We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Holiday Inn Manitowoc, an IHG Hotel

Save
Share
4601 Calumet Ave I-43 & Highway 151, Manitowoc, WI 54220-9205
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Only 2 left at
$104
View deal
Free cancellation until 11/27/22
Algotels
$95
View deal
HolidayInn.com
Priceline$104
Lol.travel$124
View all 17 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (29)
Room & Suite (16)
Dining (4)

About

#5 of 6 hotels in Manitowoc
Location
4.1
Cleanliness
3.8
Service
4.0
Value
3.5
As one of the best Wisconsin hotels, the Holiday Inn® Manitowoc offers a great location, superior facilities, and award-winning service. Our hotel is conveniently located at the intersection of I-43 and US Hwy 151 (exit 149), just minutes from corporate businesses, restaurants, shopping, and a scenic Lake Michigan shoreline. Our hotel is close to area businesses, including Aquamaster, Burger Boat, Holy Family Memorial, Lakeside Foods, Lakeshore Technical College, Manitowoc Cranes, Welbilt, Manitowoc Tool and Machine, Orion Energy Systems, Parker Hannifin, Point Beach Nuclear Plant, Red Arrow Products, and Tower Tech Systems. Visitors appreciate our Manitowoc Holiday Inn® hotel's location because we are within minutes of attractions such as the Wisconsin Maritime Museum, the Rahr West Art Museum, Capitol Civic Centre, and a seven-mile Mariner's Trail along the beautiful shores of Lake Michigan. Holiday Inn®. Manitowoc has been voted the best hotel in Manitowoc for years.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Game room
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Parking
Wifi
Hot tub
Indoor pool
Heated pool
Sauna
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Vending machine
Business Center with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Baggage storage
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
ATM on site
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Room service
Safe
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Business
Languages Spoken
English
261Reviews2Q+A52Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 95
  • 69
  • 45
  • 23
  • 29
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
George S wrote a review Oct 2022
5 contributions
We were staying at this resort because we were going to a Packers game with two of our sons. Our expectations were low and we were truly surprised at what an amazing experience we had at this hotel. Highlights included a great pool and hot tub and a fabulous breakfast. The room was a good size and clean. Staff were professional and friendly. We really enjoyed our stay.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
MLSOBG wrote a review Sep 2022
Madison, Wisconsin92 contributions64 helpful votes
I had to stay here for several days for work; I was reassured that this was one of the "better" hotels in the area. I had previously stayed at a smaller, less well-known one and everyone acted surprised, told me I should stay here. I think this used to be a good place but, as many places, is suffering from lack of staffing and attention. And a few bad moves. First, the dated design of the place (most of the rooms facing out onto the atrium lobby) does no one any good---too much noise exposure and no windows for light; can't open your blinds without the people across the lobby seeing into your room. Bad design, not the fault of the staff here but make sure to try to get an "outside" room with a window if you're going to be here for more than one night. And read on. There is a bar. I thought I'd be so much better off with an on-site restaurant here (compared to my other smaller place), but there is so little staff that the restaurant makes one dish each night and so it's that or nothing, but I heard it was complimentary and was being cooked by the hotel manager. I don't think they do room service and there was one bartender who was working very hard. I went out for dinner. There is a little coffee area for the morning that "sells" Starbucks coffee (there's a Starbucks across the road); it was complimentary when I tried to pay for it. The common areas have muzak-style music playing almost constantly, and competing with that is a self-playing piano in the atrium lobby (which was pretty much always unoccupied), set much too loudly to be in an atrium lobby surrounded by windowed rooms. Bad design, bad choice for the lobby. This played all. day. long. No matter how loudly I ran my room fan or used my earphones I could hear it, so I would suggest this be re-examined as an "attraction." Many people are trying to rest or maybe (such as I) work, so less music and/or less volume would be appreciated. Overall the staff I encountered were pleasant and generally helpful when I dealt with them. I think this area is struggling and dealing with poor staffing all over. Surrounding restaurants are also struggling but several seemed to have very good service even if mediocre family-restaurant food. Room does have a coffee maker, small fridge and microwave, safe did not work in our room.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Traveled on business
Room Tip: Ask for "outside" room NOT facing the atrium---non-stop music, self-playing piano which...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from IHG Service, Owner at Holiday Inn Manitowoc, an IHG Hotel
Responded Oct 18, 2022
Dear Mary S, Thank you for selecting our hotel while visiting Manitowoc and for taking the time to provide feedback about your experience. Pleasure having you as our guest. I am truly sorry that you did not experience an exemplary stay due to dated design, the sleeping quality and the amenities. This is certainly below our usual high standard of service. Please be assured that I have noted and forwarded your comments to the management to improve. In the midst of the inconvenience, I am glad to know that the service of our staff was still appreciated. I very much hope that you will grant us the opportunity to prove ourselves again. Best Regards, Ben W. Case Manager IHGService
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
369gregoryc wrote a review Sep 2022
Maryville, United States6 contributions10 helpful votes
We were in Manitowac for a week and thought a Holiday Inn would be a safe bet - a known entity, if you will. We checked in, got to the room and noticed the safe was locked. Picked up the phone to have the front desk send Maintenance (or Security) up to unlock it so we could use it. The phone was dead. Went back downstairs to the front desk and told them first about the phone: “Oh, yeah. The phones don’t work on the second or third floors.” (There are only three floors in the hotel!). The young lady said she’d get someone up to unlock the safe for us. Four hours later, I went back down to inquire about the safe again and got the same story. “Someone will be up there shortly.” I explained that we had dinner plans in an hour and would like to use the safe when we left. By the time we had to leave, nothing had been done so we lugged our iPads and medicine back out to the car and left for dinner. We returned at 11:00 pm. Nothing had been done to unlock the safe. I told them we’d be checking out the next morning. No phones, no safe. They even advertised room service - one of the reasons we picked that hotel. Tough (actually impossible) to order room service without a phone! The overall care shown us by every staff member was a shrug of the shoulders and no offer to do anything to correct either situation. Horrible stay! Other guests were also complaining in the elevator. Empty bottles of hand sanitizer throughout the hotel. Did have breakfast the day we left, which was inedible. (Watery eggs, cold bacon and no staff)
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: Find another hotel.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from IHG Service, Owner at Holiday Inn Manitowoc, an IHG Hotel
Responded Oct 7, 2022
Hello 369gregoryc, Thanks for sharing feedback about your stay with us. We offer a simple and engaging place to rest. However, I am sorry for what happened during your stay. Your review was made known to the team, and I'm confident improvements will be made to deliver complete guest satisfaction. In line with this, do know that I sent a private message to further reach out to you. Despite the setbacks mentioned in your review, I hope you find your way back to us should your travels bring you again to the area for a chance to make your stay better than the last. Best, Ronald R. Case Manager IHGService
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
scott45 wrote a review Sep 2022
1 contribution
... traveled with a group of friends - after busy days visiting places of interest it was a pleasure to return to hotel, to relax at a bar or inner patio - and, after peaceful night sleep, having a solid breakfast bufet ... better than at home ... Thank you the management and staff ...
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
ynotbloom wrote a review Sep 2022
Wisconsin90 contributions28 helpful votes
+1
Manitowoc is a fabulous small city in northeast Wisconsin. However, located so close to our home, we’ve always taken it for granted: only going there to pick something up or see someone then return home right away. For 31st wedding anniversary, we decided to do the tourist-thing there. The Holiday Inn in the reviews looked excellent, and had been recommended by friends that lived there. Right off the bat: ideal location. Located just off the main interstate exit, and located a crossed and next to Manitowoc’s main shopping area. I might dare to say that if you can’t find it here is a traveler, you don’t need it! The Holiday Inn had penty of convenient parking, clean and manicured exterior, immaculately cared for interior public areas. The hotel staff were both cordial, friendly, professional, and efficient. At a time when it is easier to pull teeth from an enraged bobcat without anesthesia then it is to get people to apply for jobs and work, You would never know that that was an issue for the hotel. The closest it got was simply not having the “coffee shop“ and mini market manned (it was on the honor system, by taking items to the front desk for purchase). A particular shout out to Jacqueline (Jackie?!). What a rockstar! From first walking in the door to our concluding exit, you would have thought that her entire mission was to personally make our stay pleasant and comfortable. The rest of her colleagues were falling and behind in a close run for second place! Entering the hotel, you were greeted immediately by the front desk staff, who are situated right next to a beautiful and comfortable atrium, Equipped with a soft playing piano. We had too many places to see and go so we Did not take in the restaurant lounge. We did note that they were playing a free movie constantly during the weekend. We noticed other guests were taking advantage of that. They have a pool and it was all open!!! Thank goodness! They are the only hotel we’ve seen since the “end” of pandemic conditions that had one operating! Kudos! We had one of their atrium porch rooms (I’m not sure what their technical term for it would be!). A small private balcony accessible from the room via a patio-slide door, with a small table and two chairs. It had a privacy wall between the other rooms’s balconies. It had a beautiful and aesthetic second floor overview of the atrium in the lobby area. Music from the piano provided a light atmosphere, that totally made our romantic dinner there one night a moment to remember for our next 31 years. If we stay there in Manitowoc again, or we have friends visiting the area, Jacqueline and her colleagues have made this our most likely go-to place to stay.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
Room Tip: A few select rooms have small, private balconies w/table & 2 chairs overlooking the Atrium: which...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Jen G wrote a review Aug 2022
2 contributions
Great hotel, very clean. Visit Adam at the bar! Makes one of the best old fashioned I have ever had. The kids loved the pool and the free breakfast was a nice touch along with the Starbucks. Front desk staff were very accommodating. Will definitely come back again.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Willy wrote a review Jul 2022
Oshkosh, Wisconsin4 contributions
my extended family all came from out of town/state to Manitowoc for a funeral over the weekend. The staff and the accommodations were excellent. I've travelled a lot, as well as abroad, and this is one of my top ten experiences. The most kind and caring staff I've met. They are going out of the way to make this a premier destination. My advise is to please ignore any previous negative reviews and give them a try as I think management has changed with a mission to to make this a desired destination. In times like this when staffing is a challenge it's not apparent here. As a mater of fact the GM, Gary, was working late lite night shifts while we were there. Also high praise to the on duty manger Peter who took outstanding care of us.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Tracy Lyyn wrote a review Feb 2022
Forest Junction, Wisconsin115 contributions87 helpful votes
This hotel has a lot of potential and at one time it was great. Now it’s dated, dirty, and empty. The entire place is in desperate need of major renovations. Our room was clean and I don’t have any major complaints about the stay, it was very enjoyable. But if you’re looking for an upscale hotel, this is definitely not it. The parking and grass was filled with dog feces and garbage.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from IHG Service, Owner at Holiday Inn Manitowoc, an IHG Hotel
Responded Feb 21, 2022
Hi Tracylyyn, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. We're committed to providing an exceptional experience. I'm sorry to hear about the untidy parking area and outdated condition of the facility made a negative impact on your stay. I brought this up to our local management's attention. I'm confident that all you've highlighted will be looked into, so we can better serve you in the future. We're grateful to have you as one of our valued guests. We look forward to hosting your stay again and we'll do our best to make your next visit better than the last! Stay safe, Jomar M. Case Manager IHGService
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Richard R wrote a review Dec 2021
Cortland, Illinois52 contributions24 helpful votes
+1
There was a hole in the wall where the door handle meets the wall. It looks like the maintenance person put a round guard where the handle meets the wall and installed a spring guard at the bottom of the door. The guard by the door must of fell off and someone put it back on crooked. There was a gap showing the hole. I didn’t want to be responsible for the hole so I called the front desk to let them know as soon as we got in the room and noticed it. The guy at the front desk had the nerve to ask me if I did it! So the next day we went downstairs December 25th to notify a different person. She couldn’t find us in the system she thought we were in room 395 we let her know the right room and told her about the hole she said don’t worry about it. She pretended to write things down my wife was right to her side and told me she didn’t write anything down. Now the important part! The bathroom grout was dirty the exhaust fan had mold on it , the paint on the ceiling had paint that was blistering and the bathroom door had paint splitting and peeling! We ended up leaving a day earlier then planned we told the same front desk person we are checking out early she didn’t ask why. Didn’t complain about the conditions to her because of he past behavior it most likely would have not been recorded the room number is 173 and I have pictures to verify the conditions So if you stay there check your room before you check in
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from IHG Service, Owner at Holiday Inn Manitowoc, an IHG Hotel
Responded Jan 11, 2022
Hello richardrA7698BL, Thank you for your stay and for taking the time to leave us a review. I am sorry to learn that your stay fell below expectations due to issues encountered with the condition of the room allocated. I also hear your disappointment with the service provided by our staff. As our guests, we want to do our best to make sure you always have a relaxing and comfortable stay experience. Trust that your comments are all taken into account and shared with the hotel management. I'm confident that appropriate steps will be taken so this doesn't happen again. I also sent you a private message to follow up and obtain more details. We hope that you will give us another chance and provide you with an outstanding stay that you deserve! Many thanks, Jonathan A Case Manager IHGService
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
RobNew wrote a review Nov 2021
Bardstown, Kentucky3 contributions
The staff was super friendly and the rooms were super clean. I'm not exactly sure why it's getting such negative reviews unless maybe they're from a bunch of people who are just a bit too big for their britches! I have nothing but good things to say about my stay here and would choose this hotel again in a minute!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021
Location
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$108 - $161 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
holiday inn manitowoc hotel manitowoc, manitowoc holiday inn
LOCATION
United StatesWisconsinManitowoc
NUMBER OF ROOMS
204
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

HOLIDAY INN MANITOWOC, AN IHG HOTEL $89 ($̶1̶0̶4̶) - Updated 2022 Prices & Reviews - WI

Frequently Asked Questions about Holiday Inn Manitowoc, an IHG Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Holiday Inn Manitowoc, an IHG Hotel?
Nearby attractions include AMC CLassic Manitowoc 10 (0.3 miles), AMC Classic movie theater (0.3 miles), and Manitowoc County Ice Center (0.5 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Holiday Inn Manitowoc, an IHG Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, free wifi, and an on-site restaurant.
What food & drink options are available at Holiday Inn Manitowoc, an IHG Hotel?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Holiday Inn Manitowoc, an IHG Hotel?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Holiday Inn Manitowoc, an IHG Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include El Tequila, Culver's, and Fork and Knife.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Holiday Inn Manitowoc, an IHG Hotel?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool, a fitness center, and a sauna during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Holiday Inn Manitowoc, an IHG Hotel?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Holiday Inn Manitowoc, an IHG Hotel?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Holiday Inn Manitowoc, an IHG Hotel offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business center, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Are there any historical sites close to Holiday Inn Manitowoc, an IHG Hotel?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Sputnik Crash Site (3.1 miles).
Is Holiday Inn Manitowoc, an IHG Hotel accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and facilities for disabled guests. For specific inquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.