We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
439 Lake St, Green Lake, WI 54941-9584
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

#1 of 6 Specialty lodging in Green Lake
Location
5.0
Cleanliness
4.8
Service
4.3
Value
4.3
Enjoy a classic lake experience in the heart of Green Lake. Walking distance to downtown, shopping, dining, and the wharf. Wifi, boat rentals and private pier access.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Wifi
Bicycle rental
Non-smoking hotel
Room features
Air conditioning
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
18Reviews2Q+A9Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 7
  • 8
  • 2
  • 0
  • 1
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Dale T wrote a review Aug 2021
colorado190 contributions42 helpful votes
Property has age but clean and well taken care of. Owner was very helpful. There is just coffee service no breakfast. little corporals and downtown is a couple tenths of a mile Our room had a beautiful view of the bay. The motel had a public breezeway room with some seating. We sat out there and ate dinner during ( a storm It was something I will remember for a while i would stay here again Note some windows by door didnt have blinds we wanted to get up early so it was a plus but if you wanted to sleep in this might be a minus
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
dan d wrote a review Jun 2021
EAST TROY3 contributions
Had reservation for one night June 9th. Reserved lake view room with two queen beds. Understood that a lake view was $ 10.00 more. Upon checking in the young man who checked us said I moved you to a Lakeview room ( which is what we had reserved). He than said here is your key for room # 9 . He said if you leave please close the drapes. Made sense sense it was like 90 degrees. We put our thing's the room and went to visit our daughter in Ripon. Returned around 10 pm and got ready for bed. I did need a shower since I had been doing some repairs at the daughter's. Getting shower going No hot water. Terrible I hadn't expected a $ 130.00 room to be lacking anything. Then this morning after 9am there is a knock on the door and the young man who checked us in said o I put you in the wrong room. First it was that we were supposed to be in room 10 then later it was room 11. Terrible place. Not worth $75.00 with hot water. Live and learn
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Ryan Meiborg, General Manager at Bayview Motel and Marina
Responded Jun 12, 2021
I apologize that you had a bad stay Dan. I had accidentally mixed up 9 and 11 and put you in the room with the bad shower after I had scheduled a plumber for the next morning. I found out I put you in the wrong room when I showed up in the morning with the plumber (and it is fixed now) Honest mistake, you were never supposed to be in that room. That is my personal mistake, and not indicative of a typical stay with us.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Tom C wrote a review Aug 2017
3 contributions
This will provide a concentrated glimpse for relaxing expectations. "On the water" is only the start. If you are a boater or like to fish, there is a private launch and new floating dock with plenty of room for 8 or so boats to tie up to, for the duration of your stay. It has runway lights at night so you don't ruin the star gazing (my personal favorite) and electrical service to juice up those trolling motors. There are no other places like this within a 10 minute walk to all the downtown shops restaurants, etc., where you have the flexibility of taking your boat out on the lake - 24/7 without the hassle of trailering in and out. If you need to rent a fishing boat or pontoon for a half or full day, they're available from Bill the owner, by advance reservation. The Bayview offers affordable golf packages too. Great for families (there is a swing set for the kids and bring bikes if you want) You can fish off the dock, relax and watch the sunsets under the shade of an apple tree, or umbrella tables. If you want to, feel free to use the Weber charcoal grill (steaks and charcoal not provided). Clean you fish at the cleaning station near the launch and have a fresh fish BBQ with those filets. You can get a bag of ice or your choice of ice cream bars for a dollar anytime you want. Some rooms have kitchenettes with refrigerators and other amenities like sink, plates and utensils as well as a burner to cook on. If you are on a budget there are affordable rooms with no view, or there are lake view rooms too. There is one family suite on the 2nd floor with an incredible view of the lake off the deck, and inside 2 bedrooms, kitchen, family room with a fireplace. During peak season there is a 2 night minimum on all rooms, but weeklong stays are perfect for a family get together, so everyone can enjoy needed "me time" in their own rooms if needed. The owners are Bill and Kathy who have been doing a fantastic job as hosts for 3 decades. My wife and I love to stay here and recommend it to all of our friends as Green Lake is the best lake we have found in Wisconsin. It's the deepest and around 7 miles long - 2 miles wide. The sunsets and sunrises are breathtaking and no better lake to fish, swim, ski, kayak, canoe, paddleboard or just float and have a beer in. (No swimming off the dock though) There are public beaches a short drive or bike ride away. A great escape from the stress and pressure, so when the winters are too long and the workload piles up, I'm daydreaming of my next stay, and a cocktail sunset in my favorite quite getaway. Hope to see you there sometime,
Read more
Date of stay: August 2017
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Traveled with family
Room Tip: Simple options based on view, ketchenette and # of guests for sizing
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Liketraveling0531 wrote a review Aug 2017
Germantown, Wisconsin49 contributions45 helpful votes
While the rooms could use updating, the motel is very clean. Price is right. Owner is very helpful and friendly. Right on the water, great views. Very convenient location. Recommendations for dinner were right on!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2017Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
John Y wrote a review Jul 2017
Birmingham43 contributions10 helpful votes
We stayed there three nights during the EAA Airventure. It is about a 30 minute drive from the airport at Oshkosh. But we go into the show a back way and traffic is not a problem. The motel is old, I am guessing it is a 60's property. But is is very clean, right on Green Lake with a place to relax by the lake after the show. The air conditioning works very well and the showers are hot. The owners are very nice people. Most, if not all of the guests, were also there for EAA. We had some good conversations with other guests in the evening. I certainly will stay here again in future years and I recommend it for EAA. The motel does rent boats on Green Lake if you are interested in fishing or just relaxing on the Lake.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2017
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
Trip type: Traveled with friends
Room Tip: They have rooms with a view of the lake.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
jainsea wrote a review Jan 2017
Chapel Hill, North Carolina334 contributions98 helpful votes
The Bayview motel is an old motel, one of the original at Green Lake. It has not been updated but is very clean, and the beds are comfortable! The motel is in a great location, too, right in town and across the street from the lake. The reason I hope they keep it open is because it is the last place a person can stay on Green Lake that isn't over-priced! My family was one of the first to build a cottage on the lake in the 1920's and after that cottage was sold out of our family, I used to go to the Oakwood Lodge most summers. But now that THAT was sold to an individual, every other B&B and hotel at Green Lake is SO expensive to stay in. The Bayview may be old-school, but it's reasonably priced, clean, and a good place to stay!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2016
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
Trip type: Traveled with family
Room Tip: Rooms are quiet, and comfortable.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
TomMcJr wrote a review Oct 2016
Lake Geneva70 contributions20 helpful votes
The motel doesn't look like much. And it doesn't look like it's been updated since the 1950s, but it turned out great! Very pleasant owner. Clean, comfortable room. The pink, grey, white, lt. blue ceramic tiled bathroom took me way back to my parent's original home. Nice lake view and dock. And priced right at $100.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2016
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
chrismG7346DR wrote a review Sep 2016
Crystal Lake, Illinois8 contributions
I have stayed here many times and really like the simplicity of the place. It is not fancy or upscale. It is a clean, family owned, affordable and convenient motel. The owners are always nice and accommodating. The room was big and looked out into the bay. The grounds are well kept and they have a pier at the motel. We paid $125 for a Friday night in August and enjoyed the location as we walked uptown to shop and have ice cream. The rooms have not been upgraded or modernized too much over the last 25 years but as I said, it is clean and quaint. We will stay there again.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2016
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Room Tip: ask for a water view
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Ralph Skip T wrote a review Aug 2016
DeKalb, Illinois10 contributions1 helpful vote
Upon arrival in Green Lake, Wisconsin to spend our 48th Anniversary we found this great place right on the lake. It was calm and very relaxing. The staff was very helpful in know the area and making many suggestion of places where to go and what there was to see in the area. We only stayed one night and enjoyed it.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2016
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
jbender001 wrote a review Nov 2015
Minneapolis, Minnesota10 contributions1 helpful vote
We stayed here because the family we were visiting did not have room for all the guests for a mini reunion. We were here for the 'off season' so the room rates were very reasonable, if I was here during the high season, it would be fun to get out on the lake either for a pontoon ride or fishing. It was a treat to wake up to ducks enjoying the lake before it freezes for the winter. The first night, we had a late arrival, but they left a light on for us and the heat was on so the room was warm and ready for us. We had a room with 2 double beds, the beds and pillows were comfortable. This isn't a room to lounge in, but it was roomy, with a table and 2 chairs. If we were here for a few days off to enjoy the area, this would be perfect as well, you would want to be spending your time on the water, browsing stores nearby, or taking a walk as the area is quaint and fun to explore if you are not able to get out on the lake on a particular day.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2015
Value
Cleanliness
Service
Trip type: Traveled with family
Room Tip: The area is for people that plan their own entertainment rather than depend on commercial...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Previous
12
LOCATION
United StatesWisconsinGreen Lake
NUMBER OF ROOMS
17
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Bayview Motel and Marina
Which popular attractions are close to Bayview Motel and Marina?
Nearby attractions include Center House (3.4 miles), Green Lake Town Square (0.3 miles), and Thrasher Opera House (0.3 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Bayview Motel and Marina?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free parking, and bicycle rental.
Is parking available at Bayview Motel and Marina?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Bayview Motel and Marina?
Conveniently located restaurants include Mr. & Mrs. P's Eatery, Christiano's, and Little Corporal Restaurant.
Is Bayview Motel and Marina located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.3 miles away from the center of Green Lake.
Are there any historical sites close to Bayview Motel and Marina?
Many travelers enjoy visiting The Little White School House, Birthplace of the Republican Party (6.1 miles).