We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
4135 Bluff Ln, Fish Creek, WI 54212-9337
E-mail hotel
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Lowest prices for your stay
Hotel direct offer!Stay 7 Nights in a Cottage and Receive 1 Night Free!
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Expedia.com
$209
View deal
Hotels.com$209
Travelocity$209
CheapTickets$209
Orbitz.com$209
FindHotel$209
Tripadvisor$209
View all 10 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (158)
Room & Suite (18)
Videos (2)
Travel safe during COVID-19
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitized in high-temperature wash
Updated 03/17/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
Updated 03/17/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Fish Creek
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travelers' Choice
For over 100 years, Thorp House Inn & Cottages has welcomed visitors to the charming village of Fish Creek. The five unique guest rooms in the Inn offer the authentic ambiance of a bygone era amidst the spectacular natural beauty of the Door County peninsula. Whirlpools and fireplaces are available. The Cottages at Thorp House Inn have a charm and following all of their own. They are just what you had in mind... cozy and private... nestled in the pines... close to the beach... in the heart of the village. Walk to shops, restaurants, Peninsula State Park and much more. Each cottage is decorated in country antiques and has its own unique character. Most have fireplaces and some have whirlpools. Both the Inn and Cottages are open year-round.
Read more
Room & Suite (18)18
Full view
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Free breakfast
Bicycle rental
Boating
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
Private check-in / check-out
Wifi
Complimentary tea
Special diet menus
Wine / champagne
Hiking
Mini golf
Ski rentals
Skiing
Windsurfing
Bicycle tours
Canoeing offsite
Evening entertainment
Fishing
Patio
Board games / puzzles
Shared lounge / TV area
Umbrella
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Fireplace
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Coffee / tea maker
Cable / satellite TV
Extra long beds
Walk-in shower
Separate living room
Sofa
Wardrobe / closet
Clothes rack
Private bathrooms
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Oven
Stovetop
Kitchenware
Flatscreen TV
iPod docking station
Whirlpool bathtub
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
See more room details
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Historic Hotel
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish
Hotel links
Special Rate:Stay 7 Nights in a Cottage and Receive 1 Night Free!
445Reviews2Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 375
  • 52
  • 10
  • 6
  • 2
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Daniel B wrote a review Apr 16
Jacksonville, Florida1 contribution
Beautiful structure and setting. The owners, Matt and Darlene are great. We've stayed in a cottage and as well as the inn, enjoying both for their individual qualities. We have reservations for this fall. Looking forward to our return.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2021
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: The Everil room offers a king sized bed, large water jetted tub, individual shower, private...
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Thorp House, Owner at Thorp House Inn & Cottages
Responded 2 days ago
Thank you for your kind review. It was nice getting to know you and we're glad you enjoyed your stay and appreciated our property. Looking forward to hosting you again this fall.
Read more
lifegoodman wrote a review Mar 2021
Dorset, United Kingdom5 contributions3 helpful votes
Property's Favorite Review
Our second time staying at Thorpe House and it won't be the last. Looked after most excellently by Matt. As well as delivering an enjoyable 'warm portion' with breakfast each morning, his advice on activities and places to eat is always spot on. There's lots to do in the surrounding area during winter, Thorpe House makes an excellent base. We love the mix of historical character, modern facilities and informal hosting. Fireplace in the bedroom. Already planning our return in spring!
Read more
Date of stay: March 2021Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Thorp House, Owner at Thorp House Inn & Cottages
Responded Mar 4, 2021
Thanks for your wonderful review. I am so glad you both returned and had a very nice time staying with us and exploring Door County. There is so much to see and do, one trip just isn't enough. Look forwarding to hosting you both again.
Read more
Linzrp wrote a review Apr 6
London, United Kingdom37 contributions6 helpful votes
We really enjoyed our stay at Thorp House. We were very comfortable in the main house in Eliza. The hosts were really nice. They gave good recommendations on activities and restaurants. Breakfast was good. We liked the location as well. Very central with access to Pennisula Park and about 30 mins to Newport Park for hiking. We would definitely return.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2021Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Thorp House, Owner at Thorp House Inn & Cottages
Responded 1 week ago
Thank you for your kind review. We are glad you found our accommodations comfortable and safe. We are fortunate to be so close to all things Fish Creek–glad you were able to enjoy the park and all the various things to do here. Look forward to hosting you again in the future.
Read more
Sarah R wrote a review Apr 6
12 contributions2 helpful votes
We've been visiting Door County for over a decade and always enjoy trying a new bnb, house rental, etc. I've always wanted to stay at the Thorp House so we decided to reserve one of the cottages with our kids over spring break. The owners are very friendly and the property is very tidy. The location is amazing -- you can see Lake Michigan across the street and you can walk to everything in downtown Fish Creek. The cottage was the perfect size for my family. The only downside to our visit was that the cottage had tons of tiny ants. They were in the kitchen, in the bathroom, and all over the living room floor. It made cooking in the kitchen a bit gross. I did speak w/ one of the owners about it was a bit surprised to learn that they already knew about the ants. She offered to come by and spray while we were out but I declined as we have a baby who is crawling (it was a product safe for kids). Ultimately, our stay was fine, but I would have appreciated a heads up that the cottage had ants as we may have changed our plans OR perhaps been offered a discount.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2021
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Thorp House, Owner at Thorp House Inn & Cottages
Responded 1 week ago
Thank you for your review and we're sorry for the ants. We had only seen a few here and there so I was not aware that so many may have been around during your stay. We have been trying to mitigate them through safe methods and found that they arrived early because of the rapid warm temperatures. Generally they are not a problem for our property, so again I apologize. We always appreciate this feedback so we can do better in the future, and we welcome complaints or critiques before a guest leaves so we can make it right. I'm happy to offer a discount on a future stay. Glad you enjoyed your time with your family and were able to take in the local amenities.
Read more
Chad D wrote a review Mar 2021
1 contribution
Our room was very clean, breakfast was wonderful, and the hosts were very acommodating and friendly. The place is a gem, very nice and cozy. We will definitely visit again. They make you feel right at home. Also, so convenient, right in the center of Fish Creek in walking distance to almost anything in town.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2021
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Thorp House, Owner at Thorp House Inn & Cottages
Responded 3 weeks ago
Thank you for your delightful review. It was so nice to host you both and we are glad you enjoyed your stay. Our staff does work hard to keep guests feeling comfortable and safe. So glad you were able to explore more of Fish Creek just steps from our door. Looking forward to hosting you again in the future.
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$143 - $299 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
thorp house inn and cottages hotel fish creek
LOCATION
United StatesWisconsinDoor CountyFish Creek
NUMBER OF ROOMS
12
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Thorp House Inn & Cottages
Which popular attractions are close to Thorp House Inn & Cottages?
Nearby attractions include Curt's Spice Co & Oilerie, Fish Creek, Wi (0.2 miles), Sunset Beach Park (0.2 miles), and Alexander Noble House Museum (0.1 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Thorp House Inn & Cottages?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and free parking.
Which room amenities are available at Thorp House Inn & Cottages?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and extra long beds.
What food & drink options are available at Thorp House Inn & Cottages?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast and complimentary tea during their stay.
Is parking available at Thorp House Inn & Cottages?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Thorp House Inn & Cottages?
Conveniently located restaurants include White Gull Inn, Blue Horse Cafe, and The Cookery Restaurant and Wine Bar.
Is Thorp House Inn & Cottages located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.1 miles away from the center of Fish Creek.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Thorp House Inn & Cottages?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Spanish.