We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Red Roof Inn Charleston - Kanawha City

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Red Roof Inn Charleston - Kanawha City
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

350 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 350: English reviews
Berryville, Virginia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW via mobile

This is the Kanawha City/ Charleston West Virginia location. The price was reasonable, the mattresses were good and the air conditioning worked well. The room was clean. It was very convenient for stopovers on the way to Virginia or Kentucky.

Helpful?
Thank Bill H
rri-10059, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Charleston - Kanawha City, responded to this review

Thank you for your positive comments. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay and the room was clean and comfortable. We look forward to your next visit with us! Dale Samples General Manager More 

Level Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW via mobile

We have stayed here a few times when traveling through the Charleston area. I have no serious complaints. The rooms are always on order and clean. Pricing is right at $56+ tax(military discount). I would probably stay again but do have one concern regarding security. This is not the first time staying here when a significant number of unsavory individuals... More 

Helpful?
Thank John C
rri-10059, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Charleston - Kanawha City, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to let other travelers know of your experience at our inn. I'm pleased to hear your room was clean and comfortable. We do have several contractors that stay with us long term. They can be loud at times, but usually keep to themselves. If you ever have concerns while here, feel free to dial... More 

El Paso, Texas
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We checked in around 11:00pm after traveling from Ohio. The room was clean. (After all the bad reviews I overly checked). The room didn't smell bad. The air ran well. The bed was a little hard, but for a one night stay, not bad. There were a lot of families staying here when we were here, a couple kids playing... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Ksparsons10
rri-10059, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Charleston - Kanawha City, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I'm glad to hear you enjoyed your stay and found your room clean and comfortable. We have had some difficulty in housekeeping over the past year but we are starting to turn a corner. We look forward to your next stay with us! Dale Samples General Manager More 

Waynesfield, Ohio
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

This hotel was clean and comfortable. When we arrived the room a few doors down was out on the deck drinking and I was afraid we might night be able to sleep but inside the rooms it was very quiet and comfortable. The thing I noticed the most was how much the staff cared that we had a good stay.... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Cheryl G
rri-10059, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Charleston - Kanawha City, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post a review! I'm glad to hear you enjoy our southern hospitality and we were able to help you get your car started. We genuinely want to make sure our guests enjoy their visit! Dale Samples General Manager More 

Venice, Florida
Level Contributor
180 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

The hotel has been updated but they still have internet problems (which has been an ongoing issue with our stays at this hotel over the years)....signal kept dropping, so if internet is important to you this is not the place to stay. This hotel is convenient to the places we need to visit when in Charleston but I see the... More 

Helpful?
Thank hallpau
rri-10059, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Charleston - Kanawha City, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post a review and welcome back! I'm sorry to hear that you are experiencing issues with our internet. We have spent several thousand dollars to upgrade our equipment. Sometimes the signal drop can be from our provider if they have a hiccup in their network. As a Netflix/Hulu watcher myself, it is very... More 

North Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Nothing fancy - Needed a place to crash for the night on our way though town. Had a small issue with previous guests's food being left in the mini-fridge. Call to front desk - came and cleaned fridge top to bottom in less than 10 minutes. Ran out of TP and had to go to front desk for more. I... More 

Helpful?
Thank Martin G
rri-10059, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Charleston - Kanawha City, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I apologize for the housekeepers oversight but I'm glad to hear that our desk staff was able to remedy quickly. We don't have a written checklist, but that is a good suggestion. We look forward to your next visit with us. Sincerely, Dale Samples General Manager More 

Blandon
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2016

My first red flag should have been the bumpy, pot hole laden drive to the property that sits back off the main road. We were given the keys to our room and upon entering, we were shocked at the smell, the trash at the door that was not emptied, the used, wet towels still in the room from the previous... More 

Helpful?
Thank teachna
rri-10059, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Charleston - Kanawha City, responded to this review

I'm sorry to hear about your recent experience at our inn. The room you received was not acceptable and I apologize it was assigned to a guest. We wash our bedspreads on a regular cycle and currently in the process of phasing the ones out that aren't coming as clean as they need to be. With the recent closing of... More 

North Carolina
Level Contributor
47 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2016

I ended up staying at 3 different Red Roof's during the month of July. (NC, WV & VA) This location is the worst of those!!! I was on a road trip and this area was the half way point. Decided to stop driving at 11:30pm. There were 2 other people trying to check in at the same time so it... More 

Helpful?
Thank CamaroNC94
rri-10059, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Charleston - Kanawha City, responded to this review

I'm sorry to hear about your recent experience at our inn. You are welcome to contact me at 304.925.6953 or email to discuss your stay. Dale Samples General Manager More 

Toledo, Ohio
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2016

Shady folks hanging around the lot...Loud trucks parked near the room....repair men had the toilet from the room next door , on the sidewalk....no coffee , only an office chair in room...loud air conditioner....won't be back to this place.....plus , hard to find..no signs at driveway....

Helpful?
Thank Bill S
rri-10059, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Charleston - Kanawha City, responded to this review

I'm sorry to hear our inn did not meet your expectations. We are constantly trying to improve so while the toilet outside is certainly unsightly, it was temporary to replace one that did not meet our standards. We have coffee available in the lobby, while our superior king and premium rooms have in-room coffee makers. I hope you will give... More 

Elkin, North Carolina
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2016 via mobile

The rooms were clean and the staff is friendly and helpful. Close to a lot of places to eat and no hassle if you are traveling with pets. The major flaw is that the entrance to the hotel parking lot is unmarked. Turn at the motel 6 sign, go around O'Reillys to a very broken parking lot. Seriously, there are... More 

Helpful?
Thank MelissaD1010
rri-10059, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Charleston - Kanawha City, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We can be difficult to locate and currently we are trying to work out a solution with the city to allow signs posted at the main entrance to point guests our way. I'm pleased to hear that you found the room clean and the staff friendly. We look forward to your next visit with us!... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

81 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (55)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (21)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (25)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (26)
Viewed
Room/Suite (14)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charleston hotels
6.0 mi away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#3 of 23 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 stars 304 reviews
0.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Charleston South
8.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Charleston - Southridge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.9 mi away
Holiday Inn & Suites Charleston West
4.6 mi away
Charleston Capitol Hotel
Charleston Capitol Hotel
#16 of 23 in Charleston
3.5 of 5 stars 202 reviews
5.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Charleston - Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking

Additional Information about Red Roof Inn Charleston - Kanawha City

Address: 6305 Maccorkle Ave SE, Charleston, WV 25304-2917
Location: United States > West Virginia > Charleston
Price Range: $66 - $79 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Roof Inn Charleston - Kanawha City 2*
Number of rooms: 109
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Red Roof Inn, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Red Roof Inn Charleston - Kanawha City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Roof Inn Charleston - Kanawha City Hotel Charleston
Charleston Red Roof Inn
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Charleston
#8 Business Hotel in Charleston
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay