We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Kiahuna Plantation Resort

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Kiahuna Plantation Resort
Kiahuna Plantation Resort
Panoramas (16)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,684 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Kiahuna Plantation Resort
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,580: English reviews
Reviewed December 14, 2016 via mobile

Came for nieces wedding. Whole family stayed here. I love the grounds. I like the homey, cozy atmosphere of the unit I was in. Beach was beautiful & we received free golf day with our stay. Across the 2 lane highway from nice shopping village & walking distance to some local type shopping areas & lovely, low key restaurants.

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Jo C
KiahunaGM, General Manager at Kiahuna Plantation Resort, responded to this review

Mahalo for your stay, and your kind review. I hope that you come back again soon! Aloha, Roy Thompson General Manager Castle Resorts & Hotels

Reviewed December 11, 2016

Stayed at Kiahuna 39 years ago and after 2 hurricanes it's still a beautiful place. The vegetation, trees, and flowers are out of this world. The beach is shorter than I remember but the condo was fine and well taken care of. I would stay there again and be totally happy.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank David C
KiahunaGM, General Manager at Kiahuna Plantation Resort, responded to this review

Thank you so much! Don't wait another 30+ years to visit us again! Aloha, Roy Thompson General Manager Castle Resorts & Hotels

Waterloo, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed December 9, 2016

Great spot. Could throw a stone to the beach. Woke up to bird songs every morning and had a gorgeous walk in and out no matter where we were going. That being said, who puts carpet in a beach front condo? You could smell the mildew upon walking in. Several units need refreshers, but if you can get them for...

 Report
Helpful?
6Thank addictedtosunshine
KiahunaGM, General Manager at Kiahuna Plantation Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. Many of our units feature carpet, including the beach front units. The bedrooms are nice with carpet for your bare feet in our cool winters! You can select your specific condo from our website. We have over 40 units participating in this new option, so I urge all readers to check that out. Aloha, Roy...

Burnaby, Canada
Reviewed December 9, 2016 via mobile

Some have written reviews about this resort saying the renovations or road noise is unbearable... I am going to say what drove me nuts was their early morning obsession with leaf blowing - with both a loud road sweeper and the painfully louder hand held one. And it doesn't stop with 1 drive/blow by at 8.15am, they both endlessly circle...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Cybamuse
KiahunaGM, General Manager at Kiahuna Plantation Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent stay, and your review. Our beach is already recovering from our recent storms, and is again very nice. We are trying to get the homeowners association to get quieter equipment for cleaning the grounds. I agree that it can be annoying, especially early in the morning. Aloha, Roy Thompson General Manager Castle Resorts & Hotels

Vancouver, B.C., Canada
Reviewed December 7, 2016

We stayed at Bldg 28 unit 184. One bedroom with ocean view. Very comfortable and reasonably equipped. Big plus was in-suite laundry!!! No A/C but great cross wind ventilation. The place is well managed by Outrigger. The grounds are well maintained and the service was wonderful. Mary and Yannel at the front desk were very helpful, friendly and professional.The Manager,...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank CarlosandGigi
KiahunaGM, General Manager at Kiahuna Plantation Resort, responded to this review

This should be an Outrigger review. I sure wish TA would get these right! Aloha, Roy Thompson General Manager Castle Resorts & Hotels

southwest ontario
Reviewed November 29, 2016

My wife and I are NOT hard to please. We spend very little time in our room except to sleep. The condo room was 433 managed by Castle. We arrived to find a spacious condo with all the things we needed. The condo is in rough shape to say the least. The carpet was very dirty and smelled like stinky...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank medikk
KiahunaGM, General Manager at Kiahuna Plantation Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your stay. I am so sorry that you did not enjoy your condo. We work with our owners at keeping them in good shape, but unfortunately this one's planned renovation will be in the spring. Please feel free to call me should you visit Kauai again, and I will happily assist you in setting up your reservations...

North Dakota
Reviewed November 29, 2016

The room was clean and peaceful, however our place required about 4 fans to be brought in to keep it at tolerable warm/humid level instead of damp humid as it was when we walked into the place. It's definitely a necessity to utilize windows and doors however you are supposed to shut them when not in the room. We had...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank B0607
KiahunaGM, General Manager at Kiahuna Plantation Resort, responded to this review

Mahalo for your visit, and your review. We hope to see you back soon! Aloha, Roy Thompson General Manager Castle Resorts & Hotels

Castlegar, Canada
Reviewed November 29, 2016

The room we stayed in was infested with bedbugs and I suffered serious bites that destroyed my vacation. We brought it to management's attention who was willing to do NOTHING about it. Have notified Hawaii Department of Health who will be inspecting property and may order it to be shut down. Avoid this place at all costs.

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank piccolopearl
KiahunaGM, General Manager at Kiahuna Plantation Resort, responded to this review

We have had NO reports / complaints about bedbugs for a long time. I can only conclude that you were not staying in a unit rented by my company, Castle Resorts. Any time we receive a report of bedbugs we immediately call our expert pest control company who does a complete same-day inspection of the unit. We have not had...

Reviewed November 25, 2016 via mobile

So the week has been a bit challenging with rain and high winds. Not the best Thanksgiving for sure. That said, the thing that has saved us is the place we are staying in. The Kiahuna Plantation is an older, well maintained, condo rental place located in the most beautiful part of Poipu. While not near as fancy at the...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank Rich S
KiahunaGM, General Manager at Kiahuna Plantation Resort, responded to this review

Awesome! Thank you so much! I am so pleased that you enjoyed yourselves, and hope that you can come back soon. Roy Thompson General Manager Castle Resorts & Hotels

Victoria
Reviewed November 22, 2016

I have never had a worse hotel stay in my life. From the moment we landed at the hotel we were told the adjoining ground floor units we had requested and been assured of two weeks previous to our arrival were not what we were to have. Our children and grand children we share meals with were not adjoining, they...

 Report
Helpful?
8Thank Yago1
KiahunaGM, General Manager at Kiahuna Plantation Resort, responded to this review

I am truly sorry that you had a bad experience at Kiahuna. I will be asking TripAdvisor to properly assign this negative review to Outrigger, as you were clearly not in units managed by Castle. We feature daily housekeeping services (towels, trash removal, and making beds) and also the front desk employee you mention works for Outrigger. Castle has had...

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

1,402 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (934)
Viewed
View from Room (111)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (143)
Viewed
Dining (27)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (179)
Viewed
Room/Suite (168)
Viewed
Bathroom (13)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
1:18
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (291)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (448)
Viewed
Amenities (77)
Viewed
Beach (36)
Viewed
Children's Pool (6)
Viewed
One-Bedroom Ocean View (67)
Viewed
Pool (48)
Viewed
Dining (33)
Viewed
The Hotel (76)
Viewed
Two Bedroom Partial Ocean View (105)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (20)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (13)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Poipu
Kauai Beach Resort
#4 of 11 in Lihue
2,199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Koloa
No photo provided
Koloa
Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Tennis Court
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Kiahuna Plantation Resort Kauai by Outrigger(R) is situated on a 35-acre oceanfront setting at Poipu Beach shaded by tall swaying palms and scented by fragrant plumeria blossoms. Play at the resort's swimming beach, dine at Plantation Gardens Restaurant, and tee off at Kiahuna Golf Club. The internationally-recognized orchid and succulent gardens are living legacies of this former plantation estate. Explore historic Koloa Town a few minutes away, drive west to Waimea Canyon, or east to Hanalei on the north shore. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Kiahuna Plantation Resort

Address: 2253 Poipu Road, Poipu, Kauai, HI 96756-8554
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Poipu
Price Range: $171 - $410 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Kiahuna Plantation Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 333
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Kiahuna Plantation Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Outrigger Kiahuna Plantation Hotel Poipu
Outrigger Hotel Kiahuna Plantation
Outrigger Hotel Koloa
Outrigger Poipu
Kiahuna Plantation Resort Kauai/Poipu
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Kiahuna Plantation Resort staff and other travelers.
41 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (41)

Questions? Get answers from Kiahuna Plantation Resort staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Get the ocean view!”
 of 5 bubbles Greerman, 2 weeks ago | Read review
“choose a top floor room to avoid noise from the units above”
 of 5 bubbles DanaEvaschuk, 4 weeks ago | Read review
“Ground flr. room - no elevators that I saw.”
 of 5 bubbles MsBunny2011, Feb 12, 2017 | Read review
“Costs more to stay closer to beach but can be worth it”
 of 5 bubbles adrock3000, Jan 17, 2017 | Read review
“make sure you know exactly what you're getting when you book- many of the units are on the top level- 3 flights of stairs - no elevators.”
 of 5 bubbles shmatter1, Jan 16, 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question