We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
Save money. We search 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices.
Save
Share
19-4245 Kekoa Nui blvd. #213, Volcano, Island of Hawaii, HI 96785-0213
E-mail hotel
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Hotel direct offer!5% off + Free In-Suite Tropical Breakfast
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Traveler (291)
Room & Suite (126)
Videos (2)
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitized in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
  • Daily temperature and symptom checks for staff
Updated 07/12/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
Updated 07/12/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#7 of 31 B&Bs / Inns in Volcano
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value

Minutes from Hawaii Volcanoes National Park and Volcano Village, Lotus Garden Cottages Bed and Breakfast on the Big Island of Hawaii, offers an exquisite collection of luxurious hideaways, perfect for romantic getaways and retreats. Conveniently situated in Volcano Village, minutes from dining, galleries, this wonderful getaway offers a genuine and quaint experience of deep relaxation for visitors and local Island guests as well. Lotus Garden Cottages offers an elegance guests will enjoy year after year.

Our private Volcano Hawaii Bed and Breakfast lodgings are replete with contemporary amenities you find in a fine hotel. Rich furnishings, plush king size beds and linens, outdoor hot tub, fresh local breakfast treats, private bath and wrap around lanai.

Our unique cottages and suites provide the ultimate environment for complete relaxation and tranquility in exceptional comfort. We want to take the “work” out of your travel, and pamper your needs.

Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Hot tub
Free breakfast
Bicycles available
Hiking
Full body massage
Non-smoking hotel
Wifi
Pool / beach towels
Breakfast in the room
Special diet menus
Wine / champagne
Massage
Open-air bath
Outdoor furniture
Picnic area
First aid kit
Umbrella
Private check-in / check-out
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Bathrobes
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Bottled water
Kitchenette
Microwave
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Charming
Green
Languages Spoken
English, Korean
Hotel links
Special Rate:5% off + Free In-Suite Tropical Breakfast
612Reviews5Q+A86Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 512
  • 77
  • 11
  • 8
  • 4
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Runyogagirl wrote a review Nov 2021
15 contributions8 helpful votes
We stayed here for 3 nights in the White Lotus Suite to facilitate our visit to Volcano NP and surrounding area in early October. Volcano is a teeny tiny sleepy little neighborhood which you will miss if you blink. Two nights would have been plenty. The suite is indeed lovely and well-furnished with soft luxurious bedding, a kitchenette, and large bathroom with walk-in shower and whirlpool tub. Lots of thoughtful features as all other reviews have mentioned. Room for improvement lies in the previously frozen big-box-store breakfasts left in the refrigerator. While perhaps pleasing to the eye for some, it’s junk food. We noted a vegetarian dietary request on our reservation and this was ignored; every day’s meal included ham or bacon, which unfortunately went in the garbage. The fruit was generally fresh and tasty. Also note that Volcano is a very humid/wet climate. Our room smelled dank and musty the first night; so much so that I was ready to leave. However, with the sunny weather and day-time breeze, we were able to air it out and it was better the rest of the stay. The jacuzzi was closed due to covid; this was a big disappointment as it was not stated on the website and is a key reason I was willing to pay more for this accommodation. It is indeed a unique property with some care put into the room itself. We would not stay again though especially at almost $400/night; overpriced.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Room Tip: Don’t expect accommodations for any dietary requests
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from John Kim, Owner at Lotus Garden Cottages
Responded Nov 27, 2021
Aloha dear guest, we appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback. We do our very best to please each and every guest, any have a consistently high rating for over 16 years of service now. We sincerely wish that you had brought your concerns to our attention during your stay, and could have addressed them immediately. We have honestly never had any reports of a musty room, although on occasion a few guests were not used to the cedar wood of our interiors. Cedar has a very unique aroma which most guests find very pleasant. Because we are located in a lush tropical rainforest, we do keep a high end dehumidifier in the room for additional comfort. Perhaps you may have overlooked it. We certainly can appreciate your disappointment with regards to the closure of our shared hot tub area, and will be sure to add that state wide exclusion to our reservation system. This would be the case with any privately owned properties on the island and mandated by Hawaii during this challenging time for everyone. During the year that accommodations were closed in Hawaii, we began renovating each of our guest suites to include their own jacuzzi tub in each unit including the one you had stayed in. Living in such a remote area, progress is often slower than we would hope for, and today we only have one suite left to add our spa style bathroom too and it is priced accordingly. As you can imagine, the costs of operating in our tranquil remote location can be high and we do our best to be competitive with our pricing. That being said, comparable properties in the village charge between $450-$550 per night before taxes, often with less service. your suite is listed at $335 before Hawaii taxes and fees. In the state of Hawaii, it is illegal for an establishment to cook or bake onsite so we rely on our local community vendors to provide them in and around the village. Due to the pandemic, the supply of these items comes and goes based on the ability to get ingredients to the island. It is unusual that we overlooked your vegetarian request, and we would have resolved this very quickly had we known. We have a wonderful local cafe that provides us with vegetarian quiche in these cases. Volcano Village is a hidden gem for many guests who seek out a quiet, relaxing experience as a respite from other crowded tourist destinations. You can easily spend a few days alone just discovering everything Volcanoes National Park has to offer from hiking, to lava viewing, and taking in the history of this one of a kind location. A 3-5 day stay is pretty typical, and most guests say they wish they had planned to stay longer. It does take a little planning with very limited food and service options available right in our little village. We hope the trade off is that you can stay so close (within 3 miles) to the world's most active volcano in a beautiful setting with a reasonable proximity to the charming town of Hilo. We also have a robust artist community with much to appreciate and enjoy, and have seen some of the same guests again and again over many years. In closing, the spirit of service and Aloha is at the heart of everything we do here at Lotus Garden Cottages, and again we would have loved the chance to visit with you to be sure your visit was everything you had hoped for. Mahalo for the chance to serve you, and for the kind words you shared. Sincerely, Innkeeper John Kim.
Read more
RobZF wrote a review Aug 2021
New York City, New York116 contributions28 helpful votes
Property's Favorite Review
Lotus Gardens Cottages is an ideal spot to stay for its ambiance and atmosphere, as well as being close by to Volcano National Park; and an easy drive to Hilo. Our Rising Moon Suite was spectacular, with its king bed, spacious bathroom with shower and jacuzzi; and a beautiful and relaxing outdoor patio, which was perfect for eating breakfast. Breakfast was placed into our refrigerator the evening prior and there was a microwave to heat up our meals of quiche, eggs & sausage, and pastries on the various mornings. And a Keurig for morning coffee. (Given the state of Covid, meals were in our suite vs. in the dining area). John, the innkeeper and owner was very attentive to our needs during our stay, giving us ideas for day trips. We’d certainly stay here again.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Room Tip: Ask for the Rising Moon suite for great outdoor space.
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from John Kim, Owner at Lotus Garden Cottages
Responded Sep 15, 2021
Aloha Rob! I sincerely appreciate your kindness, and enjoyed having you in our little slice of Paradise. Perhaps we will meet again, a hui hou. John
Read more
Pinkas S wrote a review Aug 2021
Massapequa108 contributions30 helpful votes
Meticulously maintained grounds reminiscent of a hutong. The room itself is wonderful, excellently decorated. 5 min to the park and local cafes. The owner is very attentive to your needs. If you're a vegetarian, make sure you to let the owner know because delivered breakfast contains meat.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Traveled with family
Helpful
Share
Response from John Kim, Owner at Lotus Garden Cottages
Responded Sep 15, 2021
Aloha, and Mahalo for your kind words and for choosing to stay with us! It was a pleasure having you, and I appreciate you taking the time to share your wonderful feedback. a hui hou
Read more
MJinCA wrote a review Aug 2021
Livermore, California64 contributions
What a treat to have been welcomed at Lotus Garden Cottages. The grounds are meticulously cared for and the rooms delicately prepared. Mossy pavers lead to a hot tub with an awning; sumptuous bedding leads to a deep and peaceful sleep. A jewel in the mist. Do not hesitate to book here.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from John Kim, Owner at Lotus Garden Cottages
Responded Sep 15, 2021
Aloha, I am pleased to hear how much you enjoyed staying with us. It was my pleasure to serve you, and it gives me joy to know the little details were noticed and appreciated. a hui hou
Read more
Dan D wrote a review Jul 2021
11 contributions4 helpful votes
Every detail of our 3 day stay was serenity at the highest level. Beautiful fresh fruit trays & yummy breakfasts delivered daily by our host Mr. Kim to our private, cozy cottage. We have vacationed at many B&B's, this ranks at the top.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021
Value
Rooms
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from John Kim, Owner at Lotus Garden Cottages
Responded Sep 15, 2021
Aloha Dan, it was a pleasure to have you as my guest, and I am so pleased that you stayed long enough to really enjoy the magic of Volcano. Mahalo for your kind review, a hui hou mākou.
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$268 - $368 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
United StatesHawaiiIsland of HawaiiVolcano
NUMBER OF ROOMS
4
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Lotus Garden Cottages
Which popular attractions are close to Lotus Garden Cottages?
Nearby attractions include Kilauea Iki Trail (4.6 miles), Hawaii Volcanoes National Park (1.8 miles), and Kilauea (4.1 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Lotus Garden Cottages?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and free parking.
Which room amenities are available at Lotus Garden Cottages?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Lotus Garden Cottages?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Lotus Garden Cottages?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Lotus Garden Cottages?
Conveniently located restaurants include Tuk Tuk Thai Food Truck, Cafe' Ono, and Kilauea Lodge Restaurant.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Lotus Garden Cottages?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Korean.