We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
1170 N Fork Hwy 1170 Yellowstone Hwy, Cody, WY 82414-7879
E-mail hotel
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Traveler (98)
Room & Suite (40)
Dining (8)

About

#7 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Cody
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Elephant Head Lodge is a small AAA log-cabin mountain lodge resort located just 11.7 miles East of Yellowstone National Park and 40 miles west of Cody, WY. The lodge and most of our cabins are listed on the National Register of Historic Places. It gets its name from a rock formation overlooking it. The Lodge, Restaurant, and the "Trapper" cabin were built in 1910 by Buffalo Bill Cody's niece, Josephine Thurston, and her husband Harry W. Thurston. Harry chose the site for its dependable water for early travelers to Yellowstone - and for trappers and Indians. Our small lodge is a wonderful base for touring the Yellowstone National Park, Cody, and the Shoshone National Forest. It is a great place for horseback riding, relaxing, fishing, hiking, and viewing wildlife, as well as good homecooked meals, with homemade bread, soups, and desserts, as well as famous homemade cinnamon rolls. Cabin rates vary depending on size (house 2-8 people per cabin) & accommodations (some with kitchenettes). High season rates Memorial-Labor Day $176-390/night. Low season rates May & September until early October $158-352/night. All with bath(s), pet friendly, & non-smoking.
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Free parking
Bar / lounge
Hiking
Horseback riding
Children's playground
Children's television networks
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
BBQ facilities
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Outdoor dining area
Special diet menus
Wine / champagne
Vending machine
Fishing
Board games / puzzles
Indoor play area for children
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Kids' outdoor play equipment
Highchairs available
Gift shop
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Picnic area
Shared lounge / TV area
Sun deck
First aid kit
Show more
Room features
Blackout curtains
Housekeeping
Private bathrooms
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Coffee / tea maker
Oven
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Refrigerator
Stovetop
Kitchenware
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Mountain view
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Quaint
Languages Spoken
English

Location

Full view
Contact
1170 N Fork Hwy 1170 Yellowstone Hwy, Cody, WY 82414-7879
Getting there
Billings Airport112 miSee all flights
Yellowstone Regional Airport39 miSee all flights
See all nearby hotels
156Reviews2Q+A29Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 79
  • 33
  • 11
  • 13
  • 20
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Rudy Z wrote a review Jun 11
3 contributions
Great location but needs some TLC. Found the place on the web and it looked beautiful. Not what we expected. Grounds unkempt. Cabin clean but very outdated. Shag carpeting on the floor and worn linoleum in the bathroom. Our cabin could use some TLC. Twenty four hours before our arrival we were informed that the restaurant would not be open. This was one of the perks advertised on their web site. Understanding that Covid 19 was a real hardship for places like this, we were sorely disappointed in what we found on our arrival, especially for the price. A great potential if they can rebound from the past two years of covid.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Simona T wrote a review Oct 2020
Chicago, Illinois15 contributions11 helpful votes
We spent 2 wonderful nights in this hidden paradise where you can feel the nature, the silence and enjoy the real wilderness. The owner and her cute dog are specials; very kind and friendly. We will come back and we will spend more nights for sure. See you soon, Andrea & Simona (from Chicago)
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Debbie Millard, Owner at Elephant Head Lodge
Responded Feb 25, 2021
Thank you for staying with us. Hope our paths cross again.
Read more
Hairyequation wrote a review Aug 2020
Florence, Toscana, Italy25 contributions6 helpful votes
+1
We went to Elephant Head Lodge to meet up with our parents. The four of us stayed in the Homesteader cabin (1 bedroom, plus Murphy bed and futon in living room). I was concerned it would be too small- but it was the perfect size for two couples who know each other well. The best part about the Homesteader cabin was the large porch and the view; we had no other cabins in sight from the porch and we didn’t see another guest the entire time! (Which was exactly what we wanted). The evening light and star gazing from the porch was incredible. It was sunny in the morning and shady in the afternoon. I wouldn’t stay in any other cabin. Every evening we were there we saw mule deer from the porch. The dining room was closed when we were there, but we had spoke with Debbie on the phone ahead of time, so we were able to bring all our own food to prepare in the cabin. The kitchen was small but had everything we needed for three days of meals. The cabin was rustic and older, but had the amenities needed to make it comfortable. Debbie and JT were both very friendly and helpful. We went into Yellowstone through the east entrance every day and the drive was pleasant with no traffic or lines at the gate. This was the perfect way to stay outside Yellowstone.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Traveled with family
Helpful
Share
Response from Debbie Millard, Owner at Elephant Head Lodge
Responded Aug 22, 2020
Enjoyed meeting your family. Glad you were able to have some quality family time together and away from every one else. Hope to see you again.
Read more
Relax338781 wrote a review Jul 2020
1 contribution1 helpful vote
I will first start out and say that I have not stayed at this location.So this review does not reflect the lodge in appearance or function. However due to Covid19 I rescheduled our trip from Memorial Day weekend to Labor Day weekend instead of canceling the reservation. I did this in an effort to help them not lose money due to the unforeseen pandemic. I was charged $20 additional dollars to move my reservation from Memorial Day weekend to Labor Day weekend because it was a higher rate due to the time of year. Which I paid. Unfortunately due to Covid19 we were still unable to make this trip and when I went to cancel it, I was told I would be charged an additional $50 to cancel. An offer from the lodge was to settle at splitting the cost in half for the cancellation fee. However after I told them that I would have canceled this reservation back on Memorial Day weekend but chose not to in an effort to minimize their loses due to Covid19, I was told there would be a $25 cancellation fee and they then hung up the phone. I do not feel it is fair to be charged an additional $50 (or even $25) to cancel the reservation especially given the advanced notice of almost 2 months prior to the stay. Considering I helped them avoid losing money due to Covid19 I would think they should do the same in return. Unfortunately even though this looks like a beautiful place to stay, I likely will choose not to due to this situation that could have been avoided.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Debbie Millard, Owner at Elephant Head Lodge
Responded Aug 22, 2020
Sorry you feel this way. As a business there are still business expenses of running credit cards to process a deposit and then again when there is a refund. So it is not expense free for the business. When you made the reservation the policy is stated for the $50 cancellation fee, and I split that with you trying to help you out. Since you didn't come, there was a loss of money to us anyways whether sooner or later. Besides you were not charged an additional $50, you were just not refunded back that amount (in your case $25 ) to partially cover your cancellation fee. Covid has not been nice to many of us, and we hope we are able to weather the storm. We are a beautiful place to stay - even during this pandemic.
Read more
Josh t wrote a review Jul 2020
7 contributions2 helpful votes
We stayed one night on our way to Yellowstone. The staff was friendly. Debbie helped us get a last minute horseback ride in at a place down the road. Debbie and her staff were very nice. The cabin was clean and comfortable. No internet or cell service but the kids didn’t seem to mind.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020Trip type: Traveled with family
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Previous
123456
ALSO KNOWN AS
elephant head hotel cody
LOCATION
United StatesWyomingCody
NUMBER OF ROOMS
15
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Elephant Head Lodge
What are some of the property amenities at Elephant Head Lodge?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and free parking.
Which room amenities are available at Elephant Head Lodge?
Top room amenities include a refrigerator, blackout curtains, and a view of the mountains.
What food & drink options are available at Elephant Head Lodge?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Elephant Head Lodge?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
Are pets allowed at Elephant Head Lodge?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.