We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

Red Roof Inn Charleston - Kanawha City

Book on TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Red Roof Inn Charleston - Kanawha City
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

340 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 340: English reviews
Durham, North Carolina
Level Contributor
60 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW via mobile

We are currently in our room. If we didn't have two small, exhausted children we would still be driving. The first room we walked in smelled like an ashtray! Our daughter has asthma that is ONLY provoked from cigarette smoke. After 3 mins we had to change rooms. The front desk staff was extremely nice and didn't have a problem... More 

Helpful?
Thank CarolinaMomofTwins
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The location is very easy to get to and is in close proximity to food and fuel. The room was clean but the bedspreads had holes and needed to be replaced. The bathtub had rusted areas and one of the towels that was hanging over the toilet had a black boot print on it. A big plus was microwave n... More 

Helpful?
Thank mbjb982016
Jupiter, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
260 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

You will not get luxury, but you will get a clean and well maintained place that is also dog friendly without a fee. No frills, nothing fancy, but it works fine for me for a night. Though it is next to an overpass, I really didn't hear the cars at night. Lots of chain restaurants nearby. The staff was friendly.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Nupester
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
125 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Facil de chegar em relação ao aeroporto. O quarto estava limpo, porém tinham alguns insetos voando. Fiquei num quarto de frente ao pátio de estacionamento, e teve bastante barulho durante a noite. Não me senti segura. Easy to get there from the airport, short distance. Room was clean, but some flying bugs came in when I opened the door. They... More 

Helpful?
Thank Heloisa M
Level Contributor
4 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

This hotel is not fit for anyone. It was filthy, like the floors had not been cleaned at all. The room reeked of smoke and was absolutely disgusting! Our bed sheets were covered with stains and cigarette holes. I could not even get in the bed. We ended up leaving at 4 am just to get out of there. Please... More 

Helpful?
Thank kellyh1974
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We had a Premium Room. It's just a regular room with amenities that's common in any other half-way decent hotel. It's okay, but, don't go thinking this is anything other than a budget room with a complimentary box of goodies. I got it on a Red Hot Deal so the price wasn't bad. The Red Hot Deal made the price... More 

Helpful?
Thank CarolinaJayO29
rri-10059, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Charleston - Kanawha City, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I'm glad to hear that our staff was friendly. I'm sorry that the premium king did not live up to your expectations. Our premium rooms have upgraded bedding, microwave and mini fridge as well as the snack box each day. I believe you will find the room very cost effective when compared to mid-scale lodging... More 

Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Avoid. Next room to us had bed sheets laying outside all night. Now I know. Our room had bed bugs too room 130 disgusting thought the place would be ok. They were nice at reception. I think this whole place must have problems. Don't bring home any pets

Helpful?
Thank Mark T
rri-10059, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Charleston - Kanawha City, responded to this review

I'm sorry to hear about your recent experience. The guests in the room next to yours would strip their linen on a regular basis and toss it outside in the evening so housekeeping could provide fresh linen in the morning. I will have our pest control vendor review the room you mentioned to take appropriate action if any bugs are... More 

Chincoteague Island, Virginia
Level Contributor
289 reviews
117 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

A good sleep here and clean room and bedding however the clock didn't work. The phone didn't work. There was no minifridge in the room as the main reservation line told me and the motel literature stated. I didn't like the coffee at all, poured the cup out. Obviously no continential breakfast at Red Roof either, so what I guess.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Bill W
rri-10059, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Charleston - Kanawha City, responded to this review

I'm glad to see that you had a clean and comfortable room that provided a good night sleep. I apologize that some of the amenities did not work. I will let our maintenance department know so they can check the room if it hasn't already been corrected. At Red Roof, we take guest feedback serious. Each review is read by... More 

Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The roof in our room sprung a leak got all over my meds .I reported it to the front desk they said it was condesation while actually a refrigerator on the upper level that had a drain pan too full they had to move us to another room . one of the tennets there was complaining about a forced entry... More 

Helpful?
Thank 23douglasr
rri-10059, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Charleston - Kanawha City, responded to this review

I'm sorry to hear about your experience at our inn. Hotels are a collection of people from all walks of life and as a result the target of those with less than honorable intentions. While theft or destruction has happened it is a rare occasion and we work with Charleston Police Department on a regular basis to minimize or deter... More 

Level Contributor
77 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

First Red Roof hotel tried and for the money great value Nice clean room with fridge and micro for half the money of other brand chains Or booked and pre paid on Expedia and pleasantly surprised with. Room even though older hotel Also drive up to room on first floor. Very nice reception and accommodating Thanks Lisa

Helpful?
Thank Frank G
rri-10059, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Charleston - Kanawha City, responded to this review

Thank you for the review. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay and experienced the great value of our brand! You may want to consider joining our RediCard program where you can earn free nights in half the time of other major loyalty programs. I will pass along your comments to Lisa and let her know she is doing a great... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

81 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (55)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (21)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (25)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (26)
Viewed
Room/Suite (14)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charleston hotels
6.0 mi away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#4 of 25 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 stars 288 reviews
8.0 mi away
Holiday Inn & Suites Charleston West
0.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Charleston South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Charleston - Southridge
4.6 mi away
Charleston Capitol Hotel
Charleston Capitol Hotel
#16 of 25 in Charleston
3.5 of 5 stars 197 reviews
4.9 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Charleston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking

Additional Information about Red Roof Inn Charleston - Kanawha City

Address: 6305 MacCorkle Avenue Southeast, Charleston, WV 25304
Location: United States > West Virginia > Charleston
Price Range: $65 - $89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Roof Inn Charleston - Kanawha City 2*
Number of rooms: 109
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo, Hotwire and Red Roof Inn so you can book your Red Roof Inn Charleston - Kanawha City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Roof Inn Charleston - Kanawha City Hotel Charleston
Charleston Red Roof Inn
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Charleston
#8 Business Hotel in Charleston
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay