We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

Arnott's Lodge

Show Prices
#1 of 8 Hotels in Hilo
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Arnott\\
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

469 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 425: English reviews
Solothurn, Switzerland
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Unfortunately I have spend only one night in Arnott's Lodge due to my flight back home. I can strongly recommend this hostel. Clean, open minded people and a relaxing Location. Absolutely a place to be 8-)

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Thomas Z
AlohaArnotts, Manager at Arnott's Lodge, responded to this review

Aloha and mahalo for your review. Our staff and I invite you to stay with us more than one night on your next trip to Hilo. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay! Aloha

Brussels, Belgium
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Simple but very comfortable. Good tips and advices from a friendly staff. If you book a trip to Mauna Kea with Arnotts, you get a discount on your room. but we did not try it. Not in the most beautiful neighborhood, but it is calm and you can be in the city center in 10 minutes drive.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JuliaDeBxl
AlohaArnotts, Manager at Arnott's Lodge, responded to this review

Aloha and thanks for your review. We invite you to take advantage of our discounted tours on your next trip to Hilo. Thanks for choosing Arnott's Lodge & Hiking Adventures.

Honolulu, Hawaii
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I stayed there with a friend for 3 nights. Everything was clean and the employees at Arnotts lodge were very friendly. We felt very welcome there and enjoyed our vacation in Hili. Great place to stay!!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank akirchne
AlohaArnotts, Manager at Arnott's Lodge, responded to this review

Aloha and mahalo for your great review. We are happy you enjoyed your stay with us. We welcome you back soon on your next adventure to the Big Island. Aloha

West Point, New York
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

I stayed in a spotless one bedroom suite double room on the second floor. In the kitchen there are pots and pans, utensils, a microwave, electric range and various small appliances, including a toaster. The living room has a small bed, an overhead fan and a table with a lamp. The bedroom has a bed that sleeps two, an A/C...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank AdMiZ
AlohaArnotts, Manager at Arnott's Lodge, responded to this review

Aloha and mahalo for your awesome review. Our 1BR suite is popular for couples and independent travelers that want a bigger space to spread out. And our discounted tour rates is also an added bonus if staying with us for at least 1 night. Mahalo for choosing Arnott's Lodge & Hiking Adventures, we hope to see you again soon on...

Warner Robins, Georgia
Reviewed November 2, 2016 via mobile

We are currently staying at Arnott's Lodge as of the time of this writing. We are happy except for the fact that they don't even have an ice machine on the premises which is really bad and we are on the Mauna Kea summit tour right now and they packed us 13 deep in a tour van like a bunch...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank John H
AlohaArnotts, Manager at Arnott's Lodge, responded to this review

Aloha and mahalo for your review. We always look forward to guests bringing their feedback and frustrations to us in person especially while still staying with us. Don't be embarrassed, we're all about trying to make you satisfied. Unfortunately we do not have an ice machine for our guests to freely use but we do provide ice. Our friendly front...

Toronto, Canada
Reviewed November 1, 2016

The neighborhood that the hotel is located seemed residential and a bit harder to find at night when we flew in. I had my reservations when we were shown the room with private bathroom but over the course of 3 nights it grew on me and gradually felt more comfortable. It felt like a re purposed residence, however everything that...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sossa7
AlohaArnotts, Manager at Arnott's Lodge, responded to this review

Aloha and mahalo for your review. We are a 5 minute drive to Hilo and a car is recommended to see sights at your leisure. Our location is prime if you want to be near the ocean and across the street from us are native Hawaiian homes, so we are in a residential area. We hope you weren't too frightened...

Portland, Maine
Reviewed October 24, 2016

Driving away from the Hilo airport for the 10 or 12-minute drive to Arnott’s Lodge, as you pass through an industrial section (including the port of Hilo) and then turn into a residential area, you may start to wonder what you’ve gotten yourself into. Persevere, however, and you’ll be rewarded with the discovery of a delightfully quirky and welcoming establishment...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank RFDjr
AlohaArnotts, Manager at Arnott's Lodge, responded to this review

Aloha and mahalo for your thorough review. We'll take eclectic! We are the only lodging and tour company that offers great rates for budget travelers and all types of travelers. From camping, dorm, semi-privates, 1BR, 2BR, 3BR and deluxe units. We accommodate travelers that appreciate our setup and clean space. We don't claim ourselves to be posh nor luxurious but...

Chatou, France
Reviewed October 22, 2016

Very good hostel in Hilo, not in the center of the city, but very close from the sea and some beaches, quiet place, nice staff. I booked a tour at the volcano. I recommend this place if you have a car to be able to visit the city and surroundings.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Franck R
AlohaArnotts, Manager at Arnott's Lodge, responded to this review

Aloha and mahalo for your great review. We are happy to hear that you had an excellent stay with us. We are blessed to be in a great location that is close to beautiful beaches. Thanks for choosing Arnott's Ldoge & Hiking Adventures. Come and visit us again soon! Aloha

Reviewed October 16, 2016 via mobile

This was my second stay. We really enjoyed it 5 years ago and this time actually made travel plans so we could stay again. We were camping. During the rain times there's no better campground you could be. Hiding under the roof on the sofas, doing laundry, browsing Internet (it's free when you stay there) they couple places you can...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank TouristKat7
AlohaArnotts, Manager at Arnott's Lodge, responded to this review

Aloha and mahalo for your review! Thanks for returning after 5 years!! We've got one of the best campsites on the island with great amenities. We hope your recent stay was memorable as your first. Thanks again for choosing Arnott's Lodge. Hopefully we'll see you again sooner than 5 years! Aloha

Carlisle, Pennsylvania
Reviewed October 10, 2016

We stayed a week at Arnott's Lodge in one of their deluxe rooms. We found the room to be very clean and nice looking. The shared kitchen area was also well kept with everything needed to prepare meals for the two of us. The only thing that would make it better is if there were more drinking glasses. There were...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank maxbK3147PD
AlohaArnotts, Manager at Arnott's Lodge, responded to this review

Aloha and mahalo for your review. We always strive to accommodate the needs of our guests e.g. more drinking glasses. Come and visit us again soon and invite your friends!! Aloha

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

106 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (99)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (16)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
3:20
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (65)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hilo
1.7 mi away
Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel
3.2 mi away
Dolphin Bay
Dolphin Bay
#2 of 8 in Hilo
636 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hilo Seaside Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.9 mi away
Chalet Kilauea
Chalet Kilauea
#1 of 2 in Volcano
368 reviews
62.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kailua-Kona
55.3 mi away
Kings' Land by Hilton Grand Vacations
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair access
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Kitchenette
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Arnott's Lodge and Hiking Adventures is located in a delightful, tropical area minutes from the coastline. We offer a range of affordable accommodations from backpackers in one building, to deluxe rooms with private bathroom in another. In between these accommodation extremes we have semi-private/suites that include a shared bathroom and a kitchenette which makes family vacations affordable. We also incorporate a beautiful camp ground for campers. Inexpensive bike rentals are available. Arnott's also has its own tour division where lodge guests get substantial discounts on incredible adventures such as the summit of Mauna Kea, Volcanoes National Park and Valleys and Waterfalls Tours. Come experience a relaxed Hawaii environment within walking distance to green sea turtles and swimming beaches. We hope to see you soon. Aloha ... more   less 

Additional Information about Arnott's Lodge

Address: 98 Apapane Rd, Hilo, Island of Hawaii, HI 96720-4907
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Hilo
Price Range: $111 - $167 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Arnott's Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arnott`s Hotel Hilo
Arnotts Hotel Hilo
Arnott's Lodge Hilo, Hawaii
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Arnott's Lodge staff and other travelers.
3 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Arnott's Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“With such a wide variety of accommodations available, read the description of your chosen room closely to assure it meets your requirements.”
  • Queen Deluxe Room
 of 5 bubbles RFDjr, Oct 24, 2016 | Read review
“I chose a semi-private room, private room, shared bathroom with 2 other rooms”
 of 5 bubbles 799franckr, Oct 22, 2016 | Read review
“If staying in a suite, ask for one overlooking the pond nearby. They have a great view with the chance to see some local wildlife.”
 of 5 bubbles Wanderer_787, Sep 17, 2016 | Read review
“Only one-bed room has A/C”
 of 5 bubbles HJChou, Sep 9, 2016 | Read review
“Go for a private suite so you don't have to share a bathroom or common area. The units on the 2nd floor are the only ones with AC.”
 of 5 bubbles Joe300g, Aug 24, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay