Greenway House Bed and Breakfast

Greenway House Bed and Breakfast

Traveler (51)
Room & Suite (19)
Dining (11)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Did you already book this hotel?

About

5.0
#3 of 3 B&Bs in Green Lake
Location
5.0
Cleanliness
4.9
Service
4.9
Value
4.8
Whether you're looking for a romantic weekend getaway on a beautiful lake or seeking all the action and activity of one the most popular resort destinations in Wisconsin, the Greenway House Bed and Breakfast offers something for everyone.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Wifi
Free breakfast
Special diet menus
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Shared lounge / TV area
Room features
Bathrobes
Air conditioning
Desk
Fireplace
Seating area
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Clothes rack
Iron
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Hair dryer
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
4.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Charming
Great View

Location

380 Lake St, Green Lake, WI 54941-9009
Getting there
Car recommended
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travelers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 39 out of 100
39
Outagamie County Airport
36.4 mi
See all flights
149Reviews2Q+A40Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 143
  • 2
  • 0
  • 1
  • 3
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Pat052010 wrote a review Sep 2020
Racine, Wisconsin
5.0 of 5 bubbles
The Greenway House Bed and Breakfast quickly became a favorite of ours and we return regularly. An exceptionally managed B&B by Candace and Paul. You will not find better hosts; they are kind, social, genuine and attentive to the needs of their guests. Not to mention two of the best chefs in the Green Lake area; you’ll never go away hungry. From the guest rooms to the cottage you will be welcomed by immaculate, warm and beautifully furnished
accommodations; many offering lake views. The grounds are gorgeous and well maintained. A large patio with tables/chairs and fire pit is a great place to relax well into the evenings. Location is perfect; walking distance restaurants/bars, boat rentals, public landing, fishing and downtown. You will not be disappointed with this property.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Candace Hindson, General Manager at Greenway House Bed and Breakfast
Responded Oct 21, 2020
Thanks so much to two of our favorite return guests for such a wonderful review! We're so glad you enjoy your stays with us as much as we love having you here. We always look forward to your being here to chat and catch up on things, as well as good bantering back and forth. We will see you soon!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
KQuoi527 wrote a review Jan 2020
Ironwood, Michigan
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We pulled into Green Lake after three days of cross country skiing and snow shoeing. Candace greeted us at the door and we immediately felt welcomed. Coffee, tea, wine, beer, and sparkling water were all available.

They’ve thought of everything! The Oakwood Room was perfectly appointed- amazing bed, linens, fireplace, candles, soaps and lotions.

Outside the room on the second floor is a coffee station and small refrigerator, which was used often during our stay.

Paul’s breakfast was delicious! Fresh croissant French toast, Wisconsin maple syrup and fresh fruit started our day off well. And the conversation with Paul about the history of the house and Green Lake was fascinating.

While the accommodations were lovely, the best part is the experience were Paul and Candace ... simply lovely people.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Candace H, Manager at Greenway House Bed and Breakfast
Responded Jan 4, 2020
Thank you so very much for your wonderful review! We are so glad you found us welcoming, attentive hosts and that your accommodations were comfortable and welcoming. We put a lot of love and effort into our breakfasts, using the freshest, highest quality ingredients (local, when available), and are so glad you enjoyed! We look forward to having you as our guests again, soon!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Michman46 wrote a review Sep 2021
Sebastian, Florida
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Candace & Paul are two pros that made us feel very welcome as soon as we got there. It truly is a beautful old building that has been renovated in a wonderful way. We were on the main floor in the Sherwood room which is across the asile from the breakfast room (and close to the coffee). We enjoyed the room, the deck and chairs outside our room and the whole area that was local to the Greenway. My wife and I walked across the street and down the short path to Green Lake. It was our anniversary and we were both so happy to be there for our special day.

There was chocolate for each of us on the table in our room. We had access to 24 hour coffee. They also had wine (in the small bottles) that were there for us to drink at our leisure. There was a 4-poster CA king bed with lots of pillows and cozy bedding. The room was beautifully decorated with a hardwood floor, a beautiful rug under the bed, antique furniture and a fire place. It had a large bathroom with all the amenities including robes and thick luscious towels. It would have been nice if the shower had handles for us old people.

Our breakfast the next morning started with yogurt mixed with granola and fresh fruit. The main course that day was blueberry pancakes with scrambled eggs and bacon. The coffee was excellent as was the orange juice.

We hardly recommend this B & B.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Candace Hindson, General Manager at Greenway House Bed and Breakfast
Responded Mar 19, 2022
Thank you for such a wonderful review and we were happy to be a part of your anniversary celebration, and hope that you will be our guests again. We strive to make our guests feel welcome and "at home" from the moment they come in. We are "Foodies", ourselves, so maintaining high quality, delicious breakfasts that are well-presented is very important to us. So glad you enjoyed all that the Inn has to offer!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
VGsolo wrote a review Aug 2021
Toronto, Canada
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Booked this getaway at the B&B Cottage as a splurge near the end of a roadtrip. From the B&B website photos you'll see the cottage has been recently reno'd. So imagine my surprise (even shock) to be met with the distinct smell of mothballs when I first walked into the cottage! When I mentioned it right away to Paul, he didn't seem to notice. The front porch wasn't swept either. I get that this is a cottage, but it's a cottage at an upscale B&B. As well, the glass shower enclosure was streaked, smeared & appeared not to have been cleaned. Very disappointing, to say the least. Note, too, that the cottage is not "on" the lake. It's perched at the back of another private property & has access to the owner's beach by walking their winding driveway & then down the grassy hill between two private homes. So while technically the cottage has "access" to the beach, it wasn't quite as accessible as I imagined. I booked for 3 nights & realized within an hour of arriving that I couldn't stay under these circumstances. I drove back to the main house & spoke w/ Candace to let her know. She denied the mothball smell & attributed it to lavender scented Swiffer pads used to clean the floors. I work as a realtor & certainly recognize mothballs when I encounter them. In any case, I would think scented Swiffer pads aren't really appropriate to use for cleaning public settings when so many people have scent sensitivities. Bottom line, I knew I was on the hook for all 3 nights per terms & conditions, but given the mothballs + dirty shower, feel it would have been gracious of a luxury B&B to give me a break & not charge me for all 3 nights. On a positive note, the master bed was comfortable.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
1.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Candace Hindson, General Manager at Greenway House Bed and Breakfast
Responded Mar 19, 2022
We're so sorry you were disappointed with the Cottage and am surprised that you found it not clean and not "on" the Lake. We have excellent housekeepers that take great pride in providing not only clean, but disinfected accommodations for our guests. As well, all rooms in the Inn and the Cottage are thoroughly inspected prior to guest arrival to ensure this. As far as the location - almost all of lake-front properties are owned/occupied by private residents. However, it is actually the Inn's and Cottage's owner that permits access to the Lake by a path adjacent to their home. The "mothball" smell remains a mystery, as we did a thorough search and didn't locate any. Again, we are sorry you did not enjoy your stay, and hope that you will consider staying with us if your travels bring you back to the Green Lake area.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Alec C wrote a review Oct 2020
5.0 of 5 bubbles
My wife and I stayed at the Greenway House for two nights in mid-October and loved it. Our room (the Daychola) was spacious, comfortable, and quiet. We also enjoyed the wrap around porch, which had great views. The location of the Greenway House is fantastic - close to the lake and walkable (especially in nice weather) to downtown Green Lake. Candace and Paul were excellent hosts, very welcoming with lots of good recommendations of places to eat and things to see. The stand out "feature" of the stay was breakfast, which was delicious! Real five star quality meals with fresh fruit, eggs benedict, French toast, etc. They also accommodated my wife, who is gluten free. We very much recommend staying at the Greenway House if you are in Green Lake.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Candace Hindson, General Manager at Greenway House Bed and Breakfast
Responded Apr 7, 2021
We're so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and found the inn to be welcoming and comfortable. We take pride in our breakfasts, as well and so happy you enjoyed! We hope you visit us again soon!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
WellTraveled61 wrote a review Mar 2022
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Paul and Candice were two of the nicest people you can meet, they were very accommodating and the food was delicious. We stayed in two different rooms and each was just great, clean, beautiful, and comfortable. We met some really nice people during our stay as well. We purchased two gift certificates for friends to have the same experience if not better.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Candace Hindson, General Manager at Greenway House Bed and Breakfast
Responded Mar 19, 2022
Thank you for taking the time to write such a nice review. We're so glad you enjoyed your stay with us to celebrate your birthday, and hope you will make it a tradition!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Lv2trvl55 wrote a review May 2023
Madison, Wisconsin
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We celebrated my husband's birthday by staying two nights at the Greenway House Bed and Breakfast in Green Lake, WI. The Greenway House is a restored, historic home less than a block from Green Lake. It is a very fine restoration with furnishings compatible with its late 19th century origins. Our room was immaculately clean, with a large whirlpool tub, huge shower, very comfortable bed, several sitting options, a walkout porch and overlooked a very well kept lawn and patio area. Paul, our innkeeper and cook, prepared wonderful breakfast entrees and is an engaging and interesting conversationalist. Green Lake itself is a resort town with lots to do nearby and good restaurants. We'd definitely stay at Greenway House again.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2023
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
PaulieGirl2013 wrote a review Aug 2022
Saint Paul, Minnesota
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We so enjoyed our three night stay at the Greenway House. The house is beautiful, as was our room. Paul and Candace are delightful hosts.

Some of the nice touches include chilled beverages and coffee available anytime. The outdoor wrap around porch is inviting and a great place to relax and admire the beautiful gardens.

The breakfast each day was so very filling, so much so we couldn’t eat it all!

You won’t be disappointed if you stay with Paul and Candace at the Greenway House.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Mike R wrote a review Jan 2020
5.0 of 5 bubbles
My wife and I stayed for two nights in December of 2019. We stayed in the Oakwood room which was absolutely fantastic. The house is gorgeous. Paul and Candace make you feel so welcome and are very accommodating. The breakfasts we had were wonderful. I would recommend this B&B to everybody.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Candace H, Manager at Greenway House Bed and Breakfast
Responded Jan 13, 2020
Thank you for taking the time to post your review and we are very glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Our goal is to make our guests feel welcome and "at home", while enjoying the comfort and welcoming atmosphere of the inn, along with sumptuous breakfasts! We hope to have you as our guests again when your travels bring you to Green Lake.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
hellokitty777 wrote a review Sep 2023
st. louis MO
1.0 of 5 bubbles
The cottage was beautiful. Very nicely updated and clean. The reason for the 1 star is that we had initially booked 3 nights and due to a family emergency inquired about leaving a night early. The inn keeper named Candace graciously agreed not to charge us for the early departure. We quickly realized that offer was not honored which was disappointing.

The actual town was small yet cute and Sassafras had wonderful service and excellent coffee. Also the town nearby called Ripon had a nice brewery called Knuth that was fun.

Highly recommend the area just don’t book with Greenway if you are seeking flexibility.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2023Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Candace Hindson, General Manager at Greenway House Bed and Breakfast
Responded Sep 7, 2023
We are sorry that you have got to Lie on TripAdviser, this is totality not True there was no family emergency, you booked for three nights and You decided that your 19 year daughter at college was unable to cope with you being gone for three days, Add to this Candace NEVER SAID anything about a refund, you booked three nights, we have a 14 day advance notice for cancellations. After two nights, and speaking to your Daughter, and her not being able to have MOMMY and DADDY to coddle her you left on the third day. JUST TELL THE THRUTH!!!!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Answer from Deb B
Waukesha, Wisconsin20 contributions3 helpful votes
All of the rooms have their own bathroom and all of the rooms are lovely. They have a great mix of classic and modern.
Pat L asked a question Jul 2016
West Des Moines, Iowa6 contributions12 helpful votes
Do you provide a hair dryer in each guest room?
Answer from Candace H
Green Lake, Wisconsin
Yes we do, all the amenities in your private Bathroom.
Lisa Z wrote a tip Aug 2021
Milwaukee, Wisconsin17 contributions6 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"First floor with access to outside porch"
Read full review
MarinMarais wrote a tip Aug 2021
Zurich, Switzerland160 contributions146 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Avoid if busy"
Read full review
Peter D wrote a tip Jul 2020
2 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"I think the room we had (Oakwood) was probably the quietest by virtue of it's location."
Read full review
Mary EO wrote a tip Nov 2019
United States16 contributions9 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"all rooms are lovely - check out the photos on their websites"
Read full review
NorCalifMom wrote a tip Oct 2019
Shorewood, Wisconsin106 contributions87 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Sherwood is on the main floor, just off the dining area, so pretty public when you step out."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Green Lake area.
PRICE RANGE
$270 - $338 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
United StatesWisconsinGreen Lake
NUMBER OF ROOMS
8
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

GREENWAY HOUSE BED AND BREAKFAST

Frequently Asked Questions about Greenway House Bed and Breakfast
Which popular attractions are close to Greenway House Bed and Breakfast?
Nearby attractions include Center House (3.2 miles), Green Lake Town Square (0.6 miles), and Thrasher Opera House (0.5 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Greenway House Bed and Breakfast?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and free parking.
Which room amenities are available at Greenway House Bed and Breakfast?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a desk.
What food & drink options are available at Greenway House Bed and Breakfast?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Greenway House Bed and Breakfast?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Greenway House Bed and Breakfast?
Conveniently located restaurants include Christiano's, Norton's of Green Lake, and Adams Rib.
Is Greenway House Bed and Breakfast located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.6 miles away from the center of Green Lake.
Are there any historical sites close to Greenway House Bed and Breakfast?
Many travelers enjoy visiting The Little White School House, Birthplace of the Republican Party (6.1 miles).
Is Greenway House Bed and Breakfast accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access. For specific inquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.
All Green Lake HotelsGreen Lake Hotel DealsHotels near Greenway House Bed and Breakfast
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsVacation RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars