Poipu Plantation Vacation Rentals

Poipu Plantation Vacation Rentals

Traveler (199)
Comfy bed
Room & Suite (92)
First course of breakfast by Javed
Dining (26)

View prices for your travel dates

$201
No booking fees
Only 1 left at
$224
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.

About

4.5
#6 of 19 condos in Poipu
Location
4.7
Cleanliness
4.5
Service
4.7
Value
4.6
Only 500 feet to the ocean and the world-famous Poipu Beach! This boutique vacation rental is an oasis of tropical trees and garden, no less than 28 Plumeria trees. Open sunny skies and rolling green backyard provide the feel of a country estate, yet fresh ocean breeze will remind you of the tropical oasis you're in. We welcome you to our traditionally decorated suites with full kitchen, free WiFi & parking.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Wifi
Patio
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Picnic area
Self-serve laundry
First aid kit
Room features
Air conditioning
Kitchenette
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Hidden Gem
Quaint

Location

1792 Pe'e Rd, Poipu, Koloa, Kauai, HI 96756
Getting there
Somewhat walkable
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travelers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 51 out of 100
51
Kauai Island Airport
289Reviews7Q+A45Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 217
  • 50
  • 9
  • 5
  • 8
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Kim S wrote a review Jul 2021
Oakland, California3 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
My partner and I had a wonderful stay at Poipu Plantation Inn. If you prefer small and intimate hotels, this is a great alternative to the big impersonal resorts. We stayed in the Ilima suite, and were totally charmed by the traditional Hawaiian architecture (high ceilings, lots of wood) and decor. We loved waking up to birdsong, eating breakfast on the lanai, surrounded by beautiful gardens. We loved being two short blocks from one of the best beaches in the world - and only a block from a little cove where we watched sea turtles in the evening. We enjoyed barbecuing in the gazebo in the evenings, under an awning of hibiscus. The owner and host Pete is extremely kind and went out of his way to make sure we were happy and comfortable. We will be back!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Pete Apor, General Manager at Poipu Plantation Vacation Rentals
Responded Sep 8, 2022
Mahalo for your wonderful review
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Deana K wrote a review Nov 2022
1 contribution1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We booked this location after having already arrived in Hawaii and found our booked hotel to be really bad! Found this location through Southwest Airlines hotel booking. Not only was the price very reasonable, we were also upgraded to a partial ocean view cottage! We arrived next day and check-in was painless, everything ready for us. We had the Hibiscus Cottage and it was very clean, and had a nice balcony! Cottage appears well cared for, had all the kitchen utensils, pots, pans, etc… if you want to cook. There is also a coffee maker, toaster, blender, microwave and full refrigerator. All towels, paper towels, cleaning products are provided. Beach towels, chair and umbrella also provided. Poipu Beach is 10 minute walk. Coin operated Washer/Dryer on site. This place saved our vacation!
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Pete Apor, General Manager at Poipu Plantation Vacation Rentals
Responded Nov 28, 2022
Mahalo for your wonderful review! So very happy you folks enjoyed staying here at Poipu Plantation Resort. Pete
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Cooop w wrote a review Jan 2023
2 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
This is my first time visiting Kauai Island and its natural beauty is like no other islands and well preserved. I enjoyed very much at the stay in Poipu Plantation. Only a few minutes walk to the beach and quite a few bars and restaurants close by. Pete is a fantastic host serving different foods for breakfast everyday. He is very friendly and showed me the ropes to different attractions in the island, the do’s and the don’t around. The room is very clean and well maintained. It has a balcony and a good view of the surrounding plantation and a partial ocean view. The road is quiet but I can hear the splashing sound of the beach and very relaxing. It’s also close to Grand Hyatt where they have live music everyday with some great restaurants and 5 minutes drive to an athletic club. Overall I’m very satisfied with the place and Pete’s hospitality. I will definitely come back on my next visit to Kauai.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2023Trip type: Traveled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Pete Apor, General Manager at Poipu Plantation Vacation Rentals
Responded Apr 27, 2023
Mahalo for the great review of our Bed & Breakfast suites
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
TL wrote a review Feb 2021
1 contribution5 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
My wife and I decided to book with Poipu Plantation back in November of 2019 for the following spring break. Needless to say we were unable to take the trip due to Covid. The ownership at the time extended a 12 month rescheduling grace period (the non refundable money would otherwise be lost), so we reschedule for April of 2021.

When I contacted Poipu to ask them if they would consider refunding our deposit because Kauai is one of the most restrictive areas to travel the gentlemen told me He was the new owner as of September and was resolute that no refund would be made. I tried to reason with him that our original reservation was made prior to the knowledge of covid but he was unwilling to budge, saying that he must be “consistent” with the former owners rules.

Nothing has been consistent about 2020.

He then magnanimously offered a 6 month extensions. This trip was to be the last trip my wife and I could take before having our first child. My wife’s due date is in 6 months. There’s no way we could possibly take him up on this offer. He was unfazed, and repeated we would forfeit our deposit.

Please do not do business with this new owner.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2021Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Adriano A wrote a review Jan 2024
Milan, Italy8 contributions12 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Stay Away. Poipu is a wonderful beach and Kauai a lovely Island but this facility is really to be avoided. The owner is the most unpolite and rude person we have ever met. The flat is much older and dirtier than the picture they have on booking.com. When we arrived, we kindly asked to clean better our flat and the owner replied the if we did not like the fat we could leave (but he knew that the cancellation policy did not allow us to leave without a refund).
The owner is never in the office. I tried to call him twice when I needed first aid but he never replied.
There are much better hotels in Poipu. Stay away, believe me.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Room Tip: Stay Away
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Pete Apor, General Manager at Poipu Plantation Vacation Rentals
Responded Jan 7, 2024
Of course this couple is not saying is they took the key from the desk by going through the desk and went up to the room when it was not even ready. When it was ready within 3 minutes came down to say there was dust only to try to get a full refund. Very typical dramatic performance they gave in true Italian style of over exaggerating and they yelling at me. I told them they can work with booking and leave. But they stayed and enjoyed the wonderful sunset and never came back to office.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
4610minnesota wrote a review Mar 2024
minnesota7 contributions6 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Great location to Poipu Beach. Be sure to check out the sunset on the wall down and around the road. The big windows and heavenly breeze all day and night was very pleasant. Huge deck with high top tables were fantastic for dining or just enjoying the view of the ocean. Bed was very comfortable, the birds and roosters will help awaken you to enjoy the day. Used the grill under the gazebo. 2 large glass patio tables and very comfortable chairs in gazebo for a dozen people if you want to have a BBQ party. Plenty of dishes and pots and pans. Beach chairs and an umbrella and beach towels available with the unit. I did a load of laundry. 1.50$ per wash and for a dry. They supply laundry soap free. Parking avail right near your unit. Was a very good experience. Would return
Read more
Date of stay: March 2024
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Room Tip: Be sure to see the sea turtles and monk seals(if you are lucky) on Poipu Beach
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Pete X, General Manager at Poipu Plantation Vacation Rentals
Responded Mar 3, 2024
Mahalo for the wonderful review! So very glad you folks had a wonderful time! Mahalo, Pete
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Jackie H. wrote a review Aug 2023
Tucson, Arizona71 contributions17 helpful votes
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We were fortunate enough to spend 3 weeks at this beautiful bed and breakfast! We had to leave Maui quickly due to the fires and the owner Pete was most accommodating to us! His local information was very helpful to us. The breakfast was excellent in a lovely setting! The old plantation home is lovely and well appointed! We enjoyed the quick stroll down to the beach and the lovely mature landscaping on property. Pete provided nice beach chairs and towels for our day’s excursions. This place is truly a hidden gem and we hope to return to Poipu Plantation for many years to come!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2023Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Room Tip: Sea turtles and Hawaiian monk seals can be seen on the shore every evening at Poipu beach…a quick...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Karen M wrote a review Sep 2021
17 contributions2 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I have a time share at the Diamond Point of Poi Pu. However, this year with Covid they closed down many rooms. I needed two weeks in Kauai and booked an Air BNB at the Poipu Plantation on Pe'e street. What a God send. I booked the Plumeria room and was so thrilled with the space and even air conditioning. I have been so happy with this Air BnB. It's a short walk to Point of Poi Pu beach and a restaurant. I am sure if you have any concerns that the owner Pete will address any issues. I hope to book this charming spot each year when I visit Kauai.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: Love the Plumeria Room
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Pete Apor, General Manager at Poipu Plantation Vacation Rentals
Responded Sep 8, 2022
Mahalo for your wonderful review
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Journey33678 wrote a review Jan 2005
Austin, Texas1 contribution24 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed here Jan 10 - 14th on our honeymoon. This review is for the Alii Suite (honeymoon suite).
Wonderful breakfast everyday and a cultural breakfast. Guava pancakes were wonderful!
Alii Suite was perfect for us - very laid back B&B. A quick walk to poipu beach and a nice view from the lanai. Windows open every night...Beach mats and coolers from the B&B helped out!!!!!
Comfortable bed. Great service! Ask Javed for recommendations on beaches with wonderful views or other advice on what to do while in kauai. His recommendation of a beach was our most perfect day (with the nature hike).
We want to go back and wish we had spent our whole honeymoon at this b&b instead of part of it on OAHU.
Try chocolate lava at the beach house restaurant. yum!
smith family luau was enjoyable and food was good. (especially pork if you eat that). safari air helicopter ride was awesome.
Read more
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Vacation8404 wrote a review Dec 2004
Lexington, KY1 contribution21 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
My wife and I stayed at the Poipu Plantation Resort Bed and Breakfast Ali'i Suite for our honeymoon in July '04 and we had an incredible time. We could not have asked for a better place to stay. I searched for months trying to find the perfect place for our Honeymoon and I stumbled upon this Bed and Breakfast. I was a bit nervous because neither one of us had stayed at a Bed and Breakfast before, but we decided to give it a try and I am so glad we did. Our room was fantastic. From the moment we got there it felt like home. The only thing better than the room was the service. The people knew us by name and they gave personalized service. They helped us make reservations for just about everything we did and they provided us with great advice on the most beautiful places on the island that were not in the guide books. Let me also say that the island of Kauai is the most beautiful place I have ever seen. Every part of the island is unique and has its own characteristics. It is truly magnificent. My wife and I are already planning a time when we can go back.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2004
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Answer from Pete A
Kauai, Hawaii
Kauai driving is easy with one main road and high speed of 50MPH. We are limited on public transportation. Nothing like Oahu in that respect. We encourage visitors to have a rental car. Options are primarily paid tours.
tripperNJ asked a question Mar 2017
Hightstown, New Jersey42 contributions27 helpful votes
is there a pool on property?
Answer from Pete A
Kauai, Hawaii
Aloha Guests. We do not offer a swimming pool. There is a calm water swimming area for children and adults in front of the life guard station at our Poipu Beach.
Answer from Pete A
Kauai, Hawaii
We have foot washers with shower head at each stair to the suites.
4610minnesota wrote a tip Mar 2024
minnesota7 contributions6 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Be sure to see the sea turtles and monk seals(if you are lucky) on Poipu Beach"
Read full review
Adriano A wrote a tip Jan 2024
Milan, Italy8 contributions12 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Stay Away"
Read full review
Jackie H. wrote a tip Aug 2023
Tucson, Arizona71 contributions17 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Sea turtles and Hawaiian monk seals can be seen on the shore every evening at Poipu beach…a quick walk from the unit."
Read full review
Max H wrote a tip Feb 2022
Pomona, United States44 contributions6 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"High rooms have the best views, but lots of steps up and down."
Read full review
Karen M wrote a tip Sep 2021
17 contributions2 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Love the Plumeria Room"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Poipu area.
PRICE RANGE
$340 - $603 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
poipu plantation hotel poipu
LOCATION
United StatesHawaiiKauaiKoloaPoipuKoloa
NUMBER OF ROOMS
13
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

POIPU PLANTATION VACATION RENTALS - Updated 2024

Frequently Asked Questions about Poipu Plantation Vacation Rentals
Which popular attractions are close to Poipu Plantation Vacation Rentals?
Nearby attractions include Brennecke's Beach (0.5 miles), Stevenson's Library (0.6 miles), and Mahaulepu Beach (0.4 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Poipu Plantation Vacation Rentals?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free parking, and self serve laundry.
Which room amenities are available at Poipu Plantation Vacation Rentals?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
Is parking available at Poipu Plantation Vacation Rentals?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Poipu Plantation Vacation Rentals?
Conveniently located restaurants include Tidepools, Red Salt, and Ilima Terrace Restaurant.
Are there any historical sites close to Poipu Plantation Vacation Rentals?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Ke Kahua O Kāneiolouma (0.5 miles), Prince Kuhio Park (1.8 miles), and Old Kaloa Sugar Mill (3.5 miles).
All Poipu HotelsPoipu Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in PoipuHotels near Poipu Plantation Vacation Rentals
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsVacation RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars