We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
521 Grant St, Wausau, WI 54403-4739
E-mail hotel
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Booking.com$130
Hotels.com$130
Travelocity$130
Tripadvisor$130
eDreams
Trip.com$140
View all 17 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (128)
Room & Suite (42)
Videos (1)
What is Travelers’ Choice Best of the Best?
This award is our highest recognition and is presented annually to those businesses that are the Best of the Best on Tripadvisor, those that earn excellent reviews from travelers and are ranked in the top 1% of properties worldwide.
Learn more
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitized in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
  • Contactless check-out
Updated 08/23/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
Updated 08/23/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#1 of 12 in Wausau
Location
5.0
Cleanliness
5.0
Service
5.0
Value
5.0
2022 Travelers' Choice Best of the Best
Located in both Wausau's downtown River District and the Andrew Warren Historic District, the Stewart Inn offers a luxury boutique hotel experience with gourmet breakfast, steam showers, fine linens, concierge service and a nightly wine & cheese reception. The downtown restaurants, shops, museums, galleries and businesses are within walking distance. Excellent corporate rates and special cancellation policies for business travelers.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Wifi
Free breakfast
Special diet menus
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
Private check-in / check-out
Shared lounge / TV area
Show more
Room features
Bathrobes
Air conditioning
Desk
Fireplace
Seating area
Flatscreen TV
iPod docking station
Bath / shower
Iron
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Romantic
Business
Languages Spoken
English
284Reviews0Q+A58Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 278
  • 6
  • 0
  • 0
  • 0
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Pamela B wrote a review Jun 21
Trout Creek2 contributions
+1
The host at the Stewart Inn was most welcoming and gave us a tour of the 1906 home that they have turned into a bed-and-breakfast. Everything was clean and luxurious and a lot of original wood work, fixtures, lighting, so beautiful and well-kept. And the highlight was the breakfast that was served in the morning. Such a beautiful variety of foods and even though we had no dietary restrictions we noticed that he was more than accommodating for the guest there who did have restrictions. It was a full four course breakfast and you certainly left satisfied. We would recommend this highly to anyone who has any reason to visit the Wausau area. The Inn is within walking distance of many fine restaurants and the waterfront walk, which we enjoyed after dinner. We enjoyed our stay and would love to stay there again.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Traveled
Helpful
Share
Andy W wrote a review Jun 20
4 contributions1 helpful vote
Room amenities were great. Bed and bedding were comfortable and the breakfast we great! Conveniently situated near excellent dining, shops, and art galleries within walking distance. Would highly recommend.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
Location
Cleanliness
Service
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Katherine A wrote a review Jun 15
1 contribution1 helpful vote
We were not able to experience the awesome sounding breakfast, but the room was amazing. We loved everything about the place. Such a beautiful place. They have steam showers and the most comfortable beds. A very quiet peacefulness about the place. Randy met us with a wonderful welcome, showing us around and then took us to our room. We were encouraged to spend time down stairs where it was incredibly beautiful. I love the fact that there are only six rooms, making for the quietness. Even though it was built in 1906, it was amazingly restored, but had updated bath rooms. The wood work, the rugs and the furniture were amazing. Wish we would have been there longer, but plan on going there again to enjoy the whole package.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Phit Phanie wrote a review Jun 13
5 contributions1 helpful vote
The Stewart Inn was great! I was not sure about whether breakfast was included (inn vs. BnB), so I inquired in advance and received a quick reply. (It is included!) The host was away when we arrived, so another local host was inn sitting. It was a nice touch to receive a warm welcome and a bit of history. The house is gorgeous, well-maintained, tastefully decorated, and clean. There is a community fridge and 24 hour coffee/tea service, snacks, and soda. We skipped the wine reception for an early dinner though it would have been nice to chat with the inn sitter and other guests. We had a restful night, and I loved the steam shower! We had coffee on the porch overlooking a lovely yard, and got some snuggles and kisses from Buster Brown a sweet, sweet dog. Breakfast was filling and delicious. The host (who returned over night) gladly accommodated our request for vegan meal. It would be great to visit again! We recommend it! If you're looking for a luxurious, country experience, these hosts are building a high-end cabin that sounds great, too.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Traveled
Helpful
Share
Brian K wrote a review Jun 10
2 contributions
This was our second stay with Stewart Inn since we loved our experience last year. Beautiful, beautiful property and comfortable room. Smallest details covered to make your stay a home away from home. The Inn is within walking distance to Red Eye Brewing Co. (Great beer & food) & Lemongrass Asian Fusion (great food). Breakfast at the Inn is beyond amazing, and one of our most memorable moments during our week of travel, ending with a night at the Inn. We highly recommend & will be back!
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
Rooms
Location
Service
Helpful
Share
Flyer740975 wrote a review Jun 6
8 contributions2 helpful votes
We really enjoyed our stay at the Stewart Inn. The house is beautiful and the breakfast was delicious! We were lucky enough to stay in the room with the attached private porch which was a wonderful spot to enjoy breakfast. We also enjoyed the wine reception and the dinner suggestion. It was a perfect night away!
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Traveled
Helpful
Share
Kevin Q wrote a review May 2022
52 contributions38 helpful votes
There are pluses and minuses about our visit. Anyone looking at the other reviews for the Stewart Inn will see that people overwhelmingly were positive, even effusive about this place. We expected to feel the same, hence, a sense of disappointment that we did not end up giving a 5 star review. Still, 4 stars isn't bad, right? First, the positives. The Inn is located in a great place in downtown Wausau. It is within easy walking distance of the Third Street retail district which has a number of really nice restaurants, which we took advantage of in our visit. The Inn itself is a magnificent building. It is immaculate, the architecture is really interesting - the style is a blend of Prairie/Arts & Crafts, built by the architect George Maher. Our room was immaculate and clean, comfortably spacious. The common areas are expansive and inviting. This is a great building in a really nice location, close to a couple of very interesting local art museums. Why aren't we in the 5 star "effusive" category? Well, a few things frustrated us. First, when you make the reservation you get on their email and text list. The first couple of emails/texts were fine - confirmed the reservation and provided details on what to do when you show up, exactly what one expects. Even an email asking for an approximate arrival time so they could greet us. All just fine. But then ... well, we got bombarded with emails from the Stewart Inn about future visits, etc. Probably an additional dozen or more (I'm not exaggerating). They continued after we checked out with requests that we review them, suggesting various sites (including TripAdvisor). I really look to limit the number of emails I get so I tried to find in their emails where you could unsubscribe but unlike most places, there is no option to unsubscribe! In the end, out of annoyance I reported their emails as spam in my mail system and blocked their address. I guess this is a small thing but it was super annoying. They also advertise a "wine and cheese" reception. We attended and it was a lovely opportunity to meet some of the other guests and chat with the host. Small thing - wine was offered but no cheese. Again, a little thing but why mention the cheese then? Finally, the host told us that breakfast began at 8:30 AM. We were down promptly a few minutes early as were the other guests. We have stayed at a number of bed and breakfasts and how breakfast was handled was definitely a bit different - a very drawn out affair. We sat around till around 8:50 when the first part of breakfast came out. Again, I want to emphasize that it was pleasant chatting with the other guests and the coffee was excellent. I admit I felt a bit chastized by the host when I asked for decaf. He graciously and immediately said he would brew some but then added that "nobody wants decaf coffee these days". Well, sorry, I can't drink caffeinated products for medical reasons. Things proceeded very slowly with the rest of the meal. Compared to some B&Bs, there was plenty of food (blueberries with cream, avocado toast, scrambled eggs and chocolate brioche french toast) but it really took a long time to come out and we had planned to hit the museums in the morning so we started to get a bit antsy. I'd say that the final part of the meal was served around 9:30 and we left the table (bolted?) around 9:45. In general the food was good. We both found the scrambled eggs to be too wet for our taste and left them on the plate. And the brioche french toast was slathered in a huge layer of whipped cream which we immediately removed. Our lack of interest in the scrambled eggs might (or might not) have been noticed because I heard our host mention to other guests that many people don't like scrambled eggs to be this moist but this is the way they are supposed to be served. I admit that I didn't react well to this pronouncement (who dictates the proper way for eggs to be served? I'm used to restaurants asking how I'd like my eggs served). So in summary, a mixed bag. I think 4 stars is an honest assessment. Many positive aspects but the email/text spam and the drawn out breakfast (almost 90 minutes) left us a little disappointed.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
Rooms
Location
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from Randall Bangs, Owner at Stewart Inn
Responded 1 week ago
Kevin, As I said in my email directly to you, I'm sorry your stay fell short of our 5 star standards. We work hard to go above and beyond guest expectations and we apologize if you left in any way dissatisfied. In reading your review, I was shocked to hear that you had received so many emails and texts from us. A dozen is more than twice what any guest should receive. Unfortunately, what happened in your case is that your wife in making the reservation put in email addresses and cell phone numbers for both herself and for you. While this rarely happens, our system automatically sends texts and emails to all contact numbers. Retrospectively, I wish our system was more intuitive about how it handled these circumstances. I also want to share that I too am caffeine sensitive and only drink decaf. What I tried to say and perhaps it came across ineffectively is that the reason there was no decaf is that we only make decaf upon request. Very few guests (less than 50 per year) ask for it and we try not to waste things anymore than we have to. As you stated, I was happy to accommodate your request. Lastly, with respect to your comments about the whipped cream and the scrambled eggs, I can tell you that after nine years of serving guests, it doesn't matter how you prepare anything, there are always guests who would prefer things prepared differently, whether that's how they would teach you in a culinary school or not. Unfortunately, in an environment like this, it's not always possible to accommodate everyone's individual preferences. The irony of this is that I specifically substituted scrambled eggs for sausage because you had said that you and your wife don't eat meat with breakfast but do like eggs. While the scrambled eggs were too wet for your taste, I would make the same substitution for another guest if the circumstances were similar. As I stated above, we genuinely try to satisfy 100% of our guests. Regrettably, it didn't work out this time and for that I am very sorry.
Read more
Sara K wrote a review May 2022
2 contributions
Our stay at the Stewart Inn was great! We were in Room 3 (Sheldon) . The room is large and the bed was very comfortable. They have every kind of pillow imaginable so a good night’s sleep is guaranteed. Many older homes have thin walls but we never heard any noise from the other rooms. Randy was very welcoming and happy to assist with information on restaurants and things to do. We walked to the restaurants and museums we visited. The steam shower was relaxing. Breakfast was absolutely delicious! We’ll be back.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Traveled
Helpful
Share
48AnnB67 wrote a review May 2022
De Soto, Wisconsin4 contributions1 helpful vote
The home is a beautiful craftsman, and a very nice change of pace from many other B & B's which are victorian in style. Lots of room for guests to relax on main floor; dining room, large living area with beautiful fireplace, large window and window seat, reading room and separate area to watch tv (or as we did, play cards without tv on). Our room was full of light, roomy and the steam shower divine. The innkeeper was warm and welcoming but also gave us plenty of private space while in the living areas. This is a great inn for anyone requiring special dietary restrictions as the Innkeeper accommodated my gluten free requirement by preparing a delicious multi-course breakfast including a gluten free Dutch-baby pancake and separate chicken sausage. Traveling to the Wausau, WI area; definitely a must see and stay!
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Patrick M wrote a review May 2022
75 contributions68 helpful votes
This place has no flaws. The inn is magnificent and beautiful. Spotlessly clean. The common areas and our room were comfortable. The furnishings are superb. The breakfast was very good. I am more of eggs, bacon and potato person, but enjoyed the change of pace breakfast. My gf is a fruit and veggie person and loved the breakfast. The hosts are very pleasant. The neighborhood is excellent, safe and convenient. We walked to Ciao for dinner (excellent) and walked back at 10:15. No worries at all. In the other direction, 2-3 blocks, is another good restaurant--Hiawatha. Oh, if you just want to sit in your room and watch TV, this might not be for you. There is a 32-inch TV in the room, hung high and several feet from the large bed. We were not there to watch TV and never turned it on. There is a large TV in one of the common rooms, so don't let a game keep you from staying at this lovely B&B.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: We had Room 2. It might be the least costly room, but it is large and very comfortable.
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$140 - $191 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
United StatesWisconsinWausau
NUMBER OF ROOMS
5
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Stewart Inn
Which popular attractions are close to Stewart Inn?
Nearby attractions include The Grand Theater (0.2 miles), Yawkey House Museum (0.1 miles), and Janke Book Store (0.2 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Stewart Inn?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and free parking.
Which room amenities are available at Stewart Inn?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a desk.
What food & drink options are available at Stewart Inn?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Stewart Inn?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Stewart Inn?
Conveniently located restaurants include Red Eye Brewing Company, Mint Cafe, and Back When Cafe.
Is Stewart Inn located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.4 miles away from the center of Wausau.