We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Camp Aloha Bed & Breakfast

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Captain Cook
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Camp Aloha Bed & Breakfast
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"},"moduleList":["handlers","shims"]},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

12 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 12: English reviews
kent
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2015

Camp Aloha offered us peace and tranquillity after a hectic sight seeing tour. Joan welcomed us to her home and made us very welcome. The accommodation was spacious and the open air kitchen fantastic. Joan provided breakfast and advise on places to go of interest and snorkelling! The pool and hot tub offers a wonderful view of the sunset -... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank sajokilv
Aarhus, Denmark
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

My girfriend and I stayed at Camp Aloha for a week, and had an extremely good experience. Being situated a little way from Kona itself, the place is niely secluded from all the very touristy places. If you want ocean front boardwalks and souvenir shopping, you should find somewhere else. Camp Aloha feels more like staying in the jungle, with... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank JonasJensen
Stockholm Nj
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014

I travel a lot and never review anything but I had to make an exception for Camp Aloha. We spent a wonderful 10 days here in Sept. on our honeymoon and we couldn't have asked for a better place to stay. Joan and Casey were our hosts and they were fantastic, just very friendly people with even friendlier dogs. Everyday... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Dennis T
Boulder, Colorado, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

The grounds and views are very Hawaiian, relaxing and away from the busy life, my wife and I loved it. The accommodations are comfortable and you get to enjoy the sounds of the farm and rain forest. We stayed 3 nights and used the B&B as a base for the seeing the west side. Wished we had planned more days... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Bob N
Level Contributor
31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2012

If you want 5 star accommodation then this place isn't for you, but if you want a gorgeous location, generous and friendly hosts and the facilities to have not only breakfast but also lunch and tea if you want, then this is the place for you. The accomodation is basic but has everything you could ask for, lovely comfy bed,... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank RemusHowl
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2012

If your looking for a resort style vacation, this is not the place for you. But if you're looking for the feeling of a home away from home in the lush warm climate of Hawaii..then this is the spot. Camp Aloha provides great value for the price. I loved packing up the rental car at the beginning of our vacation... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank EastSooketravellers
Tacoma, Washington
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2011

A friend asked me what the highlight of our trip to Hawaii was and I said that it was our stay at Camp Aloha! Very comfortable and relaxed, helpful and super friendly hosts, lovely surroundings... My husband and I will be very relunctant to stay in "resort-y" places from now on. As Casey liked to say, "It's not for everyone",... More 

Helpful?
Thank KristnNDave
West Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2011

We had a wonderful time with great hosts, sweet pooch, & lots of laughs. The room was clean, nice & airy - our own private suite. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this B&B to my friends, as long as they were going at a different time than me. This is one of the better B&B's I've ever stayed in.

Helpful?
1 Thank kac8703
Santa Cruz, CA
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2010

I really didn't need to hear about how "lazy the local Hawaiians are", that the host "really doesn't like people" or that "I don't like living here because the **** traffic is so bad". Had a very odd experience with the grouch of a host in a rather moldy room.

Helpful?
2 Thank JohninSantaCruz
DuckyToo, Owner at Camp Aloha Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

We've decided this rather disappointing review is a mistake by JohninSantaCruz. The two visitors we had in December of 2009 have both re-booked at Camp Aloha as do over half of our visitors and none were named John. We knew something was wrong because I simply don't talk about my neighbors and future nephew in this way. Please be extra... More 

San Francisco
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2010

Last month our family of four returned to Camp Aloha B & B for the third time and had another great experience at an untouchable price! Casey, Joan and Lani-the-dog are the perfect hosts because they provide a space and lifestyle that is the antithesis to the snooty fake resorts and fancy frufru bed and breakfast places. An alternative to... More 

Helpful?
Thank CaptainSpooneye
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

29 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (20)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (6)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Captain Cook
15.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kailua-Kona
3.8 mi away
Manago Hotel
Manago Hotel
#1 of 1 in Captain Cook
4.0 of 5 stars 256 reviews
3.2 mi away
Ka'awa Loa Plantation
Ka'awa Loa Plantation
#1 of 17 in Captain Cook
5.0 of 5 stars 359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Dragonfly Ranch - Healing Arts Center
1.3 mi away
Pomaika'i "Lucky" Farm B&B
Pomaika'i "Lucky" Farm B&B
#2 of 3 in Captain Cook
4.0 of 5 stars 83 reviews
2.8 mi away
Hale Ho'ola B&B
Hale Ho'ola B&B
#2 of 7 in Honaunau
4.5 of 5 stars 167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Internet
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Camp Aloha is located 700 feet off Painted Church Road a few miles South of Captain Cook . The entrance drive passes through forty foot Mango and Avocado Trees. Small patches of Timber Bamboo separate Macadamia orchards and different species of Banana patches. Our Home and B&B is at the top of the drive with a view that looks out over Honaunau Bay and miles of Pacific Ocean shoreline from an elevation of 1000 feet (cool evenings). We only have one set of visitors at a time. It is private. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Camp Aloha Bed & Breakfast

Address: 84-5210 Painted Church Rd, Captain Cook, Island of Hawaii, HI 96704-8410
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Captain Cook
Price Range: $75 - $99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 1
Also Known As:
Camp Aloha Bed & Breakfast Hawaii/Captain Cook
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing