Oshkosh Waterfront Hotel & Convention Center

Oshkosh Waterfront Hotel & Convention Center

Traveler (100)
Riverview room, 8th floor.
Room & Suite (29)
Dining (4)
What is Travelers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travelers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travelers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

4.5
#1 of 11 hotels in Oshkosh
Location
4.7
Cleanliness
4.8
Service
4.7
Value
4.5
Tripadvisor gives a Travelers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travelers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Located in downtown Oshkosh,WI the Oshkosh Waterfront Hotel comes with ample amounts of meeting space suited to accommodate any large gathering.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Fishing
Children's television networks
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Baggage storage
Wifi
Meeting rooms
Non-smoking hotel
First aid kit
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Room features
Blackout curtains
Desk
Housekeeping
Interconnected rooms available
Room service
Coffee / tea maker
Cable / satellite TV
Bath / shower
Safe
Telephone
Clothes rack
Iron
Laptop safe
Private bathrooms
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Flatscreen TV
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Room types
City view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
3.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Centrally Located
Languages Spoken
English
Hotel links
Special Offer:Earn points toward free nights.

Location

1 N Main St, Oshkosh, WI 54901
Getting there
Somewhat walkable
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travelers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 66 out of 100
66
Outagamie County Airport
16.9 mi
See all flights
Austin-Straubel Field
38.5 mi
See all flights
1,289Review6Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 940
  • 255
  • 52
  • 22
  • 20
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
paulacordita wrote a review Feb 2020
5.0 of 5 bubbles
This hotel is nice and rooms are clean. The service was amazing and very helpful and friendly staff. My son had an accident on Saturday and I wanted to get more rest Sunday before we checked out and I requested for later check out and they let us stay a lil longer (not pass 1pm). The pool just need to be more heated in the winter for sure but my kids enjoyed it either way!
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Date of stay: January 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Daniel S, General Manager at Oshkosh Waterfront Hotel & Convention Center
Responded Feb 21, 2020
Paulacordita, thank you for staying with us and for providing this excellent review of our hotel. I am so pleased you commented the service provided my our team members was friendly and exceeded your expectations. It was great of you to note the cleanliness of the rooms as our housekeeping team members work hard to provide this result. Concerning your comment about pool temperature, this is something I will continue to monitor with feedback from other guests. I believe pool temperature is somewhat of a “personal preference issue” where it is difficult to make it right for everyone. It would be similar to guest preferences for pillows and beds as some guests like them firm and other guests like them soft. We keep our pool temperature at 84 degrees. According to the United States Water Fitness Association, the water temperature at the average indoor multi-purpose pool in the USA is 84 to 86 degrees. We are, in fact, on the lower end of that. I will continue to solicit comments of our guests and if we find we get additional comments to make it warmer, we will surely do so. The next time your travels bring you to Oshkosh, we hope you choose to stay with us again. Safe travels!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
carmenlealwrites wrote a review Apr 2021
Oshkosh, Wisconsin
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Our house got painted so we stayed here instead of sleeping in a cluttered bedroom. Great check in, nice people, great bed. We will for sure stay here again. The only downside was that the sheets were scratchy, maybe too much bleach, and so that can be improved upon. I also wish there had been free bottled water for each guest before charging for water.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Date of stay: April 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Daniel Schetter, General Manager at Oshkosh Waterfront Hotel & Convention Center
Responded Apr 8, 2021
Thank you for choosing to stay with us while your house was going through a painting project. Of the many hotel choices in Oshkosh, we are pleased you chose to stay on the waterfront! I am pleased to see the interactions you had with members of our team contributed to the enjoyment of your visit and that the bed was very comfortable. It is important that our guests get a good night's rest. However, I am sorry the sheets were perceived as being scratchy. I will look into this in greater detail to see what in our laundering process might have impacted this. I appreciate your comments about the bottle water. The collective comments of our guests often determine our future operational procedures. Thank you again for staying with us and for sharing your comments.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
shell962 wrote a review Jun 2021
Belvidere, Illinois
4.0 of 5 bubbles
It's clean and updated. Parking sucks & you have to pay extra for it. There's bottles of water in the rooms, but they're $2. & you can get a sack breakfast for $6, pretty much the same stuff you get for free at other hotel chains, where the cost of the room is also cheaper than here. :/ But I guess it was clean & comfortable, so served it's purpose...
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Date of stay: June 2021
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Daniel Schetter, General Manager at Oshkosh Waterfront Hotel & Convention Center
Responded Jul 2, 2021
Thank you for staying with us and for providing comments about your visit. Though there was much you enjoyed about your stay, I am sorry we did not completely meet your expectations. Please accept my personal apology. I appreciate you noting the hotel as being clean and updated. Though this is a simple expectation, our housekeeping and maintenance teams work hard to meet this expectation for our guests. The hotel provides a three-level parking garage/ramp for guests of the hotel. Admittedly, I do not understand your comment about “parking sucks”. Most venues I have visited with parking ramps charge a fee. The parking ramp connected to the hotel is maintained by the City of Oshkosh. The minimal $3 nightly municipal fee is a pass-through fee that goes directly to City for the purpose of maintaining the facility. It is quite typical that downtown communities, regardless of size, have a parking fee when a parking ramp is the designated parking for their businesses. I am sorry a charge for bottled water became a detractor to your visit. The bottled water is provided as an in-room convenience item for our guests. Of course, it is a choice of accepting the convenience and paying a nominal charge or to make the decision to not take the water if it is not a perceived value. The Grab and Go breakfasts are simply a convenience offering. It is provided complimentary to our upper level Best Western Rewards members. In addition, the hotel provides the option of a full-service restaurant and bar serving breakfast, lunch, and dinner daily. The Grab and Go breakfasts are not the only breakfast offering. I am pleased to see that, minus these detractors, you enjoyed you stay. We hope we have the pleasure of serving you again!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Cruiser543854 wrote a review Oct 2020
3.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed at this hotel at the end of October and the hotel appeared to be doing their part for Covid precautions and restrictions. We were upgraded to a larger room due to plumbing issues in our first room. The fridge in the second room did not work and the front desk staff member was not able to fix this issue due to lack of staff so all of our food items perished (which far outweighed the cost of the room itself!). The overnight front desk staff member was rude and hung up on us several times. Day time staff were very nice and informative. The pool area was nice, but DEFINITELY not cleaned during the night like the website boasts- we left a towel in a strategic place when leaving the pool area at time of close and it was still in the same spot the next morning. Towels were not refilled so the stacks were empty. The pool area was also still dirty from the previous day. We never saw staff actively cleaning or disinfecting frequently touched surfaces and we were in and out of trafficked areas all day. The staff did all have masks on (except maintenance and security) and were frequently using hand sanitizer. The grounds looked well maintained and appeared clean albeit the pool area and some high traffic areas.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Date of stay: October 2020
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
2.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Daniel Schetter, General Manager at Oshkosh Waterfront Hotel & Convention Center
Responded Nov 3, 2020
Dear Cruiser543854: Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for providing comments about your visit. I appreciate you noting the effort put forth by our team to implement Best Western’s “We Care Clean” procedures in response to the pandemic. These standards have been developed for the safety of both team members and guests. Please accept my personal apology for the maintenance issues that contributed negatively to your stay. I would be less than honest if I told you maintenance problems don’t occur now and again. Just like our homes, these issues can arise at any time. I am sorry “Murphy’s Law” came into play as it is highly unusual that one guest would encounter two different issues during one stay. I hope we can agree that, under normal circumstances, the free upgrade to a suite would have been a reasonable customer service gesture for a single concern. I regret a second issue developed and a miscommunication/misunderstanding occurred with our guest service representative as she attempted to handle the second incident for you. It is never acceptable for a team member to be rude. It is disappointing her efforts to assist with the matter came across negatively. After discussing the situation with her in great detail, this surely was not her intention. The $50 adjustment to you bill was made to compensate for the loss of food. For the improvement of the services we provide, I strive to obtain the facts for issues brought to my attention. Admittedly, I can’t with 100% certainty address the “strategically” placed dirty towel you referred to in the pool area. Via security camera footage however, I can verify that our maintenance team member cleaned both the main pool and whirlpool and housekeeping did pick-up towels and electrostatically sprayed the pool area with a sanitizer/disinfectant at 8:00 a.m. This was followed by a number of guests (children and adults) who used the pool from 8:15 a.m. until 9:25 a.m. You and your family arrived at about 9:50 a.m. Since we don’t staff the pool area throughout the day, I acknowledge you could have found a towel(s) left by the earlier families who used the pool that morning as none of our staff were in the pool area between 8:30 a.m. and the time you were in the pool area. Our goal is always for you 100% satisfaction. I am very sorry unusual circumstances developed that prevented us from achieving this. Again, please accept my personal apology.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Planman1964 wrote a review Nov 2020
2.0 of 5 bubbles
The majority of guests didn't wear masks in the elevators, hallways and lobby. The three front desk workers seemed uninterested in enforcing the state requirement. We tried the prime rib special in our room and found the seasoning and quality of meat to be sub-par at best.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Date of stay: November 2020
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
1.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Daniel Schetter, General Manager at Oshkosh Waterfront Hotel & Convention Center
Responded Nov 19, 2020
Thank you for staying with us and for providing comments about your stay. I am sorry we did not meet your 100% satisfaction is this is always our goal. Please accept my personal apology. I am sorry circumstances around the pandemic largely influenced your disappointment with our hotel. Certainly, I understand your opinion about “masking” during the pandemic. The Governor of Wisconsin’s Executive Order 94 recommends masking however, it is not mandated due to constitutionality issues. However, Best Western branded hotels require guests to wear masks in public spaces. This is indicated with signage at all entry points as well as at the guest elevators. As I am sure you are aware, this has become a very sensitive and aggravating topic with many people. Our staff is trained to politely ask guests to wear their masks upon arrival. However, if they refuse, for the staffs' own safety, they are not to engage any further with that guest. I hope you can respect us not putting our team members in contentious situations. Surely, it would be easier if everyone complied. I regret this is not the reality. I am very sorry the prime rib served during room service did not meet your expectations. Our greatest opportunity in food service situations is to address concerns as they occur. In the Ground Round, we always have floor managers available to our guests for non-typical situations that can arise. With our restaurant, or any restaurant, if something does not meet your expectations, I would ask for a manager to address the concern at the time of service so that the issue can be corrected while you are there. I hope you took the opportunity to do this. Our team strives to be proactive for the comfort and enjoyment of our guests. There is nothing for us to gain if we don’t work toward that goal. I hope by addressing your comments I can improve your faith in our team and the Best Western brand.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Katie W wrote a review Jun 2022
3.0 of 5 bubbles
This is a nice establishment and if you're looking for an upper crust experience, this is a good fit. I stay at a lot of Best Western locations because they tend to all have clean rooms, helpful staff and generally are a great value. Had I been staying here for fun, my review would likely be different, better. Compare to other Best Western locations, this one did not meet my expectations. No hot breakfast, no reward for my points status (usually I'm offered a free water or additional points). As a business trip, the hot breakfast is something I count on and was disappointed they didn't have it. The price was high for the lack of the usual services I have grown to expect from Best Western properties. That said, this experience has not changed my opinion of the Best Western as a whole. I just likely will be sure to check into the offerings better before booking. The price at this location was much more than I pay at other locations that have done much more to provide value to my stay.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Date of stay: June 2022
2.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Traveled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Daniel Schetter, General Manager at Oshkosh Waterfront Hotel & Convention Center
Responded Jun 28, 2022
Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for providing comments about your visit. Our goal is to meet and exceed your expectations. Considering this was a business trip, I am sorry the “upper crust experience” you noted didn’t quite fit the need of what you were looking for with this particular stay. I regret there was a miscommunication that resulted in our team being unaware that you are a rewards member. This was the reason for not receiving the rewards perks you expected. As a Best Western rewards member, it is always best to book directly through BestWestern.com. This will ensure you are able to book the “rewards rate” that provides a 15% discount. This will also provide the ability for our team to provide you with your rewards points for each stay. Now that we are aware you are a rewards member, we have awarded your earned points for your recent visit. Please indulge me in an explanation about breakfast. We made this a conscious decision ten years ago. Past guest feedback voiced the desire for table service with waitstaff, ala carte menu choices, while enjoying the views of riverfront dining. This often met the expectations of better-quality food with full service in an enjoyable waterfront setting. Conference hotels with a convention center, providing extensive meeting space, do not offer a complimentary breakfast as full-service breakfast is often provided to conference attendees. It is also characteristic that hotels with a full-service restaurant and bar, providing meal service for breakfast, lunch, and dinner, do not provide one meal period complimentary when the other meal periods are provided with full service. In our desire to never mislead our guests, we strive to be sure Best Western.com and other partner sites display that our breakfasts are at a charge. There is no advantage for us to be deceptive and we work to be as up front about this information as possible. We also have “Grab and Go” breakfasts available to our guests for those guests who want to catch a quick breakfast, on the run! Please know the room rates charged for our hotel, and others in the Oshkosh market, are based on demand. Daily, we review the rates of similar quality hotels in our market to be sure we are competitive. I respect your comment about lower prices. During those periods of time where our demand for rooms lessens, our rates decline too. This is simply a reminder that, booking through Best Western.com as a rewards member, will provide you a 15% discount on your room rate. Please consider this for future reservations. We work to be proactive for the comfort of our guests. There is nothing for us to gain if we do not work toward that goal. I hope by addressing your comments I can improve your faith in us and the Best Western brand as we always strive to meet the expectations of our guests. I hope we might have the pleasure of serving you again!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
luv2skee wrote a review Sep 2022
Iowa
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Small room with large furniture and a gaggle of random large lamps that didn't match. Room ends up being wall to wall with furniture so no room to really set or put anything.

Changing AC controls didn't seem to change anything in the room. Turned it down to 64 - it never got cooler than 74 and wasn't even super hot outside.

Having a fridge and microwave were nice but didn't care for the location being closer to the hotel door it just felt stuffed in and in the way.

Overall - the nightly price for what we got I think is a rip off, you get disposable cups in the room if that tells you at all what kind of hotel this is.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Date of stay: September 2022
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Daniel Schetter, General Manager at Oshkosh Waterfront Hotel & Convention Center
Responded Sep 22, 2022
Luv2skee, thank you for choosing to stay with us and for completing comments about your visit. Our goal is to earn your loyalty as a return guest by providing you 100% guest satisfaction. Though there were facets of your stay you enjoyed, I regret we did not achieve our goal. Please accept my personal apology. I am pleased to see you appreciated the in-room microwave and refrigerator. However, I am sorry you did not like the size of the room or layout. Truthfully, I virtually never receive comments about the rooms being small or cluttered. This said, it is your personal experience that is most important to me and I regret your expectations were not met. As lamps are sometimes inadvertently damaged by prior guests, or become inoperable, we must replace them. The exact replacement lamps are no longer available. For this reason, we asked our designer to select replacement lamps that most closely resemble the current decore’ as well as other lamps in the room. I am sorry you found their suggested replacements to be lacking. With your post being anonymous, I do not know what room you stayed-in or how many nights you stayed with us. Our air conditioning is supplied via a central air system with individual thermostat controls for temperature and fan control for each room. We do not have any issues with the central air. Is it possible the adjustment was initiated incorrectly? If not, I hope you provided us the opportunity to address this for you so that it would not be an ongoing, lingering issue. Please know we have not reverted back to glass water glasses in our rooms. Plastic was brought into the rooms as a response to CDC guidelines addressing COVID. As COVID cases have declined, we are likely getting closer to the time where we will go back to the glass beverage glasses that we have always provided on the past. I regret you found the room rate in relation to what you received as being what you described as a “rip off”. I realize everyone’s value perceptions are subjective. Arguably, our downtown location, close to other popular dining, bar, and shopping venues, being on the waterfront, providing an on-site restaurant and bar, and convenient connectivity to the convention center for weddings and events, extended pool service hours, etc., all add to what many of our past guests express as providing value. This said, having no additional information about you, other than this social media post, I have no other way to follow-up with you. We strive to be proactive for the comfort of our guests. There is nothing for us to gain if we don’t work toward that goal. I hope by addressing your comments I can improve your faith in us as we continue to strive for 100% guest satisfaction. The next time your travels bring you to Oshkosh, I hope you might reconsider staying with us, and that we have the pleasure of your return visit!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
bonhamWI wrote a review Jul 2021
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
5.0 of 5 bubbles
First to the negative. The young check-in woman insisted on talking so quickly I had to ask her several times to repeat the check-in directions I was to follow. I do NOT have a hearing problem. Even after repeated requests to repeat her directions, she did not apologize or slow down. She showed no warmth. She was all business.

This Best Western downtown hotel is definitely a step above the multiple franchise lodgings that straddle the interstate on the west side of Oshkosh. The room was impeccably clean and quiet. Had the weather been better we could have utilized the outdoor deck on the river. The surprising thing to us was that this quality came at lower price than others in the area. Seems people want to stick close to the interstate. I think they are making a mistake. We will return to this Best Western!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: Facing the river was nice.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Daniel Schetter, General Manager at Oshkosh Waterfront Hotel & Convention Center
Responded Jul 13, 2021
Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for providing comments about your stay. Our goal is to earn your loyalty as a return guest by providing you 100% guest satisfaction. Though there is much about your stay you enjoyed, I regret we did not achieve our goal. Please accept my personal apology. I appreciate you commenting you room as being clean. Our housekeeping team works very hard to meet this expectation! I am pleased we were able to provide a quiet guest room allowing for a restful night’s rest! I am sorry the weather was not better which would have allowed you to dine on the river front. Maybe you will have this opportunity on a return visit. I am very sorry the guest service representative who handled your registration upon arrival was a deterrent to your stay. Though I have not received this comment from other guests before, it is your personal experience that is most important to me. I am very sorry she did not take additional time to be sure she provided our hotel information in a manner that allowed you to understand her. It is regretful this reflected negatively on your visit. I will be sure to review your comments with her for future improvement purposes. Thank you for sharing that you will return to our hotel. We look forward to the pleasure of serving you again!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
cathyhQ1551AQ wrote a review Aug 2023
Elk Grove Village, Illinois
4.0 of 5 bubbles
The hotel was very clean. Staff very friendly. Did appreciate that the room was cleaned daily, a lot of hotels don’t do that now. We were there for a family wedding. The food was excellent. Every staff member was friendly and efficient . The rooms were nice and quiet, really couldn’t hear the people in the next room. Only thing that would be nice would be if breakfast was included
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Date of stay: August 2023
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from David Helgeson, General Manager at Oshkosh Waterfront Hotel & Convention Center
Responded Aug 17, 2023
HI Cathy, Thank you for the great comments. Complimentary breakfast is common in limited-service hotels; most Best Westerns are limited-service properties. These properties do not have food and beverage facilities on-site. Some may have a chain restaurant connected but are often separately leased. We are a full-service hotel that has food and beverage services available on-site. I apologize if we misinformed you as we never had complimentary breakfast. Thank you again for your time and indulging me in an explanation. We have nothing to gain if we do not fix the challenges guests face. I hope we have an opportunity to exceed your expectations in the future.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
KittensMom313 wrote a review Feb 2022
New York City, New York
3.0 of 5 bubbles
This is a beautiful hotel in a beautiful location. We checked in late in the evening after a long ride. Check in experience was quick, and we were staying three nights, and the check in staff person reviewed the details with us. The following morning, the cleaning staff knocked on the door, and shortly afterwards, we received a call from the Front Desk. We were told that we were supposed to be checking out of one room and checking into another, so we'd have to pack up and prepare to move. I was ready to go out exploring the city, so I asked for the Manager. The Manager told me that because we actually had two separate reservations (having reserved for two nights and then added a third at a later time), we'd have to change rooms. I was annoyed that this was the first time I was hearing about it. What if I had already gone out? Would they have packed my stuff for me and changed my room? Nobody told me that upon check in the night before, and this made zero sense for the hotel, which would have to then clean two rooms. After a hard time from Management, I received a phone call from the Manager. She told me "today's your lucky day" and we wouldn't have to change rooms.

This soured my experience for the rest of the stay. Poor planning on the part of the hotel became my problem, as I had to have several phone calls with the front desk staff and management to rectify the issue. Nobody told me when I made the reservation that I should mention to the front desk that it was actually two separate reservations. This is a detail that the front desk staff should know.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Daniel Schetter, General Manager at Oshkosh Waterfront Hotel & Convention Center
Responded Mar 6, 2022
KittensMom313, thank you for choosing to stay with us and for providing comments about your stay. I regret probable miscommunications and/or misunderstandings with multiple reservations defined your overall stay. Please accept my personal apology. I appreciate you noting the check-in was quick after a lengthy period of travel. Thank you for noting this is a lovely hotel in a great location. I hope you can respect we often receive multiple reservations under the same name, made for different dates. Often, this is the result of one family member making reservations on behalf of others. For this reason, our team members do not assume multiple reservations made under the same name are expected to be merged into one stay. This is especially the case when the reservations have different arrival dates. Being informed, in advance, that you had made multiple reservations with the expectation that they are to be merged, surely would have prevented this unfortunate experience. The fact you had multiple reservations that you desired to have merged also did not come-up at the time of your registration. This would have been another opportunity to understand your desire. The registration signed upon arrival indicated your arrival and departure date. I can only assume you did not notice the incorrect departure date at the time you registered. If you had, we would have learned at the time that you wanted the two reservations merged into a multiple night stay. Again, I must assume your original arrival reservation was for one night which is why you were contacted the next morning. In general, we receive many requests though our reservations, which include desires to be on a specific floor, be provided a specified view, be near another family member, specific bed types, adjoining rooms, etc. These specific requests are made with the original reservation(s) and, for this reason, we strive to honor all requests. Upon original examination of the needs of our arriving guests, we initially found we could not keep you in the same room. However, with the upgrading of arriving guests, we were able to creatively work out a plan to keep you in the same room. I am sorry the manager’s satisfaction in coming-up with a solution was perceived negatively. This surely was not their intention. Surely, I understand the disappointment you experienced in working through this. In ideal circumstances, our team would have noticed the two different reservations with different arrival dates, in advance. This may have caused us to ask if the reservations were expected to be merged into one stay of consecutive nights. At the same time, I hope you can respect that clearly communicating this information in advance would also have resulted in avoiding this unfortunate experience. Please understand what you experienced is unusual and not regular. Surely, I would hope this would not prevent you from staying with us again as the chances of repeating any experience like this is highly unlikely.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Answer from N7323DNambers
Luxemburg, United States4 contributions
There is a space to pull into for temporary parking while checking in (and great for unloading the handicapped), then there is a parking ramp at the back of the building. I drive a 2004 Mercury Mountaineer (full-size SUV) and found the ground level a little cramped but the upper levels were easy enough to get in and out of. Parking was free as part of the room.
Penguin73112 asked a question Jul 2017
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma19 contributions1 helpful vote
Do you have rooms that are wheelchair accessible with roll in shower
Answer from Jim M
Naples, Florida40 contributions22 helpful votes
I think they do, but I would call to make sure.
eileenpost asked a question Sep 2016
Muscoda, Wisconsin
Do any rooms have a recliner ?
Answer from Patrick O
Mount Holly, North Carolina1,121 contribution373 helpful votes
I do not know for sure, but to my recollection, I have never had a hotel room with a recliner.
Answer from Daniel R
Slinger, Wisconsin16 contributions15 helpful votes
Sorry. Not sure.
khermer1 asked a question Jun 2016
Lincolnwood, Illinois1 contribution1 helpful vote
I would like park a boat to launch on the lake.
Answer from Daniel S.
Oshkosh, Wisconsin3 contributions
We direct vehicles with trailers to the convention center surface parking lot 1/2 block to the east of the hotel. There are not electrical hook-ups but there is space to park. If you want added security, then I would suggest one of the local Marinas. The Pioneer Marina is directly on Lake Winnebago, two blocks from the hotel. 920-233-1981
Kgt12608 wrote a tip Jun 2023
Creve Coeur, Missouri59 contributions44 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Double check the restaurant schedule."
Read full review
mauricemoose wrote a tip Mar 2023
Milwaukee, Wisconsin60 contributions14 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Great for conferences"
Read full review
Wendy L wrote a tip Feb 2023
Manitowoc, Wisconsin42 contributions27 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"You can enter through the street level lobby or through the second floor via the parking ramp next door."
Read full review
edmn911 wrote a tip Dec 2022
Minneapolis, Minnesota163 contributions108 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"There is a River flowing right by it."
Read full review
Eliza H wrote a tip Oct 2022
76 contributions26 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"No problems with the location of our room."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Oshkosh area.
PRICE RANGE
$149 - $195 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
city hotel oshkosh, park plaza oshkosh, oshkosh park plaza
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Oshkosh Premier Waterfront Hotel
LOCATION
United StatesWisconsinOshkosh
NUMBER OF ROOMS
176
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Oshkosh Waterfront Hotel & Convention Center $137 ($̶1̶6̶1̶) - WI

Frequently Asked Questions about Oshkosh Waterfront Hotel & Convention Center
Which popular attractions are close to Oshkosh Waterfront Hotel & Convention Center?
Nearby attractions include Grand Opera House (0.2 miles), Oblio's Lounge (0.3 miles), and The Backlot Comedy House (0.3 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Oshkosh Waterfront Hotel & Convention Center?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a fitness center, and room service.
Which room amenities are available at Oshkosh Waterfront Hotel & Convention Center?
Top room amenities include a flat screen TV, blackout curtains, and a desk.
Is parking available at Oshkosh Waterfront Hotel & Convention Center?
Yes, parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Oshkosh Waterfront Hotel & Convention Center?
Conveniently located restaurants include Ground Round at River's Edge, Ruby Owl Tap Room, and Manila Resto.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Oshkosh Waterfront Hotel & Convention Center?
Yes, guests have access to a fitness center during their stay.
Is Oshkosh Waterfront Hotel & Convention Center located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.5 miles away from the center of Oshkosh.
Are any cleaning services offered at Oshkosh Waterfront Hotel & Convention Center?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Oshkosh Waterfront Hotel & Convention Center offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers meeting rooms, a banquet room, and conference facilities.
Are there any historical sites close to Oshkosh Waterfront Hotel & Convention Center?
Many travelers enjoy visiting The Morgan House (0.5 miles).
Does Oshkosh Waterfront Hotel & Convention Center have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the harbor view available here.
All Oshkosh HotelsOshkosh Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in OshkoshHotels near Oshkosh Waterfront Hotel & Convention Center
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsVacation RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars