We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Americas Best Value Inn - St. Albans / South Charleston

ABVI.com$50*
View Deal
06/04/2017 06/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Americas Best Value Inn - St. Albans \/ South Charleston
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

41 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 41: English reviews
Start your review of Americas Best Value Inn - St. Albans / South Charleston
 Click to rate
Charleston, West Virginia
Reviewed October 19, 2016

My husband and I are frequent guests of this hotel. About 6 months or so ago we were getting fed up with the lack of management, failure to maintain the property and unsavory characters that were allowed to stay no matter how loud or disruptive they were but then a new General Manager came and immediately we began to see...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank _cblackshire
Management response:

Dear_cblackshire, On behalf of the staff and management, I would like to personally thank you for sharing your experience with us. Yes, we are now under new managment and we are in the process of reopening the on-site restaurant in the next few weeks. We hope that you stay with us again or at another one of our locations across...

Saint Albans, West Virginia
Reviewed October 2, 2016

Unfortunately this is the closest place to us so when my mom and aunt decided to come down for a surprise visit, I recommended this place to them. I was mortified the next day when they told me how dirty the room was, even more so when I saw the room for myself. The carpet was filthy, there was what...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank D C
Management response:

Dear D C, Thank you for sharing your concerns with us. I apologize for any inconveniences you experienced while staying with us in 2016. We are now under new management and are proactively taking steps to make improvements to our facilities. We hope that these enhancements will improve the overall experience for our future guests. Regards, Marquisha-GM Americas Best Value...

Eagan, Minnesota
Reviewed September 25, 2016

The rate at check in was half of what was quoted and I can see why. The place was a dump. Bugs on the ceiling, water damage on the carpet and dirty. The room smelled like cigarettes. Some electrical outlets did not work. The remote for the TV was missing. When you flushed the toilet the water had an odor....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank abeach54
Management response:

Dear abeach54, I am concerned about the issues you had mentioned in your review. During the time you had stayed, there was a city-wide water ban in place which made national news. Unfortunately, the issue was beyond our control. Residents and businesses were all affected. We apologize for any inconveniences which this may have caused. Regards, Marquisha-GM Americas Best Value...

Chicago
Reviewed September 17, 2016 via mobile

I booked a nonsmoking room. I arrived and the room smelled heavily of smoke and the garbage was filthy so it's not like they didn't know. There was an ash tray bucket thing in front of this nonsmoking filled with cigarettes. Why don't they just bill themselves as a smoking hotel? Next to the beds were 2 long vertical mirrors....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dramaticme
Management response:

Dear Dramaticme, We appreciate hearing from you regarding your visit. During the time of your stay, there was a city-wide water ban which affected the majority of businesses and residents in the area. We were also going through some management changes at the time. I do apologize for the housekeeping and other issues you experienced with us. We have been...

Prince Frederick, Maryland
Reviewed September 1, 2016 via mobile

1. When I saw the neighborhood 2. When we pulled up to the disorganized lobby 3. When I met a truly nice check in clerk and tee shirted employees hanging around 4. When I saw dingy people smoking outside rooms 5. When I saw trash in bags sitting in air conditioner puddles in front of the toons 6. When four...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Hierge
Management response:

Dear Hierge, I sincerely apologize for the issues which have been brought to our attention in your review. Please know that there was a city-wide water ban in the area which made national headlines. Many businesses and residents were affected by this. We also going through some management changes and are striving to make improvements to our facilities. We hope...

Columbus, Ohio
Reviewed August 22, 2016

It Was The Nasty Place , I Have Ever Stayed In,I Only Slept There For 3 Hours ! Carpet Was Nasty And Stained All Over,It Looked To Be 30 Years Old Or Older!,There Was Fly's And Nat's Flying Around Room! Towel's Were Stained,Bathtub Was Backed Up,Wall's Were Nasty! And The First 2 Door Keys Didn't Work! Very Very Nasty!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank bhumphrey44
Management response:

Dear bhumphrey44, Please accept my sincerest apologies for the negative issues you had encountered during your visit in 2016. At the time we were under previous management. We are taking measures to improve our product and are in the process of reopening our on-site restaurant. We hope that these changes will improve the quality experience of our future guests. Regards,...

Montreal, Canada
Reviewed August 21, 2016

The bed bugs ( we got on camera before fleeing the place ), filth, Rust, mold, mildew, cigarette holes in the blankets and sheets, the strong smell of cigarette in the rooms, dishonest staff, drug dealings, prostitution, agitated parking lot at night. A painting of the worst a hotel can get. We gave a second, and a third chance to...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Couple-in-the-30
Management response:

Dear Couple-in-the-30, Thank you for voicing your concerns with us. I apologize for the issues you had experienced while staying with us. Please know that we are now under new management and taking corrective steps to ensure that future guests are not affected. Regards, Marquisha-GM Americas Best Value Inn-St. Albans, WV

Blacksburg, Virginia
Reviewed July 26, 2016 via mobile

This hotel was clean, everything worked and the staff was courteous. We received a bottle of water upon check in, and only stayed overnight. Would definitely stay here again if we are ever in the area again!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank keywestbullocks
Lillington, North Carolina
Reviewed June 26, 2016 via mobile

We usually stay at this hotel everytime we visit my family, and it was always ok. Never again! I always spray lysol on everything before we sit or touch anything and as I pulled sheets back there was some type of bug/worm moving. I sprayed it 3 times before it quit moving. Dust covered everything. Toliet wouldn't flush. It was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Latisha N
Nashville, North Carolina
Reviewed June 19, 2016

I didn't believe a hotel could be this bad. Save yourself the time and money and keep on looking. This place is horribly disgusting. It smells and the beds are broken. We wasted 5 minutes looking at how dark and dirty our room was before we just left to find another hotel. Luckily we found another near by, but we...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank CharleneNicoleLamm
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

59 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (40)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (23)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (19)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
06/04/2017 06/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Albans
3.6 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#1 of 4 in Cross Lanes
252 reviews
4.1 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Charleston South
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham...
#2 of 3 in South Charleston
508 reviews
11.4 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Charleston South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Mardi Gras Casino & Resort
11.4 mi away
Red Roof Inn Charleston - Kanawha City
3.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Cross Lanes
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
In your room
  • Microwave
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Welcome to the beautiful Americas Best Value Inn of South Charleston/St. Albans, West Virginia. Our 2 story, exterior design Inn situated on the Kanawha River offers 108 accommodations, some of which have a river view. Tour groups are welcome, as we offer plenty of RV and Bus parking. Our efficiencies feature full kitchens with refrigerators, microwaves, stoves, dinning and a sitting area. All of our guest rooms offer cable television, Internet access, free local calls and hairdryer. We only offer five pet friendly guest rooms so please mention whether you will be bringing a pet within the remarks section of your reservation or contact our hotel directly to make sure that we will be able to fulfill your reservation request. Come relax and enjoy the value at the Americas Best Value Inn of St. Albans. Located off I-64 Exit 54. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Americas Best Value Inn - St. Albans / South Charleston

Address: 6210 Maccorkle Ave, Saint Albans, WV 25177-2331 (Formerly Days Inn)
Location: United States > West Virginia > Saint Albans
Price Range: $54 - $56 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Americas Best Value Inn - St. Albans / South Charleston 2*
Number of rooms: 108
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Orbitz, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Americas Best Value Inn - St. Albans / South Charleston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americas Best Value Inn - St. Albans / South Charleston Hotel Saint Albans
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Americas Best Value Inn - St. Albans / South Charleston staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“The rear rooms have a view of the Kanawha river and a busted up gazebo”
dcO9734MF, Oct 2, 2016 | Read review
“Bed Bugs everywhere, don't stop here !”
  • not a single frame of clean, stain, rust, mold, mildew, filth, bugs, a delight of the worth.
  • Neither of us, used the bathroom before that picture, so whose was this ?
  • I would not sit on that nasty stain if i where you... said my beloved wife.
  • this was our room as we came in at first glance, garbage was everywhere.
  • this is a tricky one, can you spot a square of clean white to open the door?
Couple-in-the-30, Aug 21, 2016 | Read review
“Just keep driving!”
CharleneNicoleLamm, Jun 19, 2016 | Read review
“None at all”
175dmj, Feb 13, 2016 | Read review
“if you must stay, get a river view room, train tracks on the other side of the building.”
janna1550, Dec 27, 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
ABVI.com
$50* /night
View Deal
Orbitz.com
Priceline$50
TripAdvisor$50
View all 8 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates