We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Sparta

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Sparta
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

134 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 134: English reviews
West Allis, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
28 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW via mobile

This is an older Country Inn and is in need of an update. The owners have assembled a great staff (more on that later) but are, obviously, not putting money back into the property. The room was plenty large enough but the carpet was not clean. Every time I took a shower, a bunch of black ran down the drain... More 

Helpful?
Thank 13013Clemson
Gary P, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Sparta, responded to this review

First we would like to start off by saying we are very sorry for any inconvenience during your stay here with us. We are currently in the process of completely remodeling our hotel. We have recently put brand new carpeting in all rooms and hallways. We would like to apologize for the issues you had during your stay and hope... More 

Boothbay, Maine
Level Contributor
39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We were on our annual trip cross country to visit family and it was late and this place was available. Never had stayed at this chain before. It was clean, neat, price moderate, good breakfast. What more can one say about an overnight

Helpful?
Thank Fran M
Gary P, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Sparta, responded to this review

We are glad that you chose us for your stay and elated that you enjoyed your stay. We certainly hope that when your travels bring you this way again that you stay with us again to see all of the wonderful changes we are making during our renovation. More 

Denver, Colorado
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Where do I start. Over a 3 night stay 2 room stay room service did one bathroom on 1 day. On site washer did not work properly causing us to spend more than it should. Pool was dirty. Pounding from above in the morning as they were installing new carpet upstairs. Night staff terrible. Manager gave a less than 5%... More 

Review collected in partnership with Country Inns & Suites By Carlson

Helpful?
Thank tmjay58
Gary P, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Sparta, responded to this review

We are sorry that your stay was not up to your expectations. Room service is provided each and everyday however as you know we cannot service a room that has a sign asking not to be disturbed. In those cases if you let the front desk staff know that you would like to have the room serviced we would have... More 

1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I have stayed at a number of Country Inn and Suites and so I expected the same sort of experience, I was thoroughly disappointed. The staff was unfriendly, the hotel was rundown and although there was a sign apologizing for the remodel I saw no actual remodeling taking place. Peeling and sticky counters, sloppy touch up painting, floorboards that were... More 

Helpful?
Thank HolidayMomof3
Gary P, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Sparta, responded to this review

I'm very sorry to hear that your stay was disappointing, As we are remodeling i apologize for any inconvenience this may have caused you. We are currently replacing carpets, new furniture and re-painting. As fair as unfriendly staff we have been addressing this issue and hope that the new members of our team will be a better fit. We hope... More 

Salina, Kansas
Level Contributor
220 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Hadn't stayed in a Country Inn with rooms this small before. Reminded me a little of a larger Microtel. The rooms were clean; however, the walls are a bit thin and people walking around on the floor above me a bit noisy. Guy at check in very helpful. Breakfast better than most.

Helpful?
Thank Kevin P
Gary P, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Sparta, responded to this review

Thank you for your input on our hotel. We are glad you liked our staff and our breakfast. We are still currently under renovations and working hard on fixing the clutter of the furniture in the rooms and we are very sorry about the noise in the hotel during your stay and would like to inform you that it is... More 

Appleton, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2016

Although our room was small and some of the staff less than friendly, I would still stay here again. This was my 7th time staying here, the breakfast is always great and the pool area is nice. It has slipped a bit in the last 2 years, but still is my first choice. Being near the bike trails helps!

Helpful?
Thank Ryan H
Gary P, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Sparta, responded to this review

Dear Ryan, I appreciate your positive feedback about our hotel. We do take pride in catering to our guests’ needs the best way we can. I am glad you enjoyed the room, breakfast, and pool. If you’re traveling to our area again soon, don’t hesitate to call us. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

18 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (12)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (9)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sparta
3.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Sparta Trail Lodge
17.1 mi away
Cranberry Country Lodge
13.1 mi away
AmericInn Hotel & Suites West Salem
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Tomah
Hampton Inn Tomah
#1 of 11 in Tomah
4.5 of 5 stars 344 reviews
21.8 mi away
Settle Inn & Suites La Crosse
19.7 mi away
No photo provided
Old Towne Motel
#1 of 1 in Westby
4.0 of 5 stars 11 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Hot Tub
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Center with Internet Access

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Sparta

Address: 737 Avon Rd, Sparta, WI 54656-9344
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Sparta
Price Range: $77 - $156 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Sparta 2.5*
Number of rooms: 61
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Carlson, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Sparta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn Sparta
Sparta Country Inn
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay