We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Sparta

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Sparta
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

125 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 125: English reviews
Appleton, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Although our room was small and some of the staff less than friendly, I would still stay here again. This was my 7th time staying here, the breakfast is always great and the pool area is nice. It has slipped a bit in the last 2 years, but still is my first choice. Being near the bike trails helps!

Helpful?
Thank Ryan H
Gary P, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Sparta, responded to this review

Dear Ryan, I appreciate your positive feedback about our hotel. We do take pride in catering to our guests’ needs the best way we can. I am glad you enjoyed the room, breakfast, and pool. If you’re traveling to our area again soon, don’t hesitate to call us. More 

Green Bay, Wisconsin
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Definitely not a 3 star. Our recently remodeled room was painted only. Room was so small it was hard to turn around. The big surprise was at check out when we were over billed by $103.00. Front desk was not able to correct it until the owner was in. So I went back 2 hrs later to speak to him.... More 

Review collected in partnership with Country Inns & Suites By Carlson

Helpful?
Thank mzegers
Milwaukee, Wisconsin, United States
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

This is my favorite hotel chain to stay at. I have yet to be disappointed. The rooms are clean & comfortable. The breakfast is excellent with a good variety of foods for most dietary needs - and they have free cookies in the evening! The pool/hot tub area was clean & adequate in size. The staff was excellent & went... More 

Helpful?
Thank Deanne L
Gary P, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Sparta, responded to this review

Dear Deanne, I appreciate your positive feedback about our hotel. We do take pride in catering to our guests’ needs the best way we can. I am glad you enjoyed the room, breakfast, and pool. If you’re traveling to our area again soon, don’t hesitate to call us. More 

Hatley, Wisconsin
2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Unfortunately this Country Inn is not like any of the other ones I have stayed at before. Google rates it as a 3 Star Hotel but I would definitely rate it as a 2. I would rate this as the same as an average Super 8 Hotel, if not worse. The room I was in was very small and cramped.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Sharon S
Gary P, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Sparta, responded to this review

Thank you for taking your time to give us your opinion of our hotel. We are sorry you were not happier with your stay. We are going to check into the bathtub not draining properly. Unfortunately, the size of the rooms can not be changed, our hotel was built sometime ago and that is the layout of the hotel. We... More 

2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We were part of the group attending a family wedding. Should of known from the get-go that all was not well. The management response was not exactly truthful. I was the lady who was finally given the quoted price for our 1st night. I also was the one who personally made sure that cancellations for the unused rooms had been... More 

Helpful?
Thank Judy S
Gary P, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Sparta, responded to this review

I'm sorry to hear that you were unhappy with the room. We are working diligently to renovate this hotel in a timely manor. Since you were also unhappy about there being ice crystals in the freezer we discounted your price. The original total of the stay was $249.76, but we dropped the price for you by $29.00 bringing the actual... More 

Wausau, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We attended a wedding in Sparta. The mother of the bride reserved a block of rooms months ago and included the hotel phone number to call with the wedding invite. We had 5 rooms on my side of the family. Each family member called and reserved a room 4 months ago. The funny thing once we all compared notes we... More 

Helpful?
Thank maxracx
Gary P, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Sparta, responded to this review

I am sorry that you were not pleased with your stay or our service, although I did do everything in my power to make your stay a pleasant one. I looked back at all seven rooms that were reserved and they were all the same rate except one that had a King room and his was more. I also did... More 

Palatine
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed here to ride the Elroy Sparta. Rooms were small but clean. Mattresses looked new. Pool area was clean, hot tub very nice after a long ride. Breakfast was typical free breakfast. Usual bagels, waffles, cereal and yogurt. Bathroom very small. All and all a comfortable stay.

Helpful?
1 Thank trippin2u
Gary P, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Sparta, responded to this review

We are glad that you enjoyed your stay in Sparta. As one of the original Country Inn and Suites our rooms are slightly smaller than some of our newer properties, and we hope to make up for that making sure that they are clean and cozy. We take pride in having a clean comfortable pool and hot tub area as... More 

1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2016

And speaking of dogs please explain to me why we were put in a room which they Apparently rent to people with animals, which I did not and would not of requested. I have asthma and thanks to no being told beforehand that we were being put in a animal room, I experience an asthma attack from the obvious stench... More 

Review collected in partnership with Country Inns & Suites By Carlson

Helpful?
Thank Wendy L
Gary P, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Sparta, responded to this review

We were sorry to hear that you had such an unpleasant stay with us. We do promote the fact that we are a pet friendly hotel and we do not have rooms in the hotel specified as pet rooms, so I believe if you had told us of your pet allergies we would have told you that a pet could... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

18 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (12)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (9)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sparta
3.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Sparta Trail Lodge
17.1 mi away
Cranberry Country Lodge
16.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Tomah
Hampton Inn Tomah
#1 of 11 in Tomah
4.5 of 5 stars 333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.1 mi away
AmericInn Hotel & Suites West Salem
19.7 mi away
No photo provided
Old Towne Motel
#1 of 1 in Westby
4.0 of 5 stars 11 reviews
17.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Tomah Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Hot Tub
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Center with Internet Access

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Sparta

Address: 737 Avon Rd, Sparta, WI 54656-9344
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Sparta
Price Range: $77 - $136 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Sparta 2.5*
Number of rooms: 61
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Carlson, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Hotwire, Priceline, Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Sparta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn Sparta
Sparta Country Inn
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay