We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
TripAdvisor
Post
Inbox
Search

Half Moon Lake Lodge

Save
208 Forest Service Rd 114 PO Box 1829, Pinedale, WY 82941
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Hotels.com
$169
View Deal
Expedia.com$169
Travelocity$169
CheapTickets$169
Orbitz.com$169
TripAdvisor$169
ZenHotels.com
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (17)
Room & Suite (3)
Dining (2)

About

Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Enjoy cabin rentals with decks and lake views, a full service restaurant and saloon, and outdoor recreation including horseback riding, boat rentals,hiking and fishing all on the shore of beautiful Half Moon Lake.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Non-smoking hotel
Room features
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Microwave
Refrigerator
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Room types
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS

Location

Full view
Contact
208 Forest Service Rd 114 PO Box 1829, Pinedale, WY 82941
Getting there
Jackson Hole Airport69 miSee all flights
See all nearby hotels
44Reviews2Q+A10Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 28
  • 5
  • 5
  • 2
  • 4
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
This was our fifth stop on our 2,981 miles journey on our Harley Davidson from Rapid City via South Dakota, Montana, Wyoming, Idaho, Utah and into Denver Colorado. We chose lodges/cabins off the beaten track and as far away as possible from cities and/or towns. I do not think we could have made a better choice in selecting Halfmoon Lake Lodge. The views were simply breathtaking from our room (No 8) over the lake especially at night when the full moon cast a magnificent light over the lake. It was so tranquil and peaceful. The restaurant served scrumptious food and were ever so friendly and sitting on the deck over-looking the lake was awesome. They had boats for hire as well as Kayaks and plenty of fishing opportunities as well. The rooms were well furnished a spacious bathrooms and easily accessible. This is definitely the place to stay if in this area. A gem of a place
Read more
I am trying to be fair in this review. We booked two nights here in August and were informed three weeks before we got there that they had to close early for unavoidable reasons. They were honouring the reservations but there would be no facilities. We thought this would be okay and went anyway. It is a lovely location by the lake. The lady who checked us in was very friendly. From what we saw of the indoors of the main building it looked very nice and would have been a nice place to eat or spend and evening at the bar. The cabin was nice and cosy. We enjoyed the small porch at the front with its chairs and nice view of the lake. Inside there were comfy chairs to sit it, a TV, fridge and microwave. The fridge wasn't terribly clean, we found a dead moth in the ice tray. There were also bugs in the windows and the floor felt a bit dusty. The bathroom was okay, but the shower was tucked into a small corner of it where there was no lighting, so it was a bit dark. However, the beds had lovely clean sheets on them and we were warm enough at night. In fact I had one of the best sleeps of the holiday here. I think, had everything been open and working it would have been a lovely place to stay. The only downside is that it is 9 miles outside of Pinedale, miles away from anywhere, the last 2 miles of which are down a very bumpy and pot-hole filled dirt track with no lighting. There is no Wi-Fi and no cooking facilities in the cabins. The nine mile trip to get something to eat was a real pain,. So in the end we only stayed the one night.
Read more
Response from KristiD23, Owner at Half Moon Lake Lodge
Responded Sep 10, 2017
I appreciate your review. We apologize again for our early closure this season; we certainly wish it hadn't been necessary. We kept cabin reservations available for those who wanted to keep them without restaurant amenities primarily to make sure those people with eclipse accommodations had a place to stay since rooms were scarce at that time. But we did notify everyone to make sure guests had the opportunity to make other plans for restaurants or cancel their reservations. I hope you will visit another time in the future
Read more
If you're looking for a ritzy 5 star hotel, this is NOT for you. If you are looking to "unplug" and enjoy nature, this IS the place for you. The cabins are rustic but comfortable. There is NO internet or cell signal most of the time (I am with Verizon). No TV either. However, there is plenty to do! Hiking, horse back riding into the beautiful Wind River Range, rent the pontoon boat for the day and go fishing, go on a day drive to the many scenic places in the area or just RELAX at the lodge. My husband had a blast flying his drone. The food at the lodge has improved much from last year. I recommend the ribeye for two! I will say the food prices are a little on the high side for what it is, but the lodge atmosphere is great. I love this place. It holds family ties for us, but I would come even if it did not. Tom and Christy have done a great job with the place and we will be back.
Read more
Response from KristiD23, Owner at Half Moon Lake Lodge
Responded Jun 7, 2017
Thank you for your review Kat. You know we always enjoy having you and Tom with us and loved meeting your daughter this year too! Hope we will see you again soon!
Read more
First the good, Wonderful views, the cabin is quiet and dark as a tomb at night, friendly staff. The bartender was great. Food at the restaurant was OK. But, given the cost of the cabin, and given the fact that there's no expense expended for TV, Internet or phone (no cell service either), the cabin's amenities were a bit lacking. The room didn't have a table or suitcase stand. Nor were there any provisions for hanging clothes on hanger, just a few hooks on the wall. The bathroom had no place to hang a towel near the shower. There was very limited space to place items in the bathroom. The largest space was the toilet tank, overlooking a public-restroom-type open toilet seat. (Don't drop your toothbrush in the toilet, Seinfeld!) Outside on the porch, there was a small table, and two metal chairs with very undersized seat cushions. Individually, each of these lacking amenities are minor, but collectively, would be what one expected from a much cheaper accommodation.
Read more
Response from KristiD23, Owner at Half Moon Lake Lodge
Responded Jul 18, 2016
Thank you for your feedback and review. We appreciate hearing from our guests. I am glad you enjoyed your stay overall. We are aware that due to our remote location our guests are very "unplugged" when they visit us as far as technology. We do mention that in the descriptions of our cabins and most find that pleasant for littel bit of a change. We will review the layout of the cabins and see if there are improvements we can make. Again, thank you for your review! We hope you will visit again.
Read more
If you're looking for something better than camping out, go somewhere else! First of all the road to get to it is only a little better than a trail. Rocks, ruts, potholes, and washboards. Thankfully we were in a jeep. I don't think our car would have made it. I told my husband, "Well at least there's a restaurant here and we won't have to leave." So we arrive to check in, and the staff were less than friendly or helpful. The restaurant's pricing was around $32 (filet mignon). There were NO customers. It was around 6:30 in the evening. Up another steep, winding dirt trail we found our cabin. The front porch was swarming with insects. No way could we sit out and enjoy the evening. Open the rickety front door and see more insects inside, a flyswatter hanging on the wall and an ultrasonic mousetrap next to the rickety, dirty-looking bed. We left immediately, called to tell them we were checking out (got an answering machine), and found a much cleaner, more comfortable place to stay. Out $150.
Read more
Response from KristiD23, Owner at Half Moon Lake Lodge
Responded Jul 30, 2016
I'm sorry we did not meet your expectations. Dirt roads and insects are sort of part of the deal with rustic cabins in the forest. The majority of our guests are looking for a getaway in the forest when they visit; I'm sorry it didn't turn out to be what you had in mind.
Read more
Previous
1234569
PRICE RANGE
$75 - $178 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
United StatesWyomingPinedale
NUMBER OF ROOMS
8
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Half Moon Lake Lodge
What are some of the property amenities at Half Moon Lake Lodge?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and free parking.
What food & drink options are available at Half Moon Lake Lodge?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Half Moon Lake Lodge?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
Are pets allowed at Half Moon Lake Lodge?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Is Half Moon Lake Lodge accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access. For specific inquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.