We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

Halemalu

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Halemalu
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"]},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

35 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 26: English reviews
Australia
Level Contributor
68 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2016

Eric is the owner and a wonderful, generous and informative host. The accommodation is large, clean, well fitted out and right next to all the major Captain Cook attractions. The accommodation is self contained with a most generous kitchen downstairs, full laundry and many other conveniences. As I said Eric is a great host and you deserve a night or... More 

Helpful?
Thank Ray K
California
Level Contributor
79 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2016

Nothing fancy but each unit comes with two bedrooms and living and dining area. Very spacious. There is a shared kitchen and a sitting room with TV downstairs. The owner made us feel very welcome. There are fruit and macadamia nut trees on the property and you can pick any that is in season. All in all, a nice clean,... More 

Helpful?
Thank Eleanor L
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2015 via mobile

Halemalu is a great location for exploring the 'real' Hawaii, away from the usual touristy areas and the set-up is also very good. Roomy two-bedroom suites + bath with communal kitchen & dining. Laundry facilities at reasonable cost and lots of good quality towels! If you're afraid of ants, stay away - it's the tropics, so they are there. It's... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Kathleen V
Coffs Harbour, Australia
Level Contributor
74 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2015

I think this was the first time that after booking, I immediately received an email from the owner effectively writing ‘Are you really sure you want to stay here?. I’d thoroughly researched Halemalu before I’d booked so after finding no surprises in the email I confirmed our booking. When reading this review, have in your mind an upscale hostel rather... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank DadandCab
Soldotna, Alaska
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2015

I stayed five nights at Halemalu and it was not worth the $110 a night. The apt. was large two bedroom but hadn't been vacuumed in a while. The beds and pillows where very old and very uncomfortable. When my head hit the pillow for the first time I could smell that funky smell when you haven't changed the sheets... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Kim S
HalemaluRetreat, Owner at Halemalu, responded to this review

As the owner of Halemalu it always concerns me when I see a review like this especially considering the fact that I am also the one who cleans the rooms after each check out. The linens are laundered after EVERY check out. We NEVER leave unlaundered linens on the beds for the next guest. Again I know this as a... More 

Weil am Rhein, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2014 via mobile

The huge 2-bedroom suites are in a separate building with a fully equipped shared kitchen and lounge. There are a lot of different fruit trees on the property and you are free to pick whatever is ready for harvest. The location is perfectly suited for access to the Captain Cook/Keleakekua area, but Kailua is also within in 20min drive.

Helpful?
1 Thank nhf1980
Honolulu, Hawaii
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2014

My husband and I stayed here at the end of July 2014. My husband woke up with such severe marks all over his arms that we thought he was having an allergic reaction. It turned out to be bed bugs and it was clearly a severe infestation. The worst part is that I called before making our reservation and asked... More 

Helpful?
5 Thank brittanylwilson85
HalemaluRetreat, Owner at Halemalu, responded to this review

We have never had a bug problem before this guest arrived. The guest did not mention the problem to us until a few weeks after they departed. We would have given the guest another room had they notified us while they were here. Of course we did find the problem after they left and called in the exterminators to eliminate... More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2014

You couldn't possibly do any better than this for the price. Two bedroom suite with kitchen and living room for $100. What a great deal. Suites are spacious, comfortable and clean. Owner was very nice and accommodating. When we told him our plans he actually let us know how we could have an even better time by tweaking our original... More 

Helpful?
Thank luxzilla
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
95 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014

This place is not a fancy resort right on the beach, so if that is what you have in mind, it is not for you. It is a simple 2BR/1BA suite with a living room that will sleep up to 6. Super reasonable for a small group and a great location if you are trying to snorkel at Honaunau. We... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank geosupergeek
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

Stayed at Halemalu with a friend back in October 2013. Got 2 bedroom unit with a huge living room and a balcony. Premises are enormous but only a very few people (up to 20) stay at any one time even though they could easily accommodate over 100. Table tennis, 2 separate outdoor areas, huge common living room and kitchen are... More 

Helpful?
Thank honolulu911
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

26 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (24)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (9)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (2)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Captain Cook
11.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kailua-Kona
11.5 mi away
Kona Seaside Hotel
Kona Seaside Hotel
#5 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
3.5 of 5 stars 1,010 reviews
11.5 mi away
Courtyard King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.7 mi away
Royal Kona Resort
Royal Kona Resort
#8 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
3.5 of 5 stars 2,533 reviews
5.6 mi away
Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay
23.6 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Hualalai
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Free Parking
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Located on the Big Island of Hawaii on the beautiful Kona coast, Halemalu has become a world premier individual, family, or group vacation rental property. The Halemalu Estate Villa is situated on a private five acre Botanical Garden Estate in Captain Cook and is ready to welcome you or your group. Our two bedroom suites offer a better value and are far more spacious compared to any hotel, lodge, inn or bed & breakfast. Plus our facilities are designed to accommodate all of your needs. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Halemalu

Address: 81-2026 Haku Nui Rd., Captain Cook, Island of Hawaii, HI 96704
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Captain Cook
Price Range: $101 - $124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Halemalu 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Halemalu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Halemalu Hawaii/Captain Cook
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay