We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

Heartwood Conference Center & Retreat

Show Prices
#1 of 1 Hotels in Trego
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Management photos
Heartwood Conference Center & Retreat
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel"},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

90 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 89: English reviews
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

This unexpected level of luxury in the rural north woods consistently impresses. The food, cleanliness, and amenities makes this property a pleasure to visit. The staff is exceptional in catering to your needs.

Helpful?
Thank Dean B
Minnetonka
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

You can depend on Heartwood to be quiet, peaceful and beautiful. Realize that it is off the beaten track and dining options are limited, but it is a great base to explore the nearby towns and attractions.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank wiwanderer2016
Mike T, General Manager at Heartwood Conference Center & Retreat, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are happy that you enjoy staying with us. We look forward to your return. Mike Trudeau General Manager More 

Goodhue
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This was my second stay at the Heartwood. The first was a ladies weekend, and the second was with our kids and grandkids. We stayed at the Hoinville House. It was perfect for us! All the basic amenities were included.....we brought our own food and drinks. The house was laid out well and was very clean. We enjoyed all the... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Pat B
Mike T, General Manager at Heartwood Conference Center & Retreat, responded to this review

Welcome back! Thank you for your wonderful review, my staff and I really appreciate your kind words. My Team works really hard to go over and above to satisfy each and every guest at Heartwood. We hope to see you again. Sincerely, Mike Trudeau General Manager More 

Minneapolis, United States
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2016

I didn't know anyone else was on property other than seeing the wedding chairs set outside for the ceremony. We had a nice quiet time and enjoyed sitting on chairs gazing out at the lake. A great place for a conference or meeting.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Juli S
Mike T, General Manager at Heartwood Conference Center & Retreat, responded to this review

Thank you for the positive review. We are happy that you had a nice time. We hope to see you again. Enjoy your summer! Sincerely, Mike Trudeau General Manager More 

Ely
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2016

We held our weekend family reunion here and everything was better than we expected. Some had hotel rooms, some stayed in a cottage, all accommodations were excellent. The Heartwood employees are all extremely helpful and friendly. We played at the beach, fished, played disc golf. Great golf course nearby for our family tournament. It's really a little slice of heaven!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank johnmariank
Mike T, General Manager at Heartwood Conference Center & Retreat, responded to this review

We are happy to hear that you truly enjoyed your stay with us. We really appreciate the very kind words that you shared about our Staff and property. We look forward to seeing you again. Sincerely, Mike Trudeau General Manager More 

MILWAUKEE
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2016

This is our third visit to Heartwood. It's beautiful, friendly, a nice restaurant and affordable. Nice simple things to do or not. Just sit and watch the world go by and not have to jump up do something. It's a nice place to just do nothing.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank DOREEN G
Mike T, General Manager at Heartwood Conference Center & Retreat, responded to this review

Great to have you join us again. Thank you for the very positive feedback, we really appreciate it. Hope to see you again for your fourth time. Sincerely, Mike Trudeau General Manager More 

St Anthony
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2016

Heartwood is made for families! Our family has visited Heartwood several times, it is never crowded and loud, but instead peaceful, accessable and full of great activities. Free canoes, kayaks and other water gear, free basketball, volleyball and other courts available. The list goes on and on. So many ammenities and so peaceful. We love Heartwood and plan to make... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank joyo393
Mike T, General Manager at Heartwood Conference Center & Retreat, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind words. We are happy that you and your family enjoyed our facility. We look forward to seeing you again. Sincerely, Mike Trudeau General Manager More 

Birchwood, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2016

We attended a Mystery Lodge mystery dinner. The venue was appetizers, dinner and dessert along with a comedic "who dunnit". We had a spectacular time. The value was perfect, the appetizers were ample, the cash bar was reasonable and the evening was entertaining. We'll be back for the one in September. Dirk (the Conference Manager) had the staff more than... More 

Helpful?
Thank 59706DavidH
Mike T, General Manager at Heartwood Conference Center & Retreat, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. We are happy that you enjoyed the Mystery Dinner. We look forward to seeing you again at our next show. Sincerely, Mike Trudeau General Manager More 

Hayward, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2016

We went to Heartwood to attend a Mystery Dinner. . We took advantage of their package deal for the show and a room at the hotel. They have beautiful facilities and trails and we hoped to be able to hike their trails the next day. The show was excellent. After the mystery part of the show, they did improvisation for... More 

Helpful?
Thank LinnWI
Mike T, General Manager at Heartwood Conference Center & Retreat, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are happy you enjoyed the Mystery Dinner. It is something we just started and we will be doing a few more shows this year. I appreciate your feedback concerning our food service and will share your input with my Team and look for ways to alleviate the issues so as to better accommodate and... More 

Green Bay, Wisconsin
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2016

There is no heat in the bedrooms of the cottages or duplex cabins, forcing you to sleep with all bedroom doors open in order to stay warm. Trails are awesome and staff is fantastic. Stay in the lodge during the winter!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank susanbP4758FM
Mike T, General Manager at Heartwood Conference Center & Retreat, responded to this review

Thank you for your appreciation of our Staff and trail system. In the Cottages and Duplexes there is a central location in those units for the heat source. I am sorry if this caused you any inconvenience during your stay. Sincerely, Mike Trudeau General Manager More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

36 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (11)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (25)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (14)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Trego
15.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Spooner Riverplace
25.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Northwoods Lodge
20.5 mi away
AmeriVu Inn and Suites - Shell Lake
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.3 mi away
St. Croix Inn
St. Croix Inn
#1 of 1 in Solon Springs
3.5 of 5 stars 35 reviews
24.0 mi away
Edelweiss Motel
Edelweiss Motel
#13 of 14 in Hayward
3.5 of 5 stars 15 reviews
24.6 mi away
Flat Creek Inn & Suites
Flat Creek Inn & Suites
#5 of 14 in Hayward
3.5 of 5 stars 84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Internet
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Beachfront
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Beachfront
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Tennis Court
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Nestled in 700 acres of breathtaking natural woodlands, Heartwood Conference Center & Retreat is the perfect destination for discovering the beauty of Northwestern Wisconsin while enjoying the inviting accommodations of our wilderness paradise. With two private lakes and the nationally protected Namekagon River, Heartwood’s pristine setting provides the ideal environment for a relaxing getaway, family-fun vacation, or a group retreat. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Heartwood Conference Center & Retreat

Address: N10884 Hoinville Rd, Trego, WI 54888-9161
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Trego
Price Range: $109 - $409 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 69
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Heartwood Conference Center & Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heartwood Conference Center And Retreat
Heartwood Conference Center & Retreat Hotel Trego
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay