We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hotel Metro

411 E Mason St, Milwaukee, WI 53202-3702
Visit hotel website
E-mail hotel
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
View Deal
Official Hotel$104
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (113)
Room & Suite (30)
Dining (3)
Certificate of Excellence


#30 of 60 hotels in Milwaukee
Certificate of Excellence
This historic, Art Deco inspired, hotel is located in the heart of downtown Milwaukee's Art and Entertainment District. Our suites are not just spacious, they are HUGE! Our suites range from 450 sq.ft. to 750 sq.ft. and can accommodate up to four guests per room. We are located in the middle of a very walk friendly and restaurant rich neighborhood. We are very close to Lake Michigan's waterfront, the Milwaukee Art Museum, Harley Davidson Museum, BMO Harris Bradley Center and the Wisconsin Center. Hotel Metro is a Four-Star, full-service hotel and has been fortunate enough to have been recognized as "One of the Top Hotels in the World" by Travel & Leisure Magazine, as well as "Where to Stay" by the New York Times. Most recently, we were honored with the 2013 & 2014 Excellence Award from TripAdvisor.
Read more
Property amenities
Valet parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Bicycles available
Kids stay free
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Business Center with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Paid private parking on-site
Paid private parking nearby
Free internet
Public wifi
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Fax / photocopying
Rooftop terrace
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Shared lounge / TV area
Sun terrace
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Good to know
Art Deco Style
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish
Hotel links
Visit hotel website
544Reviews7Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 234
  • 145
  • 75
  • 50
  • 40
Time of year
Traveler type
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
My husband booked a room for our anniversary (typing this from the room). We had stayed a few years back and loved it. Google, bookings.com, the hotel website, and the book in the room all advertise the amenities we came for, such as the sauna/hot tub and the dining room. We first discovered that the dining room was closed, the hotel was going through renovations. Later, we found out the Zen room w the spa on and rooftop access had been closed for over a year. Needless to say, we feel bummed and misled.
Read more
Hotel is NOT a four star hotel. Its a one star hotel. It’s under “renovation”. The radiator pipes were banging all night long. No warning from the staff or on their website. Hallways are filthy....not cleaned or mopped from the outside weather. Place was deader than disco. Do not stay here.
Read more
Response from MichaelF8924, General Manager at Hotel Metro
Responded 1 week ago
Dear rochelled500, I'm sorry that your experience was less than desired. We are renovating our public space and all of our guest rooms. Excited to share that our rooms will be fully finished (currently only the bathrooms are complete) starting at the end of this month and we will be announcing a new restaurant concept in early Spring. Please contact me at mfalkenstein@hotelmetro.com as it would be my pleasure to share more details and make arrangements for you to return as our guest once the weather warms up. Regards,
Read more
Just look at the picture) My first impression was like "what? It's all for me only?". And then I double checked if there were no other people staying in this room))) The very first picture is from a cafe in the hotel. Also, I didn't take a photo of a bathroom and the room for sleeping. I loved those apartments!
Read more
Response from MichaelF8924, General Manager at Hotel Metro
Responded 1 week ago
Hello Daria_da_lago, Great to see you enjoyed our extra large rooms which are extremely residential and will become more so as we add in our new furniture this month. Hope to have you back with us soon!
Read more
We stayed her one night for a little "Christmas in the city" splurge. There is a lot to like about the Hotel Metro and a few drawbacks. The rooms are very large. Ours had a big curving wall separating the sleeping side from the living room side; I wouldn't exactly call it a suite, because it was still one room, but it was plenty big for two people. It is in the middle of downtown Milwaukee, close to everything. We walked to a good restaurant just a block away. The Hop streetcar runs rights right in front. The lobby is pleasant, and the employees were nice enough. We stayed on a Saturday night, but everything was very quiet, including lobby and restaurant/bar. Some people would like that serenity, while others might want a livelier atmosphere somewhere else. The bar was nearly empty, for example. There is no great overnight parking nearby, and parking at the hotel was $27, which seems like a lot for Milwaukee. This is probably a better hotel if you don't have a car with you. If we make any more downtown overnight splurges, I'll probably try somewhere else. Still, this is an attractive, small, stylish hotel in the middle of downtown that most people would enjoy.
Read more
Response from MichaelF8924, General Manager at Hotel Metro
Responded Dec 15, 2019
Hello Brewbaker, I'm glad you found a lot to like about Hotel Metro and appreciate your feedback. While the cold weather has set in, we are warming things up inside as we are working our way through a full renovation. We are looking forward to showcasing our brand new rooms next month as well as a new restaurant and bar concept in the early Spring. Thank you for recognizing our associates. They are a big part of what we do! Happy Holidays, michael
Read more
This is a nice little hotel, however you really don't get what you pay for. First the good. The hotel is downtown in Milwaukee, so close to a lot of things. We got a whirlpool suite and the whirlpool was nice. Now the bad. Although our room had been redecorated and redone, there was paint chipping off the wall and the ceiling paint was bubbling. The bed was hard, which seems to be the norm these days,for some reason. When you check in there is a $100 charge for incidentals (there is an assortment of ridiculously priced items in the room) and although I was assured this was refunded, as of this writing (almost 1 month later), no deposit has been made to my account. I bought a package which included valet parking and a credit for use for breakfast. Of course the credit won't cover breakfast for two, not if you actually eat something more than a bagel, but the valet parking is an additional $20+, so that might be worth the cost. The Pastiche restaurant in the hotel is incredibly overpriced and the food is mediocre for the cost. The steak was good, and the Bouillabasse passable,but flavor was lacking. The server we had was nonchalant in his service, and for the prices charged, I expected at least attentive, polite and pleasant service. Our server seemed as if we were an intrusion on the conversation he was having with the other server and the cook when we arrived. This was a very disappointing and expensive overnight stay. We would not book this hotel again.
Read more
Response from MichaelF8924, General Manager at Hotel Metro
Responded Dec 15, 2019
Hello cv66seabear, Thank you for recognizing the positives of Milwaukee's original boutique hotel. Over the years our hotel has gotten older and we are excited to share that we are renovating everything from top to bottom! I'm concerned that you have not been refunded the $100 charge and would ask that you email me at mfalkenstein@hotelmetro.com so that I can assist immediately. I look forward to speaking with you further... michael
Read more
$123 - $348 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
metro hotel milwaukee
United StatesWisconsinMilwaukeeDowntown
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Hotel Metro
Which popular attractions are close to Hotel Metro?
Nearby attractions include Grohmann Museum (0.3 miles), Pabst Theater (0.2 miles), and Milwaukee RiverWalk (0.2 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Hotel Metro?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a fitness center, and room service.
Which room amenities are available at Hotel Metro?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
Is parking available at Hotel Metro?
Yes, paid private parking on-site, paid private parking nearby, and valet parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Hotel Metro?
Conveniently located restaurants include Stella Van Buren, Mo's A Place For Steaks, and Swingin' Door Exchange.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Hotel Metro?
Yes, guests have access to a fitness center during their stay.
Is Hotel Metro located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.06 miles away from the center of Milwaukee.
Are any cleaning services offered at Hotel Metro?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Hotel Metro?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Hotel Metro offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business center, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Hotel Metro?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Spanish.