We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

Holiday Inn Express Charleston/Kanawha City

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Holiday Inn Express Charleston\/Kanawha City
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

119 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Express Charleston/Kanawha City
See the most recent reviews
Showing 118: English reviews
Grayling, Michigan
Level Contributor
209 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2016 via mobile

Nice and clean typical holiday in express nice warm hot tub a nice warm pool great breakfast room was nice and clean Jincy soap they need better bars of soap other than that it was just fine although I did hear someone talking through the walls late at night and I thought the wall same thin

Helpful?
Thank Pete K
Patrice L, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Charleston/Kanawha City, responded to this review

Dear Pete K. Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback regarding your stay at our hotel. I am pleased that you were satisfied with your accommodations and our amenities. I am sorry to hear that you did not like the amount of soap and that you were able to hear noises during the night. Rest assured... More 

Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2016 via mobile

This was a great stay! I would highly recommend this hotel! It was clean and comfortable. When I checked in they didn't have the room available that I reserved earlier that day but quickly made changes and gave me a room that meet our families needs. The pool was great and is open late which was fabulous for my children.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Becky C
Patrice L, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Charleston/Kanawha City, responded to this review

Wow! Thank you for a great review of your recent stay with us. I am happy to hear that your room accommodations were taken care of promptly and to your satisfaction. I am glad your family had a great time in the pool and enjoyed our Express Start breakfast. A positive guest experience is something our staff takes great pride... More 

1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2016 via mobile

We stayed for my husband's work. The was clean and nice bed was nice but every morning around 4am to 6am. There were a really loud noise like something was hitting the headboard of the bed I mean really loud and disturbing it scared me cause it was directly over my head like someone had three a rock at the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Betty O
Patrice L, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Charleston/Kanawha City, responded to this review

Dear Betty O, Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback regarding your recent stay with us. We appreciate the kind words you had about your accommodations. I am sorry that you experienced those noises in the room. Rest assure we will have our maintenance department look into this matter promptly. We hope you choose to stay... More 

Amherst, Virginia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2016

Room was fine, except it was a connecting room, and I specifically requested a Non-Connecting room in the reservation. I was too tired to go back down and try to get it changed. I would chance it. Turned out I should have requested another room, I could hear everything the guy next door did, coughing to talking on his phone... More 

Helpful?
Thank Brian B
Patrice L, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Charleston/Kanawha City, responded to this review

Dear Brian B, Thank you for taking the time to give us feedback on your stay. I apologize for the mix-up on your reservation and you should have had a non-connecting room. As well as there should have been two K-cups of regular coffee in your room. I wish we could have had a chance to fix that problem when... More 

West Logan, West Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2016

We decided before super storm Jonas came thru to stay at this motel. So glad we did!! Room was very nice, clean and the sofa was an added plus in the room. The best part of my stay was the staff. I was so impressed with them. Every member of the staff that I came in contact with was very... More 

Helpful?
Thank L C
Patrice L, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Charleston/Kanawha City, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your review of our hotel. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. The storm was quite an ordeal and we are happy that you had a great experience. We wanted to ensure all of are guest were taken care of and if it meant opening up our kitchen to get you... More 

Savannah, Georgia
Level Contributor
55 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2016

Close to I-77, close to restaurants! The hotel was warm and the staff was friendly. Hot tub a nd indoor heated pool. Everything was clean and nice. Breakfast ends at 9 during the week. We missed it but had yogurt, juice and cereal and the staff offered to bring back out some biscuits and gravy if we wanted it. Just... More 

Helpful?
Thank GrannySugar
Patrice L, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Charleston/Kanawha City, responded to this review

Dear GrannySugar, Thank you for taking the time to write a kind review of your stay. We are happy you were able to enjoy the amenities of the hotel and great restaurants and shops nearby. I am happy to hear that my staff help you when you missed the breakfast. We strive to have a Great Hotel that Guest Love.... More 

Williamsburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2016

I took my Mother to visit my brother who was in CAMC Memorial Hospital. I called ahead to see if they had a handicap room available and the rate. To my surprise, when we arrived the quote was lower because we were hospital visitors. Our room was on the first floor, near the room where they washed towels and sheets.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Judy P
Patrice L, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Charleston/Kanawha City, responded to this review

Dear JudyP, Thank you for taking the time to giving us your feedback on your recent stay at our hotel. I sincerely apologize for the issues you had while you were here. We did have to install a new washer, but I am sorry that we did not contact you ahead of time, so you would be prepared for the... More 

Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
46 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2016

I have stayed in Holiday Inn Express hotels in many different locations and this was by far the worst night's sleep I have ever had. This property is right on the highway interchange and was incredibly noisy the entire night. I was told that the highway side was the only side that has 2 queen beds, so the king rooms... More 

Helpful?
Thank polygirl86
Patrice L, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Charleston/Kanawha City, responded to this review

Dear polygirl86; Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback regarding your recent stay at our hotel. We apologize that you did not have a good nights sleep while you were here. We do at time get complaints regarding the highway noise when there is heavy traffic on the highway. We do offer complimentary earplugs for those... More 

Travelers are raving about these Charleston hotels

Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
31 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2016

I stayed in room 305 for New Years Eve. I reserved under the AAA rate but I wasn't asked for the card. No problems with the room. It was very clean. There was only one stray hair in the shower and two blood splatters on the wall near the trashcan. Lots of outlets. The Keurig is a nice touch. Some... More 

Helpful?
Thank mgoudy85
Patrice L, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Charleston/Kanawha City, responded to this review

Dear mgoudy85, Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent visit at our hotel and please accept our sincerest apologies for the noise disturbances that you experienced during your stay due to the outside environment. We do not have any issue in this area, we think it was noise due to the New Years celebrations. Thank you for bringing up... More 

Greensboro, North Carolina
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2015

Evening staff was awesome.When it came to check out in the morning our bill did not include our discount.Hotel manager had an emergency so was not on site(we were told she would return within 30 minutes,no one on site was able to make corrections)we ending up waiting over an hour for her to return and correct our bill,causing us to... More 

Helpful?
Thank Diana L
Patrice L, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Charleston/Kanawha City, responded to this review

Dear Diana L, Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback regarding your recent stay. I sincerely apologize for the inconveniences you encountered regarding your final bill. Although emergencies happen, you should not have had to wait over for an hour for resolution. I am happy to hear that the problem was corrected before you continued your... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

28 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (18)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charleston hotels
0.0 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Charleston South
8.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Charleston - Southridge
7.9 mi away
Holiday Inn & Suites Charleston West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Charleston - Downtown
0.2 mi away
Red Roof Inn Charleston - Kanawha City
5.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Charleston - Civic Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Hot Tub
  • Golf course
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Charleston/Kanawha City. Located only minutes from the majestic West Virginia State Capitol, Yeager Airport, beautiful downtown Charleston and the historical East End district. Other points of interest are the Clay Center for the Performing Arts, the University of Charleston and Appalachian Power Stadium home of the West Virginia Power. As our guest of the Holiday Inn Express, you will stay in one of our totally renovated, spacious king, queen or executive suite room with high speed Internet, your choice of plush pillows and great nights sleep mattresses. Also enjoy our complimentary hot breakfast buffet with the worlds best cinnamon rolls. Fresh brewed coffee is available every evening. After a busy day of work or travel, you can energize yourself in our fitness center. Then, cool down in the heated, indoor pool and hot tub. Enjoy the many food options near the hotel that include everything from fast food to steak houses. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Charleston/Kanawha City

Address: 107 Alex Ln, Charleston, WV 25304-2971 (Formerly Comfort Suites Charleston)
Location: United States > West Virginia > Charleston
Price Range: $116 - $145 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Charleston/Kanawha City 2.5*
Number of rooms: 66
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, IHG, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Charleston/Kanawha City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Charleston South Hotel Charleston
Comfort Suites Charleston
Charleston Comfort Suites
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay