We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

Clarion Hotel & Conference Center

Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Clarion Hotel & Conference Center
View Map
{"containerClass":null,"widget":{"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"name":"ibex_photo_carousel"}}
Add Photo Write a Review

210 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 210: English reviews
Baltimore MD
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW via mobile

Came here for a scrappers weekend. Lovely scenery during the drive up. Hotel was very clean and the staff were very pleasant. The hotel is rather unremarkable but that being said the stay was a pleasure. Quaint and historic town and as I said fall scenery was spectacular.

Helpful?
Thank GGWags
Angie K, Guest Relations Manager at Clarion Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review

So glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Shepherdstown in the fall is one of my favorite places to be! We hope you come back and see us :) More 

1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We did a one night visit to the Clarion. Dinner at the Rumsey Tavern (excellent!!!) and stayed in a jr suite. The property itself is very nice. The rooms are nothing special...basic, but clean. The "suite" had a sofa, coffee table and mini frig. tile dated and in need of painting. But the lobby and restaurant areas are great. We... More 

Helpful?
Thank Ellen W
Angie K, Guest Relations Manager at Clarion Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review

The food at our restaurant is truly delicious & we are so glad that you got to take advantage of our outdoor seating area! Come back and stay with us again if you are ever in the area. More 

Rectortown, Virginia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Was a last minute change from Hampton Inn, Ranson WV, had checked in and A/C did not work. Made reservation online at 8:30 PM and drove 13 miles to a nicely appointed hotel. Quick check in and a comfortable room with functioning A/C. Temp still 86 degrees outside at 9 PM. Very comfortable bed, and great night's sleep after mess... More 

Helpful?
Thank tjpdvm
Angie K, Guest Relations Manager at Clarion Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review

You are more than welcome. We hope to see you again if you are ever in the area. :) More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Not modern but clean. Has room service but room phone does not work in able to call directly from room. Amenities were above expectations after seeing such dated room. Had basketball court, 2 fitness rooms, steam room, sauna, pool, jacuzzi, and spa. The resturant on site was pretty good, didnt have a bad meal, they even offer a buffet. The... More 

Helpful?
Thank SerenaD_G
Angie K, Guest Relations Manager at Clarion Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review

We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. It sounds like you got to take advantage of our amenities and for that, we are thrilled! We hope to see you again on your next visit to the area! More 

1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

While the Clarion rooms are run-down and in serious need of updating, the warm, friendly, and professional staff go a long way to offset the aging mattresses and carpets. Of particular note is Sue the shuttle driver. She is unbelievably kind, professional, and caring. When one of our group members was ill, she received permission from the hotel manager to... More 

Helpful?
Thank Dl K
Angie K, Guest Relations Manager at Clarion Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review

Sue is indeed amazing! We are glad that you had a chance to meet her. We hope to see you again if you are ever in the area! More 

Rockville, Maryland
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

It seemed that the hotel has a consistent business trade That being said some business traveler creature comforts should be improved. Wifi access is weak, television line up is limited and you have to settle to watch NBC (olympics) through a light snow storm. $8.95 for breakfast (not included) . Tuesday and Wednesday nights see a good local crowd for... More 

Helpful?
Thank LCP_NCH
Angie K, Guest Relations Manager at Clarion Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey. I am sorry to hear that you had some issues with your stay. We have been working diligently ensuring that our customers have an enjoyable experience. We have added 18 new antennas throughout our guest rooms to ensure high speed wireless internet service. As far as the TV is... More 

In Transit
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Staff is very nice, polite and professional - cheers to them! Building is out dated and lackluster. Wifi is TERRIBLE. Streaming sites (Hulu, Netflix, etc) are blocked and the web connection isn't even strong enough to stream or even download a movie. The cable is terrible too. Analog cable that doesn't display correctly on fairly modern TVs.

Helpful?
Thank LucyPBnJ
Angie K, Guest Relations Manager at Clarion Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us! Unfortunately due to guests streaming, other guests were not able to do the simplest tasks online; therefore, we had to block the streaming. Also, perhaps your cable was loose? We would have been more than happy to fix that for you. We hope this doesn't discourage you from staying with us again on your... More 

Travelers are raving about these Shepherdstown hotels

Odenton, Maryland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We came up for the theater festival. My friend had forgotten how quickly the town fills up and got one of the last rooms in town at this hotel. I was excellent. Last time we were up, we stayed at a different place and it was not nearly as nice. The rooms were clean and quiet and it had good... More 

Helpful?
Thank barbara12november194
Angie K, Guest Relations Manager at Clarion Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review

We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to see you next July! More 

Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Dated rooms with peeling paint, scratched furniture and major stains in carpet. $4.70 for a 10 oz. latte! Nice staff, including a driver (Sue, such a nice woman and also good tour guide!) who provides complimentary shuttle service at night, 6-11 is one of the only highlights. Cute town, but the hotel needs a makeover, better food and wireless. Internet... More 

Helpful?
Thank Dubselector
Angie K, Guest Relations Manager at Clarion Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review

Thank you for your feed back. We have been updating our wireless service and have 18 antennas throughout our guest rooms. We have blocked off certain websites due to streaming taking too much bandwidth. We apologize for any inconvenience this may have caused during your stay. We strive to satisfy each one of our guests. We hope you give us... More 

Woodbridge, Virginia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Hotel room was great, Staff was very nice, could not beat the price. "Generations of Shepherdstown" had a picnic for everyone who had ever lived in Shepherdstown West Virginia. We had a great visit. Thanks to all the staff for making it an extra relaxing weekend.

Helpful?
Thank Carol H
Angie K, Guest Relations Manager at Clarion Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review

We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay in Shepherdstown. We hope to see you on your next trip! More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

54 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (29)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Other (11)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (25)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shepherdstown
0.5 mi away
Quality Inn Shepherdstown
Quality Inn Shepherdstown
#3 of 3 in Shepherdstown
3.5 of 5 stars 113 reviews
0.9 mi away
Bavarian Inn
Bavarian Inn
#1 of 3 in Shepherdstown
4.0 of 5 stars 709 reviews
8.1 mi away
Clarion Inn Harpers Ferry
Clarion Inn Harpers Ferry
#2 of 3 in Harpers Ferry
3.5 of 5 stars 193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#1 of 1 in Kearneysville
4.0 of 5 stars 80 reviews
8.2 mi away
Econo Lodge Harpers Ferry
Econo Lodge Harpers Ferry
#1 of 3 in Harpers Ferry
4.0 of 5 stars 248 reviews
9.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Charles Town
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Hot Tub
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service

Additional Information about Clarion Hotel & Conference Center

Address: 233 Lowe Dr, Shepherdstown, WV 25443-9602
Location: United States > West Virginia > Shepherdstown
Price Range: $119 - $157 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Clarion Hotel & Conference Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 168
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotwire, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Odigeo, Choice Hotels and Travelocity so you can book your Clarion Hotel & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Hotel And Conference Center
Clarion Hotel Shepherdstown
Clarion Shepherdstown
Shepherdstown Clarion
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay