We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Scholar Hotel- Morgantown

Lowest prices for your stay
Check In— / — / —
Check Out— / — / —
Guests1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
Traveler (50)
Room & Suite (18)
Dining (7)


#12 of 24 hotels in Morgantown
This newly-renovated hotel is a block from West Virginia University’s downtown campus and a 2-minute walk from the Caperton Trail along the Monongahela River. Our spacious guest rooms and suites feature plush bedding, a large work desk with desk-level power outlets, Keurig single-cup coffee makers, 55″ LCD flat-screen TVs, and a mini-fridge. Stay connected while traveling with free wireless high-speed internet in the guest rooms and public areas, as well as a self-service Business Center located on our ground floor. Keep up your exercise regimen with our 24/7 Fitness Center, featuring treadmills, stationary bike, elliptical machine, pulley machine, weight bench & free weights, and a medicine ball rack. Located on our lobby level and open daily for breakfast, lunch, and dinner, our Lobby Cafe offers a rustic and relaxed dining experience. Educate your taste buds with one of our Signature cocktails, featuring modern twists on traditional classics, or sample a selection from one of our
Read more
Property amenities
Paid private parking on-site
Parking garage
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Bar / lounge
Rooftop terrace
Baggage storage
24-hour front desk
Laundry service
Free internet
Breakfast available
Vending machine
Rooftop bar
Non-smoking hotel
Show more
Room features
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Air conditioning
Flatscreen TV
VIP room facilities
Show more
Good to know
Centrally Located
68Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 153
  • 69
  • 45
  • 19
  • 17
Time of year
Traveler type
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Decided to try a new place while in Morgantown WV. Usually stay at a Marriott property but wanted to stay with walking distance to some restaurants and my WVU student’s apartment. Parking is $10. Rooms are large, clean, modern. TV is great. Location is perfect for walking around High Street or Downtown campus. Friendly staff- love the WVU decor. Would stay again for sure - we had the double queen deluxe. Very nice room.
Read more
Stayed there two nights for New Student Orientation at WVU. Was a bit nervous going with a non chain hotel. But the price was right and I wanted to get a feel for Morgantown so went for it. So glad we did. First off - service was awesome. Front desk and check in was quick and flawless. We called later for an extra blanket & towels - heard the knock in 3 minutes. We stayed on the top floor - view was ok though wife complained about hearing traffic. 55 inch TV with Direct TV - just like home. Bathroom was large - included a jet tub and a tiled, glass-enclosed shower stall. Spacious room came with a couch, mini fridge and microwave. Wife and I found the bed very comfortable but a bit on the small side. Our two kids took the other bed and loved it. There is a food shelf on site, but the prices were a bit high. We did not try the onsite exercise facilities. Parking was $10 a day though they waived the parking fee for our second day for some reason. For food - restaurants on High street is an easy block away, as is a CVS, Don Knotts statue, etc. Walking trails along the river are two (?) blocks away. Downtown campus is two (?) blocks away, as is the PRT. Very good location. My only complaint is security. Exterior doors not locked till midnight. I saw two suspicious guys hanging out on the doorstep next door, then saw them later wandering around in the parking garage. We are downtown so not surprising, but I would have preferred better security. But - the Scholar is our new home away from home when we next visit WVU!
Read more
Response from Shanna B, General Manager at The Scholar Hotel- Morgantown
Responded Jun 10, 2019
pukfan Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. We are glad you found the location to be appealing to your needs. We hope to have you and your family back soon.
Read more
I'll start off by saying that we had a great stay at the Scholar Hotel. I honestly was a bit nervous based on the pictures looking like digital renderings, but the hotel was very nice! We got in past midnight for our first night, and needed to park, so the front desk was kind enough to waive our parking for the night. I will say the parking garage is a little difficult to maneuver in, but we made it through without problems. The room we were in was HUGE! I think our corner room was bigger than other rooms, but it looked like they were all a really good size with a nice sitting room and a nice bedroom area. The location of the hotel seemed nice, we could walk onto campus, but it seemed like many of the bars or late night activities happened a few streets over, so that helped a bit with any noise outside.
Read more
Response from Shanna B, General Manager at The Scholar Hotel- Morgantown
Responded Jun 10, 2019
Kiersten W Thank you for the kind words about your recent stay. We hope you come back to visit us soon.
Read more
So there are many other options in Morgantown and I can't imagine any of the I stayed at this property when it was the Chestnut Inn and the last visit was an awful experience. Noticing the property was under new management, I decided to give it another chance, which was a huge mistake. Any changes are purely cosmetic and this hotel is run down, poorly managed and should never be considered in one's travel plans. Just to mention a few of the lowlights: 1) the water in the sink didn't drain properly. Took over an hour to do so after a quick hand wash 2) no soap dish by the sink. Soap kept sliding on to floor 3) a newly instituted charge for parking, which is not mentioned anywhere in the hotel's website 4) dingy dimly lit room with many bulbs either burned out or missing entirely 5) in room refrigerator did not work 6) bedside electrical outlet which was needed for a CPAP machine was completely dead. All of these concerns were brought to the attention of the desk clerk who had no answers. She kept going into the manager's office to check for answers to the issues raised and returned saying that I was right but there was nothing that could be done. As a minimum, I would have expected the manager (who I assume was sitting in the office that the clerk kept heading to for answers) would have made an appearance. properties affiliated with national chains could even approach the Scholar for futility.
Read more
Response from Shanna B, General Manager at The Scholar Hotel- Morgantown
Responded Jun 10, 2019
A8837OSteds I apologize we were not able to meet your needs. I have went back through our complaint log and have not seen any issues listed that you have mentioned. As the GM of the property I would like the opportunity to speak to you about your complaints. I assure you that I was not in the office telling an agent what to say, if I was onsite I would of gladly taken the time to speak to you about your stay. Please feel free to call the property and ask for me directly so this can be rectified.
Read more
Went for a college visit. Hotel was much less expensive than others in the area, even with the $10 parking charge. Desk is somewhat informal with only one person working. I was stuck in line and clerk felt bad, so gave us a free upgrade. Very nice, although it really wasn't necessary. Read another poster's review about the key not working and had to laugh when mine would not open the gate to the garage. No big deal, just went back to the clerk and he came out within a couple of minutes and opened the gate for us. Went to the room and were pleasantly surprised. It was very nice and spacious. Very clean. Had a mini fridge and coffee maker, which was all we really needed. The desk clerk, David, even recommended very good place for us to have a casual dinner. It was only one night, but a very enjoyable stay. Cannot give it a perfect score only because there is no elevator in the parking deck and few amenities. If you just need a place to stay while visiting Morgantown, I would highly recommend this hotel.
Read more
Response from Shanna B, General Manager at The Scholar Hotel- Morgantown
Responded Apr 28, 2019
AsburyJuke63 Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. We are happy you had a pleasant experience. We hope to have you back again soon!
Read more
$94 - $140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
The Chestnut Boutique Hotel
United StatesWest VirginiaMorgantown
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing