We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Kauai Beach House

GreenLeadersSilver level
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kapaa
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Kauai Beach House
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

188 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 170: English reviews
Spokane Valley, Washington
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW via mobile

There were 3 of us who stayed here: my husband, me and our 20-year old son. Our son loved staying in the mixed dorm and waking up to the sunrise and ocean views. And I loved having a private room, unfortunately it didn't have any view. The staff is friendly and offered suggestions on activities. We were bummed that the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Heather G
Trak T, Public Relations Manager at Kauai Beach House, responded to this review

Aloha thank you for the nice review...I'm so sorry you did not get one of our private rooms with the ocean/lagoon views. Instead i hope you were able to enjoy our 3rd floor Whale Watching Blue Lagoon Lanai and the 3 decks with same views. Request a lagoon / ocean view room if you come our way again, which we... More 

Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed here last October for 10 days and had the most amazing time. Stayed in the girl's dorm at the back with a beautiful view of the ocean and big double beds. Had enough privacy in the bunk as you can put sheets around but also the most sociable and friendly hostel I've ever stayed in. Made really good friends... More 

Helpful?
Thank Suzi P
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Its too easy to make friends and fall in love here. Chillest dudes and super hot wahine, all with class. Workers and tenants share all the exclusive sick adventure secrets with eachother and Bryan is one funny brada! Best deal with amenities, and never run out of fun things to do. The rapid, time lapse relationships and drama of the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Blake R
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Truly a gem. Wake up to the sun rise and roosters crowing everyday in an open wall sleeping environment with beach wind gusts keeping you cool. Staff excellent and facilities were organized and better than expected. Bring shower flip flops. They rent towels and locks for $5 but you really do not need a locker. Everyone left their cell phones... More 

Helpful?
Thank Prasad S
Longmont, Colorado
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I was there for a wedding in Princeville. I stayed in the room looking out to the ocean on the main floor. Guests were quit staff was helpful. Get ready for the chickens crowing at 545. Kapaa was a great location I will return.

Helpful?
Thank christophersmidt
Satellite Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This was my first time staying in a hostel. I spent 2 weeks in a 8-10 bed mixed dorm, my bed was comfortable, the staff is awesome, and you can't find a cheaper place to stay. The hostel has a perfect location, easy to find and a great beach view.

Helpful?
Thank msgtcallahan
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Only 15 min away from the airport, great views (the property right at the beach, you also can star gazing from the rolm/balcony), next to community swimming pool right next to the beach. Close by to many food options (food trucks, and bar are next door). Very easy reservation and check in, friendly staffs.

Helpful?
Thank Yohan J
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

The entire staff at the Kauai Beach House was fantastic! Everyone was so friendly and the accommodations were comfortable and clean. Staying at the hostel gave me peace of mind knowing I had a safe space to come "home" to at the end of the day. The Island of Kauai is possibly the wildest place I've ever been, which was... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jen T
Level Contributor
161 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2016 via mobile

I enjoyed. 9 in my female share dorm. Beds were double in 'home made' bunks - so spacious & more head room than normal- privacy curtain nice touch too! Hostel is an old building but has everything you need. Located in Kapaa with lanai off dorm looking out to palm trees & ocean. Not suitable for swimming but great water... More 

Helpful?
Thank Diane B
Trak T, Guest Relations Manager at Kauai Beach House, responded to this review

Thank you for your nice response and comments. We love it here too. The water in back is used by locals who are ocean experts for fishing and diving and frequently we see windsurfers and SUP (Stand Up Paddle) surfers and Hawaiian canoes and kayaks go cruising by. We're glad you enjoyed your stay and we welcome you back for... More 

1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2016 via mobile

Had a great time at the Kauai beach house- very suited towards young people, the individuals working at the hostel were super friendly. Was a very communal space. The hostel is pretty big and often full, so you're sharing the space with a lot of people. The kitchen was often crowded at dinner and breakfast times, but there werent really... More 

Helpful?
Thank Kara I
Trak T, Guest Relations Manager at Kauai Beach House, responded to this review

Aloha, your nice response is much appreciated. We are planning for a much larger kitchen with 3 times the facilities (cooking stoves, sinks, storage areas) down in the courtyard or pahale. Mahalo Trak More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

96 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (73)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
View from Room (19)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (34)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (23)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (19)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kapaa
2.1 mi away
Kauai Shores, an Aqua Hotel
2.1 mi away
Aston Islander on the Beach
0.1 mi away
Hotel Coral Reef
Hotel Coral Reef
#9 of 12 in Kapaa
4.0 of 5 stars 248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
Kauai Beach Resort
Kauai Beach Resort
#4 of 11 in Lihue
4.0 of 5 stars 2,023 reviews
8.7 mi away
Garden Island Inn
Garden Island Inn
#1 of 11 in Lihue
4.5 of 5 stars 628 reviews
1.8 mi away
Plantation Hale Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Beachfront
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
GreenLeadersSilver level
About the property
  • Beachfront
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Free Parking

Additional Information about Kauai Beach House

Address: 1552 Kuhio Highway, Kapaa, Kauai, HI 96746 (Formerly Kapa'a BeachHouse)
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Kapaa
Price Range: $26 - $70 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 25
Also Known As:
Kauai Beach House Hotel Kapaa
Kauai Beach House Kapaa
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing