We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Abbey Resort & Avani Spa

Save
Share
269 Fontana Blvd, Fontana, WI 53125-9604
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Lowest prices for your stay
$89
View Deal
Expedia.com
Booking.com
Official Website
Travelocity
Snaptravel
View all 18 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (460)
360
Panoramas (17)
Videos (2)
Travel safe during COVID-19
What you can expect during your stay
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
  • Regular temperature checks for staff
  • Contactless check-in
Read more
Updated 07/13/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from The Abbey Resort & Avani Spa
Updated 07/13/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#1 of 3 hotels in Fontana
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Escape to the lake at one of the Midwest's most iconic destinations. Whether you are vacationing on a girlfriends' getaway, business retreat, romantic escape or fun filled family vacation, The Abbey Resort brings you the best of the Lake Geneva experience. The Abbey Resort, on the shores of beautiful Lake Geneva, features 90 acres of manicured grounds. This Lake Geneva resort features lodge inspired accommodations with contemporary conveniences and facilities.
Read more
Room & Suite (125)125
Full view
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Bicycle rental
Game room
Babysitting
Parking
Wifi
Hot tub
Adult pool
Indoor pool
Outdoor pool
Heated pool
Fitness classes
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Entertainment staff
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Kids club
Shuttle bus service
Business Center with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Couples massage
Facial treatments
Full body massage
Massage
Salon
Baggage storage
Concierge
Convenience store
Gift shop
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Fireplace
Housekeeping
Room service
Safe
Microwave
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Iron
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Great View
1,660Reviews32Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 673
  • 463
  • 232
  • 154
  • 138
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Edyta wrote a review Jan 7
Chicago, Illinois4 contributions2 helpful votes
I can’t believe how Abbey Resort ruined our New Year’s Eve experience. Oh I’m sorry that suppose to be a “Lounge Experience “. Three course dinner that we had to stay in line for hour and a half even tho we had 8pm reservation. Did not mean a thing ! By the time we got seated they ran out of white table cloths as pictured above , shrimps and cocktail sauce , oysters. Warmish soup we had to sip with a teaspoon . But they had plenty of horseradish... seriously.... I won’t even comment on the salad and reheated , dry piece of greenery that suppose to be broccoli that looked more like a dry kale. Horrible!!!! Almost $500 for this piece of ..... oh and one more thing .... when manager”Tim “ was approached his rude explanation was beyond believe. Someone needs to coach this guy on basic customer service skills....And that our top of the line table and as you can see an appetizer plate.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2021Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Rebecca Rosencrans, Marketing at The Abbey Resort & Avani Spa
Responded 1 week ago
Thank you for sharing your candid feedback, but I'm sorry to read that you had an unfavorable experience. Though the dinner fell short of your expectations, I do hope the remaining hours of your celebration, music and ringing in of a New Year were enjoyable and memorable.
Read more
Lisa B wrote a review Nov 2020
Chicago, Illinois405 contributions73 helpful votes
+1
Personally I do like the resort but you have to take the good with the bad. My husband and I went in September and I was extremely pleased with their handling of Covid. All employees consistently wore masks. Guests did as well unless eating or socially distanced. We chose to eat entirely on property because we did not see that concern for safety at other restaurants in the area. Building 4 was a terrific location. Lovely view of the harbor and grounds. At times it could get a bit loud. Easy walk to lake, piers, main beach etc. Very beautiful, scenic grounds and area. Avani spa pool was a treat. Nice enhancement/add-on. We didn’t purchase any spa treatments so on our second day we chose to pay the $25. No children! I was away from mine and enjoying the peace and tranquillity of this lovely pool. Sauna, steam rooms, nice showers...Loved it! Again, the place is nice, but not upscale or luxury. They are trying but still have some work to do. Many things are dated. Especially the rooms. Quite a few items are worn out. There was a crack in our bathroom sink. The decor was a few decades behind or maybe very retro? There was an earring in the shower and a few Cheerios under a table we moved so we were a tad concerned the cleaning crew should be a little more thorough. However, our harbor view room was cozy with a nice view, convenient location and we enjoyed the nice sitting area by the window (though at times a little awkward with people walking by on the shared balcony). Coffee shop in the lobby was great in the mornings. The Waterfront Restaurant had beautiful views of the marina and wonderful drinks. Very casual with mostly bbq dishes. 240 West was pretty good. Excellent service. We had consistent good service with employees. Very helpful and friendly. Again you have to take the good with the bad. For the money, I think it’s a pretty nice place. So much so that I’m going to return in January with my daughter for an overnight stay and some spa treatments. Look for specials, try not to go during peak times and you get a pretty good bang for your buck. When I called for a reservation, Rory answered and spent quite awhile giving me great advice on which day to pick and which room would be better suited for our upcoming stay. Looking forward to a repeat visit. (Oh, and a few weeks before you go, sign up for a Lake Club Card. It will save you 10% on their restaurants, some spa services & some area attractions!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Building 4 was convenient to everything and had nice harbor views.
See more room tips
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Adrienne Somerville, Marketing at The Abbey Resort & Avani Spa
Responded Dec 1, 2020
Thank you for sharing your feedback with us, Lisa. We appreciate you sharing the pros and the cons that you found while you were staying here. I will make sure to share your comments with our team. We look forward to your next visit with us in January!
Read more
LoveTravel818443 wrote a review Nov 2020
1 contribution
Where do I begin to say how disappointed we are. This was our first time staying in Lake Geneva as we usually go to Galena Thanksgiving weekend and I am just not happy. When I stay at a hotel I expect the get a good nights sleep and that definitely did not happen for either of us. The beds were the most uncomfortable and way too high to the point you couldn’t get on them, if my husband and I struggled and were in our 30’s you can only imagine how my elderly parents were, we had to help them up on and off the beds which is ridiculous and then on top of that they were just uncomfortable. The refrigerator also made a buzzing sound all night which was awesome. Do not let them fool you and tell you the fish fry is great at the Waterfront restaurant because for $17 it was not worth the money. We were so excited about the weekend and now totally disappointed, we won’t be staying there any longer, we were tempted to leave and go to a different hotel but didn’t have the extra money to or time and effort.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2020Trip type: Traveled with family
Helpful
Share
Response from Adrienne Somerville, Marketing at The Abbey Resort & Avani Spa
Responded Dec 1, 2020
Thanks for sharing your feedback. I'm sorry your room didn't live up to expectations. I hope you shared your experience with our staff while you were here so that we could remedy the situation of the fridge.
Read more
looking4theplace wrote a review Nov 2020
Springfield, Illinois34 contributions14 helpful votes
My sister and I went for a 4-day weekend only after receiving assurance that the hotel was only booking at very limited occupancy and taking necessary steps to properly sanitize. We checked into the hotel in the early evening (after dark) and were quite surprised to not have the harbor view room that we paid for. We called the desk to inquire and were told that we’d need to talk to someone the next morning. We did move to the correct room the next morning but no refund on the price differential or for the inconvenience of having to repack everything and move. We chose to dine at the resort to limit our exposure and it didn’t appear that they were concerned with social distancing. We had to ask to sit away from the other guests who were all seated in one area. We were quite surprised to learn there was a huge wedding at the resort that weekend and many rooms were occupied. By the fourth day, after wearing our masks and spending a lot of time outdoors walking along the lake, we had both started coughing. We woke up at home the following day, very sick and both tested positive for COVID-19. When I called the resort to tell the manager, he had a very laidback attitude and just thanked me for calling, like I was giving him good news. Twelve days later, both of us are still very sick. The stay was definitely not worth losing our health.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2020Trip type: Traveled with friends
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Ivan wrote a review Nov 2020
1 contribution
We received a $75 charge on our credit with NO explanation almost a month after visiting, which reminded me that the also billed us $15 "resort fee" for every night, even though it was not on the original fee. This is an unfair practice. I will post one start reviews on every portal every week until I get this money back. DO NOT VISIT THIS PLACE. This is re: Confirmation number 543031213 Btw, posting this on every platform until I get that money back, plus the $15 resort fee that wasn't disclosed at any point.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from Rebecca Rosencrans, Marketing at The Abbey Resort & Avani Spa
Responded Nov 13, 2020
Thank you for reaching out again, Ivan. I see that you did speak with our Accounting Department on Tuesday and hope that a satisfactory conclusion was reached regarding the dinner charge. I'm sorry that you found our resort services fee was not communicated properly. We do have it listed on all of our reservation platforms as well as on our confirmations to try to make sure that all of our guests are aware of this charge ahead of time. We will work on ensuring it is more prominent.
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$105 - $299 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
abbey hotel fontana, abbey resort and spa, abbey hotel and fontana, abbey resort and fontana, abbey wisconsin
LOCATION
United StatesWisconsinFontana
NUMBER OF ROOMS
334
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about The Abbey Resort & Avani Spa
Which popular attractions are close to The Abbey Resort & Avani Spa?
Nearby attractions include Belfry Music Theatre (3.8 miles), Black Point Estate (3.4 miles), and Geneva Lake Shore Path (2.9 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at The Abbey Resort & Avani Spa?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, free wifi, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at The Abbey Resort & Avani Spa?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at The Abbey Resort & Avani Spa?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at The Abbey Resort & Avani Spa?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Abbey Resort & Avani Spa?
Conveniently located restaurants include Daddy Maxwell's, Cafe Calamari, and Mars Resort Restaurant & Bar.
Are there opportunities to exercise at The Abbey Resort & Avani Spa?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool, a fitness center, and fitness classes during their stay.
Is The Abbey Resort & Avani Spa located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.2 miles away from the center of Fontana.
Are any cleaning services offered at The Abbey Resort & Avani Spa?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does The Abbey Resort & Avani Spa offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business center, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Are there any historical sites close to The Abbey Resort & Avani Spa?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Historic Steppingstone (7.8 miles).