We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Painted Buffalo Inn

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Painted Buffalo Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

572 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 511: English reviews
Long Eaton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Sorry for the late review, my sister & I stayed for 2 nights in May wonderful stay, lovely rooms, washing and drying area, plenty of space in our room, location perfect, Jackson is one of the last preserves of the wild west with its wooden sidewalks & saloons, enjoy your stay at the Painted Buffalo, but do have a walk... More 

Helpful?
Thank pig857
PBIManager, Director of Sales at Painted Buffalo Inn, responded to this review

Thanks so much for your feedback. We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay, and our convenient location near Town Square. We hope that you will come and see us again next time you're in town! More 

Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My sister booked a room, eight months in advance, for a room with two queens. When she checked in for us, they had given us a single queen bed. When she went to get a new room, she was informed no others were available. There solution was to give us a cot...at no extra cost. They refused to give us... More 

Helpful?
Thank Rebecca K

Travelers are raving about these Jackson hotels

Lagos, Nigeria
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I booked a room for four with painted buffalo inn for two nights (July 24 and July 28). The rooms were supposed to have two queen beds, a microwave, a fridge and the establishment offered free parking as well as complimentary breakfast. The check in process was easy. I just mentioned my name and they could do the rest. I... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank tangentandcord
PBIManager, Director of Sales at Painted Buffalo Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for letting us know about your stay with us! We are glad to hear it was a pleasant one, and hope you will stop by and see us again the next time you are in Jackson Hole! More 

Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I know that lodging in the area is expensive, but we were very disappointed in our stay. The hotel is older, and that's fine. It is very clean and the staff are very friendly. But the walls and ceilings are paper thin and if you have the misfortune of being next to anyone, forget any peace and quiet. And in... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank WmacEureka
PBIManager, Director of Sales at Painted Buffalo Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback! We are glad that you found our staff friendly, and will pass this information along. If you wish to discuss your stay further, please contact the hotel, and a member of our management team would be happy to speak with you. More 

Appleton
Level Contributor
282 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This hotel has an excellent staff and had lemonade/water in the lobby when we arrived. The room was large and comfortable with good pillows and comfortable linens. We were on the first floor, but when the renters above us arrived the quiet soon vanished. We picked the first floor because there are no elevators. There was a frig and microwave... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Judy B
PBIManager, Director of Sales at Painted Buffalo Inn, responded to this review

Hello, thanks for providing us with some feedback. We are so glad to hear that our staff was accommodating during your recent stay. We understand that prices in Jackson Hole may come as a sticker shock to some,e specially during the busy season, but we hope that we were able to provide you with a value lodging option. More 

Sioux City, Iowa
Level Contributor
60 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed for two nights. The staff was courteous and helpful. Our granddaughter enjoyed the indoor pool. The continental breakfast offered the basics. The location is great for walking uptown to the Town Square. It does seem overpriced for what it is, but seemed to be in line with other offerings in Jackson.

Helpful?
Thank SusannaCreek
PBIManager, Director of Sales at Painted Buffalo Inn, responded to this review

Thanks for your feedback. We are glad to know that our staff was courteous, and will pass this information along to them! More 

Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
43 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The room was clean and beds are comfy. shower ok. Just a few min walk from city center. the only downside was the breakfast which was a bit disappointing , slightly below the regular standard of similar motals. bottom line - if you like the rate offered compared to other motal at this area , go for it.

Helpful?
Thank Lior B
PBIManager, Director of Sales at Painted Buffalo Inn, responded to this review

Hi Lior, Thanks for taking the time to provide us with feedback regarding your recent stay with us. We are so glad that your stay was a pleasant one, and that you were able to enjoy our convenient location close to town square. As for your feedback on the breakfast, we are constantly looking for ways in which to improve,... More 

Rock Hill,SC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We made a reservation through Expedia,but we were unable to keep it because the road into Jackson was closed because of fire. We called the hotel and were told our deposit would be retained because of the 14 day rule. Kind of hard to keep the reservation when the only road into town is inaccessible.

Helpful?
Thank Frank G
PBIManager, Director of Sales at Painted Buffalo Inn, responded to this review

Thanks for expressing your concern with us. We are sorry to hear of your circumstances. Should you wish to discuss this further, please contact the hotel, and a member of our management team would be happy to speak with you. More 

Level Contributor
147 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Apparently a older motel (not hotel) with outside entrances. Kinda annoying with squeaking floors -- especially from unit above us. Has definitely seen better days but considering what they have to work with, not bad. Bathroom is very small and Spartan with sink outside of bath. Bathroom door stuck and almost couldn't get open. Very few electrical outlets to plug... More 

Helpful?
Thank Raker1
PBIManager, Director of Sales at Painted Buffalo Inn, responded to this review

Hello, thank you so much for taking the time to provide us with feedback on your recent stay with us. We are glad that you found our location to be comfortable and convenient. We will keep in mind your feedback about the state of the rooms in mind as we continue to improve our property in the future. More 

Turriff
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stopped here for two nights with a coach tour, rooms were shabby, squeaky floorboards, Evidence that the bed had not been changed from last guest.need I say more, got new sheets from linen cupboard and changed them myself! Would not recommend this hotel, quality inn across road looked very inviting, location is ideal for the town centre.

Helpful?
1 Thank 859rd
PBIManager, Director of Sales at Painted Buffalo Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. Should you wish to discuss your stay further, please contact the hotel and a member of our management team would be happy to speak with you. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

102 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (66)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (22)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (17)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (15)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (36)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (12)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (10)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jackson hotels
0.1 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites 49'er
0.1 mi away
Parkway Inn
Parkway Inn
#6 of 42 in Jackson
4.5 of 5 stars 567 reviews
0.1 mi away
Elk Country Inn
Elk Country Inn
#10 of 42 in Jackson
4.5 of 5 stars 638 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Jackson Hole Lodge
Jackson Hole Lodge
#30 of 42 in Jackson
3.5 of 5 stars 288 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ranch Inn
Ranch Inn
#20 of 42 in Jackson
4.0 of 5 stars 459 reviews
1.0 mi away
Pony Express Motel
Pony Express Motel
#21 of 42 in Jackson
4.0 of 5 stars 442 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
137 room hotel only three short blocks from the historic town square. Indoor pool, continental breakfast, pets welcome and kids stay free. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Painted Buffalo Inn

Address: 400 W Broadway Ave, PO Box 2547, Jackson, WY 83001-8639
Location: United States > Wyoming > Jackson Hole > Jackson
Price Range: $106 - $394 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Painted Buffalo Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 137
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and Odigeo so you can book your Painted Buffalo Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Painted Buffalo Hotel Jackson
Painted Buffalo Motel
Painted Buffalo Inn Jackson Hole, WY
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Jackson
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay