We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

Metropolis Resort

5150 Fairview Drive, Eau Claire, WI 54701
Hotel amenities
Book on TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Metropolis Resort
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

429 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 428: English reviews
Rochester, Minnesota
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We spent two nights at the Metropolis. When we arrived I was concerned that the water park and arcade areas wouldn't occupy our kids (ages 9 and 14) for the entire stay, but to our surprise they were occupied day to night. The arcade in particular was not very busy, so the kids could play as much as they wanted... More 

Helpful?
Thank jennifer1392014
Cincinnati, Ohio
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Room clean, furniture a little beat up with scratches; breakfast was just bagels, muffins, cereal and drinks; water park is great even for adults, lazy river and great slides (3). The Pub isn't great - sides are good, burgers taste like cooked from frozen. One comment on here mentioned all high school staff - that's true, but honestly some of... More 

Helpful?
Thank lichterlady
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We took two of our grandchildren to the Metropolis Resort as a special treat. The room was clean and the staff were pleasant. My complaints are that the lighting in the room was inadequate and the activities in the attached arcade were too expensive. The lighting was all indirect and it was hard to see to read unless you held... More 

Helpful?
Thank sharileet
Sara A, General Manager at Metropolis Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our resort! We appreciate the feedback you have provided that will allow us to improve the experience for our guests. We are currently working to expand Action City to provide more attractions to keep the kids busy! We hope you can join us again soon! More 

Madison, WI
Level Contributor
72 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

When we booked, we thought that the rate of $177 was very high for a small city like Eau Claire. We were more disappointed to arrive and find an additional "resort fee" even though as part of a wedding room block, we were not using any of the resort amenities. Resort fees are ways for hotels to generate more revenue... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Marge246
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2016

quick getaway in the middle of the week so the resort was quiet and kids had plenty to do. they played nonstop at action city with a coupon I got from groupons then right to the waterpark. I had small and older girls and all had a great time.

Helpful?
1 Thank Sheila B
Sara A, General Manager at Metropolis Resort, responded to this review

I'm glad you were able to rest while the kiddos had fun. I hope you and your family can come and stay with us again! More 

Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2016

I would not recommend this place to anyone looking for somewhere to stay. The entire second floor of the hotel smelled like pot. This is a place for families, and while I don't have children, I would be absolutely disgusted to have my children in a place that smells like pot. A staff member was simply walking through the hallway... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Catherine K
Sara A, General Manager at Metropolis Resort, responded to this review

Catherine K, your feedback is very important to us and we take your comments very seriously. I can assure you I have shared your review with my team and active measures have been taken. We would encourage you to come and try us again to experience the level of service we are known for. I would love an opportunity to... More 

dbq
Level Contributor
35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2016

Easy to find just off the interstate fast check in nice clean comfortable rooms nice and quiet great little pub and grill huge water park indoor go-carts and bumper cars mini golf out side and a arcade inside with a DQ and Pizza

Helpful?
1 Thank frankatdbqcanvas
Sara A, General Manager at Metropolis Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for writing a review. I'm glad to hear you had a nice time. I hope you are able to visit us again! More 

Pine City
Level Contributor
57 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2016

We had three teen age boys with us. When calling to discuss options for rooms the staff was great and advised a deluxe bunk room. Checking in we were greeted by Emily at the front desk with a big smile and friendly greeting. She went through everything with the boys- passes, drink program etc. Our room was great for us.... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank wolfhollow
Sara A, General Manager at Metropolis Resort, responded to this review

I'm glad to hear you had a nice time at the resort. I especially like the tips. Hand sanitizing stations have already been installed. Your kind words are appreciated. I hope you can stay with us again! More 

Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2016

Our family were regular visitors for years , but have seen prices increase and what you get in exchange decrease. Staff is friendly as always but we have noticed a lot of disorganization and misinformation between staff. Action City is small and not updated. It is better for small children but teens and adults would have a tough time spending... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank WisfamilyTravels
Sara A, General Manager at Metropolis Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of your recent stay. I appreciate all of your suggestions. We have some really great things going on in the near future here at the Resort. Regarding the Action City portion of your review, I wanted to let you know that we are adding on 30,000 square feet of additional family fun! We will have... More 

Belle Plaine, Minnesota
Level Contributor
44 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2016

The waterpark was the main reason we chose this resort, besides the cheap prices. But the water was cold the first night we were there, so my daughter was not too excited about that. The second day we were there it was fine, but it is a very basic waterpark with not a whole lot of stuff to do for... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Kenneth M
Sara A, General Manager at Metropolis Resort, responded to this review

Thank for taking your time to leave a review of the Metropolis. I'm glad to hear that the heat issue was fixed during your stay in the Waterpark. I agree, our staff is exceptional! I hope you can stay with us again! More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

95 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (60)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (9)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
5:33
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (25)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (35)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (6)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Other (11)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Eau Claire hotels
1.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Eau Claire South I-94
2.0 mi away
GrandStay Residential Suites Hotel Eau Claire
2.0 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Eau Claire
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Eau Claire Conference Center
8.4 mi away
AmericInn Hotel & Suites Eau Claire
3.4 mi away
The Plaza Hotel and Suites Eau Claire
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Hot Tub
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Microwave
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Metropolis Resort is the only venue in Western Wisconsin that features extreme family fun under one roof. Part family fun center, part indoor waterpark and part hotel and conference center, the Metropolis Resort offers you a getaway with more to do and no chance of getting bored. As for hotels in Eau Claire, WI - Metropolis Resort offers an endless amount of activities for kids - from laser tag to go-karts, arcade games and mini golf - we offer it all. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Metropolis Resort

Address: 5150 Fairview Drive, Eau Claire, WI 54701
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Eau Claire
Price Range: $136 - $233 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Metropolis Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 107
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Odigeo and Hotwire so you can book your Metropolis Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Metropolis Hotel Eau Claire
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Eau Claire
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay