We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
300 Marina Dr, Superior, WI 54880-3287
E-mail hotel
Lowest prices for your stay
Hotels.com
Booking.com
$94
View Deal
Free cancellation until 10/27/20
Reserve now, pay at stay
Snaptravel
$94
$84
View Deal
SAVE $10
Agoda.com$94
Priceline
Expedia.com$94
View all 12 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (33)
Room & Suite (13)
Dining (5)

About

#6 of 9 hotels in Superior
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Barkers Island Inn is located on an actual island and features a hotel, restaurant, and conference center.
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Bicycle rental
Game room
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Parking
Wifi
Hot tub
Indoor pool
Heated pool
Sauna
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Vending machine
Billiards
Darts
Business Center with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Fax / photocopying
Spa
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor fireplace
ATM on site
24-hour front desk
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Safe
Microwave
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Great View
Family
230Reviews5Q+A57Room tips

Reviews

Write a review and earn more badges
Traveler rating
  • 40
  • 63
  • 66
  • 32
  • 29
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
souldancer2 wrote a review Aug 2
Minneapolis, Minnesota294 contributions66 helpful votes
First off I'd say, we have chosen to come back and have been here before. Though I rate it a 3 star, it is somewhat improved since last time we were here 4 years ago. The positives?- Better Internet that last time (still slow), some upgrades, better beds, and nice staff and better equipment in the exercise room. The drawbacks? Still old carpet which means in some parts of the building you can smell smoke from the past, especially in areas that allowed smoking; still dated but some improvements, and sadly, we are in Covid-19 restrictions yet while nearly all patrons have on masks, despite the Wisconsin mandate, we saw over half of the housekeeping staff either without masks at all, or with them not on and/or just over their mouths... several did not even have any visible mask, this is a real concern.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Try to have water views- most rooms have some sort of view of the water
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
traveler64055 wrote a review Jul 2020
Independence, Missouri110 contributions36 helpful votes
+1
This Inn was a delight! Quiet and peaceful. Very, very clean and the staff was helpful and friendly. Comfortable room and had everything you needed. Very nice walking trails right outside the door! Beautiful lake across the street as well.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Shannon Olson, General Manager at Barkers Island Inn
Responded 2 weeks ago
Thank you so much for the wonderful review. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to you visiting us again. This is a beautiful area. Stay Safe and Healthy.
Read more
VORPOL wrote a review Jul 2020
Minneapolis, Minnesota81 contributions49 helpful votes
Good: The hotel is surprisingly quite - the loudest thing was a room fridge. Other than that - no corridor moves or noise from other rooms or mechanisms. The pool is rather large and has long work hours. The view is good - you have a lake on both sides. WiFi is excellent Bad: The place is very old and not the cleanest. The garbage bins in the corridors are dirty; there is a weeks old layer of dust on easily accessible objects in a room (like a charging station); beds are not comfortable - they are rather old, so not flat but concave. The breakfast bag is a joke (but this could be blamed on COVID arrangements). Overall, there are better properties nearby, with worse views but much more comfortable rooms for nearly the same money.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020
Value
Location
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from Shannon Olson, General Manager at Barkers Island Inn
Responded 2 weeks ago
We are so sorry that you did not enjoy your stay. We always strive to give the best experience to our guests. We will take care of the issues you layed out. The breakfast is due to Covid. We do hope you try us agian.
Read more
Mary and Don wrote a review Mar 2020
1 contribution
We have stayed here many times and they are always affordable compared to Duluth. The staff is always friendly and helpful, the rooms are always clean! You can eat and drink right at the Hotel. You can also order room service.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2019Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from shann0n0ls0n, General Manager at Barkers Island Inn
Responded Mar 31, 2020
Thank you very much for your kind review. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay and that you always stay with us. We really do enjoy and appreciate our guests. This was such a nice review to see especially during this time of the Covid-19 travel bands, stay at home and temporary shut downs for many businesses. We at Barkers Island Inn are still open for room rentals and we know how important all of you are to us in keeping us open. Thank you again for the kind words. We really need to hear them right now. We cannot wait for you to visit us again and hopefully soon we will be fully open with all of our staff back. Take care and stay Healthy Everyone!
Read more
Sarah R wrote a review Jan 2020
1 contribution
Have been coming to barkers for many years and it is a special place for me and my family. They need to start putting money towards renovating rooms that are very very outdated. Also they really need to start making the hot tub and pool area 18+ Unless accompanied by an adult. I waited 5 months + to sit in the hot tub and there’s kids jumping in and out, splashing around, fighting eachother and being super rowdy with no adults anywhere to be seen. Maybe security cameras or something? More strict staff? Not sure but something has to be done with barkers or it’s going to go into the ground and I really don’t want that to happen as I said, my family has been coming here since I was born. I won’t get into detail about my room but let’s just say it was dirty and don’t think housekeeping touched it for weeks after someone left it. I hate complaining but want someone to make a change here because I love barkers and want to continue coming here with my future kids 😊
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019Trip type: Traveled with family
Helpful
Share
Response from Shannon O, General Manager at Barkers Island Inn
Responded Jan 10, 2020
I am so sorry that you did not enjoyed your stay. I am wondering if said something to management or staff when you were here so we could have taken care of the issue. We do try our best to monitor the pool area. It is too bad that some parents do not watch their children. It does get busy in the pool area on the weekends with youth sport teams staying with us and on New Years Eve and we would hope that parents are with their children. I will address your concern with housekeeping. We are a great property and have a wonderful staff so I do hope that you stay with us again.
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$104 - $202 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
barkers island hotel superior, barkers island inn, barkers island superior
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Country Hospitality Inn
LOCATION
United StatesWisconsinSuperior
NUMBER OF ROOMS
111
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Barkers Island Inn
Which popular attractions are close to Barkers Island Inn?
Nearby attractions include Lake Superior Art Glass (4.9 miles), Aerial Lift Bridge (4.7 miles), and Park Point (1.0 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Barkers Island Inn?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, free wifi, and free breakfast.
Which room amenities are available at Barkers Island Inn?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Barkers Island Inn?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Barkers Island Inn?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Barkers Island Inn?
Conveniently located restaurants include Duluth Grill, Northern Waters Smokehaus, and OMC Smokehouse.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Barkers Island Inn?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool, a fitness center, and a sauna during their stay.
Are pets allowed at Barkers Island Inn?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Barkers Island Inn offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business center, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Are there any historical sites close to Barkers Island Inn?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Glensheen, The Historic Congdon Estate (6.8 miles), Duluth Civic Center Historic District (5.1 miles), and Duluth's Old City Hall (5.3 miles).
Does Barkers Island Inn have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the lake view available here.