We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Super 8 Dunbar Charleston

Hotel website
Hotel deals
911 Dunbar Avenue, Dunbar, WV 25064-3126
Special Offer
Plan Ahead, Save 15%
1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Super 8 Dunbar Charleston
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

277 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Anchorage, Alaska
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

It's a super 8, I was not expecting the Hilton. I did read reviews first. The lady behind the front desk did appear disconnected and was not the greatest resource of information. This hotel is used by a lot of transient workers. If I were alone, I would have felt a bit uncomfortable. There is ample parking. The decor, outdated.... More 

Helpful?
Thank lallyc
Super8DunbarGM, General Manager at Super 8 Dunbar Charleston, responded to this review

I am glad to hear that your room was clean and comfortable. I do wish that we could have exceeded your expectations. Yes, a lot of our guests are construction worker, electricians, tree cutters, etc. I hate for anyone to ever feel uncomfortable. Typically, they're great guys, and I actually feel safer having them here, but I also have the... More 

Huntington Beach, California
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

water closet is less than standard, too, much plumbing noise at night and heater does not properly work.

Review collected in partnership with Super 8

Helpful?
Thank 140datn
Super8DunbarGM, General Manager at Super 8 Dunbar Charleston, responded to this review

I am sorry to hear that you had an unpleasant stay with us. May I ask what you mean by water closet? More 

Orlando, Florida
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2016

We stayed 6 nights while visiting family. Good accomadations if traveling with a pet. Room was clean and staff was friendly and helpful. The small area for walking dogs could have been cleaner - too much trash.

Review collected in partnership with Super 8

Helpful?
Thank timothya440
Super8DunbarGM, General Manager at Super 8 Dunbar Charleston, responded to this review

Thanks so much for your review. We love to hear that you had a comfortable stay with us. As for the trash, I apologize. Unfortunately, anytime it's windy, it seems that everybody's trash in the plaza ends up over here! Come back and see us soon! More 

Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2015

Carpets had food -popcorn on them, hair in the sink, bath tub, smelled like I was sleeping in a bong, could smell pot smoke through out, clerk seemed like she was partaking in the pot smoking, creeper guys staring out the windows at least ten of them. Not a good place to stay you get what you pay for.

Review collected in partnership with Super 8

Helpful?
1 Thank acp309

Travelers are raving about these Dunbar hotels

Vanderbilt, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2015

Have stayed at this propery before and was a nice stay. Not this time. Our room was not cleaned or touched by cleaning staff. No clean towels, bed not made, and garbage not emptied. When I made staff aware of problem I was told sorry and that this had happened before. But no attempt was made to fix the issue.... More 

Review collected in partnership with Super 8

Helpful?
Thank Carrie B
Super8DunbarGM, General Manager at Super 8 Dunbar Charleston, responded to this review

I am very disappointed to hear about your stay. I am trying to find out who you spoke with and what happened currently, because I had not heard of any complaints. Feel free to email me personally if you would to further discuss what occurred. I apologize for any inconvenience. As for the breakfast, those are standard breakfast hours, and... More 

2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2015 via mobile

I was in town for a three day conference and stayed here. The staff was polite and helpful upon check in and out. The room was clean and quiet. The hotel is right off the interstate with places to shop and eat. I've stayed at super 8 many times before and this one was one of the better ones.

Helpful?
Thank Kenneth B
Super8DunbarGM, General Manager at Super 8 Dunbar Charleston, responded to this review

Thank you so much. I am very glad to hear you enjoyed your stay. More 

Milpitas, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2015

The rate was $69 per night that I surfed on the internet at the last minute. The accommodations for the price were great. The room was clean and the bed was comfortable. However, there is no closet; only a hanger rake. there was no iron either. For the price it was just fine. I only went there to sleep anyway.... More 

Review collected in partnership with Super 8

Helpful?
Thank RSORIANO
Super8DunbarGM, General Manager at Super 8 Dunbar Charleston, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We do actually have irons available at the desk. More 

Dolton, Illinois
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2015

Facility was as expected - clean with a pleasant decor. I stay in motels two or three times a week for work. The lady who checked me in said that Wyndham Rewards rejected my rewards card because it was too old. The card was not too old and had no reached the expiration date on it, though they never actually... More 

Review collected in partnership with Super 8

Helpful?
Thank Mark M
Super8DunbarGM, General Manager at Super 8 Dunbar Charleston, responded to this review

With all due respect Sir, I do not appreciate my desk staff being accused of being dishonest and trying to pull one over on you so to speak. I know my entire desk staff extremely well, and have for many years. All of them. They are honest people. I assure you, it sounds to me like there was some kind... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

20 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (15)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dunbar
2.4 mi away
Holiday Inn & Suites Charleston West
9.9 mi away
Red Roof Inn Charleston - Kanawha City
5.3 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Charleston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Charleston
Wingate by Wyndham Charleston
#1 of 3 in South Charleston
4.0 of 5 stars 665 reviews
2.7 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Charleston South
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham...
#2 of 3 in South Charleston
4.0 of 5 stars 314 reviews
3.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Charleston - Southridge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay