We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ringling House Bed and Breakfast

Save
Share
201 8th St, Baraboo, WI 53913-2167
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Travelocity
Booking.com
Orbitz.com
Agoda.com
View all 9 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (27)
Room & Suite (22)
Dining (19)
Travel safe during COVID-19
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitized in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
Updated 08/04/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Ringling House Bed and Breakfast
Updated 08/04/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Baraboo
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travelers' Choice
The Ringling House Bed & Breakfast strives to provide you with comfort to ease your mind and body, time away to rekindle your relationships, and experiences to relish during your stay with us!
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Free breakfast
Bowling offsite
Canoeing offsite
Photo copier / fax In business center
Baggage storage
Newspaper
Street parking
Wifi
Breakfast in the room
Patio
Water park offsite
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor fireplace
Outdoor furniture
Picnic area
Shared kitchen
Shared lounge / TV area
First aid kit
Umbrella
24-hour check-in
Show more
Room features
Blackout curtains
Bathrobes
Air conditioning
Desk
Fireplace
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Walk-in shower
Housekeeping
Interconnected rooms available
Seating area
Wardrobe / closet
Bottled water
Clothes rack
Private bathrooms
Tile / marble floor
Wake-up service / alarm clock
On-demand movies
Whirlpool bathtub
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
City view
Landmark view
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Historic Hotel
Charming
Languages Spoken
English
123Reviews3Q+A28Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 89
  • 19
  • 8
  • 5
  • 2
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Rickcincy wrote a review Sep 2
Vail, Arizona21 contributions4 helpful votes
We wanted a place to stay near the Wisconsin Dells yet away from the tourist congestion. Baraboo is a quaint, historic town about 15 miles from the Dells. We discovered Baraboo is also the home town from which the Ringling Bros. (and other circuses) launched their world-famous Circus! This Bed & Breakfast was owned by one of the Ringling Brotherss and is itself a museum. Nearby is the Al Ringling Museum and the Circus World Museum (a must see!) You can enjoy peaceful walks in attractive neighborhoods from this Bed & Breakfast. The Innkeeper-Owners, Stewart and Julie, are quite personable and their breakfasts are varied, tasty, and satisfying!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020
Value
Cleanliness
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from Julie Hearley, Owner at Ringling House Bed and Breakfast
Responded 3 days ago
Thank you so much for your positive feedback. We are so happy that you have enjoyed your stay, and hope to see you back again in the near future!
Read more
D B wrote a review Sep 1
1 contribution
We had another relaxing, delicious and wonderful stay this year. The gracious holsts Julie and Stu have done a great job adjusting to Covid-19 while also making it a welcoming place to stay. Stu greeted and checked us in wearing a mask and at a distance. They offered breakfast on the porch, in our room or at a very safe distance in the dining room. They had hand sanitizer and wipes all throughout the house and in our room. Best of all they disinfect the room after each guest with an ozone free UV- C lamp for an hour. They also avoid going into your room during your stay unless you request it. The breakfasts were delicious with fresh fruit, german pancakes or a special egg dish and zuchini bread. I can't eat dairy so Julie found an oat and coconut yogurt for me that tasted great. I'm also pescetarian and they offered me plenty to eat. My wife loved the wonderful tile shower with many spray options and plenty of water pressure to wash her thick hair I loved the A/C as it was nearly 90 degrees during the day. We did a lot of hiking during our stay at Devil's Lake, a natural bridge, around the town, Mirror Lake, and Abelman's gorge. We also heard a lion roar and watched big cats being fed at the Wisconsin Big Cat Rescue. Thank you Julie and Stu for another wonderful stay and our hats off to you for adjusting well to Covid-19.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Julie Hearley, Owner at Ringling House Bed and Breakfast
Responded 3 days ago
We thank you for your feedback, and appreciate your response to our COVID-19 updates. You have touched on a great feature of the Baraboo area, which is there are so many things to do here! One of the many things we enjoy about this area. We are glad you enjoyed your stay, and look forward to a return visit next summer!
Read more
Renate1111 wrote a review Aug 2020
Mount Horeb, Wisconsin107 contributions39 helpful votes
We went back there this year after a good experience last year, but this time they totally dropped the ball. We did not feel welcome at all, more like a nuisance. Stu seemed inconvenienced by us when we checked in. The next morning, they got breakfast orders mixed up with another room, and expected us to eat a breakfast meant for someone else, a person named Don, as the sheet sitting on the table indicated. It had been sitting out on the porch for several hours. For all we know s.o. could have coughed or sneezed on it, eaten part of it, used the utensils or cups - not too crazy about that under normal circumstances, but certainly not in a pandemic! They did not even apologize or make it up to us in any way. When I told Julie my husband was p***d off about the treatment, since it was his birthday trip, she was condescending and said, "What do you want? We're giving you ALL this!", referring to the scraps, cold coffe and warm juice on the table. They were not GIVING us anything, breakfast was INCLUDED in the price, but we did not get what we paid for. This left such a sour taste in our mouths, we'll stop going to B&Bs alltogether, I'd rather stay in a decent hotel and not in somebody's home.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020
Value
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: Go elsewhere!
See more room tips
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Julie Hearley, Owner at Ringling House Bed and Breakfast
Responded 4 weeks ago
I applaud your thoroughness of making sure you cover all platforms available to you to give us a review. And repeat the most important point of our response "At no point did we, or would we ever ask anyone to finish another persons breakfast". Because of the new Breakfast procedures we have implemented to comply with the COVID-19 precautions, we ask that all our guests arrange for their breakfast choices upon check-in. Consequently, Bradley arranged for an 8am breakfast the next morning. We had them set up at a table out on the front porch with normal starters--fruit, juice, yogurt, coffee, baked goods. The spots are marked with the sheets for the specific rooms that were filled out the night before Unfortunately, another guest came and took their spot, and proceeded to drink their juice and ate their starters. No problem, we would just switch the two locations. The only change would be that we had to switch the room tags. No one touched the food at the new location. At 8:30am, since they hadn’t come down for Breakfast yet, we took some items in, and left the other items out. We then proceeded to serve the other guests. At 9:30am, they knocked on the kitchen door asking for breakfast, with a half full bottle of champagne in their hand. We guessed maybe they wanted a mimosa with their breakfast. Somewhat confused, we ushered them to the "new" location. As it turned out, we did not switch the juice choices that were supposed to sit there previously. Once they were seated, we offered to get them the juices they chose, hot coffee, and a hot breakfast. They replied “ we don't do a big breakfast anyway, so hot coffee and yogurt would be fine”. We proceeded to bring out a fresh pot of coffee. Brad's wife then told us her husband was very upset, and was packing up to leave. She however, was waiting for the coffee we said we would bring out. She, in a raised angry voice, said that we ruined her husband's birthday, and they felt that we treated them poorly. So we replied, “ how have we treated you poorly?” We brought out hot coffee, and we corrected the issue with the juice. We even went so far as to bring the coffee and yogurt upstairs on a tray to their room We tried to make up for whatever “slight” that had so angered them. She stated she would NEVER have arranged an 8am breakfast since it was her husband's birthday and they were on vacation. Interestingly, they did remember what juices they ordered the previous day, but evidently, not the time. They finished their coffee, packed up and left. Both my partner and I stood perplexed, knowing that while we did get a few things mixed up, however, not something that we thought would have ruined an entire vacation! When our cleaner arrived,, we mentioned our perplexing issue with one of our guests, which she immediately said, was it #4? ( they were staying in that room) How did you know? She said, “by the state of the room”, pointing to the many empty beer cans, empty wine bottle(s), and many spills on the floor. Both my partner and I now understood the sequence of events leading up to breakfast.
Read more
Sandra D wrote a review Aug 2020
Kenosha, Wisconsin2 contributions1 helpful vote
Without a doubt this is a beautiful old home the wood work the stained glass windows ect. Simply beautiful! It was the B&B experience that fell flat. The inn keepers are nice enough but not really too welcoming. The back porch is your first impression and it is cluttered with lawn garden supplies an overbearing grill and tired worn out chairs, the inside although beautiful lacked staging and class. The b&b experience that was lacking = nice linens, blankets, towels and a large AC unit in the room that wasn’t even turned on prior to our arrival on a very hot and humid day. And a average breakfast- not gourmet as you would expect - it was more like a continental breakfast at hotel. Although Covid is happening this experience still could have been much better. We would consider coming back someday for the Murder mystery dinner but not staying overnight. Overpriced for what we experienced.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Traveled with friends
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Julie Hearley, Owner at Ringling House Bed and Breakfast
Responded 4 weeks ago
Sandra, We’re sorry your experience fell flat, and we appreciate your feedback. We also appreciate the opportunity to address your review. Because we are following the Sauk County Health Department recommendations for service and lodging operations, it is difficult to project a welcoming first impression while wearing masks and limiting social interaction. Because It is incumbent on us to follow the proper precautions—not only to protect our guests—but also because WE are the business owners, and WE cannot afford to get sick. That is why we require anyone entering our place of business to wear masks upon check in, and limit social interaction when serving people in public spaces. Previous policies and procedures had to be changed due to COVID-19, but we are trying our best to comply with the law and also take care of our guests. These changes have made things more difficult, but not impossible to manage. First impressions are important, but sometimes the fact is lost that we also live on the premises, perform most of the upkeep, cleaning , cooking and event preparation OURSELVES. As sole proprietors of the B&B, you will frequently see us out and about, taking care of many tasks in-between checking in our guests So, yes-- we do leave some of our gardening supplies out, because we don’t have FT staff to handle these projects for us. Did you also notice the variety of beautiful flowers and plants around the entrance and the grounds? Yes, we do the gardening ourselves. The grill is for our personal use, but available for guest use as well. It is protected from the elements with a grill cover, and does not impede entrance or egress to the guest entrance. The 2 chairs and table are wrought iron with decorative cushions—cushions that are less than 3 years old. We receive numerous compliments about the staging and decoration of the public areas of the house. Whether you agree with our choices, is of course, a matter of opinion. Our breakfasts are served (with alterations to comply with COVID-19 precautions) with high quality organic ingredients. Nowhere do I claim to be a professional chef-- but I am a very good cook. Our breakfasts fall somewhere between basic and gourmet. We are fortunate to have gotten complements such as, “this is the best French toast I have ever had” but also contrasted with, “It was just plain French toast” from the same group on the same day!. Again, we try to stick with what works for the majority of our guests. We provide a four course breakfast including a baked good, yogurt (high quality- only a few stores carry it), fruit, and a main course. I would challenge you to find a continental breakfast this good --and even if you did, it wouldn’t have been included in your room rate—you probably would pay upwards of $10-15.00 per person extra for a comparable offering. Upon entering a room, we typically have our PT cleaning person leave the A/C turned on. We apologize for not having it turned on for you. Many love the fact that these are individual units, and as such minimize air contamination from recirculated air from other areas of the house. We have recently upgraded our cotton/bamboo blend bed linens, 100% Turkish cotton towels and summer blankets in all our rooms. They are all high-end items. Even with all these amenities, we are still able to be price competitive with other 3 star rated lodging options in the area. In fact, many say we don’t charge enough! In closing,, we thank you for staying with us, and hope to have the opportunity to serve you again, when we are able to return to our normal operating environment
Read more
Jennifer L wrote a review Aug 2020
3 contributions1 helpful vote
This bed and breakfast is very clean and has some very nice room features (air conditioning, nice modern bathrooms). It is a beautiful house with so many unique aspects. Unfortunately, compared to other B&B options it’s just not the same. B&B’s should be inviting and most have a rich history but we were not offered the history of this amazing building. We felt as if we were intruding on someone else’s home and bothering those checking us in. Breakfast was okay. Prepacked yogurt and fruit with a small breakfast of ordinary French toast. This spot has so much potential but falls short when it comes to hospitality.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Julie Hearley, Owner at Ringling House Bed and Breakfast
Responded Aug 10, 2020
We are sorry you did not completely enjoy your stay at the Ringling House Bed & Breakfast. Although we strive to make your stay as inviting and enjoyable as possible, we also appreciate constructive feedback regarding your stay. Because of the ongoing COVID-19 pandemic, we’ve had to change many of the policies and procedures that present challenges to the customer experience. Unfortunately, (for us at least) we miss the most pleasurable part the B&B experience-- the social interaction, talks around the big Henry Ringling dining room table, and conversation in the 3 common areas and large front porch of our home. How we serve breakfast has changed significantly as well. We have eliminated most self serve options, so instead of everyone meeting communally in the Dining Room, we now have to serve each group separately, stagger breakfast times as well as breakfast locations. Single serve food courses have replaced family style “choose what you want, take as much as you want” breakfasts. We really miss the interaction we used to have with our guests! Because of the added time it takes to sanitize all common areas, deep clean the rooms, and try to keep up with all our other maintenance projects, we don’t have as much time to greet, mingle and interact with our guests, and that may be part of your feelings of intrusion We apologize for that, and hope that we can return to our normal operating procedures as soon as possible. I think you will find similar situations such as ours in most lodging locations now operating under the COVID-19 restrictions. As far as our room rates, we are competitively priced with any local 3 star rated lodging option. Once we are able to return to our past operating standards, we hope you will consider staying with us again in the future.
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$90 - $151 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
United StatesWisconsinBaraboo
NUMBER OF ROOMS
6
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Ringling House Bed and Breakfast
Which popular attractions are close to Ringling House Bed and Breakfast?
Nearby attractions include Circus World (0.7 miles), Al. Ringling Mansion (0.3 miles), and Ochsner Park Zoo (0.6 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Ringling House Bed and Breakfast?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and free parking.
Which room amenities are available at Ringling House Bed and Breakfast?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Ringling House Bed and Breakfast?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Ringling House Bed and Breakfast?
Yes, free parking and street parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Ringling House Bed and Breakfast?
Conveniently located restaurants include Little Village Cafe, Broadway Diner, and Driftless Glen.
Is Ringling House Bed and Breakfast located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.5 miles away from the center of Baraboo.
Are there any historical sites close to Ringling House Bed and Breakfast?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Aldo Leopold Foundation (7.6 miles).
Does Ringling House Bed and Breakfast have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the city view available here.