We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Princeville Resort

Traveler (2075)
Room & Suite (579)
Video (2)
Certificate of Excellence

About

Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Certificate of Excellence
Perched above legendary Hanalei Bay, Princeville Resort brings unmatched sophistication and serene luxury to one of the most remarkable destinations in the world. Unwind on sandy beaches, snorkel in crystal-clear waters, and treat yourself to bespoke service. Elegant residential-style living defines Princeville Resort's 251 guestrooms and suites, each with sweeping views of Kauai's spectacular North Shore.
Read more
Property amenities
Pool
Room service
Restaurant
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Bar/Lounge
Spa
Babysitting
Banquet Room
Breakfast Available
Business Center with Internet Access
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Concierge
Conference Facilities
Dry Cleaning
Golf course
Heated pool
Laundry Service
Meeting rooms
Multilingual Staff
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor pool
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Public Wifi
Sauna
Wheelchair access
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Refrigerator in room
Accessible rooms
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Great View
Mountain View
HOTEL CLASS
Hotel links
Visit hotel website
Hotel deals

Location

Full view
56Somewhat walkable
Grade: 56 out of 100
62Restaurantswithin 5 miles
47Attractionswithin 5 miles
3,243Reviews
2,605Photos
39Q+A
100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 2,022
  • 630
  • 334
  • 157
  • 100
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More languages
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
After staying at the Four Seasons on Maui, I'm not sure that the St. Regis Princeville can really call itself a 5 star resort. Although now I don't think it's even the St. Regis anymore, just the Princeville Resort. My fiance and I tried to book the St. Regis back in November
Read more
Response from PrincevilleResort, Manager at Princeville Resort
Responded 2 days ago
Aloha mewfich, We appreciate you taking the time to visit our Resort. We apologize that your experience was anything less than exceptional and you are correct in your assumption that we are no longer affiliated with the St. Regis Brand. We are excited for our upcoming improvements and renovation and it would be our sincere pleasure to welcome you back post renovation. With warmest aloha
Read more
This place was probably once great but sadly it is not any more. Apparently they will be undergoing a much needed renovation in the future. Don't come until they do. Food is lackluster. Staff is overworked and indifferent. Same canned response to every negative review. Please
Read more
Response from PrincevilleResort, Manager at Princeville Resort
Responded 2 days ago
Aloha Phil C, We do appreciate all feedback from our guests and we want to be able to address all issues our guests face on a case by case basis. We apologize that your stay was anything less than exceptional and we would be more then happy to speak with you directly about your experience. Please reach out to me directly at ruggero.massetti@1hotels.com. I look forward to speaking with you. Mahalo,
Read more
First off, the wife and I were here for a week long family trip. This consisted of four families, two staying at the resort, two staying off property at a rental. The first day we were there, we were amazing by how beautiful the view is, from the sunsets to watching the rain
Read more
Response from PrincevilleResort, Manager at Princeville Resort
Responded 4 days ago
Aloha, Thank you for taking the time to leave such detailed information about your recent stay. Our guests feedback both good and bad is what allows us a chance to address issues and make improvements. We apologize that your stay was anything less than exceptional and we once again appreciate your feedback and have already looked into some of your issues. We hope you will allow us another opportunity in the near future to have you return to stay with us! With warmest aloha,
Read more
I was excited to come here because of the beautiful setting, and its grand reputation. This place was NOWHERE close to being a 5 star hotel. The location is nice but everything else... I mean everything... was terrible. The service was atrocious. The food was inedible. It was
Read more
Response from PrincevilleResort, Guest Relations Manager at Princeville Resort
Responded 4 days ago
Aloha Margot A, We appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback about your recent stay with us. We have read through your entire review an we apologize that your stay was anything less than exceptional. We take great pride in the level of service we provide each and every guest who walk through our doors and we have shared your review with our Management team as these comments are not typical behavior of our staff. We can understand your frustration and have already started to investigate our room service team. Unfortunately I do not have all the information regarding your stay and if you wish to discuss your stay in further please feel free to reach out to our team as we are always looking for ways to improve and to be able to regain the confidence from our previous guests. With warmest aloha,
Read more
This hotel was so run down and disappointing, we had to check out after only one night. And let me start by saying, it is such a shame because Hanalei Bay is so incredibly beautiful! I chose to ignore the slew of reviews saying the hotel had gone downhill and take a chance, and
Read more
Response from PrincevilleResort, Guest Relations Manager at Princeville Resort
Responded 4 days ago
Aloha and Mahalo, We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience and feedback about your recent stay at the Princeville Resort. We never want to have our guests cut their stays with shorter then originally expected but we are pleased to hear our staff was able to accommodate your needs and we have already started to look into some of the concerns you have shared as we are always looking for ways to improve. Our Resort has an extension daily maintenance program in place and we are working diligently to address many of your concerns. We are looking forward to our improvements and we hope you will return to see them so we can regain your confidence in our Resort and location. With warmest aloha,
Read more
Previous
Album Categories
All photosTravelerRoom & SuitePool & BeachDining Business Center & Event RoomsFamily and Play Areas
Peeling paint
Rusty railings to frame your oceanview
Stains on the carpets
Professional photo exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisorPrinceville Resort
The Junior Suite at the St. Regis Princeville
Bed
PreviousNext
123456116
I did not have mold in my room, it was clean and taken care of everyday. From what I understand the St Regis had stopped doing updates before the sale and they inherited this dated property they Are preparing for a huge renovation so they are not updating rooms. I can only speak about my experience and room. I have spent many weeks in this area and it rains A LOT so mold on the outside of buildings is something that I understand.
0 votes
Show all answers
What Is the question, please? I too was disappointed in the managerial changes at the resort as I felt they were unaccommodating. The manager responded to my revue and invited me to contact him and I plan to do that. ( It has been difficult due to the current 6 hour time difference between Princeville and my location.)
1 vote
Show all answers
Hmmm you seem to have some concerns about this property. However, you posted the question on TripAdvisor. When I have similar concerns I go right to the venue/property, be it resort hotel, restaurant, etc. Posting on TripAdvisor certainly shares concerns with users like myself which is helpful, but may not bring any satisfying resolution from the business concerned. Marie Parsons
0 votes
Show all answers
As I remember, that is when the pool service ends and beach service. You could still swim.
1 vote
Show all answers
When will you be finished remodeling?
The remodel has not yet begun. There are new management rules, however. There was conflicting info depending on who we spoke to about whether the hotel would remain open during the remodel or if it would be done in phases and stay open.
0 votes
Show all answers
PreviousNext
1234568
"The rooms with balconies seem to have the best view, but likely have mold issues."
"I wouldn't recommend any room in this hotel"
"Rooms overlooking the pool are loud."
"I would get a suite at another hotel"
"#909 was simply perfect"
PreviousNext
12345620
PRICE RANGE
$432 - $649 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
st. regis princeville hotel princevillest regis princeville resort
LOCATION
United StatesHawaiiKauaiPrinceville
NUMBER OF ROOMS
251
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing