We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Kimpton Journeyman Hotel

310 E Chicago St, Milwaukee, WI 53202-5810
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Lowest prices for your stay
View Deal
Free cancellation until 07/25/21
Reserve now, pay at stay
View Deal
Free cancellation until 07/25/21
Reserve now, pay at stay
View Deal
SAVE $55
View all 18 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (145)
Room & Suite (44)
Dining (42)
Travel safe during COVID-19
What you can expect during your stay
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
Updated 11/20/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from The Kimpton Journeyman Hotel
Updated 11/20/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.


#12 of 63 hotels in Milwaukee
Travelers' Choice

Looking for a place to stay in Milwaukee? Then look no further than The Kimpton Journeyman Hotel, a charming hotel that brings the best of Milwaukee to your doorstep.

Rooms at The Kimpton Journeyman Hotel provide a flat screen TV, a minibar, and air conditioning, and guests can stay connected with free wifi.

In addition, while staying at The Kimpton Journeyman Hotel guests have access to a 24 hour front desk, room service, and a concierge. You can also enjoy a fitness center and a lounge. Need a place to park? There is paid private parking available on-site.

Nearby landmarks such as Bronze Fonz (0.6 mi) and Old World 3rd St. (0.8 mi) make The Kimpton Journeyman Hotel a great place to stay when visiting Milwaukee.

Travelers looking to enjoy some tapas can head to La Merenda, Odd Duck, or Swig. Otherwise, you may want to check out a diner such as Comet Cafe, Michael's Family Restaurant, or Ma Fischer’s Restaurant.

Looking to explore? Then look no further than Milwaukee RiverWalk (0.5 mi), Milwaukee Art Museum (0.6 mi), and Historic Third Ward (0.1 mi), which are some popular Milwaukee attractions – all conveniently located within walking distance of the hotel.

We’re sure you’ll enjoy your stay at The Kimpton Journeyman Hotel as you experience everything Milwaukee has to offer.

Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Electric vehicle charging station
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Bicycle rental
Bicycles available
Highchairs available
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Valet parking
Paid private parking on-site
Coffee shop
Breakfast available
Breakfast in the room
Special diet menus
Rooftop bar
Business Center with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Meeting rooms
Rooftop terrace
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor fireplace
Sun terrace
ATM on site
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Room service
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish
444Reviews9Q+A50Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 328
  • 72
  • 22
  • 15
  • 7
Time of year
Traveler type
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Scott H wrote a review Dec 2020
Diablo, California3 contributions
This hotel is fine. Nothing special. We booked a "spa" room so I could take a bath and relax. The bath is a huge failure. There are no salts, scrubs, special oils, bathrobes, slippers, or anywhere to put your items (I understand covid-18). My wine sat on the floor, I had to stand to get it, the items provided by the hotel you had to stand to reach. The tub doesn't drain properly. I stood half of my bath. The entire experience was an annoyance. We only get a day away from our kids to relax and this hotel only stressed me out. If you want a relaxing experience I recommend somewhere else or at least a different room. don't waste your money on the fake "spa experience"
Read more
Date of stay: December 2020
Response from Stefan Galovic, Guest Services / Front Office at The Kimpton Journeyman Hotel
Responded Dec 16, 2020
Hello! Thank you so much for staying with us and taking the time to provide valuable feedback!! I am sincerely sorry for the lack of a great experience you had regarding the Spa room. Indeed our property does carry complimentary bath bombs, bath salts, bathrobes, slippers, and would be able to have a stand placed inside of the shower and tub space. We have all of these items besides a stand listed in our welcome letter given upon arrival. I apologize if for some reason this was not given out or any of these items declined to you as it is our standard to make them available. Please don't hesitate in reaching out to me personally regarding this stay as I would love to hear more regarding it and correct any issues so future stays are unaffected. My email address is Stefan.galovic@journeymanhotel.com or you may reach me by phone at 414-291-3970. I hope we can touch base soon! Thank you so much again for staying with us!! All the best!!
Read more
LGC & JCFC wrote a review Nov 2020
Columbus, Ohio129 contributions70 helpful votes
Hotel- Kimpton Journeyman (Milwaukee, WI) Date- November 2020 (2 nights) Overall: 5/5. Excellent. This is a fantastic hotel, a tribute to the brand. I left the property wanting to stay longer, a clear sign of what a gem this hotel is. I will definitely be back. Rewards Club Recognition- 5/5. Excellent. Upon check-in, we were verbally thanked for our loyalty, and our room was upgraded. We were offered either welcome amenity points or a $10 Raid-the-Bar credit. A card welcoming us to the property was present in our room when we arrived, as were two small bottles of wine, some pecans, and some M&Ms. Staff- 5/5. Excellent. What a staff! Luis at the reception was kind and accommodating. He explained the services offered by the hotel and how the pandemic affected some of the usual offerings, such as the social hour and coffee service. Matthew, the bellman, was stellar. Conversational and eager to help, he and Luis provided a wonderful introduction to the property. Bernard proved quite helpful when it came to finding things to do and places to dine during our short stay. Marco, in Tre Rivali, the restaurant, was a very attentive server. Tyler at the Outsider rooftop bar was equally impressive. Kate and Marcel did a wonderful job making us feel like truly valued guests. Kudos to the hotel and restaurant team! Property Appearance & Maintenance- 5/5. Excellent. Exterior- 5/5. The entrance is clean, and the hotel is well branded. The hotel was built only a few years ago, and it is clearly well maintained. Interior-5/5. The lobby was clean and stylish, and the hallway carpet, walls, & baseboards were all in great shape. I couldn’t help but notice the greeting with our pet’s name on the dog shaped chalkboard in the lobby. I also found myself intrigued by the chandelier in the lobby, which I later learned had one light per room in the hotel: there’s nothing like a fixture with a story behind it. Accommodations- 5/5. Excellent. We were assigned a “King Spa” room, and we were very pleased. The bed was comfortable, and the bathroom had a nice soaking tub in addition to the shower. There was adequate bathroom counter space. The dog statue was a nice touch. The coffee maker we requested was in the room when we arrived. Housekeeping- 5/5. Excellent. Our room was super clean. The carpets were vacuumed, and towels and toiletries, such as shampoo, conditioner, soap, toilet paper, facial tissues, etc., were provided in a supply adequate for the length of our stay. Pool/Gym- The fitness center is open on a first come, first serve basis (social distancing required). Breakfast/Meal Options- 5/5. The restaurant, Tre Rivali, was open for dine in and carry out, and we had a wonderful experience. My shrimp dish was tasty, and my spouse devoured his carbonara dish. While the minibars are emptied during the pandemic, a popup bodega is available at the front desk. Laundry- not evaluated. Computer/Printer/WiFi- 5/5. WiFi was strong throughout the hotel and streaming was smooth. Other- This hotel does a fantastic job keeping the brand promise while still complying with COVID-19 requirements. The employees always wore masks, and sanitizing stations were present throughout the hotel. Staff members maintained appropriate physical distancing from guests and one another.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2020
Trip type: Traveled on business
2 Helpful votes
Response from Stefan Galovic, Guest Services / Front Office at The Kimpton Journeyman Hotel
Responded Dec 2, 2020
Thank you so much for staying with us and this wonderfully detailed review!! We are honored by your kind words and will always strive to excel to make experiences like your own possible! I hope we can see you again whenever travel plans take to you Milwaukee but in the meantime please take care. All the best!! Stefan Galovic - AGM
Read more
P F wrote a review Aug 2020
London, United Kingdom50 contributions18 helpful votes
Love the hotel. Great location and great rooms - very clean and tidy. Our room had amazing views of Milwaukee as well, which was a plus. There is also a nice restaurant on the ground floor with some tables outside. Amazing hip vibe in the lobby.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2019
Response from Patrick Gaskin, Owner at The Kimpton Journeyman Hotel
Responded Oct 10, 2020
Good Day pedrof539, Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience. We are delighted to hear that you loved everything about the property including the amazing location in the Third Ward, our street level restaurant Tre Rivali, led by Chef Heather Terhune and our incredible culinary team, the hip vibe of the hotel, as well as the overall cleanliness throughout. Our extremely prideful team is ecstatic that you had such a wonderful stay. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. All the best, Patrick Gaskin General Manager
Read more
millie2745 wrote a review Aug 2020
Monroe, Wisconsin15 contributions10 helpful votes
before you book with this hotel, please be aware that they are giving no forgiveness for their reservations due to covid-19. I called to cancel a reservation 2 weeks before our stay and they would not give a refund or even as much as a voucher :( I would never recommend this hotel to anyone. There are several other better hotels in Milwaukee with outstanding customer service!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020
Response from Patrick Gaskin, Owner at The Kimpton Journeyman Hotel
Responded Aug 27, 2020
Greetings Millie2745, I am absolutely shocked by your statement that the Kimpton Journeyman is not allowing for guests to cancel reservations due to Covid 19 especially two weeks in advance as that is not certainly not accurate. My apologies that was communicated to you. I am not certain if you made your reservation through a third party but I happy to help you with getting this resolved. Please reach out to me directly so I can better assist @ patrick.gaskin@kimptonhotels.com. Sincerely, Patrick General Manager
Read more
Bill wrote a review Aug 2020
Chicago, Illinois152 contributions560 helpful votes
IHG Spire. First trip in a while with COVID shutdowns... made a weekend trip out to Milwaukee. The stay was good, but something just felt off. It could be the new world we live in today, but didn't get the Kimpton warmth I'm used to at Kimptons. Pros: - Staff was courteous and professional. A front desk employee was good about making sure those who weren't masked up put on a mask. - Rooftop bar. Busy, but good drinks and if you're a guest they'll try to accommodate you to a seat with priority. - Location. In a very cool and trendy neighborhood where you can walk to everything. - Cleanliness. Room was overall very clean. Cons: - No Spire recognition or benefits were offered. - Seemed like everyone at check in received some sort of voucher or thank you for check in, except us. Assuming it was unintentional. - Rooftop bar. Because it's so busy there are people always coming and going to get to the bar. Can get loud in lobby and in room. - Service. Our rooms were never made up even when the do not disturb signs were down and I asked the front desk to send someone up when we went out during the day and the room was never made up. At that point too tired to care. No bathrobes in rooms either. I'll chalk it up to things being rusty due to COVID shutdowns, but again it didn't feel like I was at a Kimpton. I'd come back for another try.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020
3 Helpful votes
Response from Patrick Gaskin, Owner at The Kimpton Journeyman Hotel
Responded Aug 20, 2020
Greetings Bill B, Thank you for being an IHG Spire member and Kimpton fan. We appreciate you venturing out to the Journeyman for a weekend get away. I am sorry to hear you you weren't recognized as IHG Spire member or feel the Kimpton love throughout. Things are certainly re-imagined as we all navigate the new normal. The "voucher" you referenced was a welcome letter informing our guests what has been modified due to necessary changes (suspending stayover housekeeping service) and what is available upon request (i.e. bath robes). I apologize what this was not properly communicated and appreciate the constructive feedback. I am thrilled to hear that the staff throughout the building had a positive impact on your experience. Thank you for the special recognition of the Front Desk team. The Third Ward neighborhood is a special place with so much to offer. Our rooftop bar, The Outsider, is a popular destination for locals and hotels guests alike. Amazing views, great ambiance, and even better cocktails. We appreciate you giving us another opportunity next time your travels bring you to Milwaukee. Sincerely, Patrick General Manager
Read more
$247 - $497 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
United StatesWisconsinMilwaukeeHistoric Third Ward
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about The Kimpton Journeyman Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to The Kimpton Journeyman Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Escape the Room (0.2 miles), Historic Third Ward (0.1 miles), and Milwaukee Public Market (0.2 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at The Kimpton Journeyman Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a rooftop bar, free wifi, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at The Kimpton Journeyman Hotel?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at The Kimpton Journeyman Hotel?
Guests can enjoy a rooftop bar, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at The Kimpton Journeyman Hotel?
Yes, paid private parking on-site, paid private parking nearby, and valet parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Kimpton Journeyman Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include St. Paul Fish Company, Onesto, and Wicked Hop.
Are there opportunities to exercise at The Kimpton Journeyman Hotel?
Yes, guests have access to a fitness center during their stay.
Is The Kimpton Journeyman Hotel located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.4 miles away from the center of Milwaukee.
Are any cleaning services offered at The Kimpton Journeyman Hotel?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at The Kimpton Journeyman Hotel?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does The Kimpton Journeyman Hotel offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business center, meeting rooms, and conference facilities.