We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Americas Best Value Inn - Charles Town

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Americas Best Value Inn - Charles Town
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_baseline_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

83 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Americas Best Value Inn - Charles Town
See the most recent reviews
Showing 83: English reviews
Lynchburg, Virginia
Reviewed March 4, 2014

The room was clean and certainly on a par for a "budget" level motel room - rate is about 50 to 60% of the going rate in Charles Town - No Complaints - will stay there again when we go back to Charles Town

 Report
Helpful?
Thank cjant99
KADLI, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn - Charles Town, responded to this review

Dear cjant99, Thank you for sharing an honest review with us. I am thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with us back in March. We take great pride in offering clean rooms at affordable prices. We hope that you stay with us again the next time you return to the area! Regards, Shiris-GM Americas Best Value Inn-Charles Town, WV

culpeper
Reviewed March 2, 2014

if your going to pay the $84 for a room here u might as well and a few more dollars and stay at a name brand hotel. For $50 the room is ok. For $84 your severely overpaying. Matress was terrible withs spings felt though it. Woke up with back killing me. Forget about sex on the matress unless u...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank bigbrown7577
Stafford, Virginia
Reviewed January 19, 2014

Thank-goodness we spent less than an hour in the room, but it took twice as long to get our refund! Had booked a pet room that smelled horrendous, broken furniture that would be passed on by Goodwill, moldy smelling warm fridge, and linens had not been changed on one of the beds. The very unpleasant attendant at the front desk...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Frequent T
KADLI, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn - Charles Town, responded to this review

Dear Frequent T, I appreciate the fact that you took the time to share a review with us. I am very concerned about the room issues you mentioned during your stay. Had we known, we would have gladly changed your room. Although we do allow pets, we do provide the same accommodations as our other rooms. Sorry for the inconvenience....

Baltimore, Maryland
Reviewed November 3, 2013

It's near Hollywood Casino and that's the only good thing I can say about it. I've stayed in a lot of hotels and I'm not very picky. But for the price of this hotel its not at par with the venue. Maybe if the rate was around $30-$40, I would be more forgiving. But for the price of $84, it's...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank richqui
KADLI, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn - Charles Town, responded to this review

Dear richguapa25, Thanks for posting a traveler review with us. I apologize for the issues you experienced while staying with us in 2013. We have recently hired and trained new housekeepers. We hope that these improvements will enhance the overall experience for future guests. Regards, Shiris-GM Americas Best Value Inn-Charles Town, WV

HORSEHEADS
Reviewed November 2, 2013 via mobile

The room its self is pretty clean. The beds are low old matresses. But the old cream colored sheets are clean but worn and dingey! Hardly a matress cover let alone a topper. Its sorta like sleeping on a cardboard box. Didnt feel real safe cuz some of the cars that never left were run down. Fiqured they were possible...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lauriewaltz
KADLI, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn - Charles Town, responded to this review

Dear lauriewaltz, On behalf of the staff and management, I would like to thank you for sharing a review with us 2013. My apologies for not getting back to you sooner. We have recently added a few mattresses and other furnishings in a percentage of our rooms. We have also added a new bedding package to many of our rooms....

Enterprise, AL
Reviewed October 14, 2013

If this and other reviews do not convince you to stay away then I don't know what to tell you. We made the mistake of using this as a last resort because it allowed pets and was located near the casino in town. This dump turned out to be close to $80 a night and I would not have paid...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank mp_max07
KADLI, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn - Charles Town, responded to this review

Dear mp_max07, Thank you for sharing your experience with us from 2013. Sorry for taking so long to respond. I am concerned about the issues you experienced. Although we are an older motel, we do our best to provide clean and comfortable rooms at affordable prices. The surrounding hotels are charging much higher prices due to the Racetrack nearby. Please...

Pennsylvania
Reviewed May 27, 2013

We selected this hotel because the hotel we normally stay at was fully booked. Went through Priceline as we have many times never selected a one star property before but just needed someplace to sleep a few hours and figured how bad could it be. Disgusting smell (not smoke) musty and nasty, checked the bed sheets cigarette burns, stained and...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank travelnutmex
KADLI, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn - Charles Town, responded to this review

Dear Travelnutmex, I appreciate the fact that you shared your experience with us. We are in the process of upgrading our bedding package. I am sorry that your room was not up to standard. I am addressing these issues with our staff. Our goal is for each of our guests to have a memorable experience with us. Regards, Shiris-GM Americas...

Mechanicsville, Virginia
Reviewed May 12, 2013

I am sorry I did not check the tripadvisor before coming to this place but I was hoping for aleast a clean place to stay for a couple days at the Horse Track! Dirty bath tub/shower, slow to no running water the sink and the manager/clerk only gave "I donot know why, my manager said this is ok"

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank William T
KADLI, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn - Charles Town, responded to this review

Dear William T, Thank you for sharing your concerns with us. I am not sure if there were any specific issues we could address regarding your stay? We would have gladly switched your room or informed housekeeping to address the issues if we had known. I am sorry we could not meet your expectations. Regards, Shiris-GM Americas Best Value Inn-

Virginia
Reviewed May 7, 2013

This is not a new place by any means. If you're looking for five star this is not it. The beds are a little lumpy but not too bad. There is coffee in the room, and you can get a refrigerator on request. There is a microwave for use in the office. Staff is friendly. If you need a quaint,...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank RG2B
KADLI, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn - Charles Town, responded to this review

Dear RG2B, Thank you for posting a review with us. I appreciate your sincere feedback. I am also glad to hear that you enjoyed our convenient location to the Racetrack and Casino. We hope that you stay with us again in the future! Regards, Shiris-GM Americas Best Value Inn-Charles Town, WV

Reviewed May 5, 2013 via mobile

For $100 bucks a night this place was an all out poop hole..Completely disgusting! Smelled so bad like a porter potty I couldn't sleep. Towels looked dirty with what looked like crusty semen stains and sheets were stained. It made my skin crawl. Don't stay here.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Peaceloveandturtles
KADLI, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn - Charles Town, responded to this review

Dear Peaceloveandturtles, Thank you for sharing your experience with us. I apologize for the housekeeping issues you encountered. We provide clean and fresh linens in each of our guestrooms. Perhaps there could have been an issue with our laundry equipment that day. We would have gladly exchanged your towels upon request. Regards, Shiris-GM Americas Best Value Inn-Charles Town, WV

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

22 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (13)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (6)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Charles Town
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Charles Town
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Charles Town
0.2 mi away
The Inn at Charles Town
The Inn at Charles Town
#2 of 6 in Charles Town
238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.0 mi away
Knights inn Knoxville Harpers Ferry
4.5 mi away
Clarion Inn Harpers Ferry
Clarion Inn Harpers Ferry
#2 of 3 in Harpers Ferry
216 reviews
8.4 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#1 of 1 in Kearneysville
93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair access
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Welcome to Americas Best Value Inn of Charles Town, WV, located in eastern West Virginia. Charles Town is less than five miles from the Virginia and Maryland borders. This town was founded by Charles Washington, brother of George Washington, in 1780. Our hotel is conveniently located near the famous Harpers Ferry National Park where many great events took place, and one of the best local attractions to visit. We are within walking distance of the American Military University, Jefferson County Museum, and Jefferson Memorial Hospital. Improve your handicap by playing a round of golf at Locust Hill Golf Course. Local restaurants include Shu Chen Restaurant, Mediterranean Cafe, and Applebee's Neighborhood Grill.Our pet friendly hotel is the ideal place to stay when visiting historical Charles Town. Wake up and enjoy our free continental breakfast served daily, catch up on current events and local news while enjoying a cup of coffee in our seating area. Take advantage of our laundry facility. The Hollywood Casino at Charles Town Races offers free pre-scheduled shuttle service available all day to our guests. Stay connected with wireless high-speed Internet access available in our lobby area and select rooms. A peaceful night awaits you in one of our well equipped guest room with amenities including a coffeemaker, satellite TV with HBO, radio, hairdryer, desk with lamp, table and chairs, and free wake-up service. A microwave and mini-fridge may be available upon request. At Americas Best Value Inn Charles Town, We've Got You Covered from the time you hit the road until your head hits the pillow. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Americas Best Value Inn - Charles Town

Address: 807 Willow Spring Drive, Charles Town, WV 25414 (Formerly Knights Inn - Charles Town)
Location: United States > West Virginia > Charles Town
Price Range: $66 - $91 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Americas Best Value Inn - Charles Town 1.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions and Travelocity so you can book your Americas Best Value Inn - Charles Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americas Best Value Inn - Charles Town Hotel Charles Town
Knights Inn Charles Town
Charles Town Knights Inn
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Americas Best Value Inn - Charles Town staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Find a different hotel to stay at.”
 of 5 bubbles dbatysr, Oct 30, 2016 | Read review
“Don't stay here”
 of 5 bubbles joeY195RO, Sep 4, 2016 | Read review
“Stay away, book else where.”
 of 5 bubbles 1948Gamblerman, Jul 18, 2016 | Read review
“Ground floor rooms are SO convenient! You can park 2 feet from your door!”
 of 5 bubbles keelyalderman, May 24, 2016 | Read review
“Don't stay there!”
 of 5 bubbles 258phyllisa, May 21, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay