We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Kauai Palms Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Kauai Palms Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

275 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 249: English reviews
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
115 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW via mobile

We booked for one night after a long flight from Atlanta. Since we had a condo booked for our stay we decided to stay the day of arrival in Lihue. This hotel is an old motel that is clean but dated. No frills. Lovely management. Window unit air conditioners. Within walking distance to local restaurants. We ate at a local... More 

Helpful?
Thank kaperin0
kkrmjl, General Manager at Kauai Palms Hotel, responded to this review

Aloha, Thank you for staying with us after your long trip. We are lucky to be located near the airport and restaurants that serve such good food!!! I am sorry about the hair dryer not being in your room, we keep the hairdryers at our front desk and are ready for our guests to use. As for the area, looks... More 

Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Went to Kauai for the trekking/camping and got completely rained out.. After two nights in the wet we decided on skipping yet another one and find refuge at the Palms. The description in the lonely planet was very accurate! Staff was top notch and facilities fabulous. Great value for money and very tidy. ..after that more rain whilst tenting.. wished... More 

Helpful?
Thank rideOmat
kkrmjl, General Manager at Kauai Palms Hotel, responded to this review

Aloha, Thank you so much for your kind response. I am so glad we were here for your shelter needs. I do remember that weekend was very wet!!! Hope you will come back to Kauai for another camping trip where there will be nothing but sunshine and clear nights for you. Mahalo, Maria More 

Belmont, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Unit #27 - unit infested with little bugs, housekeeping staff has no regard for guests (unit located next to housekeeping/maintenance area and staff noisy/inconsiderate), unit stove/oven broken for years (we paid full price for a functioning fully equipped unit with a kitchen and were not offered compensation for broken appliances), no toaster, only enough utensils/pans/dishes for 1 person so plan... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Gregg M
kkrmjl, General Manager at Kauai Palms Hotel, responded to this review

Aloha, We are so sorry to hear that you were unhappy with your accommodations. We make every effort to accommodate all our guests and to provide a pleasant experience. We immediately reviewed your stay and noticed that you were with us for four nights and double checked the room for your comments and did notice that there was not a... More 

Travelers are raving about these Lihue hotels

The Dalles, Oregon
Level Contributor
41 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Our stay here was pleasant enough and the cost was less than most. We chose this place for our first night on the island because it was close to the airport and we knew we would be tired. The room was clean and comfortable, though small and a little bit rustic. There wasn't much space to put luggage without tripping... More 

Helpful?
Thank DianeA51
kkrmjl, General Manager at Kauai Palms Hotel, responded to this review

Aloha, Thank you for staying with us on your first night to Kauai. Traveling can be tiring and I am glad we are near the airport for your convenience. We do have rooms which are just the right size for two person and rooms big enough for four persons. Thank you for the comment about the door. We will be... More 

Seattle
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This is a cute quirky airport side hotel. I throughly enjoyed my stay, the price is a great value for proximity to airport. Friendly staff, hot coffee in the morning, parking, clean, kitchen aminities. Make time to get Siamin at the place around the corner also! Overall awesome experience. Mahalo!

Helpful?
Thank Shauna S
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2016

We stayed 2 nights in this motel. The location is ideal, 10 minutes from the airport. Rooms are simple but comfortable. Free coffee 24/7, laundry. No breakfast. The staff is really friendly and always willing to help.

Helpful?
Thank JuliaDeBxl
Michigan
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 25, 2016 via mobile

This motel is a charming, very clean yet older one that we stayed at while waiting to move on. One mile from the Lihue airport makes life easy while in transition. It is so quaint that we loved it. The staff is very friendly and accommodating and we would definitely stay there again for one night.

Helpful?
Thank MichiganCathy
Wadsworth, Ohio
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2016 via mobile

Perfect place to land after a really long flight. Rooms are very clean and comfortable. Older hotel but well maintained and managed. Would recommend for business trip and for budget conscious travelers. Free parking but no pool or other features there if you want a resort type hotel you will be disappointed. I was very happy there for my first... More 

Helpful?
Thank blueheaven111f
1 review
Reviewed October 11, 2016

Pleasant experience here. Everything was as expected. The rooms are small, but the square footage of each room is provided online, so you know what you're getting. The rooms are also recently remodeled and tastefully done... looks just like the photos. I was pleasantly surprised to find a well-stocked vending machine in the lobby that takes credit cards, a guest... More 

Helpful?
Thank Elaine S
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2016 via mobile

Decent place to stay in transit but would not recommend for the first night of a honeymoon. Room was cramped and very hot. Roosters making noise all night. Clean and close to the airport but that's it really.

Helpful?
Thank cmore5005
KauaiPalmsHotel, General Manager at Kauai Palms Hotel, responded to this review

Aloha, Thank you for your response. Yes, it is very hot this time of the year in Hawaii and much sun screen is needed. I am sorry you were uncomfortable in your room. We do have different types of rooms here. There is the standard room, which you picked, that has a ceiling fan or the deluxe room with an... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

100 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (77)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (13)
Viewed
Room/Suite (24)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
1:36
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (30)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (23)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lihue
1.1 mi away
Garden Island Inn
Garden Island Inn
#1 of 11 in Lihue
670 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Kauai Inn
The Kauai Inn
#6 of 11 in Lihue
345 reviews
6.1 mi away
Kauai Shores, an Aqua Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Kauai Beach Resort
Kauai Beach Resort
#4 of 11 in Lihue
2,127 reviews
6.1 mi away
Aston Islander on the Beach
5.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Kauai Wailua Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Nestled in Lihue, gateway of the Garden Island, the Kauai Palms Hotel offers affordability and stylish comfort. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Kauai Palms Hotel

Address: 2931 Kalena St, Lihue, Kauai, HI 96766-1319
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Lihue
Price Range: $90 - $108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Kauai Palms Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Kauai Palms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kauai Palms Motel
Kauai Palms Hotel HI
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Kauai Palms Hotel staff and other travelers.
4 questions
Ask a question
Ottumwa, Iowa
Ottumwa, Iowa
3 months ago
South Lake Tahoe, California

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Kauai Palms Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“No rooms are worth renting. We paid $125/night for a dump! Photos are decieving.”
 of 5 bubbles 982greggm, 2 weeks ago | Read review
“Upstairs rooms are cheaper, and my friend said that her upstairs room didn't have any ants!”
 of 5 bubbles peaceofkaike, Sep 4, 2016 | Read review
“The extra $ for room with AC is worth it; even if windows have screens, there may not be windows on opposite sides for a good cross-breeze.”
  • Some of the grout lines have minor stains but it was a clean bathroom.
  • Decently clean bathroom with some upgraded fixtures.
  • The mini fridge was in the back of the narrow closet; hard to reach but nice to have.
 of 5 bubbles stevenalice, Aug 2, 2016 | Read review
“AC rooms first floor Less costly rooms no AC Non smoking”
 of 5 bubbles Desertdocent2012, Jul 28, 2016 | Read review
“Ground floor is great if you have lots of luggage”
 of 5 bubbles ScubaDivingKate, Jul 3, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay