We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Holiday Inn Express Charles Town

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Holiday Inn Express Charles Town
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

209 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 209: English reviews
Start your review of Holiday Inn Express Charles Town
 Click to rate
Wildwood, New Jersey
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We have been coming to the area for years but never stayed at this hotel. The place we usually stay is more expensive and not nearly as nice. The staff was fantastic and we loved our rooms. They offer a free shuttle over to the casino/racetrack. That was very convenient! The hotel doesn’t have a restaurant but there are plenty...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Beagle L
Jason B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Charles Town, responded to this review

I am so glad that you enjoyed your first stay with us! We try very hard to treat our guests like family and make sure that your stay is a great one. Please come and see us again.

Apex, North Carolina
Reviewed February 20, 2017

Great front desk staff at check in (Dana & Cara). They had a steady stream of check ins and they were pleasant & engaging with all. Room was super clean, beds were soft, air conditioning work well and we heard no noise! Bus picked us up at front door to go to the Hollywood Casino so that was very convenient....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Janet G
Jason B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Charles Town, responded to this review

Thank you so much for the thorough and very kind review! We try very hard to offer a great stay for our guests and Dana and Cara are instrumental in achieving that goal. We hope to see you again soon.

Aberdeen, Maryland
Reviewed January 28, 2017 via mobile

This motel is on a par with competition for the breakfast, cleanliness, and the exercise room. Its business center is very good, and you might need it because their wifi is a little obnoxious. You have to log in every time you go to your device, and it works well only with hand helds and tablets. The casino shuttle has...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank johnmoore4
Jason B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Charles Town, responded to this review

Thank you for the kind review. We hope to see you again.

Reviewed January 28, 2017 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here for our anniversary. The rooms were cleaned and smelled clean. The staff was very friendly. They offer a shuttle services to and from the casino and race track. I would highly recommend staying at this hotel.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Cakkey
Jason B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Charles Town, responded to this review

Congratulations on your anniversary! I'm glad that we could make your stay pleasant.

Dallas, Texas
Reviewed December 21, 2016 via mobile

Stayed while visiting family. Very clean. Very pleasant employees from desk to maintenance man in hallway. My room face front of building, which wasn't very quiet in the morning. Could hear talking outside.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ElaineandJim A
Jason B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Charles Town, responded to this review

I am glad that you enjoyed your stay. Unfortunately with that rooms location, it is over our main entrance and you can hear people as they come and go in the morning if they are a little loud.

Montclair, Virginia
Reviewed November 27, 2016

We selected this hotel because it was close to the Casino and had very reasonable rates. The room we stayed in was very spacious, it even had two tv's. The entire hotel was very clean. The staff were all very friendly. They offer the free breakfast with scrambled eggs, sausage, biscuits, gravy, cereals, hot cinnamon buns, toast, muffins, etc. The...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Tim J
Jason B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Charles Town, responded to this review

Thank you for your gracious words! Yes, our breakfast is outstanding. We really hope to see you again sometime.

Scottsdale, Arizona
Reviewed November 24, 2016 via mobile

Had an extended four week stay at this Holiday Inn, for business. Great location close to the casino, many amenities, and sightseeing such as Harpers Ferry and even Gettysburg. Breakfast was fantastic everyday. Staff was friendly and accommodating. Would stay here again, no question.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank thenewval
Jason B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Charles Town, responded to this review

I am so very glad to hear that you enjoyed your visit to our wonderful hotel. We look forward to visiting with you again soon.

wv
Reviewed November 11, 2016

I stayed here for one night and the room that thay gave me smelled damp and moldy,the switched my room to the second floor and it was a just fine and very clean.The pancake maker is still broke but there were other breakfast choices there to choose from.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank cainrcc
Jason B, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Charles Town, responded to this review

I am sorry that you experienced the issues that you did with the first room and the pancake machine, but I am glad that my staff was able to accommodate you with a better room on a different floor. I hope you did enjoy the other options that the breakfast offered even without the pancakes.

Charles Town, West Virginia
Reviewed October 26, 2016

Every Holiday Inn Express I've stayed at has always been clean, had a friendly staff and provided a good breakfast. This hotel in Charles Town was fine. I was disappointed that they never got the pancake maker fixed for breakfast (it was broken each of the 3 mornings we were there), but the other breakfast offerings were tasty and satisfying....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ogslayor
Jason B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Charles Town, responded to this review

I am sorry that our pancake machine was down during your stay. Unfortunately they have to be swapped out by mail when they do break down. Fortunately it doesn't happen often. I am glad that you liked the rest of the hotel.

Roanoke, Virginia
Reviewed October 9, 2016

Our room was very nice and comfortable. It was clean and smelled fresh. We did have a problem on our second day because housekeeping didn't clean our room at all. The lady we spoke with told us that the staff had left for the day when we called to check on why they didn't clean the room but she did...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Heather K
Jason B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Charles Town, responded to this review

I'm glad that you enjoyed your stay. We do have very spacious and clean rooms. I am sorry that you had an issue on your second day. I'll definitely look into that.

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

64 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (16)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (48)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (21)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ranson
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Charles Town
4.2 mi away
Clarion Inn Harpers Ferry
Clarion Inn Harpers Ferry
#2 of 3 in Harpers Ferry
219 reviews
5.3 mi away
Econo Lodge Harpers Ferry
Econo Lodge Harpers Ferry
#1 of 3 in Harpers Ferry
273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
Knights inn Knoxville Harpers Ferry
7.8 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#1 of 1 in Kearneysville
93 reviews
9.2 mi away
Quality Inn Shepherdstown
Quality Inn Shepherdstown
#2 of 3 in Shepherdstown
126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Free Parking
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Breakfast included
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Charles Town West Virginia Our beautiful new hotel is a lovely three story, interior corridor hotel that is less than 1/2 mile from the Charles Town Races and Slots. Hotel features include complimentary hot breakfast and free local phone calls. Enjoy a unique breakfast experience at our new Express Start breakfast bar served every morning featuring a selection of fruits, juices, cereals, breads/ pastries, and even hard boiled eggs. We have also created the world's best tasting cinnamon roll. Visit Charles Town, WV and stay smart at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Charles Town

Address: 681 Flowing Springs Rd, Ranson, WV 25438-4008
Location: United States > West Virginia > Ranson
Price Range: $127 - $221 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Charles Town 2.5*
Number of rooms: 145
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Hotels.com, Priceline and Expedia so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Charles Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Charles Town Hotel Ranson
Holiday Inn Express Ranson
Holiday Inn Ranson
Ranson Holiday Inn
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Holiday Inn Express Charles Town staff and other travelers.
6 questions
Ask a question
Wilmington, Delaware
6 months ago
over a year ago
Center Barnstead, New Hampshire
east coast
over a year ago
over a year ago

See all questions (6)

Questions? Get answers from Holiday Inn Express Charles Town staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“First floor room worked great for us!”
  • Comfy beds!
 of 5 bubbles 54janetg, Feb 20, 2017 | Read review
“I always recommend staying in a room on the top floor of a hotel because I hate hearing people moving around above me.”
 of 5 bubbles Ogslayor, Oct 26, 2016 | Read review
“ask for a room about from the front entrance, it was very noisy and difficult to sleep”
 of 5 bubbles heather_k_2000, Oct 9, 2016 | Read review
“Rooms on the entrance side of the building get a beautiful sunset view!”
 of 5 bubbles 422charlenel, Aug 25, 2016 | Read review
“Pick a room with a view of the pool.”
 of 5 bubbles janiceh681, Aug 3, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question