We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Painted Buffalo Inn

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Painted Buffalo Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

566 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 508: English reviews
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW via mobile

I know that lodging in the area is expensive, but we were very disappointed in our stay. The hotel is older, and that's fine. It is very clean and the staff are very friendly. But the walls and ceilings are paper thin and if you have the misfortune of being next to anyone, forget any peace and quiet. And in... More 

Helpful?
Thank WmacEureka
PBIManager, Director of Sales at Painted Buffalo Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback! We are glad that you found our staff friendly, and will pass this information along. If you wish to discuss your stay further, please contact the hotel, and a member of our management team would be happy to speak with you. More 

Appleton
Level Contributor
282 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

This hotel has an excellent staff and had lemonade/water in the lobby when we arrived. The room was large and comfortable with good pillows and comfortable linens. We were on the first floor, but when the renters above us arrived the quiet soon vanished. We picked the first floor because there are no elevators. There was a frig and microwave... More 

Helpful?
Thank Judy B
PBIManager, Director of Sales at Painted Buffalo Inn, responded to this review

Hello, thanks for providing us with some feedback. We are so glad to hear that our staff was accommodating during your recent stay. We understand that prices in Jackson Hole may come as a sticker shock to some,e specially during the busy season, but we hope that we were able to provide you with a value lodging option. More 

Sioux City, Iowa
Level Contributor
54 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We stayed for two nights. The staff was courteous and helpful. Our granddaughter enjoyed the indoor pool. The continental breakfast offered the basics. The location is great for walking uptown to the Town Square. It does seem overpriced for what it is, but seemed to be in line with other offerings in Jackson.

Helpful?
Thank SusannaCreek
PBIManager, Director of Sales at Painted Buffalo Inn, responded to this review

Thanks for your feedback. We are glad to know that our staff was courteous, and will pass this information along to them! More 

Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
43 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

The room was clean and beds are comfy. shower ok. Just a few min walk from city center. the only downside was the breakfast which was a bit disappointing , slightly below the regular standard of similar motals. bottom line - if you like the rate offered compared to other motal at this area , go for it.

Helpful?
Thank Lior B
PBIManager, Director of Sales at Painted Buffalo Inn, responded to this review

Hi Lior, Thanks for taking the time to provide us with feedback regarding your recent stay with us. We are so glad that your stay was a pleasant one, and that you were able to enjoy our convenient location close to town square. As for your feedback on the breakfast, we are constantly looking for ways in which to improve,... More 

Rock Hill,SC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We made a reservation through Expedia,but we were unable to keep it because the road into Jackson was closed because of fire. We called the hotel and were told our deposit would be retained because of the 14 day rule. Kind of hard to keep the reservation when the only road into town is inaccessible.

Helpful?
Thank Frank G
PBIManager, Director of Sales at Painted Buffalo Inn, responded to this review

Thanks for expressing your concern with us. We are sorry to hear of your circumstances. Should you wish to discuss this further, please contact the hotel, and a member of our management team would be happy to speak with you. More 

Travelers are raving about these Jackson hotels

Level Contributor
147 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Apparently a older motel (not hotel) with outside entrances. Kinda annoying with squeaking floors -- especially from unit above us. Has definitely seen better days but considering what they have to work with, not bad. Bathroom is very small and Spartan with sink outside of bath. Bathroom door stuck and almost couldn't get open. Very few electrical outlets to plug... More 

Helpful?
Thank Raker1
PBIManager, Director of Sales at Painted Buffalo Inn, responded to this review

Hello, thank you so much for taking the time to provide us with feedback on your recent stay with us. We are glad that you found our location to be comfortable and convenient. We will keep in mind your feedback about the state of the rooms in mind as we continue to improve our property in the future. More 

Turriff
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stopped here for two nights with a coach tour, rooms were shabby, squeaky floorboards, Evidence that the bed had not been changed from last guest.need I say more, got new sheets from linen cupboard and changed them myself! Would not recommend this hotel, quality inn across road looked very inviting, location is ideal for the town centre.

Helpful?
1 Thank 859rd
PBIManager, Director of Sales at Painted Buffalo Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. Should you wish to discuss your stay further, please contact the hotel and a member of our management team would be happy to speak with you. More 

Denver
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Beware, when they say "book now, pay at hotel," they lie. They charge in full at that moment. And, they charge more than Expedia says your entire bill will be. And when you get upset (because you didn't plan on being charged today) and cancel, they collect yet another $15 and it will be five days until they reimburse you.

Helpful?
Thank Molly243
PBIManager, Director of Sales at Painted Buffalo Inn, responded to this review

Hello. We are sorry to hear about your billing problems. If you wish to discuss this further, please contact the hotel and a member of our management team would be happy to speak with you. More 

Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed there 2 nights on our tour.room looked like a grizzly bear had stayed the night before scratch marks everywhere unclean.complained to tour rep COSMOS/ARCHERS so did others and was told they complained to there bosses about the place and new all about it and is going to be pulled down soon and rebuilt shame on COSMOS letting us stay... More 

Helpful?
Thank glenn1956100
PBIManager, Director of Sales at Painted Buffalo Inn, responded to this review

Hello, Thanks for taking the time to provide us with feedback. We are sorry to hear that your stay was less than ideal. Should you wish to discuss your stay further, please contact the hotel, and a member of our management team would be happy to speak with you. More 

Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The Painted Buffalo Inn has excellent customer service. We had a glitch with our bill and we contacted the manager a week after our stay to see if she could correct it. The manager, Londi, and her staff member, Sebastian, provided excellent customer service and corrected the bill immediately. We had a very positive experience.

Helpful?
Thank katebfromseattle
PBIManager, Director of Sales at Painted Buffalo Inn, responded to this review

Thanks so much for your review. We are so happy to hear that Londe and Sebastian were able to provide you with great customer service, and will pass this info along to them. Please stop in to see us again next time you are in Jackson Hole! More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

102 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (66)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (22)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (17)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (15)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (36)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (12)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (10)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jackson hotels
0.1 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites 49'er
0.1 mi away
Parkway Inn
Parkway Inn
#6 of 42 in Jackson
4.5 of 5 stars 561 reviews
0.1 mi away
Elk Country Inn
Elk Country Inn
#10 of 42 in Jackson
4.5 of 5 stars 633 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Jackson Hole Lodge
Jackson Hole Lodge
#31 of 42 in Jackson
3.5 of 5 stars 285 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ranch Inn
Ranch Inn
#21 of 42 in Jackson
4.0 of 5 stars 456 reviews
1.0 mi away
Pony Express Motel
Pony Express Motel
#19 of 42 in Jackson
4.0 of 5 stars 438 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
137 room hotel only three short blocks from the historic town square. Indoor pool, continental breakfast, pets welcome and kids stay free. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Painted Buffalo Inn

Address: 400 W Broadway Ave, PO Box 2547, Jackson, WY 83001-8639
Location: United States > Wyoming > Jackson Hole > Jackson
Price Range: $106 - $394 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Painted Buffalo Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 137
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your Painted Buffalo Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Painted Buffalo Hotel Jackson
Painted Buffalo Motel
Painted Buffalo Inn Jackson Hole, WY
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Jackson
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay