We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

Abbey Resort & Spa

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Abbey Resort & Spa
Abbey Resort & Spa
Panoramas (17)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

972 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 972: English reviews
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
72 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

I visited this resort for a business meeting and had mixed feelings since the first initial steps. At my arrival it was raining but instead allowing me to download luggages under the hotel main entrance roof, I was asked to park at the open-air short stay 15 min parking spot. The check-in was fast and smooth. The hotel has several... More 

Helpful?
Thank Diavoletto_Direttore
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We were only there for a day while doing a triathlon but would like to come back and see more of the Abbey and the surrounding area. It is a very beautiful building in a spectacular setting. The room was quite comfortable and the staff really made us feel welcome. The Waterfront Restaurant was a good dress down dining place... More 

Helpful?
Thank LindsayBN
Mumbai India
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Stayed for a night but should have been longer! Excellent scenic location - large room (with two double beds!), ate at the restaurants down by the lake, not within the premises. They have a nice bonfire going in the evening - overall enjoyed the stay.

Helpful?
Thank SumanSengupta
Stuart, Florida
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stay away! Not quite sure what is going on here, but after bringing tens of thousands of dollars to the resort over a two day period (wedding) they insisted that I pay for what we think were my husband's ex-wife's spa services (that were actually cancelled within the allotted time). Hummm. So I settled up the accurate charges at the... More 

Helpful?
Thank hardrightedge
Sara S, Guest Relations Manager at Abbey Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Hardrightedge Thank you for reaching out to us via TripAdvisor. We apologize for the issue concerning your billing. We did credit the amount back to your Visa card on the date we spoke with you. Typically Visa takes 3-5 days to apply the credit. We request that you review your statement again to determine if the credit has been applied.... More 

Green Bay, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
62 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

The wedding we were at here was beautiful. But ... I think the room we were in should be kept up a bit better,the carpet was very dirty, the room was not the best. The drain in the shower was backing up. If we are paying resort fees for the price of the room,it should of been cleaned

Helpful?
Thank Irish56_11
Sara S, Guest Relations Manager at Abbey Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Irish56_11 Thank you for your feedback. We apologize for the inconveniences you encountered during your stay, and have shared your comments with our housekeeping manager so they will be addressed. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you in the future so we may exceed your expectations in all areas. More 

1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The facility is beautiful and very reasonable! The service from the restaurants and bars was excellent. Family friendly resort and the pools are beautiful. Gift shop is well stocked with everything you could need and reasonable prices.

Helpful?
Thank Christine D
Sara S, Guest Relations Manager at Abbey Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Christine, Thank you for your review. Could you please contact us at info@theabbeyresort.com so we can learn more about your stay. Thank you Sara More 

Mundelein, Illinois
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

If you are looking for an easy, relaxing, wedding to plan then I suggest going to the Abbey Resort. From the moment we walked in the weekend was flawless. Tabitha Bell was our Sales Manager and event planner who took care of us. She is outstanding. There are many other resorts in Lake Geneva, however, nothing compares to the overall... More 

Helpful?
Thank Amy0807
Chicago
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed here with family for a wedding, which was at a home on the lake, not at the hotel. We received such wonderful service from everyone. Monica, who checked us in, was so wonderful. The bellman was so nice with my niece & nephews and was so careful with all the wedding outfits. And when I requested early housekeeping... More 

Helpful?
Thank kbs_9
Sara S, Guest Relations Manager at Abbey Resort & Spa, responded to this review

kbs_9 Thank you for your five star review. We are delighted to read you enjoyed your time with us and look forward to your next stay. Kind regards. More 

Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Resort view rooms look at a parking lot. Check the bill for fees and Accounting doesn't work normal hours to get answers. The grounds are beautiful. Maid service needs training. It looked like our sheets had been slept in. They don't seem to know when to use a pillow case and when to use a pillow sham. The shower needs... More 

Helpful?
Thank illini1000
Sara S, Guest Relations Manager at Abbey Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Illini1000 Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We are greatly disappointed to read that you were not satisfied with your stay. If you wish to discuss your stay with a member of our management team, we encourage you to email us at info@theabbeyresort.com. We do hope we can have the opportunity to welcome you... More 

Peoria, Illinois
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Good: - We had good luck, unlike others, with actually getting to check in quite a bit early, & got to have a room right next door to my parents as requested, so were really happy with that. - Our room did not seem to have a bad or musty smell & water temp was fine in shower. I think... More 

Helpful?
Thank travelbl
Sara S, Guest Relations Manager at Abbey Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Travelbl, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us and with future travelers. We appreciate you sharing the areas that were positive, as well as those areas where we have an opportunity to improve. We have shared your feedback with our activities director so that she can address your concerns at the pool and bonfires with... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

654 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (264)
Viewed
Dining (15)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (4)
Viewed
View from Room (17)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (73)
Viewed
Room/Suite (30)
Viewed
Bathroom (10)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (12)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (4)
Viewed
Other (99)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (353)
Viewed
Amenities (85)
Viewed
Harbor View King (37)
Viewed
Harbor View Queen (26)
Viewed
Harbor View Suite (38)
Viewed
Indoor Pool (18)
Viewed
Outdoor Pool (21)
Viewed
Dining (39)
Viewed
Spa Pool (15)
Viewed
The Hotel (74)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (37)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (25)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fontana
4.2 mi away
The Ridge Hotel
The Ridge Hotel
#11 of 15 in Lake Geneva
4.0 of 5 stars 71 reviews
7.1 mi away
Geneva Inn
Geneva Inn
#4 of 15 in Lake Geneva
4.5 of 5 stars 320 reviews
5.4 mi away
Lake Lawn Resort
Lake Lawn Resort
#1 of 7 in Delavan
4.5 of 5 stars 921 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.5 mi away
Timber Ridge Lodge & Waterpark
7.9 mi away
Cove of Lake Geneva
Cove of Lake Geneva
#10 of 15 in Lake Geneva
3.5 of 5 stars 478 reviews
8.0 mi away
Maxwell Mansion
Maxwell Mansion
#3 of 15 in Lake Geneva
4.5 of 5 stars 148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Accessible rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
In your room
  • Microwave
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Escape to the lake at one of the Midwest's most iconic destinations. Whether you are vacationing on a girlfriends' getaway, business retreat, romantic escape or fun filled family vacation, The Abbey Resort brings you the best of the Lake Geneva experience. The Abbey Resort, on the shores of beautiful Lake Geneva, features 90 acres of manicured grounds. This Lake Geneva resort features lodge inspired accommodations with contemporary conveniences and facilities. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Abbey Resort & Spa

Address: 269 Fontana Blvd, Fontana, WI 53125-9604
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Fontana
Price Range: $155 - $263 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Abbey Resort & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 334
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Groupon, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Odigeo, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Abbey Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abbey Hotel Fontana
Abbey Resort And Spa
Abbey Hotel And Fontana
Abbey Resort And Fontana
Abbey Wisconsin
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay