We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

Wingate by Wyndham Charleston

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Wingate by Wyndham Charleston
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

860 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Wingate by Wyndham Charleston
See the most recent reviews
Showing 860: English reviews
Madison Heights, Michigan
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed at the Wingate, Saturday, November 19. 2016. The room was very nice. The staff were pleasant. Overall a nice evening.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank James C
WingateCharlestonMGR, General Manager at Wingate by Wyndham Charleston, responded to this review

Dear James C, We appreciate you sharing your comments about the visit. Come back again soon. Thanks, S Arnold, GM

Jacksonville, Florida
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Great hotel with friendly and helpful staff...especially Registration. Hotel in quiet area and within reasonable driving distance to shops and eateries. No pool only a Jacuzzi which was filthy at the time. Other than that a great stay.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Frances R
WingateCharlestonMGR, General Manager at Wingate by Wyndham Charleston, responded to this review

Dear Frances R, So glad our team was great. We pride ourselves on the staff. Sorry for the Jacuzzi condition, we did have it out for repair. Hope you can come back soon. S Arnold, GM

Walker, West Virginia
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The front desk person could have used some help at check in. The breakfast meats ran out. The spa was great. The rooms were great. Decor is nice.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Melissa D
WingateCharlestonMGR, General Manager at Wingate by Wyndham Charleston, responded to this review

Dear Melissa D, ‘Great Comments”. Thank you and we hope you will come back again soon. S Arnold, GM

Charleston, West Virginia
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I have stayed at this hotel several times, everything is usually just fine. My last stay i had left to gomeat breakfast and when i returned I was missing some money and my things had be looked through. Shortly before i left the cleaning lady was checking to see what rooms were empty. I contacted the general manager and she...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Arhsk8brd
WingateCharlestonMGR, General Manager at Wingate by Wyndham Charleston, responded to this review

Dear Arhsk8brd, Again, I apologize for the items you felt had been moved in your room. I also asked our professional to contact you personally rather than myself after our conversations. I am sorry if you have missed his calls, he did confirm that messages had been left with you. S Arnold, GM

warren
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Terrible experience for what it cost me. This hotel is right next to the rail road I was put in a room at rear of hotel right next to tracks.There is also a large chemical plant across the street. As a reward club member, would have expected to be told this at check in. Got woke up 3 times during...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 153glennr
WingateCharlestonMGR, General Manager at Wingate by Wyndham Charleston, responded to this review

Dear 153glennr, We are very sorry for your experience and would really like to opportunity to make this right. As a Wyndham Rewards member we value your business. We cannot do anything in regards to our location but we certainly own the dust and a broken clock. Again, please contact me personally so that we can discuss how I can...

Charleston, West Virginia
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I thoroughly enjoyed the stay but I did rent the hot tub suite for that reason and the Jets in the tub did not work. Other than that the room was very clean and very friendly staff.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ryandF7476IB
WingateCharlestonMGR, General Manager at Wingate by Wyndham Charleston, responded to this review

Dear ryandF74761B, We are so sorry about the jets not functioning properly and hope that you let us know so we could have sent a maintenance person to repair. Glad that everything else exceeded your expectations. S Arnold, GM

Rochester, New York
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Louis671
WingateCharlestonMGR, General Manager at Wingate by Wyndham Charleston, responded to this review

Lafayette, Indiana
Reviewed November 1, 2016

Located in an industrial area but was quiet. Room was very clean and very thing worked. Breakfast area could have been a little bigger. There was a college Volley ball team there having breakfast when we were there and space was at a premium. Food was usual fare and well stock by the staff. Next to railroad that was fairly...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank NSF4040
WingateCharlestonMGR, General Manager at Wingate by Wyndham Charleston, responded to this review

Dear NSF4040, Yes we are located in a very quiet area. Thank you for mentioning our cleanliness and the complimentary breakfast. We hope you can come back soon. S Arnold, GM

Burgaw
Reviewed October 27, 2016

We recently stayed at the Wingate in South Charleston, WV as we usually do in the fall each year. Checkin was exceptional as we frequent this Wingate and am familiar with the amendments there. Room was nice, clean and smelled nice. Was a little disappointed in the breakfast as we were looking forward to the biscuits and gravy which was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ellen H
WingateCharlestonMGR, Manager at Wingate by Wyndham Charleston, responded to this review

Dear Ellen, Thanks for coming back! We love to see our guests return, and I'm glad you had a mostly good time with us. I am sorry for the lack of biscuits and gravy on the menu while you were here last time and hopefully that won't happen when you return!

Lexington, Virginia
Reviewed October 26, 2016

This was one of our nicest hotel stays in a while. The bed was very comfortable, the room was super clean, the staff was very friendly and the fact that they had fountain Pepsi available 24 hours was a bonus as well.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jeremy R
WingateCharlestonMGR, General Manager at Wingate by Wyndham Charleston, responded to this review

Dear Jeremy, Thank you for sharing your experience. And yes having a 24 hour complimentary beverage station is certainly something different. Come back soon. S Arnold, GM

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

40 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (19)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (14)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (21)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South Charleston
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn & Suites Charleston West
3.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Charleston - Southridge
0.3 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Charleston South
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham...
#2 of 3 in South Charleston
442 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Charleston - Downtown
3.1 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Charleston
3.1 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Charleston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Free Breakfast
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Self-Serve Laundry

Additional Information about Wingate by Wyndham Charleston

Address: 402 2nd Ave, South Charleston, WV 25303-1216
Location: United States > West Virginia > South Charleston
Price Range: $104 - $131 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Wingate by Wyndham Charleston 2.5*
Number of rooms: 94
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Wingate by Wyndham Charleston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wingate By Wyndham Charleston Hotel South Charleston
Wingate South Charleston
Wingate Hotel Charleston
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Wingate by Wyndham Charleston staff and other travelers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Wingate by Wyndham Charleston staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“We were on second floor, near the front, but with a loud fan in the room, we didn't hear a thing”
 of 5 bubbles Jrsnader, Sep 27, 2016 | Read review
“Housekeeping and front desk very helpful”
 of 5 bubbles sherd966, Aug 24, 2016 | Read review
“We were just off the elevator, but had no problem sleeping or with noise.”
 of 5 bubbles michellel586, May 30, 2016 | Read review
“Any room should be fine”
 of 5 bubbles lraff1, May 11, 2016 | Read review
“Bed was a little bit high for an older person”
 of 5 bubbles hullmare, May 5, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay