We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Arnott's Lodge

Show Prices
#1 of 8 Hotels in Hilo
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Arnott\\
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

470 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Arnott's Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Showing 426: English reviews
Carlisle, Pennsylvania
Reviewed October 10, 2016

We stayed a week at Arnott's Lodge in one of their deluxe rooms. We found the room to be very clean and nice looking. The shared kitchen area was also well kept with everything needed to prepare meals for the two of us. The only thing that would make it better is if there were more drinking glasses. There were...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank maxbK3147PD
AlohaArnotts, Manager at Arnott's Lodge, responded to this review

Aloha and mahalo for your review. We always strive to accommodate the needs of our guests e.g. more drinking glasses. Come and visit us again soon and invite your friends!! Aloha

Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Reviewed October 10, 2016

Loved this place! Super clean, friendly staff, and affordable! We camped for a few nights and then got a room our last night so our tent could dry out, the room was good and clean. Safe, no excessive partying or sketchy types. Our tour guide (Karen) to Hawaii Volcanoes National Park was awesome and so knowledgeable.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank joyZ5779IJ
AlohaArnotts, Manager at Arnott's Lodge, responded to this review

Aloha and mahalo for your great review. We are happy to hear that you loved our place! Yes, we are not a party lodge and we have strict quiet hours. We will pass your compliments to Karen. We welcome you back soon on your next trip to Hilo. Aloha

Reviewed October 10, 2016

Thanks to Arnott's my vacation on The Big island was unforgettable. This island is hard to explore for a non-driver. But Arnott's did help me with that. They provide very comfortable and cosy lodging (I stayed at deluxe/queen with private bathroom and shared kitchen and living-room). It gives a feeling of staying at some friend's village house (you can cook,...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Татьяна С
AlohaArnotts, Manager at Arnott's Lodge, responded to this review

Aloha and mahalo for your awesome review. It's travelers like you that brings a smile to our face and inspires us to continue to provide the best for our guests. We are happy to hear that your Big Island trip was unforgettable! Our staff aim to provide potential guests as much preparation and planning for their trip to Hawaii. Our...

Lihue, Hawaii
Reviewed October 4, 2016

I'm a local girl coming from the island of Kauai and its been over 20 years since I've travelled to the Big Island. Did a last minute getaway with my cousin and with the limited amount of time we had here, we wanted to head up the summit and catch a nice sunset above the clouds. I TOTALLY LOVED IT!!!...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank roniramos808
AlohaArnotts, Manager at Arnott's Lodge, responded to this review

Aloha and mahalo for your awesome review. We are happy to hear that you loved our Mauna Kea tour. It's always nice to show our local kama'aina the beauty of the Big Island. We hope that you don't wait another 20 years to visit us again. Aloha

Ridgecrest, California
Reviewed September 26, 2016

This is a little like a motel and a little like a hostel. Staff was helpful and friendly helping us to prepare for our flight home. This was in a pretty residential area and close to tourist destinations.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank sunrisetraveler69
AlohaArnotts, Manager at Arnott's Lodge, responded to this review

Aloha and mahalo for your review. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed Arnott's Lodge. We welcome you back soon on your next trip to Hilo. Aloha

Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewed September 17, 2016

We stayed at Arnott's Lodge for a few days and booked the Volcanoes National Park tour as well as the Mauna Kea Sunset & Stargazing tour. As we were staying at the lodge, we each received a discount from each tour which was a nice surprise! The lodge itself offers a very comfortable stay and the vibe is so relaxed....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Wanderer_787
AlohaArnotts, Manager at Arnott's Lodge, responded to this review

Aloha and mahalo for your review. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed the vibe at Arnott's Lodge. We are the only lodging and tour company on the island and we do our best so that our guests have a memorable adventure in Hilo. Ikaika has been part of our ohana for more than 8 years and Lauren for...

Toronto, Ontario
Reviewed September 15, 2016

We stayed in one of the Deluxe Queen bed rooms for a couple of nights. The room was small but okay, had a small fridge and could walk out in the backyard. The ensuite washroom was small, and smelled moldy. That was our main complaint. The shared kitchen was well equipped so we could make our own dinner. One of...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank nch928
AlohaArnotts, Manager at Arnott's Lodge, responded to this review

Aloha and mahalo for your honest review. We strive to keep our guests happy and we offer other type of rooms in addition to our deluxe rooms such as our deluxe suite and 1BR suites. These units are quite larger at about $99-$110 a night. We try to accommodate or change guests rooms if the assigned room doesn't meet your...

Reviewed September 12, 2016 via mobile

This place reminds me of backpacking and traveling from hostel to hostel in Australia, so it's only natural that Mr Arnott is of the famous cookie family from Australia, and fashioned this lovely hostel after those in Oz. The grounds were kept immaculate, the rooms and bathrooms even cleaner! This is a simple, no frills olace, budget friendly! We rented...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Marissa A
AlohaArnotts, Manager at Arnott's Lodge, responded to this review

Aloha and mahalo for your awesome review! Yay for 6 stars!! We don't boast to be a luxury lodge but no frills, clean and friendly place. Our accommodation and discounted tours helps you to be able to afford an adventure on the Big Island of Hawaii. Mr. Arnott has worked tirelessly to maintain the lodging and tour company for 26...

Worcester, Massachusetts
Reviewed September 9, 2016

We stayed here for 3 nights in late August. I first thought it is a hotel but it is actually more like a upgraded hostel. Here are major pros and cons. Pros: - Economic. It is really cheap compared to hotels in Honolulu or west coast of Big Island. - Fully equipped kitchen for making our own meals. - Nice...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank HJChou
AlohaArnotts, Manager at Arnott's Lodge, responded to this review

Aloha and mahalo for your honest review. We strive to provide clean facilities and we apologize that we didn't meet your standards. It looks like you enjoyed our location and the nearby beaches. We will take your review into consideration. Aloha

Laramie, Wyoming
Reviewed September 5, 2016

Very well organized and located in a very quiet area. You get in touch with the beauty of nature in this lodge. The staff were amazing and they have good trips too. Prices were really good and you can find everything you need in the hotel.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank zaid_alowayed
AlohaArnotts, Manager at Arnott's Lodge, responded to this review

Aloha and mahalo for your positive review. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay. Our location is ideal for those that want quiet and walking distance to nearby beaches. Thanks for choosing Arnott's Lodge & Hiking Adventure! We welcome you back soon. Aloha

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

106 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (99)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (16)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
3:20
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (65)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hilo
1.7 mi away
Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel
3.2 mi away
Dolphin Bay
Dolphin Bay
#2 of 8 in Hilo
636 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hilo Seaside Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.9 mi away
Chalet Kilauea
Chalet Kilauea
#1 of 2 in Volcano
368 reviews
62.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kailua-Kona
55.3 mi away
Kings' Land by Hilton Grand Vacations
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair access
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Kitchenette
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Arnott's Lodge and Hiking Adventures is located in a delightful, tropical area minutes from the coastline. We offer a range of affordable accommodations from backpackers in one building, to deluxe rooms with private bathroom in another. In between these accommodation extremes we have semi-private/suites that include a shared bathroom and a kitchenette which makes family vacations affordable. We also incorporate a beautiful camp ground for campers. Inexpensive bike rentals are available. Arnott's also has its own tour division where lodge guests get substantial discounts on incredible adventures such as the summit of Mauna Kea, Volcanoes National Park and Valleys and Waterfalls Tours. Come experience a relaxed Hawaii environment within walking distance to green sea turtles and swimming beaches. We hope to see you soon. Aloha ... more   less 

Additional Information about Arnott's Lodge

Address: 98 Apapane Rd, Hilo, Island of Hawaii, HI 96720-4907
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Hilo
Price Range: $111 - $167 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Arnott's Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arnott`s Hotel Hilo
Arnotts Hotel Hilo
Arnott's Lodge Hilo, Hawaii
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Arnott's Lodge staff and other travelers.
3 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Arnott's Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“The suite had two bedrooms, and a sleeper sofa in the living room.”
 of 5 bubbles txyoyo, yesterday | Read review
“With such a wide variety of accommodations available, read the description of your chosen room closely to assure it meets your requirements.”
  • Queen Deluxe Room
 of 5 bubbles RFDjr, Oct 24, 2016 | Read review
“I chose a semi-private room, private room, shared bathroom with 2 other rooms”
 of 5 bubbles 799franckr, Oct 22, 2016 | Read review
“If staying in a suite, ask for one overlooking the pond nearby. They have a great view with the chance to see some local wildlife.”
 of 5 bubbles Wanderer_787, Sep 17, 2016 | Read review
“Only one-bed room has A/C”
 of 5 bubbles HJChou, Sep 9, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay