We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Black Bear Motel

Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Management photos
Black Bear Motel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

26 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 26: English reviews
Black River Falls, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2015 via mobile

I stayed at this motel last year and it was a awesome stay. Now with new owners its not the same at all. The quality and service are horrible, filthy rooms , crazy rates . No discount for the working man, do yourself and pass on by when you see this motel. It's a shame a darn shame.

Helpful?
Thank 10jerry2014
MINNEAPOLIS
Level Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2015

Nothing bad, but also nothing really good. We need a place to stay overnight, and it was just that. Place to stay that was clean and OK. The hours of the office are kind of funny, and the owners are not very fluent in English. But, if you need a place to stay that is clean and relatively inexpensive, this... More 

Helpful?
Thank PastorTrike
Cottage Grove, Minnesota
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2015

We stayed at this motel a year ago to attend a nearby annual car show in Chetek WI. Since we were very happy with everything at the Black Bear we booked again this year. What a different experience this time around! Knowing that there would be high demand for lodging over the 4th of July weekend, we made reservations several... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank SJBMLB

Travelers are raving about these Cameron hotels

St. Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2015

I used to love this little hotel. It was older but alway very clean! 3 months ago it was sold to new owners. I had book my reservation before the sale so I thought It would still be ok. Our stay was a nightmare the place was extremely dirty and dusty. Sheets were dirty, the room smelled and they left... More 

Helpful?
Thank Sandra O
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2015

We stayed at this motel last year on our way back from a vacation out west and it was so clean and neat we decided to stay again on our way home from a west vacation. BIG MISTAKE!!! Under new ownership and the parking lot and windows were dirty, the lawn needed mowing, the room was dirty and the towels... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank bobluTraverseCityMi
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2015

I was staying with my company here for work and because one person made a mistake they didn't clean our rooms for the entire week we were there, didn't change towels or trash, went into our rooms when we clearly had our DND signs out. Even management would just let themselves in our rooms without permission just to snoop!I would... More 

Helpful?
Thank JRQ85
Travis T, Owner at Black Bear Motel, responded to this review

I 'am sorry that your fellow workers couldn't abide by the rules, after you have been staying there for a period of time, and being from Wisconsin, you know that Wisconsin is smoke free! Also know that we try our best to clean your rooms, due to all your items in the room we couldn't clean your room without moving... More 

Black River Falls, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2014

Because of my job,I have been staying at the Black Bear Motel for the past 3 months. My room is always clean and I have no complaints what so ever. I go home on weekends and have peace of mind when I return Sunday night my clean room will be there. Another handy thing for me is a very nice... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank 10jerry2014
North Saint Paul, Minnesota, United States
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2014

My wife and I wanted to spend the night at Turtle Lake Casino, and as usual, they were booked solid. She found this hotel on Booking.Com since it was the closest accommodations she could find. It was only about 20-25 minutes away......very clean and comfortable....pleasantly surprised.....great value.....would stay here again if we wanted to have another casino weekend. The only... More 

Helpful?
Thank Dori L
Eau Claire, WI
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2014

Fine, older motel and a heckuva deal. The rooms are oversized, clean, and mine had a new recliner. Nice lady at the front desk and good eats right across the road. I'd stay there again in half a sec or less.

Helpful?
Thank KatieMcEauClaire_WI
stuart, United States
Level Contributor
28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2014

Don't judge this motel by the exterior...looks just OK from the outside but the inside is immaculate! Sara, the owner, called us after we left to let us know we left our computer plug there. She is mailing it to us. Loved this quaint motel...and right across the street is a mom and pop restaurant with great local food.

Helpful?
Thank Jill K
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

11 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cameron
4.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Inn
BEST WESTERN Inn
#1 of 7 in Rice Lake
4.5 of 5 stars 271 reviews
7.8 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn Chetek
4.8 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Rice Lake
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
AmeriVu Inn & Suites
AmeriVu Inn & Suites
#6 of 7 in Rice Lake
3.5 of 5 stars 213 reviews
4.5 mi away
AmericInn Hotel & Suites Rice Lake
6.2 mi away
Curriers Lakeview Lodge
Curriers Lakeview Lodge
#3 of 7 in Rice Lake
4.5 of 5 stars 96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking

Additional Information about Black Bear Motel

Address: 201 S 1st St, Cameron, WI 54822-9705
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Cameron
Price Range: $84 - $89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Black Bear Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire and Travelocity so you can book your Black Bear Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Black Bear Hotel Cameron
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay