We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

South Branch Inn Moorefield

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Moorefield
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
South Branch Inn Moorefield
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

61 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 60: English reviews
Hillsville, Virginia
Reviewed November 1, 2016 via mobile

Very nice and very clean motel with friendly staff. However, there is only one other hotel in town and I feel they take advantage of this. Prices could be better when it is slower and although they have a good continental breakfast it really depends on who is working that morning, some days it seems as if no one is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LinemanOntheroad
wvtraveler1968, Owner at South Branch Inn Moorefield, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us. We are open 24 hours a day and have 1-2 front desk agents always at the front desk. The front desk check the breakfast throughout the morning and we also have a housekeeper that is in charge of breakfast each day. Many times she is not seen because she is in the kitchen cleaning...

Clarksburg, West Virginia
Reviewed October 4, 2016 via mobile

I was rather disappointed. Over priced in my opinion. The room wasn't that clean. The blanket on the bed was ancient. Hard to describe, but I just had an uncomfortable feeling about the place. Furniture dated. Breakfast fair. I'm not really hard to please, but I would avoid staying here again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank dreferee
wvtraveler1968, Owner at South Branch Inn Moorefield, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us. I am sorry your were unhappy with your stay. Our guest rooms are cleaned thoroughly everyday and then inspected a by the supervisor before they are rented out. Twice a year every guest rooms is broken down and everything is cleaned and washed down, such as the walls, ceilings, furniture, ac unit filters, etc....

Reviewed September 21, 2016 via mobile

Stayed only one eating in order to have a shorter trip to get to aunt and uncle's house in Clarksburg and it was so peaceful and beautiful, out the window you saw the skyline of the mountains loved it, the breakfast was okay the people that work there were really really nice enjoyed talking to them and finding out some...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MEBarlow
wvtraveler1968, Owner at South Branch Inn Moorefield, responded to this review

Thank you so much for staying with us. We are nestled in the mountains of the South Branch Valley. The view is amazing year round; but especially beautiful this time of year with the fall colors. Hope to see you again.

Reviewed September 6, 2016 via mobile

Reasonably clean and spacious. Our room had a smell like an old smoking room. Mattresses and pillows were thin and uncomfortable but we were accommodated with extra pillows. There is a free continental breakfast and the wifi isnt too bad for an area with no cell service. Will probably stay again since there are no other choices, if there were,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Laurahutchinson
wvtraveler1968, Owner at South Branch Inn Moorefield, responded to this review

Thank you so much for staying with us. I am sorry you had some problems. We are a non-smoking facility and have been since 2005, so we do not have any old smoking rooms. If you would let us know which room it was, I can have the staff check to see if someone has smoked in the room with...

Reviewed August 26, 2016

There's not much of a choice in Moorefield, but the South Branch Inn isn't too bad. The rooms are pretty dated, but there's a microwave, fridge, and wide screen TV (but no HD so what's the point?). It's also got a decent fitness center and free WiFi (but the cell signal isn't great). The continental breakfast leaves a lot to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jarratt B
wvtraveler1968, Owner at South Branch Inn Moorefield, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us. We enjoy hearing from guests so that we can make improvements. We hope you will stay with us during your next trip.

Crewe, Virginia
Reviewed July 31, 2016 via mobile

Whomever took these poor elderly owners money during their "2012 renovations" ... Should be ashamed of themselves. This property has SO much potential, as it is one of the most modern looking buildings in the area. The staff are very friendly. Our room was clean (outside of an ant problem that was promptly taken care of.) Quiet hours? I knew...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Brenda F
wvtraveler1968, Owner at South Branch Inn Moorefield, responded to this review

The South Branch Inn was built in 2005 and specifically engineered and designed to blend in with the historic area of West Virginia that it is in. The colors consisting of forest green, navy blue and burgundy were selected to mix modern with a historic, colonial feel. We are glad you enjoyed your stay, even though our interior design was...

Beckley
Reviewed June 29, 2016 via mobile

I stayed in Moorefield for business and this is my first stay at South Branch Inn. The rooms are spacious and clean. My room has a flat screen TV, microwave and mini fridge. The staff are all super friendly and helpful. For every night you stay you get a 10% off coupon for Ponderosa, free game of bowling and free...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Momof3under7
wvtraveler1968, Owner at South Branch Inn Moorefield, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us. We are glad you enjoyed your stay. See you on your next visit!

Reviewed June 29, 2016 via mobile

The hotel was clean and quiet with one exception, the bathroom fan. Very noisy fan. Air conditioning unit very quiet. The rooms all come with fridg and microwave and are nicely decorated. The price is reasonable and there are many very good restaurants in the area. They serve a continental breakfast every day. Cereal, fruit, pastries, toast, bagels etc. Definitely...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Linda M
wvtraveler1968, Owner at South Branch Inn Moorefield, responded to this review

Thank you so much for staying with us. We thoroughly enjoyed having your auto group with us. Your group was wonderful to my staff. I am really sorry about the bathroom vent fan; that is something we can easily fix and appreciate knowing. We hope you or your group will visit us again. All the automobiles were beautiful! Everyone in...

Charleston, West Virginia
Reviewed May 25, 2016

Rooms were clean. Didn't sleep well in the bed, but that was probably just my issue. The lobby was very neat with all of the items from West Virginia, plus the historical items. Would stay here again for sure. Ponderosa Steak House is right next door and Wal Mart very close as well.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Schizodoc
wvtraveler1968, General Manager at South Branch Inn Moorefield, responded to this review

Thank you so much for staying with us. We look forward to seeing you again on your next visit.

Bridgeport, West Virginia
Reviewed December 13, 2015

The staff was very friendly and helpful. The rooms were very clean and the beds comfortable. The rooms were large, but a little basic, which was the reason for the 4-star rating. The shower was great. The breakfast had a good assortment of items. We were very satisfied with our stay and would stay there again. The only downside was...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank KathyJ_WV
wvtraveler1968, General Manager at South Branch Inn Moorefield, responded to this review

Thank you so much for staying with us. Also, I appreciate your letting us know about the blanket, we will check it out. Hope to see you again soon in Moorefield.

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

9 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (1)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Moorefield
22.8 mi away
Keyser Inn
Keyser Inn
#2 of 2 in Keyser
43 reviews
21.2 mi away
Senedo Springs by EVRentals
22.2 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Keyser
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.4 mi away
Lost River Bed & Breakfast
Lost River Bed & Breakfast
#3 of 3 in Lost River
34 reviews
12.9 mi away
Lost Forest Bed & Breakfast
19.3 mi away
Harman's Luxury Log Cabins
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Center with Internet Access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The South Branch Inn-Moorefield is located in Historic Moorefield West Virginia, next to the civil war Battle of Moorefield. We have 100 rooms, including suites with Jacuzzis. Our conference facilities are perfect for meetings or receptions. All rooms come with a free continental breakfast and free internet. We have an exercise facility on site as well as a guest laundry for when you are traveling with a ball team! All rooms are given one free movie pass per night to the local movie theater so that you can see the new block buster release movies. We are open 24 hours a day. In 2011, the hotel was newly renovated with new carpet, wallpaper, paint, bedspreads, curtains, etc. We have hosted many events with local, state and federal agencies as well as important dignitaries. We have a great AAA and health department rating! We are nestled in the South Branch Valley Mountains. We look forward to serving you. ... more   less 

Additional Information about South Branch Inn Moorefield

Address: 1500 US Highway 220 N, Moorefield, WV 26836-8604
Location: United States > West Virginia > Moorefield
Price Range: $85 - $140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 100
Also Known As:
South Branch Inn Moorefield Hotel Moorefield
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from South Branch Inn Moorefield staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“First floor room if you have difficulty carrying your luggage to the second floor... no elevators.”
 of 5 bubbles ToniB374, Oct 17, 2014 | Read review
“Ask the staff about local discounts.”
 of 5 bubbles Vera71, Jul 7, 2014 | Read review
“First floor rooms are much cooler due to the AC...but the rooms are a little more tired”
 of 5 bubbles 238mw, Jun 16, 2014 | Read review
“The Evans Motel in Moorefield is probably not any worse.”
 of 5 bubbles sabulodes, Aug 22, 2013 | Read review
“This was a local meeting and we did not use the guest rooms for an overnight stay. Also, we did not use the pool or room service, so these areas are not applicable to this review.”
 of 5 bubbles 535MaryB, Mar 16, 2013 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question