We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Heidel House Resort & Spa

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Heidel House Resort & Spa
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

498 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 496: English reviews
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW via mobile

I cannot recommend this hotel. We have stayed there twice and it appears to be getting worse. The rooms are outdated with dirty carpets and loud air conditioning units. Although our dinner at Grey Rock in the spring was very good our visit to the Boathouse and Sunroom restaurants recently was poor. It is rumored this hotel was purchased by... More 

Helpful?
Thank Bill H
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I got married in Green Lake almost a month ago (Aug 16), and most of our close family and friends stayed at the Heidel House. While the grounds and location are excellent, the service and rooms left a lot to be desired. My bridal party and close cousins stayed in the Guest House, and it was quite dirty. My husband... More 

Helpful?
Thank Danielle M
Kevin K, General Manager at Heidel House Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Danielle, thank you for taking the time to review us. We are pleased that you enjoyed our beautiful grounds. However, it is disappointing that the cleanliness of the Guest House lessened this for you. We truly do understand your sense of frustration with both this and your check-in experience and are regretful that you felt this way. Please know that... More 

Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

It hurts me to write this because it was about my own wedding and I was embarrassed about how my guests felt during certain parts of our stay. Star, the wedding coordinator is over-worked and needs more help. She is outstanding considering the sub-par staff in other departments she has to deal with. When we toured the resort in choosing... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Cari H
Appleton, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
93 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Heidel House sits on a beautiful lakefront parcel of land. The grounds, the lake, and the Escapade catamaran are really the only things this resort has going for it. The facilities are extremely outdated, especially the Guest House, which was where we were placed until we complained. Those rooms were no better than what you would find in a $50/night... More 

Helpful?
Thank JLHeiny
Kevin K, General Manager at Heidel House Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your experience with us. It is wonderful to know that your cocktails with Bernie were enjoyable. Your compliments to Bernie have been shared with him, who is grateful for the kind words. However, it is disappointing that your guest room was not to your satisfaction and that this impacted your stay. Again, we are appreciative of... More 

Two Rivers, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Had a good time because I was with my kids, and grandkids but the hotel left much to be desired. Pleasant front desk welcome, cute little gift shop, perfect spot on the lake. The layout of the buildings, some quaint, picqued our interest and we couldn't wait to learn more about this place, Upon opening the door to our building,... More 

Helpful?
Thank elizd417
Kevin K, General Manager at Heidel House Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We are happy that you were able to enjoy your stay and some of the amenities such as the gift shop and the pool. However, it is disappointing that the cleanliness of your building lessened this for you. We are also sorry that your reservation had been lost for your... More 

Munster, Indiana
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Heidel House was very clean. It is an older resort but it is set on a very large lake small town in Wi. We just returned, had hoped to see the fall colors but we were a little early for that. We enjoyed the very nice indoor pool and hot tub. The beds were very comfortable. There was a fire... More 

Helpful?
Thank ladyad
Kevin K, General Manager at Heidel House Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review us. We are pleased that your stay at Heidel House Resort & Spa was a relaxing one and that you were able to enjoy the grounds and other attractions, such as the movie theatre in Ripon. Your compliments to our associates have been shared with them, as it is always wonderful to... More 

Franksville, WI
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Check in was a nightmare. Guaranteed wedding check in of 3:00. Finally got our room at 4:10. Wedding guests filled the lobby waiting for their rooms. Paid for a lakeside room so at $189 a night, would expect a nice room. Sagging mattresses, a discolored tub with a moldy tile surround... Carpet by the refrigerator was quite wet (a common... More 

Helpful?
Thank luckilinda
Kevin K, General Manager at Heidel House Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your experience. We are regretful that your check-in was not as prompt as it should have been. It is also disappointing to learn that your guest room was not to your satisfaction. Please know that we take your feedback seriously and have shared your concerns with the appropriate departments in order to have these things taken... More 

Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

My husband and I have always enjoyed this resort and their Evensong spa as well. The reason I gave 4 stars instead of 5 is just because their restaurants on site are just average and breakfast buffet is really below average quality, they definitely should work in that area. And their second restaurant is mostly closed. Other than that, rooms... More 

Helpful?
Thank WorldTraveler2616
Kevin K, General Manager at Heidel House Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review us. We are thrilled that you and your husband always enjoy your visits. It is disappointing however, to learn that your dining experiences lessen this for you. Your concerns have been shared with our culinary department. That being said, we are grateful for the feedback and hope to welcome you both back... More 

Wisconsin
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I spent my first (and probably last) weekend at Heidel House during a spa weekend with friends. I definitely assumed the resort would be a lot nicer than it turned out to be. Our suite and room was good sized, but wow, this place is so dated!! Everything, from the lobby, restaurants, pool, gym, bathrooms, bedrooms and kitchenette appliances are... More 

Helpful?
Thank farr0146
Kevin K, General Manager at Heidel House Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Thank you for reviewing us. We are glad that you were able to enjoy Green Lake. It is regretful though, that your experience was not to your satisfaction. We can understand the frustrations of having certain expectations and not having them met. Your concerns regarding cleanliness have been addressed with our housekeeping department as these are not acceptable. Once more,... More 

A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Do not go here...ever! When we went to our room there was mild on the drapes, musty smell, and dust everywhere. We gat a different room and it was better but not what I expected. The big thing at the hotel is that they just don't clean...mold, webs, dust, etc. Too bad for Grey Rock and the Spa are connected... More 

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Kevin K, General Manager at Heidel House Resort & Spa, responded to this review

We appreciate you taking the time to leave us a review. We are regretful that your experience here was lessened by the cleanliness of your guest room. Please know that your concerns have been addressed with our housekeeping department. All feedback, whether positive or constructive is valued because it enables us to improve ourselves. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

154 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (126)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (35)
Viewed
Room/Suite (28)
Viewed
View from Room (13)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (32)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (28)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Green Lake
4.4 mi away
Comfort Suites at Royal Ridges
5.6 mi away
Welcome Inn
Welcome Inn
#3 of 3 in Ripon
3.5 of 5 stars 26 reviews
4.3 mi away
Boarders Inn and Suites Ripon, WI
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.0 mi away
Countryside Lodge Magnuson Hotel
23.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN PREMIER Waterfront Hotel & Convention Center
21.8 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Oshkosh
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Beachfront
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair access
  • Beachfront
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Room Service
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Tucked away on the shores of beautiful Green Lake, Heidel House Resort & Spa is a year-round Wisconsin resort destination. Unwind, slow down and recharge at our full service resort, where fresh air and miles of shoreline are just the beginning of your Midwest lakefront getaway. For over 60 years, guests have returned to enjoy exquisite dining, championship golf, tranquil spa retreats and more. Together, these create an unparalleled Green Lake experience that you'll, too, want to enjoy again and again. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Heidel House Resort & Spa

Address: 643 Illinois Ave, Green Lake, WI 54941-9750
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Green Lake
Price Range: $98 - $319 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Heidel House Resort & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 177
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Odigeo, Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Heidel House Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heidel House Resort And Spa
Heidel House Hotel Green Lake
Heidel Resort Green Lake
Heidel Hotel Green Lake
Heidel House Green Lake
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay