We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

Ambassador Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Ambassador Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,273 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,266: English reviews
Reviewed yesterday NEWvia mobile

Stayed here while attending a show at The Rave - great location being able to walk to the venue. Hotel was very clean and staff very friendly. We had appetizers in the bar area very good. Hotel was decorated beautifully for the holidays

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Carol M
Plainfield, Illinois
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We had a decent stay at the hotel. The room we had was a nice size and clean. The bed was not very comfortable and the pillows were flat as could be. Found out later there was a "pillow menu" wish I would have known. Hotel seems ideal for Marquette University but if you want to go to the bars...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Candace W
AmbassadorAGM, Manager at Ambassador Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your input. In the future, please know that we do offer a complimentary shuttle service to anywhere in the downtown Milwaukee area. This alleviates most of the need to spend additional money on a cab or an Uber. We will note that you did not find our pillows comfortable. We recently purchased all new pillows so we...

Hanover Park
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Were placed in a room next to the freight elevator and woken up by loud staff very early. Called down and complained to the front desk and were given an apology and that's it. Not even a comped bottle of water. A decent night sleep is the bare minimum expected of a stay at a hotel. If a hotel can't...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Kelly B
AmbassadorAGM, Manager at Ambassador Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for letting us know. We will use this as a training tool for our team. You are absolutely right. Our team should have offered to "Make it Right".

Aurora
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

There was blood stains on the comforter. Looked like dry blood or something on the ceiling & door. Was not worth the money but we just went there for the concert at the rave so at least we weren't in the inn too long.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank anastasiac342
AmbassadorAGM, Manager at Ambassador Hotel, responded to this review

The Ambassador Hotel and Ambassador Inn are two separate hotels. It sounds as if your complaint is in regards to the Inn, not the hotel. Regardless, stains or markings on walls, linens or furniture are unacceptable. Please know that, as a result of your review, all of the rooms at the Inn have been reinspected to insure that this is...

Grafton, Wisconsin
Reviewed 4 days ago NEWvia mobile

I have stayed at this hotel many times. I continue to return because I like it's style, comfort, location, restaurants and shuttle. It's a small boutique hotel that retains its original 1920s look and feel. While I am normally quite pleased with my stays, on this particular visit a few details were irritating. First, the temperature control in my room...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Stacy B
AmbassadorAGM, Manager at Ambassador Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. Please know that our hair dryers are attached to the wall. We are unsure why a member of our team would report that the hair dryers are being stolen and that they are on order. It's simply not true. It is unacceptable that your room was missing a hair dryer, as it's a fixture in...

Wisconsin Rapids, Wisconsin
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

This hotel is so beautiful and unique. The staff was beyond amazing and helped out with anything I needed. The hotel is also in a great spot. It's not right in the middle of the busy town but it's also not too far from the town.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 803laryssaw
AmbassadorAGM, Manager at Ambassador Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you!

Naperville, Illinois
Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed for three nights in late August, 2016. This hotel is not five star service, but it doesn't pretend to be. On the other hand, in my opinion it's far better than most of the standard hotels. Although not a five star hotel in the sense that it compares to hotels charging a small fortune, I gave it five stars...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Darren M
AmbassadorAGM, Manager at Ambassador Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you!

Monona
Reviewed 1 week ago

The hotel was very comfortable and clean and in a perfect location for what we came to town for. The staff was friendly and helpful, even over the phone before we arrived. I would recommend this property to anyone.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Taylor S
AmbassadorAGM, Manager at Ambassador Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you!

Madison, Wisconsin
Reviewed 1 week ago

A co-worker of our reserved the room and provided us all the documents requested to have us stay. When we arrived at the hotel we were then informed that we needed a credit card authorization form before they could provide us a room. This was not communicated in the original registration of the room. So we waited 40 minutes trying...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank veronicalM5703ED
AmbassadorAGM, Manager at Ambassador Hotel, responded to this review

It is possible that when your coworker made the reservation, they did not indicate that a credit card that does not belong to the guest would be used to pay for the room. We are dedicated to ensuring that all charges are authorized by the card holder. Please know that our policy to obtain authorization from the card holder is...

Minneapolis, Minnesota
Reviewed 1 week ago

Great Art Deco Presence....Nice Staff... Terrific Renovation....Lots of Artistic Brass. Journey back into the late 20"s....Professional, Courteous, Efficient Staff.....would recommend to anyone wanting to stay in Milwaukee..

 Report
Helpful?
Thank William K
AmbassadorAGM, Manager at Ambassador Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you!

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

138 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (109)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (28)
Viewed
Bathroom (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (19)
Viewed
Other (44)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (29)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Milwaukee hotels
Downtown
The Pfister Hotel
The Pfister Hotel
#5 of 54 in Milwaukee
1,696 reviews
Downtown
Hilton Garden Inn Milwaukee Downtown
Walker's Point
Iron Horse Hotel
Iron Horse Hotel
#1 of 54 in Milwaukee
1,417 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
The Brewhouse Inn & Suites
The Brewhouse Inn & Suites
#4 of 54 in Milwaukee
846 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
  • Tennis Court
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Airport Transportation
  • Laundry Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Banquet Room
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Room Service
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Conference Facilities
  • Concierge
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
A shining example of true Art Deco style, the Ambassador Hotel provides an urban oasis near the heart of downtown Milwaukee. Discover a remarkable blend of modern amenities and 1920's Art Deco design. From the original marble floors and bronze elevator doors to the ornate plasterwork, every detail of the Ambassador Hotel is a testament to the bold beauty of Art Deco. Our spacious guest rooms share the same level of sophisticated decor. Guests enjoy luxurious bedding, HD smart elevisions and complimentary Internet access. Savor sumptuous global American cuisine in an upscale yet casual atmosphere at Envoy Restaurant & Lounge. Chef Michael Long crafts globally inspired innovative dishes made using fresh, local ingredients. But first, work up an appetite with a visit to our well-equipped fitness center that features cardio equipment with individual TV screens. Ready to explore all that downtown Milwaukee has to offer? Our complimentary shuttle service provides front door, red carpet service. Host your next social gathering in our Art Deco designed Embassy Room or host a corporate meeting that takes advantage of state-of-the-art audiovisual equipment in our Attache' Room. The Ambassador Hotel offers a variety of intimate event venues that can comfortably accommodate 20 to 80 people. Perfectly located on the west side of downtown Milwaukee near the Marquette University campus, our stylish hotel offers the perfect base for exploring the best attractions in the city. Catch a ball at a Milwaukee Brewers baseball game under Miller Park's retractable dome, attend a show in the Milwaukee Theatre District, tour the Miller Brewery or explore the Harley-Davidson Museum. If you have any questions about area attractions or need assistance arranging tours, please don't hesitate to ask our Guest Experience Manager. Reserve a room at the Ambassador Hotel during your next visit to Milwaukee and experience legendary customer service in extraordinary Art Deco style. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Ambassador Hotel

Address: 2308 W Wisconsin Ave, Milwaukee, WI 53233-1890
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Milwaukee
Price Range: $119 - $199 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ambassador Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 132
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Ambassador Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ambassador Hotel Milwaukee
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Milwaukee
#4 Luxury Hotel in Milwaukee
#8 Family Hotel in Milwaukee
#10 Business Hotel in Milwaukee
#16 Romantic Hotel in Milwaukee
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Ambassador Hotel staff and other travelers.
6 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (6)

Questions? Get answers from Ambassador Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“We love the 7th floor - very quiet!”
 of 5 bubbles 334LindaC, 1 week ago | Read review
“King rooms are much more spacious and comfortable (have a couch and desk with chair) than queens.”
 of 5 bubbles WindyCityProf, 1 week ago | Read review
“King delux are spacious”
 of 5 bubbles Jen_and_RJ, 4 weeks ago | Read review
“Garbage truck came early on Saturday, but we were already up.”
  • Almost full view of the whole room.
  • Sofa and tv. Real glasses! Not plastic
  • Water pressure could be a little better.
  • Double Queen Size Room in the corner of the hotel.
 of 5 bubbles TantienHime, Sep 29, 2016 | Read review
“Avoid the rooms near the ice makers.”
 of 5 bubbles johnfT2402TY, Sep 24, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay