We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

IHG Army Hotels Fort McCoy Bldg 51 Anderson Hall

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sparta
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
IHG Army Hotels Fort McCoy Bldg 51 Anderson Hall
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

20 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 20: English reviews
Start your review of IHG Army Hotels Fort McCoy Bldg 51 Anderson Hall
 Click to rate
Reviewed October 3, 2016 via mobile

I was in Tomah for work and decided to try the Army IHG lodging as I am an IHG member and retired Military. I am glad I did. Great price and the room was very nice for an on post lodging. The staff was friendly and helpful and the place quite. I would stay here again and if you are...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Roger47993
Michael B, General Manager at IHG Army Hotels Fort McCoy Bldg 51 Anderson Hall, responded to this review

Thank you for the great feedback! You are right, IHG Army Hotels-Fort McCoy is a great value for anyone visiting the Tomah/Sparta Wisconsin area. We take great pride in our property and our service is second to none. Looking forward to seeing you again the next time you visit our area.

Rock Island, Illinois
Reviewed May 31, 2016

I enjoyed my stay at this Army Hotel. I was actually impressed by the appearance and overall quality of my stay. Unfortunately, everything wasn't great. Your room does not have an individual temperature gauge, so you are stuck with what ever the hotels temp is. Not a deal breaker but not great. they hotel was smart enough to give every...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Marcus H
Michael B, General Manager at IHG Army Hotels Fort McCoy Bldg 51 Anderson Hall, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with IHG army Hotels-McCoy! We know you have a choice and we are very pleased you chose to stay with us! We acknowledge the challenges with the two pipe HVAC system, on demand heat and air conditioning will be installed during our upcoming renovation. The dining hall you mentioned is restricted to active duty soldiers, we...

Atlantic City, New Jersey
Reviewed May 4, 2016

Stayed one night in a DVQ room which was a little hot but bearable on a road trip to Minneapolis. Very clean nice sized room that included bedroom, living room, kitchenette, and large bathroom for $89 a night. Staff was good and facilities were modern. Free breakfast was ok, not good, but adequate. Only drawback was the hotel location which...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank John S
Michael B, General Manager at IHG Army Hotels Fort McCoy Bldg 51 Anderson Hall, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review! IHG Army Hotels-Fort McCoy continues to improve our facility and services everday. We look forward to showing you our continued growth on your next trip thru our area.

San Antonio, Texas
Reviewed January 28, 2016

Stayed three (3) more nights the following month in this room. First and foremost it is a Handicap room and when compared to the other room I stayed in, non-handicapped, I would prefer the other one for several reasons. First, there is "0" zero bathroom shelving for toiletries in the bathroom. Second, because of wheelchair access the walk-in shower places...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank RetiredArmyRANGER
Michael B, General Manager at IHG Army Hotels Fort McCoy Bldg 51 Anderson Hall, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us again. We noted this time you tried one of our handicap accessible room types, these room are specifically designed for those guests who require the accomodations, but we offer them to other guests on request or when space is limited. Now that you have stayed with us a few times, next time you are...

Elk Grove Village, Illinois
Reviewed December 31, 2015

This hotel offers a variety food for a continental breakfast which is very delicious.I enjoy the view over looking the woods nearby and had seen a deer eating in the early morning.The staff is accommodating to find out interesting points of interests or for family/individual fun.If you need extra amenities they will provide them for you.The small suite store has...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JoeP2011
Michael B, General Manager at IHG Army Hotels Fort McCoy Bldg 51 Anderson Hall, responded to this review

Thank you for your great review! We are very proud of our property and the changes IHG has afforded us to make so far. Having a unique property like ours at a remote and isolated location is a benefit to all of our guests! We look forward to seeing you again soon.

San Antonio, Texas
Reviewed October 13, 2015

Stayed three nights at this location. It was nice to know that the IHG has taken over the location and brought the standards up to what I would say is the Holiday Inn standard. The room is adequate for one person, I would not push two in a room. The bed was a full or double size. The walls are...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank RetiredArmyRANGER
Michael B, General Manager at IHG Army Hotels Fort McCoy Bldg 51 Anderson Hall, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We have been making steady progress on our renovations with the ultimate goal to be branded a Holiday Inn Express. All of the issues you identified are in fact scheduled to be upgraded before branding. We look forward to your next visit.

Reviewed October 8, 2015 via mobile

Really nice hotel. PCSed here back in September with our family. Expected the hotel to be like other IHG hotels. Room was very spacious. Con: for family. All rooms only have one bed with a sofa which isnt a pull out. Had to request rollaway bed. Luckily we have little ones so we were able to have one sleep on...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank nalohi
Michael B, General Manager at IHG Army Hotels Fort McCoy Bldg 51 Anderson Hall, responded to this review

We are truely sorry we didn't meet all of your expectations during your PCS move. This property was originally designed for routine short term stays, thus no cooking options are currently available in our rooms. The current renovation plan has identified this short coming and modifications are planned to facilitate room types for extended stay.

La Crosse, Wisconsin
Reviewed September 27, 2015

This hotel is a surprise for an Army Base. We stayed here for my brothers wedding in July and just stayed there again and the front desk clerk Sheryl asked me about my brother and his bride. She was so sweet to recognize me and to remember our last visit was very sweet. The suites are very nice. They are...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank skayc
Michael B, General Manager at IHG Army Hotels Fort McCoy Bldg 51 Anderson Hall, responded to this review

We are so glad you had an opportunity to stay with us again! Guest service is our specailty and great staff members like Sheryl are the reason we excel! Looking forward to your next visit!

Kellnersville, Wisconsin, United States
Reviewed September 26, 2015

I recently stayed at the IHG army hotel at Fort McCoy, Wisconsin, for a Military Retiree function. I was extremely impressed with the hotel, very clean and spacious rooms, excellent service, and very high quality amenities for a very reasonable price. Well Done IHG!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Robert W
Michael B, General Manager at IHG Army Hotels Fort McCoy Bldg 51 Anderson Hall, responded to this review

Thank you for the kind review. Since the transition to IHG Army Hotels, we have upgraded a great deal of the property and we specialize in "serving those who serve" ! Thank you for your service! We look forward to seeing you again.

Oak Ridge, Tennessee
Reviewed September 2, 2015 via mobile

This IHG managed military hotel is better than other facilities that I've stayed at. Room are rather small with only double beds but the staff and facilities are new, clean and well appointed. Everything you need at a very reasonable price. Suggest you eat on one of the local towns (Sparta or Tomah) before you check in since on base...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank tome673
Michael B, Manager at IHG Army Hotels Fort McCoy Bldg 51 Anderson Hall, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us! We are proud of our property and the staff and I appreciate the kind words. Your thoughts on dining options was passed on to the local AAFES and MWR for review. We took this opportunity to review our "Suite Shop" selections and have added a few more items for our guests dining options!

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

30 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (29)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Other (11)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sparta
6.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Sparta Trail Lodge
8.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Tomah
Hampton Inn Tomah
#1 of 11 in Tomah
382 reviews
9.3 mi away
Super 8 Sparta
Super 8 Sparta
#1 of 4 in Sparta
274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.4 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Sparta
8.5 mi away
Best Nights Inn
Best Nights Inn
#3 of 5 in Sparta
28 reviews
8.0 mi away
Franklin Victorian Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
IHG Army Hotels on Fort McCoy provides prompt and courteous service 24 hours a day. The registration desk and all of our rooms are located in Bldg 51 (Formerly Anderson Hall) and each room is equipped to meet your needs with a full size bed, comfortable triple sheeted bedding, a private bath, refrigerator and microwave. Each room is equipped with free wireless internet. ... more   less 

Additional Information about IHG Army Hotels Fort McCoy Bldg 51 Anderson Hall

Address: 51 S O St, Sparta, WI 54656-5137
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Sparta
Price Range: $69 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 218
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from IHG Army Hotels Fort McCoy Bldg 51 Anderson Hall staff and other travelers.
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from IHG Army Hotels Fort McCoy Bldg 51 Anderson Hall staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“If you are on a Military trip/orders this is a place you should stay.”
 of 5 bubbles Marcus61201, May 31, 2016 | Read review
“Higher priced DVQ's are worth the money”
 of 5 bubbles johnsT9854QA, May 4, 2016 | Read review
“Rooms near an exit has the most quiet,especially that on the east-west side and north side of hotel.”
 of 5 bubbles JoeP2011, Dec 31, 2015 | Read review
“The handicap rooms are small and bathroom large but not shelf in bathroom to put your products.”
 of 5 bubbles skayc, Sep 27, 2015 | Read review
“All the rooms were nice and the upper floors had elevator service”
 of 5 bubbles Wingflier, Aug 15, 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question