We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Abbey Resort & Avani Spa

Save
Share
269 Fontana Blvd, Fontana, WI 53125-9604
10 people are viewing this hotel
Booking.com
$189
View Deal
Free cancellation until 07/22/20
Agoda.com
$189
View Deal
Free cancellation until 07/23/20
FindHotel
$189
$175
View Deal
SAVE $14
Expedia.com$189
Hotels.com$189
Travelocity$189
View all 14 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (440)
360
Panoramas (17)
Videos (2)

About

#1 of 3 hotels in Fontana
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Escape to the lake at one of the Midwest's most iconic destinations. Whether you are vacationing on a girlfriends' getaway, business retreat, romantic escape or fun filled family vacation, The Abbey Resort brings you the best of the Lake Geneva experience. The Abbey Resort, on the shores of beautiful Lake Geneva, features 90 acres of manicured grounds. This Lake Geneva resort features lodge inspired accommodations with contemporary conveniences and facilities.
Read more
Room & Suite (125)125
Full view
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Bicycle rental
Game room
Babysitting
Parking
Wifi
Hot tub
Adult pool
Indoor pool
Outdoor pool
Heated pool
Fitness classes
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Kids club
Shuttle bus service
Business Center with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Couples massage
Facial treatments
Full body massage
Massage
Salon
Baggage storage
Concierge
Convenience store
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Fireplace
Housekeeping
Room service
Safe
Microwave
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Iron
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Great View
1,637Reviews29Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 669
  • 456
  • 229
  • 151
  • 132
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Leah K wrote a review Jul 6
2 contributions
We were not made aware of the lack of housekeeping for rooms upon booking or check in. The vending machines were all broken and ate are money and when I told the staff they said “yes we are aware of that” and that was it. The Virtual Arcade that was on the website was closed even though my son called from our room and was told it was open. I asked to speak to a manager but there were none available, I left my number for a manager to call me but they never did, and I sent an email that was ignored.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020Trip type: Traveled with family
Helpful
Share
Kristina wrote a review Jul 2
1 contribution
We LOVED our stay at The Abbey! Unfortunately due to Covid our travel plans for my moms birthday we’re put to a hault. On a wim, my sister and I decided to spend a night at The Abbey and it truly surpassed our expectations. The room was clean, the view (waterfront) was something out of a brochure and the dinner at their restaurant in the hotel was out of this world (and not as expensive as I’d imagine, including cocktails!) From our patio outside our room we were able to walk to the water/piers and enjoy a bonfire at night! With this being a quick getaway trip we were not able to enjoy the spa, but will definitely be back to do so! Breakfast was room service in bed, and to top it all off we were no more than a 20 min drive to downtown Lake Geneva! For a quick getaway that was close to home during these crazy times of Covid19 The charming Abbey made us feel welcomed, safe and pampered. We will absolutely be back!
Read more
Date of stay: May 2020Trip type: Traveled with family
Helpful
Share
Response from Rebecca Rosencrans, Marketing at The Abbey Resort & Avani Spa
Responded 1 week ago
Thank you very much for taking the time to leave a review, Kristina! I'm so glad you enjoyed your spur of the moment getaway. We look forward to welcoming you back so you can enjoy Avani Spa and the rest of our amenities.
Read more
pazyamore wrote a review Jun 2020
Eufaula, Alabama12 contributions3 helpful votes
We just wanted a short getaway and the Abbey was recommended by a FB friend. The outdoor kids pool was a hit! I liked that those chairs cleaned had a frog picture to let you know. They were short on clean towels both days, though. The rooms were simple but ample. Smores for the pit was a nice touch but we were not notified that it was cancelled and heard about Smores from other guests. Kids activities were also closed. Masks used in lobby. There is a playground within walking distance as well as the lake. People were nice, especially a young lady named Luz at the pool. Overall it was a nice experience.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2020Trip type: Traveled with family
Helpful
Share
Response from Rebecca Rosencrans, Marketing at The Abbey Resort & Avani Spa
Responded 1 week ago
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. I'm so glad to read that you enjoyed your stay! Our indoor kids activity room is temporarily closed due to the current health situation, but we still have plenty of fun outdoor things to do. I will be sure to share your compliments to Luz. I hope we see you again in the future!
Read more
Daisygirla123 wrote a review Jun 2020
Maquoketa, Iowa7 contributions3 helpful votes
I REALLY wanted to love this place... the town of Fontana (village actually) is cute and quaint, but you can’t even walk into their neighborhoods... let alone swim at their beach, their lake... This resort only has lake access through their shared marina. Shared with the private marina of the Fontana citizens. And the only bit of Lake you get to see is full of seaweed. So if you’re thinking of staying here and waking up with a cup of coffee looking out at serene Lake Geneva, look elsewhere. Hell, it’s even tough to find a cup of coffee at this resort (even though they have a Starbucks in the lobby) . I got there at 6:30 am and still had to wait in a line 6 deep.They have 2 pools for the entire 6 building resort. 1 adult only which is literally just a pool. All chairs were taken. Nothing to do but look at each other as we were all wondering why the hell we were even there. The kiddie pool was packed... not even room to sit by the pool, on a Monday no less. Can’t even imagine what it was like on the weekend. Overpriced food, 2 restaurants, 1 was almost empty(because it was overpriced and trying too hard to be cool) , the other the only desperate option for food. Oh but there was some good. The staff was very kind. The room was cute, beds and pillows very comfortable. Thankfully because that was the only thing to do at this resort. But the tv doesn’t even have Hulu or Netflix, so if you end up staying here anyway, bring your fire stick because you will have nothing else to do. Unless you have rich friends with a boat nearby. Boat rentals at Gordy’s was 140.00 an hour. No thank you. Will not be returning.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2020Trip type: Traveled with family
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Rebecca Rosencrans, Marketing at The Abbey Resort & Avani Spa
Responded 1 week ago
Thank you for sharing your candid feedback with us. I'm sorry to read that the resort did not live up to expectations. We do have two outdoor pools along with two indoor pools for our guests to use. Much of the seating has been removed around the immediate pool areas to promote social spacing, but at our outdoor pools those chairs have been placed around our grounds so that our guests can still enjoy relaxing outdoors. If you do visit the Lake Geneva area again, I would recommend walking the unique Lake Shore Path where you can stroll through the properties of all of the lakefront homes.
Read more
Julie M wrote a review Jun 2020
Homewood, Illinois1 contribution2 helpful votes
We are here right now. We go to check-in and of course the room was not ready, along with 50 other people. They will call us. The place is packed. After 1 hour and waiting in a huge line again, our room was ready but they were too busy to call us. Get to our room which is nice but the bathroom has an empty soap box and the outside door has an empty beer bottle. Finally go out to eat, no restaurant has room. I come back to the room to call the front desk because they don't give you any info about anything and I wanted a list of restaurants in the area. The phone doesn't work. I then call on my cell and no one picks up the phone. Not sure what we are paying for. We are here for 3 days but thinking we are going to leave tomorrow.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2020Trip type: Traveled with family
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Rebecca Rosencrans, Marketing at The Abbey Resort & Avani Spa
Responded 1 week ago
Julie, I'm very sorry about your experience. I do hope you ended up staying and that the rest of your stay exceeded your expectations.
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$105 - $299 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
abbey hotel fontana, abbey resort and spa, abbey hotel and fontana, abbey resort and fontana, abbey wisconsin
LOCATION
United StatesWisconsinFontana
NUMBER OF ROOMS
334
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed and, for featured or sponsored sort orders, partners’ payments may also influence the order of the accommodations listed.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about The Abbey Resort & Avani Spa
Which popular attractions are close to The Abbey Resort & Avani Spa?
Nearby attractions include Belfry Music Theatre (3.8 miles), Black Point Estate (3.4 miles), and Yerkes Observatory (1.8 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at The Abbey Resort & Avani Spa?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, free wifi, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at The Abbey Resort & Avani Spa?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at The Abbey Resort & Avani Spa?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at The Abbey Resort & Avani Spa?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Abbey Resort & Avani Spa?
Conveniently located restaurants include Daddy Maxwell's, Cafe Calamari, and Mars Resort Restaurant & Bar.
Are there opportunities to exercise at The Abbey Resort & Avani Spa?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool, a fitness center, and fitness classes during their stay.
Is The Abbey Resort & Avani Spa located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.2 miles away from the center of Fontana.
Are any cleaning services offered at The Abbey Resort & Avani Spa?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does The Abbey Resort & Avani Spa offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business center, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Are there any historical sites close to The Abbey Resort & Avani Spa?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Historic Steppingstone (7.8 miles).