We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Wingate by Wyndham Charleston

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Wingate by Wyndham Charleston
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

860 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 860: English reviews
Saint Louis, Missouri
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

 Report
Helpful?
Thank rfstl
Athens, Michigan
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

 Report
Helpful?
Thank a-aron294
Chattanooga, Tennessee
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Nice place to stay. Outside of downtown, but easy access to interstate and all points around Charleston.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jameskD7350GB
Rockford, Illinois
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Very neat and clean. Bed was like sleeping on a cloud! Quiet. Only draw back was limited eating establishments close by.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank joellena592
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Francolini61
Jeffersonville, Indiana
Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Very nice until maid took tip but didn't clean our room.got room cleaned later that night after call to front desk. Very nice room with best night sleep. I would still recommend

 Report
Helpful?
Thank tbw244
WingateCharlestonMGR, General Manager at Wingate by Wyndham Charleston, responded to this review

Dear tbw244, Best Sleep is what we strive for from all our guests. Glad we could take care of the cleaning of your room. Thank you for the recommendation. S Arnold, GM

Jackson
Reviewed 1 week ago

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Terrai E
WingateCharlestonMGR, General Manager at Wingate by Wyndham Charleston, responded to this review

Rock Hill, South Carolina
Reviewed 1 week ago

Very friendly staff, very attractive hotel. I have stayed here several times. However, on my last visit I noticed that the shower head was horrible ... sprayed all over the place, and very hard to move/adjust. Also, my television kept "freezing up" throughout the evening. Couldn't connect to WiFi. Pretty frustrating. Comfortable bed, quiet hotel.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sbow3111
WingateCharlestonMGR, General Manager at Wingate by Wyndham Charleston, responded to this review

Dear sbow311, Since you have stayed in the past you know the issues you experienced are not typical. I hope we were able to correct those issues quickly so that you could continue with a great experience. Thanks, S Arnold, GM

Upper Marlboro, Maryland
Reviewed 1 week ago

The breakfast, and the open beverage station was truly top notch....the room, including the bathroom were extremely clean...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 22cliffordw
WingateCharlestonMGR, General Manager at Wingate by Wyndham Charleston, responded to this review

Dear 22cliffordw, Well we think you’re the best for all those nice comments. Thank you. S Arnold, GM

Champaign, Illinois
Reviewed 1 week ago

 Report
Helpful?
Thank juliejZ7829JQ
WingateCharlestonMGR, General Manager at Wingate by Wyndham Charleston, responded to this review

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

40 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (19)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (14)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (21)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South Charleston
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn & Suites Charleston West
3.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Charleston - Southridge
0.3 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Charleston South
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham...
#2 of 3 in South Charleston
441 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Charleston - Downtown
3.1 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Charleston
3.1 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Charleston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Free Breakfast
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Self-Serve Laundry

Additional Information about Wingate by Wyndham Charleston

Address: 402 2nd Ave, South Charleston, WV 25303-1216
Location: United States > West Virginia > South Charleston
Price Range: $104 - $130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Wingate by Wyndham Charleston 2.5*
Number of rooms: 94
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Wingate by Wyndham Charleston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wingate By Wyndham Charleston Hotel South Charleston
Wingate South Charleston
Wingate Hotel Charleston
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Wingate by Wyndham Charleston staff and other travelers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Wingate by Wyndham Charleston staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“We were on second floor, near the front, but with a loud fan in the room, we didn't hear a thing”
 of 5 bubbles Jrsnader, Sep 27, 2016 | Read review
“Housekeeping and front desk very helpful”
 of 5 bubbles sherd966, Aug 24, 2016 | Read review
“We were just off the elevator, but had no problem sleeping or with noise.”
 of 5 bubbles michellel586, May 30, 2016 | Read review
“Any room should be fine”
 of 5 bubbles lraff1, May 11, 2016 | Read review
“Bed was a little bit high for an older person”
 of 5 bubbles hullmare, May 5, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay