We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Kalani

GreenLeadersPlatinum level
06/11/2017 06/12/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
No availability for your dates from these sites
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Management photos
Kalani
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

229 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 217: English reviews
Start your review of Kalani
 Click to rate
Reviewed 1 week ago NEWvia mobile

This was the best experience I have ever had. You can feel the energy of the place. The people are real without any agenda, where the jungle meets the ocean, the many stars shine at night and the sounds of the jungle all add to this experience. The food is fresh and healthy and it is far enough away from...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Karen G
Pahoa, Hawaii
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Dirty rooms, smell of mold, mosquito infected rooms. NO air conditioner rooms. Its like a episode of Naked and Afraid but at a price of a high end hotel. That is not all, the workers are volunteers. NO labor cost. How is that a None profit organization with volunteer labor can be so costly? The food was good I have...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lombardian2nio
Ali S, Director of Storytelling at Kalani, responded to this review

Aloha and thank you for your review. We are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your room and that the cleanliness of our facility did not meet your standards. Despite that, it's good to know that you enjoyed our classes, locally-sourced food, and social environment. Because Kalani Honua is geared toward learning experiences via retreats, classes, and workshops...

Seattle, Washington
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Drop all your preconceived expectations of resort, spa, etc. Kalani is its own kind of place and the other reviews are correct that it's all about the people. And the jungle. And incredible setting. Kalani has been around for more than 40 years and welcomes anyone and everyone. It is a retreat center in the sense of a community retreat....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mcarney15
Ali S, Director of Storytelling at Kalani, responded to this review

Aloha and thank you for your review! Kalani is definitely its own kind of place, bordered by Pacific oceanside cliffs and tropical jungle. We are not a typical resort, in that you will spend more time meeting people, learning, healing, and checking out local natural sites than hanging out in your room. The pool area is also clothing and swimwear...

Central Oregon
Reviewed March 16, 2017

The people make Kalani. They work for lodging and food with a small stipend. Most are friendly and try to make your stay pleasant. The good> All the food is made freshly and meals are included. It is almost impossible not to put on a few pounds. We stayed 7 nights on the Kalani experience. That included everything with almost...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank captaingary
Ali S, Director of Storytelling at Kalani, responded to this review

Aloha and thanks for your review of Kalani! A few notes of clarification: - Kalani used to run with via the generous support of a volunteer-based staff, who lived on site and received a small stipend; however, as of this year, we transitioned the majority of our volunteers to paid employees. Some staff continue to live on-site, while others live...

Ontario, Canada
Reviewed February 23, 2017

We were looking forward to an afternoon at the pool area via a Day Pass. The pictures on-line seem to portray a much larger area. We also booked in advance the dinner for my daughter and I at $58 for the 2 of us for a buffet. We arrived around 2pm and were looking forward to a relaxing afternoon by...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank WeekendWalker0891
Reviewed February 18, 2017 via mobile

Very kind people who serve food. Half the taste is from the ambience I guess. Very healthy Breakfast and Lunch options. Everything is a buffet. Breakfast was from 7:30 - 8:30 and Lunch from 12 - 1. You have to be there on time or else you will miss it. Breakfast: Oatmeal, brown rice, fresh cut fruits, juice and coffee....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Anirudh M
San Francisco, California
Reviewed February 14, 2017

Having read the reviews and heard good things we thought we'd try out Kalani for dinner. At nearly $30 each for dinner we had expected more than canteen food on paper plates.. The plastic furniture and free roaming pigs and cats just added to the unhygienic weirdness. Organic, local and fresh is not code for unhygienic, over priced and under...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank myrativos8
Ali S, Director of Storytelling at Kalani, responded to this review

Aloha and mahalo for your review! We are terribly sorry we were unable to meet your expectations of our Dining Lanai. Although it is extremely uncommon, our jungle location makes us vulnerable to equipment and power outages that affect our ability to run "as usual". Your visit coincided with our dishwasher (Hobart) being out of service, hence our needing to...

Portland, Oregon
Reviewed February 14, 2017

I've been to Kalani four times and love it, but it works best for those who go there to meditate, do yoga or go within. Regular tourists might not fit in, especially not the prudes who believe that people should wear a bathing suit when they go to the pool. Kalani is very Bohemian in the best sense of the...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank DanishNovelist
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed February 11, 2017 via mobile

We booked for a week but left after a day - (no refund). The place is run down and unhygienic, seems to be full of escapees from the mainland having a party and expecting paying guests to subsidise their lifestyle... The spa is none existent (just an old unheated outdoor pool & some old scummy hot tubs). It's clothing optional...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Frejacayman
Ali S, Director of Storytelling at Kalani, responded to this review

Aloha and mahalo for your candid review. Kalani Honua is a 40-year old 501(c)(3) non-profit educational retreat center. We host group retreats and individual travelers for experiences in yoga, meditation, massage, arts, and much more. Given the breadth of experiences we offer here, the people on campus change regularly and can be different from week to week and month to...

San Francisco, California
Reviewed January 2, 2017

I got back a week ago and my experience was vastly different than my initial one 2 years ago. In 2014 I signed up for a yoga retreat and went to Kalani for some serious R&R. I was burned out on my job and relationship and felt like Kalani would be a great place to recharge. However, I didn't realize...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Kellismom
Ali S, Director of Storytelling at Kalani, responded to this review

Aloha Kellismom and mahalo for your review. We are in the process of updating our website with language and imagery to make it more clear how remote and rustic some of our accommodations are -- and, we're happy you were able to optimize your second visit! With regard to rain, winter is our rainy season, so visits in summertime tend...

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

146 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (132)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (17)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (22)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (59)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (14)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Other (10)
06/11/2017 06/12/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pahoa
21.3 mi away
Chalet Kilauea
Chalet Kilauea
#1 of 2 in Volcano
393 reviews
72.7 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
24.5 mi away
Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
72.5 mi away
Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii
73.0 mi away
Hilton Waikoloa Village
76.3 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Hualalai
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Spa
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Kalani is the largest retreat center in the state of Hawaii, nestled on the yoga coast in one of Hawaii's largest conservation areas for over 35 years. We feature more than 40 classes a week, including our renowned yoga and meditation programming, Hawaiian culture classes, and dance (hula, modern, and aerial.)Our location on the Big Island of Hawaii is 5 minutes from Kehena Beach, a clothing-optional black sand beach where wild-spinner dolphins frequently swim; 15 miles from spectacular lava-viewing; and nestled in luscious rainforest, which helps feed our organic kitchens with abundant fruit and vegetables. Kalani is known as a power spot - Shiva Rea calls Kalani "one of the most potent and nurturing retreat centers in the world." Kalani is a 501(c)(3) charity. Your stay here will support the preservation of Hawaiian culture, transformation, and within the poorest district in Hawaii. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Kalani

Address: 12-6860 Kalapana Kapoho Beach Rd, Box 4500, Pahoa, Island of Hawaii, HI 96778-8019
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Pahoa
Price Range: $135 - $305 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Kalani 2.5*
Number of rooms: 65
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, HotelsClick and Hotel.de so you can book your Kalani reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kalani Oceanside Retreat Pahoa
Kalani Oceanside Retreat Hotel Pahoa
Kalani Hawaii/Pahoa
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Kalani staff and other travelers.
3 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Kalani staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“over price room, no clean towers, dirty rooms.”
lombardian2nio, 2 weeks ago | Read review
“You will be in a hale which is a large open air, circular building. You can hear your neighbors but everyone goes to sleep with the sunset.”
mcarney15, 2 weeks ago | Read review
“Get a cabin if you can.”
captaingary, Mar 16, 2017 | Read review
“I found the Tropical Loft rooms much nicer than the other rooms.”
Kellismom, Jan 2, 2017 | Read review
“Bungalows looked lovely”
hollygoslightly, Aug 30, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Check these sites for availability
Booking.com
Hotwire.com
HotelsClick
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates