We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

Poipu Plantation Resort

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Poipu
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Poipu Plantation Resort
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

234 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 223: English reviews
ubud
Level Contributor
156 reviews
139 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Spent a really enjoyable five nights here in a ground floor apartment without b&b. Condo was clean, spacious with a well equipped kitchen, lounge and comfy bed. Cool breeze without the air con but there if you need it. Communal laundry and free beach gear available even cool boxes. Javed (sorry if spelling is wrong) was super friendly and helpful... More 

Helpful?
Thank jan497
PPR1792, General Manager at Poipu Plantation Resort, responded to this review

Aloha jan947 and thank you, mahalo nui for taking the time to review our property. We are so happy that you enjoyed our place and made use of what we have to offer. Javed (you are right) is yes, Mr. Hospitality. We all love our island and want to be sure our guests get the full enjoyment of such a... More 

Palm Springs, California
Level Contributor
180 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2016 via mobile

This report offers quite a good value in Poipu. This review does not apply to the B&B portion of the development as we stayed in one of the large rental apartments. The unit was large and very clean - just as the pictures in their marketing materials indicate. The location is excellent and in walking distance to the beach but... More 

Helpful?
Thank 758Paul423
PPR1792, General Manager at Poipu Plantation Resort, responded to this review

Aloha 758Paul423 and thank you for your review. We appreciate hearing what we might do to improve our services. General cleaning products for guests are in the laundry hut, but we too have been considering these for each suite. We will look into options for keeping the afternoon sun more muted at the west facing upper suites. Thank you for... More 

Indiana
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2016

We had the loveliest honeymoon/anniversary here. We waited a year to take our trip, but it was worth it! This property is small, and we stayed in the condos, so there were no hotel amenities. However, it was peaceful, beautiful, and affordable. When we arrived, the staff had put plumeria flowers everywhere, along with a box of chocolate covered macademia... More 

Helpful?
Thank wazula
PPR1792, General Manager at Poipu Plantation Resort, responded to this review

Aloha wazula and thank you for being our guests and taking the time to share your thoughts. We are so happy you enjoyed our place and your wonderful Honeymoon and Anniversary. We try to provide the best beds for all, but with the newest cushy ones, it really depends on what someone is accustomed to. We are using a Hilton... More 

Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2016

The apartment had plenty of space and a full kitchen. It was a short drive to Poipu sites and restaurants. The office staff was wonderful. They helped us plan our days and gave advice on local farmers markets, scenic drives, uncrowded beaches, and helped us buy a boat tour at a discounted price. My only complaint was the old, flat... More 

Helpful?
Thank Beth B
PPR1792, General Manager at Poipu Plantation Resort, responded to this review

Aloha Beth B and thank you for your nice review of our place here in Poipu Beach. We really appreciate you taking the time to share your experience and are so happy you had a great trip. I would like to say though that we don't have "old pillows"; flat, perhaps. I admit our green pillow could be considered "flat"... More 

Dunnellon, Florida
Level Contributor
33 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2016

We stayed 14 nights at Poipu Plantation Resort. It is a block from the Ocean and a short walk to 2 beaches, one with green sea turtles and big waves for belly boarding and one with different areas for swimming, snorkeling, picnicking or wading. Poipu is a great central location to stay for visiting most parts of Kauai within driving... More 

Helpful?
Thank Connie H
PPR1792, General Manager at Poipu Plantation Resort, responded to this review

Aloha Connie H, thank you for taking the time to review your experience staying with us here in Poipu Beach. We feel very fortunate to have so many guests that enjoy our area and the magic island of Kauai. We hope to see you here again, A hui hou! Chris More 

Switzerland
Level Contributor
641 reviews
101 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 347 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2016

This was probably the best place we stayed during our trip in Hawaii. The apartment style unit got everything one needs, especially full kitchen was very handy. Located in a quiet area which guaranteed a good night rest and sleep. The place is of vintage style, but taken care greatly. Steps away from the beach, 5 min drive to supermarket.... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank winylake
PPR1792, General Manager at Poipu Plantation Resort, responded to this review

Aloha Winylake, thank you so much for your wonderful review. It is so great when someone like yourself enjoys themselves so completely. We know how big a trip to Kauai is and are fulfilled with a reaction such as yours. A hui hou! Chris More 

Creswell, Oregon
Level Contributor
129 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2016

We stayed 10 days in the Condo at Sunset Kahili #204 and loved every minute. When we checked in at the main office at Poipu Plantation, we were greeted warmly, and given access to books, maps and good local knowledge. The condo is quite large and beautifully furnished and we had everything we needed to prepare meals (well, the knives... More 

Helpful?
Thank Opera_lover054
PPR1792, General Manager at Poipu Plantation Resort, responded to this review

Aloha Opera_lover054 and thank you for enjoying our Sunset Kahili condo 204. We like this small condo property very much and in our same location. The views are wonderful and proximity to the beach just like our own property around the corner. We gave advanced discounted rate and notice of our neighbor's roofing project and hope it wasn't too bad.... More 

Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2016

What a great introduction to the hospitality and beach lifestyle of Kauai. We took the b&b option while we stayed here for 3 nights, we would have loved to have stayed longer if we had had more time. The breakfasts, served with recordings of Hawaiian music in the background, were delicious and varied our favourite being banana pancakes. The resort... More 

Helpful?
Thank Chris H
PPR1792, General Manager at Poipu Plantation Resort, responded to this review

Aloha Chris H and thank you for your nice review and enjoying our classic Inn. We are very fortunate to be in the location we are with so many wonderful guests like yourself. Hopefully you may come back to Kauai and spend those extra days! Mahalo nui! Chris More 

Quebec City, Canada
Level Contributor
82 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2016

We enjoyed a 15 night stay at Poipu Plantation, renting their Sunset Kahili apartment across the street. The apartment was spacious and well-furnished, and we found the king-sized bed very comfortable. The apartment has hardwood or tile floors, a kitchen with full refrigerator, stove, and dishwasher, as well as a washer and dryer which we very much appreciated. The lack... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank JoanneandWallace
Chris M, General Manager at Poipu Plantation Resort, responded to this review

Aloha JoanneandWallace, thank you for sharing your comments on the Sunset condo we own across the street. We appreciate you staying with us and enjoying the location and features of this condo. Rest assured improvements are on-going with our most recent work in 2014 / 15 that included wall art, living room set, floor finishing, hardware, window coverings and more.... More 

Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2016

We stayed in the Garden Suite B&B in March 2016. Amazing location and facilities for a very reasonable price with extremely helpful and friendly staff. Located right by the beautiful Poipu Beach, we ended up extending our stay because we loved it so much. A delicious hot Hawaiian breakfast is served daily with the other guests, which is a wonderful... More 

Helpful?
Thank bric24
Chris M, General Manager at Poipu Plantation Resort, responded to this review

Aloha bric24 and thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts of staying at our Inn. It is a great atmosphere thanks to many wonderful guests such as you. A Hui Hou! More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

150 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (131)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (39)
Viewed
Dining (18)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (17)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
View from Room (9)
Viewed
Other (37)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (19)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Poipu
Koloa
Marriott's Waiohai Beach Club
Kauai Beach Resort
#4 of 11 in Lihue
4.0 of 5 stars 2,045 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Koloa
Koa Kea Hotel & Resort
Koloa
Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Beachfront
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair access
Room types
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Concierge
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Wonderful value and quality accommodations at Poipu Beach. Never an extra fee, pay room and tax only! Poipu Beach neighborhood resort includes ten Vacation Rentals with kitchen (non B&B) and four Plantation House bed and breakfast suites with daily breakfast(no kitchens),all in air conditioned comfort. Situated on spacious gardens an easy walk to Brennecke's and Poipu beaches and the surrounding coastline. This is Poipu's best value. **Breakfast included for Inn guests only (no kitchens). Rental guests with full kitchen, breakfast is not offered. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Poipu Plantation Resort

Address: 1792 Pee Rd, Poipu, Kauai, HI 96756-9535
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Poipu > Koloa
Price Range: $157 - $195 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 14
Also Known As:
Poipu Plantation Hotel Poipu
Poipu Plantation Resort Kauai
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing