City, New York
Level Contributor
131 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2016

We had a ball here. I was disappointed that we would not be on the ocean, but it was so near to everything it didn't matter at all. Well-outfitted kitchen, pool, excellent one-to-one concierge service until 7PM, coffee (free) and ice-cream (for a buck) on-site, many conveniences. They even let us use a "hospitality suite" (unbooked room) after checkout, because... More 

Helpful?
Thank Rich M
GPR S, Manager at Makai Club, responded to this review

Hi Rich. Thank you for your great score of a perfect 5.0 and your wonderful review. We're pleased you had a ball at our resort. We would love to see you again soon. Please let us know if there's anything we can do to assist with a return visit. Thank you for the recommendation. Mahalo! More 

Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2016

The staff, facility, and location are all excellent. This was our first visit to Kauai and it became our favorite Hawaii island to visit. The Makai Club experience could not have been better. The 2 bedroom cottage is huge and provides enough space for 6-8 to be comfortable.

Helpful?
Thank RAHorvath
GPR S, Manager at Makai Club, responded to this review

Aloha RAHorvath. Thank you for the feedback regarding your stay. We're so pleased you had a wonderful first visit to Kaua'i. We’re so happy you chose Makai Club Resort for your vacation. We look forward to seeing you again and again. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

118 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (98)
Viewed
Room/Suite (27)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (15)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Other (38)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (20)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Princeville
1.1 mi away
Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas
15.2 mi away
Aston Islander on the Beach
17.2 mi away
Kauai Beach Resort
Kauai Beach Resort
#4 of 11 in Lihue
4.0 of 5 stars 2,019 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hanalei Bay Resort
Hanalei Bay Resort
#2 of 4 in Princeville
4.0 of 5 stars 1,524 reviews
0.8 mi away
St. Regis Princeville Resort
3.8 mi away
Hanalei Colony Resort
Hanalei Colony Resort
#1 of 1 in Hanalei
4.5 of 5 stars 453 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
GreenLeadersBronze level
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Golf course
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Concierge
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Business Center with Internet Access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Makai Club Resort is the perfect setting for both a cozy romantic getaway or a relaxing golf vacation. Located on a beautiful tropical hillside, alongside the championship Makai Golf Course, the Makai Club is truly the perfect place to begin your Hawaiian island adventure.Nicknamed the “Garden Isle,” Kauai is often said to be the most beautiful Hawaiian Island. There is certainly something to be said about Kauai’s North Shore, which is home to incredible sunsets, rich tropical foliage, and the breathtaking expanse of the Pacific Ocean stretching out to the horizon. The Makai Club resort welcomes you to experience with us the natural beauty and adventure that we have enjoyed for so long on the island of Kauai. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Makai Club

Address: 4180 Lei O Papa Road, Princeville, Kauai, HI 96722 (Formerly Wyndham Makai Club)
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Princeville
Price Range: $190 - $302 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Makai Club 3*
Number of rooms: 57
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Orbitz so you can book your Makai Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham Makai Club Hotel Princeville
Makai Club Princeville, Kauai
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay