Inn On Lake Wissota

Inn On Lake Wissota

Lake Wissota as seen from our deck!
Traveler (125)
A room with a view...
Room & Suite (48)
Sunday Morning Breakfast
Dining (15)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Did you already book this hotel?

About

5.0
#1 of 1 B&B in Chippewa Falls
Location
4.8
Cleanliness
4.9
Service
4.8
Value
4.7
Nestled among whispering pines, and the scenic shoreline of Lake Wissota, lies a luxury retreat of comfort and rest. Come and unwind as you enjoy the beautiful views of the lake in peace and tranquillity. We extend a warm welcome to all to step away from the busyness of daily life and experience the fun and beauty that Lake Wissota and the Chippewa Valley have to offer. As you take your morning coffee on the deck, you will be welcomed by the local birds as they usher in a new day. In the evening, relax and cozy up by one of the outdoor fire tables as you reminisce about the day’s activities. Whether enjoying coffee on the deck, snuggling up with a book by your fireplace, or hiking or biking nearby under a canopy of trees, you will leave feeling refreshed. We can’t wait to welcome you and help you make the most of your time away – a time to stop, take a breath, and find rest.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Free breakfast
Hiking
Canoeing offsite
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor fireplace
Private check-in / check-out
Wifi
Breakfast available
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Special diet menus
Fishing
Patio
Board games / puzzles
Outdoor furniture
Picnic area
Shared lounge / TV area
Sun terrace
First aid kit
Room features
Air conditioning
Fireplace
Housekeeping
Room service
Seating area
Microwave
Whirlpool bathtub
Bath / shower
Wardrobe / closet
Bottled water
Iron
Private bathrooms
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
3.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Harbor View
Languages Spoken
English
319Reviews2Q+A70Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 279
  • 32
  • 2
  • 3
  • 3
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Joanne B wrote a review Jun 2020
5.0 of 5 bubbles
The location was perfect, right on the lake with gorgeous views and walking distance to walking/bike path and lakefront restaurant/bar. The home was beautiful, very clean. Beth and Roger were great hosts. The egg casserole on Saturday morning was delicious. I’m not a sweets fan so Sunday’s breakfast of blueberry French toast casserole was not my fave but my boyfriend loved it. They do have two bicycles for rent but we ran out of time. The River Bend winery is close and we spent a nice sunny afternoon there sipping wine. Our only suggestion, if even possible, is to offer an afternoon or evening cruise (for a fee) on their pontoon boat so guests can experience the lake by boat with BYO wine and cheese. Of course with Roger as the Captain! Perhaps they do, we didn’t ask but wish we would have. If we come back to this area, we’d definitely stay at the Inn on Lake Wissota again. Thank you for an enjoyable weekend.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2020Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Beth K, Owner at Inn On Lake Wissota
Responded Jun 2, 2020
We're so pleased you enjoyed your weekend stay with us and thank you for sharing your experience. River Bend winery is one of three wineries and two breweries in our area, along with the Old Abe Bike Trail there are plenty of things to do. We do rent the pontoon, so you just never know what's possible until you ask! We would love to have you back and look forward to your next visit.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Suzy B wrote a review Mar 2021
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We were looking for a tranquil place to stay and have some "me time" along with friends. The Inn felt welcoming and homey. Our rooms were very clean and the beds were comfortable along with a nice variety of bed pillows to use:) Breakfasts were both visually appealing and delicious! Can't say enough good things... Beth & Roger were amazing hosts. We will definitely be back!
Read more
Date of stay: March 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Beth Kalata, Owner at Inn On Lake Wissota
Responded Apr 5, 2021
Suzyb, thank you for the wonderful review! We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience. We are looking forward to your return visit!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
monnie377 wrote a review Apr 2020
Marshfield, Wisconsin
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed here one night in February to break up the monotony of winter. We arrived after the said check-in time but with were able to enter the building with a code provided. The note left for us upon arrival and the amenities were very nice. Facilities were welcoming and clean. Cookies, muffins, coffee, soda and water available in the evening or early morning. Our room had a nautical theme and overlooked the lake. The sitting room with fireplace was a great way to spend our morning sipping coffee and overlooking the lake before breakfast. Breakfast was a nice, hot meal with our innkeeper.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: If staying a few days I would get one of the bigger rooms as it has a sitting area.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Beth K, Owner at Inn On Lake Wissota
Responded May 21, 2020
monnie377, thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Inn on Lake Wissota, we're so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
kre8ive wrote a review Dec 2020
Philadelphia, PA
2.0 of 5 bubbles
My husband and I stayed at this property several months ago and I have waited to write a review because I wanted to make sure my perceptions were accurate and would hold up over time. This property was just okay based on our experience. The property seemed rather tired and it was clear that some long overdue maintenance was needed. Issues like stained carpets, peeling paint, rotten boards on railings and balcony, aged decor, etc. left us unimpressed. Our room was described as having a private balcony but we learned on check-in that the balcony was shared by all other guests so there was nothing "private" about it. The room was waaaaay overdone with too much decor so there were no clear surfaces to rest our belongings. This was billed as an inn but it was really nothing more than a private home on a lovely lake with bedrooms used as rentals. Our biggest disappointment was that breakfast was not served until 9:00 a.m. and we really wanted to get on our way long before that. We were awake early at 5:00 a.m., and while we realize that it too early for most people, all we wanted to do was load up our car and leave. There was nothing to see and do at the property except watch an old, outdated TV. We have decided that B&Bs are not for us because there is an artificial, forced togetherness that we don't necessarily desire. Give us an anonymous hotel any day where we don't have to listen to Trump-supporters talk about taxes and politics. That's not what a relaxing vacation is supposed to be about. We could have opted for room service, but there was a $15 charge to do so and that is a ridiculous fee in our opinion. We have since learned that during the pandemic, this property does not require face masks; however, their policy states that they are optional and guests may wear them if they choose. NO!!!!!...that's not the way it works. People wear masks not to protect themselves but to protect other people! We will not return!
Read more
Date of stay: June 2020
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Beth Kalata, Owner at Inn On Lake Wissota
Responded Dec 14, 2020
Thank you for your feedback, we appreciate the time you took to share your experience. It is disappointing to hear you were unable to have breakfast earlier than 9:00. During the pandemic we are offering 2 breakfast sittings, one at 8:00 for 4 people who prefer to social distance at breakfast and a 9:00 sitting for those who prefer to a community breakfast. Yes, the deck has peeling paint, that is a disappointment to us as well since it was just painted a few years ago. Upgrading the B&B takes time and capital, we are working on it. This fall the roof was reshingled and the skylights taken out and replaced with one. Yes, the tv's were old. Since you stayed with us we have updated the tv's in 2 of the rooms and will have the other 3 completed by the end of the year. We understand B&B's are not for everyone, we're sorry you didn't enjoy your stay with us.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
David wrote a review Mar 2020
Beaver Dam, Wisconsin
1.0 of 5 bubbles
I brought a stay for my friends at the first of the year. I paid everything in full. When the time came for my friends to go, a major storm was starting and even the schools were closed down. I immediately contacted the inn as my friends said it was too dangerous to drive and asked if we could reschedule. At first the owner said it was fine and go give her a call when they could come. When I called back, the owner said she would not refund any of the money. She changed her story each time I talked her on as of why she would not refund the money or at the very least (which all I was asking) is to re-book the time I had paid for. She still refused. So people beware of the changes and lies this place makes.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
1.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
1.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Beth K, Owner at Inn On Lake Wissota
Responded Mar 26, 2020
We can appreciate your frustration with the situation. When you called to reschedule the reservation due to an impending storm, we were willing to work with you on that. We do understand weather causes problems for those who are traveling distances. At the end of the phone call you said you were going to talk with your friends one more time to make sure they wanted to cancel since the storm was due to be done before they were scheduled to arrived. You assured me you would get back to me letting me know what they wanted to do. When I did not hear from you to we kept the room available for them, we also left a note on the front door letting them know how to get in and where to find their room since they hadn't arrived by 6:00 pm. If you had called back to let me know they weren't coming in advance I would have honored my commitment to give a gift certificate for a later stay. Since I didn't get the call officially cancelling the reservation I left it as is.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Milovan N wrote a review Jul 2022
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
5.0 of 5 bubbles
The Inn on Lake Wissota is in a part of Wisconsin noted for its outdoor recreation as much as its signature dairy farms, in particular fishing, all year around. The Lake is a flowage greated by one of many dams on the Chippewa River. The Inn sits on the northern shore and is far enough away from Chippewa Falls and the larger cite of Eau Claire to feel isolated while at the same time not far from an array of restaurants and other more urban attractions. The Inn itself is a recently refreshed house with four rooms on the upper level, three of which face the lake and have access to a common deck. The rooms are spacious and comfortable, with ample areas for sleeping and sitting. The owners are a delightful and engaging couple who clearly enjoy interacting with their guests. Our breakfast was just the right blend of familiar but special. A great place for a couples relaxing getaway.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Cassie F wrote a review Jun 2020
Madison, Wisconsin
5.0 of 5 bubbles
After being cooped up at home for two months, I was looking for a quiet place to getaway that was safe and close to nature. After looking at the Inn's website and seeing what they were doing to handle the pandemic, I thought it was a great choice for us.

We reserved the Cozy Corner room to give us a bit more space since we were staying for two nights. We didn't get to try the cookies or muffins other reviewers commented about, but Beth's breakfasts were absolutely delicious. We enjoyed chatting with her over one breakfast in the dining room and had our second breakfast out on the deck overlooking the lake, which was absolutely amazing. We especially enjoyed watching all the birds on the property.

While we visited, we enjoyed some nature by walking at nearby Lake Wissota State Park and Irvine Park in town. We talked to Roger about his fishing recommendations and ended up setting up on the pier at the Inn where we caught some catfish.

Overall we had a wonderful time! We are hoping to visit again and try out some of the other rooms. :)
Read more
Date of stay: May 2020Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Beth K, Owner at Inn On Lake Wissota
Responded Jun 5, 2020
Caspergirl26, We appreciate you taking the time to write such a wonderful review of your experience at the Inn. Yes, unfortunately Covid-19 has taken away the cookies and muffins for the time being. We'll have to see what our new normal looks like and see if we can't incorporate them back into the experience we offer at the Inn. The safety of our guests is always top of mind here at Inn on Lake Wissota. We look forward to greeting you again sometime!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Thaddeus R wrote a review Jul 2022
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We had a wonderful stay at the Inn on Lake Wissota! Meghan and Brad were terrific hosts--warm, friendly, and inviting. The building itself is beautifully maintained, with great views of the lake, and our room (Solitude) was nicely updated and very comfortable. The breakfast was wonderful every morning, and included great conversation with the hosts and guests! Truly a fabulous experience from start to finish. Highly recommended as a charming, quiet, and relaxing place to stay!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Jeff S wrote a review Jan 2020
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Loved the Inn! Arrived on Friday night and didn't leave the building until checkout on Sunday. Yes, the entire weekend spent in the room - cozy corner. Great views of the lake, great sitting area, enjoyed the hot tub (takes 30 mins to fill though), had breakfast delivered to our room (outstanding food! Didn't know a small cream puff drizzled with chocolate on top of an orange slice would be soooo good). Totally just relaxed and the Inn was perfect for that. Will definitely be back and will explore a bit then.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Beth K, Owner at Inn On Lake Wissota
Responded Jan 22, 2020
Twoteacher, thanks for your great review! We're so happy you enjoyed your stay with us, especially the whirlpool tub. We are happy to report the plumber was in last week and has resolved that issue. The cream puff is our signature item on every breakfast plate, so glad you loved it! We are looking forward to your return visit!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The Thompsons wrote a review Dec 2020
Saint Paul, Minnesota
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We loved the Inn on Lake Wissota...gorgeous property and lake views from all the rooms I believe..The Inn was Very clean and well maintained. We were very comfortable. In the morning we were welcomed to a beautiful, delicious gourmet breakfast..and it was cool that you could pick from two different seating times or have it delivered to your room for a minimal charge. The area of Chippewa Falls has trails and many parks that were fun to explore.. we thoroughly enjoyed our time and the Hosts were wonderful. Thank you!!
Read more
Date of stay: December 2020Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Beth Kalata, Owner at Inn On Lake Wissota
Responded Dec 14, 2020
2enjoy2day, thank you so much for sharing your experience. It was our pleasure to host you and are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. It is good to hear you took advantage of the many outdoor activities the Chippewa Valley has to offer. We hope to see you again sometime soon!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Answer from landmclark2017
Hugo, Minnesota3 contributions
Pleasant View B&B 715-382-4401
Answer from Meghan S
Chippewa Falls WI16 contributions
Hi Erin, If the room is not booked for the evening you are wishing to check out we would charge $25.00/hour for each additional hour you would like to stay, with the latest checkout available at 1:00 pm. We need all the time we have between check-out and 4:00 pm to get the inn ready for our next guests, run errands, and finish our personal business. We would not be able to guarantee quiet time from 10:30 am & 1:00 pm as we will need to continue with our daily cleaning routine in order to be prepared for guests arriving later that day. We hope to see you on Sunday!
SC9728 wrote a tip Mar 2024
Madison, Wisconsin11 contributions3 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Don't plan on lunch since breakfast will fill you up!"
Read full review
Klgusty wrote a tip Oct 2023
Saint Paul, Minnesota41 contributions7 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Max's Bistro downtown is great!"
Read full review
Dennis Smasal wrote a tip Jan 2023
Portland, Oregon4 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"No children"
Read full review
WinfieldRDH wrote a tip Jun 2021
Winfield, Illinois907 contributions337 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"If available try to get a lake view"
Read full review
Jennifer A wrote a tip Mar 2021
Vail, Colorado7 contributions2 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Lower suite was comfortable for three and had a private view and outdoor patio facing the lake."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Chippewa Falls area.
PRICE RANGE
$266 - $266 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Pleasant View Bed and Breakfast
LOCATION
United StatesWisconsinChippewa Falls
NUMBER OF ROOMS
4
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

INN ON LAKE WISSOTA - Updated 2024

Frequently Asked Questions about Inn On Lake Wissota
Which popular attractions are close to Inn On Lake Wissota?
Nearby attractions include Irvine Park (4.5 miles), Lake Wissota State Park (1.5 miles), and Chippewa Candy Shop (4.1 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Inn On Lake Wissota?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and free parking.
Which room amenities are available at Inn On Lake Wissota?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a fireplace, and a seating area.
What food & drink options are available at Inn On Lake Wissota?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, complimentary tea, and free instant coffee during their stay.
Is parking available at Inn On Lake Wissota?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Inn On Lake Wissota?
Conveniently located restaurants include Chippewa family Restaurant, Olson's Ice Cream, and Casa Mexicana.
Does Inn On Lake Wissota have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the harbor view available here.
All Chippewa Falls HotelsChippewa Falls Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in Chippewa FallsHotels near Inn On Lake Wissota
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsVacation RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars