We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
2430 Hulemalu Rd, Lihue, Kauai, HI 96766-9503
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
Only 2 left at
$341
View deal
Hotels.com
Only 2 left at
$341
View deal
Agoda.com
Only 2 left at
$239
View deal
Travelocity$341
Booking.com$293
FindHotel$243
View all 17 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (212)
360
Panoramas (8)
Room & Suite (294)
What is Travelers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travelers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travelers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitized in high-temperature wash
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
  • Contactless check-out
Read more
Updated 02/04/22 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from The Kauai Inn
Updated 02/04/22 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#3 of 10 hotels in Lihue
Location
4.0
Cleanliness
4.4
Service
4.4
Value
4.5
Travelers' Choice
For genuine Aloha and unparalleled customer service, come experience traditional Hawaii with us at the Kauai Inn. Looking for a place to stay in Lihue? Then look no further than The Kauai Inn, a family-friendly hotel that brings the best of Lihue to your doorstep. As your “home away from home,” the hotel rooms offer a flat screen TV, a refrigerator, and air conditioning, and getting online is easy, with free wifi available. Guests have access to a concierge, a picnic area, and a sun terrace while staying at The Kauai Inn. In addition, The Kauai Hotel offers a pool and barbeque facilities, which will help make your Lihue trip additionally gratifying. And, as an added convenience, there is free parking available to guests. For those interested in checking out popular landmarks while visiting Lihue, The Kauai Inn is located a short distance from Kauai War Memorial Convention Hall (1.6 mi) and Ninini Point Lighthouse (2.1 mi). While in Lihue be sure to experience local ribs favorites at Duke's Kauai, Gaylord's at Kilohana, or Garden Island BBQ & Chinese Restaurant. Should time allow, Tabora Gallery, Seductions of Kauai Gallery, and Kaua'i Society of Artists KSA are some popular art galleries that are relatively easy to get to. We’re sure you’ll enjoy your stay at The Kauai Inn as you experience everything Lihue has to offer.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Free breakfast
Patio
Kids stay free
Children's television networks
Taxi service
Parking
Wifi
Pool / beach towels
Swimming pool toys
Outdoor pool
Fence around pool
Outdoor dining area
Vending machine
BBQ facilities
Baggage storage
Concierge
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Picnic area
Sun terrace
24-hour front desk
Self-serve laundry
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Telephone
Wardrobe / closet
Microwave
Refrigerator
Cable / satellite TV
Bath / shower
Iron
Private bathrooms
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Flatscreen TV
Radio
Complimentary toiletries
Show more
Room types
Mountain view
Landmark view
Pool view
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Charming
Quiet
Languages Spoken
English
490Reviews12Q+A78Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 193
  • 205
  • 61
  • 23
  • 8
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Audra G wrote a review Sep 2022
1 contribution
All the employees were so kind and the rooms were cute! Felt very authentic, happy, and well taken care of. The breakfast was amazing! They mentioned a light breakfast but they had a great oatmeal bar! Would stay here again, came from Marriot on south side of island and still loved this place!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Richard Kemper, General Manager at The Kauai Inn
Responded yesterday
Mahalo for the the great review. I am so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. We all look forward to you visiting us again.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Michael S wrote a review Sep 2022
Waikiki, Hawaii134 contributions57 helpful votes
Great location close to the airport. Very quiet hotel and clean. The pool is nice nice and the property in general is very authentic to Hawaii! We did not have very good WIFI signal and we were never able to watch the TV that is ok as this was a quiet weekend. The only complaint we really had was the breakfast that was included was a Oatmeal Bar with some pastries and coffee not orange juice etc. There are places to eat close by though!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022
Rooms
Location
Service
Room Tip: Close to the pool
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Richard Kemper, General Manager at The Kauai Inn
Responded 4 days ago
We are glad you were able to enjoy your stay with us. Please come visit again.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Kira G wrote a review Sep 2022
18 contributions11 helpful votes
We had to find a nearby hotel quickly when our flight changed but I wish I had read the reviews! Liked · The property itself was very quaint and old Hawaii feeling which was lovely. If you like animals, there are also 4 hotel cats and a few local peacocks that wander throughout the grounds, in addition to the usual Chickens and Roosters. They had a very nice coffee and tea bar setup outside all day for your free use. I also saw there were a collection of games, books and toys available. The staff was friendly and tried to be helpful. The bed was comfortable and the shower was good. The towels were surprisingly thick! The mini fridge was very cold and a good size. Disliked · After paying $300 for our room I was shocked at the condition. Old stained curtains and a stained bedspread. Huge cobwebs in the corners of the ceiling. Nightstands and electronics that had obviously not been cleaned or wiped down. Even the countertops that seemed fairly clean brought up grime when I wiped them down myself. The AC is very noisy and the room smelled a bit mildewy so we just turned it off and opened windows. Our lanai opened onto the backyard of a private homeowner who was having a party that day. Fortunately their music was great for our taste, but it was a bit odd to be "watching their party" if we sat outside. The location is also behind an industrial area and far away from any shopping or dining. It didn't seem safe to try to walk it, and was way too hot that day, so i got an uber. If you look on the map this place is fairly close to the water but it is an industrial harbor, not a beach and not accessible.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022
Location
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Richard Kemper, General Manager at The Kauai Inn
Responded 2 weeks ago
I am sorry by the way you are describing our rooms. I wish you would have brought the issues you had to or attention.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Don wrote a review Sep 2022
4 contributions1 helpful vote
It is a "quaint" place, circa 1960's, room is like stepping back into a time capsule. The room was very clean and the bed was comfortable, pool is much smaller than the photo and do not expect too much with the breakfast. It would be a place I would stay again.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Richard Kemper, General Manager at The Kauai Inn
Responded 4 weeks ago
Thank you for the kind words. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. I hope to see you again.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
golfbug72 wrote a review Aug 2022
Scotland12 contributions10 helpful votes
We arrived and checked in - went to our “suite” and checked out within 5 minutes The room had just been prepared however when stepped onto the lanai, the ac was dripping and all rusty marks on wall and floor of lanai which was not very hospitable
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Richard Kemper, General Manager at The Kauai Inn
Responded Aug 25, 2022
I am sorry that you didn't enjoy your stay with us. I wish you would have let us know about the problems you encountered while you were with us. We would have been more then happy to correct any issues you may have had. Our pictures online do represent our rooms I am sorry if you felt misled.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Brian B wrote a review Aug 2022
Kettlersville, Ohio4 contributions1 helpful vote
Stayed here during our first trip to Hawaii for our 20th wedding anniversary. Location is quiet and scenic. Staff was friendly and extremely helpful. Many free amenities (beach towels/chairs, snorkel equipment, coolers, etc.) that made our trip enjoyable. The continental breakfast was a little disappointing due to very little fresh fruit options, but that was the only negative about the visit. Be prepared for roosters/chickens/cats at all times and plan for the activity to continue at night. Rooms/grounds were clean and staff were always willing to assist. Would recommend for the true Hawaiian experience that some larger hotels may not offer.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Richard Kemper, General Manager at The Kauai Inn
Responded Aug 19, 2022
I am so glad that you spent some of your time in Hawaii with us. I wish you many more happy years together. Come see us again soon.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
nnkennard wrote a review Aug 2022
Amherst, Massachusetts2 contributions
The Kauai Inn was a truly wonderful home base for our visit to Kauai. It was homey, comfortable, affordable, convenient and cute! We loved the thoughtful touches throughout. There were beach towels, snorkels, umbrellas, and many other items available to borrow at no charge. At breakfast, there was a crock pot of hot oatmeal and all kinds of toppings, among other items. There were also three adorable cats (don’t worry if you don’t like cats — they really keep to themselves, but are very cute to observe) We found the location convenient. It’s close to the airport, Target for last minute sunscreen purchases, Costco for cheap gas, and lots of restaurants. We were out and about seeing different parts of the island, and it was a great home base -- 30 minutes to Poipu, 1 hour to Hanalei. If you particularly value modern decor and very fancy amenities, this might not be the place for you (this accounts for most of the low-scoring reviews on this website). But it was comfortable and pretty clean, if not spotless. The air conditioning was appropriate for the tropical climate, but not the most extreme. Importantly, the affordable prices allowed us to stay on Kauai for a couple more days despite our limited budget. PS: On our last day, we did a sunrise walk to Menehune Fishpond Overlook, just a 12 minute walk from the hotel and a lovely view of the river and hills.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Richard Kemper, General Manager at The Kauai Inn
Responded Aug 17, 2022
Aloha Thank you for the kind words. I am so glad that were able to enjoy your stay with us. Please don't be strangers, come back and see us again.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Shawn M wrote a review Jul 2022
Sioux City, Iowa28 contributions4 helpful votes
I have traveled to nearly all 50 states and have stayed in a lot of hotels and this place may go down as the most unique one that I've ever been in. The staff is incredibly friendly and personable. They were able to recommend local places to eat and visit that weren't so "touristy." Secondly, the ability to go relax in the centrally-located pool, play bags and frisbee golf in the yard behind the facility and be able to grill your own food that you caught that day is simply amazing. Moreover they also provide you with board games, card games, beach towels, lawn chairs, etc. or whatever you need for your next day's adventure or to relax at night. In addition they have fresh oatmeal, coffee, and tea every morning so you're bound to start your day off on the right foot. If you get a chance, please say "hi" to Helen and she will gladly be a tour guide for your local Lihue experience. I promise that you'll never need an alarm clock when you stay here. The chickens will wake you up by 6:00 AM every day so you're always going to get an early start to your day (it's all part of the Kauai experience). We will definitely stay here on our next visit.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Richard Kemper, General Manager at The Kauai Inn
Responded Jul 28, 2022
Thank you for that great review. I will be sharing all of your comments with the staff. Please come back and see us again soon.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
chibbard72 wrote a review Jul 2022
Boulder, Colorado51 contributions19 helpful votes
We stayed here for just one night before flying out. The staff was incredibly accommodating. We needed to drop my mom off before check-in so that we could do an activity without her. Front desk and housekeeping staff gave her first-class treatment, which we all appreciated. One of them even made her a traditional flower lei after she had mentioned that she didn't get one this trip. So thoughtful! It was also nice to be able to borrow a cooler for our beach outing. We also appreciated being a 5-minute drive from several good restaurant options. The only downside was the AC was a bit loud, so you'll need earplugs for that (they have them there) and for the roosters (which are everywhere in Kauai).
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
Value
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Richard Kemper, General Manager at The Kauai Inn
Responded Jul 12, 2022
Thank you so much for the great review. I hope you are able to come back and visit again, we would love to earn a 5 out of 5.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Kelly S wrote a review Jul 2022
1 contribution
My husband and I had the absolute best stay at the Kauai Inn. The property was beautiful, and the staff could not have been nicer (literally). They were so accommodating, generous, and truly made us feel at home. The Kauai Inn does not have your typical resort vibe, but the decor, hospitality, landscaping, and scenery exceeded our expectations. Other guests were incredibly kind as well. Such an amazing experience, and we will definitely be visiting again soon!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Richard Kemper, General Manager at The Kauai Inn
Responded Jul 11, 2022
Thank you for the wonderful review. We really enjoyed having you stay with us and are looking forward the your next visit.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$251 - $346 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
the kauai hotel lihue, kauai hotel lihue
LOCATION
United StatesHawaiiKauaiLihue
NUMBER OF ROOMS
48
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about The Kauai Inn
Which popular attractions are close to The Kauai Inn?
Nearby attractions include Pheasant Hollow Farms & Gun Club (3.5 miles), Makawehi Lithified Cliffs (4.9 miles), and Kauai Escape Room (1.6 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at The Kauai Inn?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a pool.
Which room amenities are available at The Kauai Inn?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at The Kauai Inn?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, barbeque facilities, and an outdoor dining area during their stay.
Is parking available at The Kauai Inn?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Kauai Inn?
Conveniently located restaurants include The Fish Express, Skinny Mike's Ice Cream and Shave Ice, and Gaylord's Restaurant.
Are there opportunities to exercise at The Kauai Inn?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Are there any historical sites close to The Kauai Inn?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Kilohana Plantation Estate (2.2 miles), Menehune Fish Pond (1.0 miles), and Kapaia Suspension Bridge (2.8 miles).
Does The Kauai Inn have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the mountain view available here.