We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Sparta

Book on TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Country Inns to make your booking as easy as possible.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Sparta
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"]},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

116 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 116: English reviews
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

And speaking of dogs please explain to me why we were put in a room which they Apparently rent to people with animals, which I did not and would not of requested. I have asthma and thanks to no being told beforehand that we were being put in a animal room, I experience an asthma attack from the obvious stench... More 

Review collected in partnership with Country Inns & Suites By Carlson

Helpful?
Thank Wendy L
Onalaska, United States
Level Contributor
76 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

From the quality of the front desk experience to the small dated rooms, it feels like someone is trying to play at running a hotel. The front desk staff is poorly trained, the price was 20% higher than we've paid for nicer properties in larger cities. Yesterday, one of my employees returned to his room after work and found that... More 

Helpful?
Thank Mike S
Gary P, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Sparta, responded to this review

I apologize for your bad experience with us and would like to inform you that most of our staff is actually recent hires. The reason your stay was so expensive is because of the event going on during your stay. Sincerely management More 

Level Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I stayed just one night and had a quite room on the first floor. Everything was clean and functional. A little small but if you do not spend a lot of time in your room that is totally fine. Excellent customer service. I needed a late checkout and that was not a problem. Unfortunately I could not have breakfast since... More 

Helpful?
Thank IvyNV
Gary P, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Sparta, responded to this review

I am glad that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel where we pride ourselves on providing excellent customer service. I was sorry to hear that you were not able to enjoy our breakfast. We often have requests for early breakfast and do honor those as best we can but of course we have to know that a guest has... More 

1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Our room was damp- to the point that our clothes were wet when we put them on and even set at 65, the room wasn't cool enough for a comfortable night of sleep. The beds were lumpy too. I wouldn't recommend this hotel to anyone. For the price, it should have been a lot nicer- even considering that it's apparently... More 

Helpful?
Thank LS012
Gary P, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Sparta, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We apologize for the dissatisfaction of your stay. We take the time to listen to your constructive comments so we can continually improve our services. . We hope for another opportunity to exceed your expectations. . More 

Wisconsin
Level Contributor
57 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2016

We usually have good experiences with Country Inn and Suites, as most are dog-friendly and clean. On a little road trip, we thought this would be a good stopping point. We paid extra for our dog (happy to do so) and a suite which, according to our reservation was supposed to have a whirlpool tub, kitchenette and a pull out... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Katie K
CarlsonRezidor, Online Customer Care at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Sparta, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We apologize for the dissatisfaction of your stay. We take the time to listen to your constructive comments so we can continually improve our services. . We hope for another opportunity to exceed your expectations. . More 

Washburn, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2016 via mobile

Charge for a Thursday night was $155. Ridiculous! Half that might be reasonable. We used to stay there often. Never again. The room was newly painted but the woodwork was splattered. There was no one at the front desk when we arrived. The young staff was doing the best they could but needed hospitality training. The place seemed neglected.

Helpful?
Thank Karen C
CarlsonRezidor, Online customer support at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Sparta, responded to this review

We apologize for the disappointing service you received from our staff. Our team works hard to make sure our guests are comfortable and receiving our best service during check in. We appreciate you bringing this matter to our attention, and hope for another opportunity to exceed your expectations in the future. More 

Fairview Park, Ohio
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2016

Nice hotel even under remodel. Friendly staff and enjoyed the hotel. Would recommend to anyone else passing through. Only down side was only food choices in the area are only local so no late night snacks.

Review collected in partnership with Country Inns & Suites By Carlson

Helpful?
Thank dhall44126
Gary P, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Sparta, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to tell us how your stay was. We are very happy to hear that we met your expectations. We welcome you back when travels bring you our way! More 

Oshkosh, WI
Level Contributor
135 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2016 via mobile

We went to Ride the Sparta Elroy bike trail and stayed at the Country zinc and Suites at 737 Avon Road in Sparta for the night. It was just a place to stay, nothing outstanding. It could use some work like most hotels. The room across the hall from us has a little yipper dog in it. Had we known... More 

Helpful?
Thank CheeseheadsII
Gary P, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Sparta, responded to this review

Dear Jocelyn, Thank you for taking the time to complete our guest satisfaction survey. We are thrilled to see that you enjoyed your time at the hotel. We apologize for the noise the dog had been making across the hall. As we are pet friendly, we still strive to do our best to please every guest. On behalf of our... More 

Sparta, Wisconsin
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2016

The person at the front desk was very helpful when I was checking in. The room was nice in appearance and the breakfast was decent. The pool and whirlpool were clean. I'll stay at the Country Inn again when I come back to Sparta.

Review collected in partnership with Country Inns & Suites By Carlson

Helpful?
Thank 44letitiat
Gary P, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Sparta, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write your review on your experience at our hotel. We are thrilled to see that you enjoyed your time at the hotel. On behalf of our entire staff at Country Inns & Suites we thank you for your business and we hope to see you again when your travels bring you back to... More 

Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2016

Nice hotel that allows large dogs for a small fee per stay. The staff is friendly and made the stay pleasant during the hotels renovations. We arrived late at night and were greeted with cookies and a cheerful staff.

Review collected in partnership with Country Inns & Suites By Carlson

Helpful?
Thank Oldhouse5804
Gary P, Owner at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Sparta, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write your review on your experience at our hotel. We are thrilled to see that you enjoyed your time at the hotel. On behalf of our entire staff at Country Inns & Suites we thank you for your business and we hope to see you again when your travels bring you back to... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

18 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (12)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (9)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sparta
3.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Sparta Trail Lodge
17.1 mi away
Cranberry Country Lodge
13.1 mi away
AmericInn Hotel & Suites West Salem
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Tomah
Hampton Inn Tomah
#1 of 11 in Tomah
4.5 of 5 stars 319 reviews
22.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Riverfront Hotel
19.9 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#5 of 6 in Onalaska
3.5 of 5 stars 112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Hot Tub
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Center with Internet Access

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Sparta

Address: 737 Avon Road, Sparta, WI 54656
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Sparta
Price Range: $77 - $149 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Sparta 2.5*
Number of rooms: 61
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Carlson, Priceline, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Sparta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn Sparta
Sparta Country Inn
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay