We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Hotel Metro

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Hotel Metro
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel"},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

419 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 415: English reviews
Start your review of Hotel Metro
 Click to rate
Delavan, Wisconsin, United States
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Great location. Easy in and out. The room was set up like a suite. Excellent minibar options at reasonable prices. The bathroom was amazing with the double tub and the shower. Comfy bathrobes. The front desk staff wasn't overly friendly but they got the job done. The bar and restaurant looked really cool however I did not eat there or...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bill P
Natasha B, Front Office Manager at Hotel Metro, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience!! We greatly appreciate your honest feedback. We look forward to seeing you on your next trip to Milwaukee.

Phoenix, Arizona
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Recently stayed at this property. The hotel has a trendy vintage vibe and my room was incredibly large with a sitting area, bedroom area, and enormous bathroom with a huge tub and two entrances. Also has a good location. Recommended!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lakelandalumni
Natasha B, Front Office Manager at Hotel Metro, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your kind words!! Be sure to come back to visit us again.

Indianapolis, Indiana
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

As others mentioned, the pillows, even with four of them to choose from, were all hard and horrible. I went without. The mattress was also hard, lumpy and canted to the middle. But the worst was the noise from possibly "Cubanitas" or some other club/bar nearby. Went to bed at 10 and the bass throb from the music was like...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank hbm249
Natasha B, Front Office Manager at Hotel Metro, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience with us. I am disappointed to hear that you did not get a good night's rest. We do have rooms that are on a higher floor on the opposite side of the hotel, perhaps that would have been a better choice for you. We also have bell staff...

Gurnee, Illinois
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Boyfriend and I came back to hotel metro after having a great time in December 2015. We love the whirlpool suites. We were slightly bummed to see that they had replaced their restaurant with something new, but that's not to say the new restaurant isn't great. We just really loved the bruschetta and spinach dip from the old place. So...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kaitlyn B
Natasha B, Front Office Manager at Hotel Metro, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience with us. I will definitely share your kind words with our staff. We look forward to seeing you again on your next trip to Milwaukee.

A TripAdvisor Member
2 reviews
1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 8, 2017 via mobile

The good - great location, great valet, nice servers in restaurants, fireplace in the room. The bad - really run down. Drapes were faded, frayed, most did not close. Just pretty gross. The bed was very hard and pillows awful. The room was pretty clean but there is so much cleaning up and updating needed in this hotel. The furniture...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Natasha B, Front Office Manager at Hotel Metro, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We hope to do some renovating in the very near future. This feedback is very helpful and much appreciated.

Vancouver, Washington
Reviewed January 3, 2017

My wife and I decided to celebrate our 12th anniversary by visiting the hotel we stayed at on our wedding night. Unfortunately the place is showing its age in the last 12 years. Don't get me wrong with the age thing, I have stayed at historic hotels in Portland and Seattle (both managed by Kimpton) and they were amazing. The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TravelnPhil
Natasha B, Manager at Hotel Metro, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We hope to do some renovating in the very near future. I apologize for the lackluster interaction you had with our staff, this will be addressed directly. Again thank you for taking the time to share with us, this feedback is very helpful and much appreciated. Happy Anniversary!!

Highland Park, Illinois
Reviewed December 28, 2016

We love this hotel, but they've changed the pillows and they are the worst. If you can bring your own pillows and you like a trendy hotel close to the Art Museum and lots of restaurants and bars, this is your place. And if you want, bring the dog! Soft-loft suites are the best.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank maureenliebenson
Natasha B, Manager at Hotel Metro, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your kind words. This feedback is very helpful and much appreciated. We hope to see you back soon.

Chicago, Illinois
Reviewed December 26, 2016 via mobile

We (myself, husband and college aged daughter) decided to go to Milwaukee on a whim and found Hotel Metro offering a 2 bedroom suite with a great price. Hotel considered one one of the Historic Hotels of America - not sure why given the current decor and finishes. the hotel lacks any defined character. There are inconsistent Art Deco references...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Irene S
Natasha B, Manager at Hotel Metro, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. This feedback is very helpful and much appreciated.

Chicago, Illinois
Reviewed December 14, 2016

The hotel has been in decline over the years. But it's a great location and the valet is great. However, we are not happy with our last visit. Horrrrrrible smells coming from the vents. We asked to be moved to a new room and asked to speak to a manager. They said we'd get a call from the manager the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jennifer V
Park City, Utah
Reviewed December 12, 2016 via mobile

27 dollar parking valet for starters each night. Open the door to a Stench of chemicals comparable to the soap isle of a grocery store. NO DRAPES Or darkness... SLEEP IN SUNSHINE daylight!!!! Bring your own blackout curtains or suffer. Huge room... loud... key barely works in the door... struggle... Restaurant decent but not great. More smell of unpleasant bleach...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank dolldetails
Natasha B, Manager at Hotel Metro, responded to this review

Thank you very much for giving us the opportunity to address the issues you had during your stay. This feedback is much needed in helping us to improve. We hope to begin renovations in the very near future. Thank you for the kinds words about our staff I will be sure to pass it along.

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

118 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (68)
Viewed
Room/Suite (28)
Viewed
Bathroom (11)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (13)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (14)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (50)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (27)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Milwaukee hotels
Ambassador Hotel
#12 of 54 in Milwaukee
1,334 reviews
Downtown
The Pfister Hotel
The Pfister Hotel
#6 of 54 in Milwaukee
1,753 reviews
Downtown
Hilton Garden Inn Milwaukee Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Walker's Point
Iron Horse Hotel
Iron Horse Hotel
#1 of 54 in Milwaukee
1,439 reviews
Downtown
The Plaza Hotel
The Plaza Hotel
#9 of 54 in Milwaukee
748 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Room Service
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Conference Facilities
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Concierge
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
This historic, Art Deco inspired, hotel is located in the heart of downtown Milwaukee's Art and Entertainment District. Our suites are not just spacious, they are HUGE! Our suites range from 450 sq.ft. to 750 sq.ft. and can accommodate up to four guests per room. We are located in the middle of a very walk friendly and restaurant rich neighborhood. We are very close to Lake Michigan's waterfront, the Milwaukee Art Museum, Harley Davidson Museum, BMO Harris Bradley Center and the Wisconsin Center. Hotel Metro is a Four-Star, full-service hotel and has been fortunate enough to have been recognized as "One of the Top Hotels in the World" by Travel & Leisure Magazine, as well as "Where to Stay" by the New York Times. Most recently, we were honored with the 2013 & 2014 Excellence Award from TripAdvisor. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hotel Metro

Address: 411 East Mason Street, Milwaukee, WI 53202
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Milwaukee > Downtown
Price Range: $182 - $296 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Metro 4*
Number of rooms: 63
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Metro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Metro Hotel Milwaukee
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Milwaukee
#15 Romantic Hotel in Milwaukee
#18 Business Hotel in Milwaukee
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Hotel Metro staff and other travelers.
3 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Hotel Metro staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Don't take rooms low down on the SW side.”
 of 5 bubbles hbm249, 4 weeks ago | Read review
“Stay away from the elevators and don't get a room top floor with AC issues”
 of 5 bubbles MrSmokeyMountainMan, Oct 11, 2016 | Read review
“corner rooms are the biggest.”
 of 5 bubbles mattpR5830NG, Sep 6, 2016 | Read review
“The Phister is right around the corner”
  • Mold in EVERY corner of the shower.
  • Different inner corner for mold
 of 5 bubbles 207spencev, May 24, 2016 | Read review
“the 5th floor was quite quiet”
  • mini bar
  • counter top and the fridge
  • dining room area
  • Living area with a love seat (not sofa as they have in the description!)
  • Deluxe Suite Queen with two TVsets
  • bright bathroom with 3 windows and big mirror
  • very spacious bathroom with Jaccuzzi
  • Deluxe Suite Queen
 of 5 bubbles Irishka60645, May 2, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question